Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7TE1T0BW » 18 Reviews

Samsung MZ-7TE1T0BW 1tb Mz-7te1t0bw Int Hd Ssd Sata3 2.5in Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast (4), Inexpensive (4), Lightweight (6), Durable (7)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Silence is Golden

By LinuxDebianUser from Redmond, WA, USA on 11/22/2014


Pros:

Easy To Install, Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 2 year old hybrid drive, a 750GB SSD/HDD started to fade, so I knew it was time to get a new drive. I checked around and liked what I read about the Samsung 840 EVO at 1TB. I ordered one and in just 2 days I was ready to try my first true SSD. I restored my backup on to the SSD and I booted up Debian (wheeze) in just a few seconds. Everything is very responsive and fast. Next, I setup my two virtual machines with Windows 7 and Windows XP as guests. This is where the 840 EVO is really amazing. Booting my virtual machines only takes seconds, but they run so much fast than before. Even faster then when I dual booted Windows 7 with the old hybrid drive. The best part of using the SSD, there's no noise. You can hear a pin drop in my office now. One more thing. Remember to activate trim or fstrim in cron.daily and set swappiness to 0 and/or remove swap space. Likewise in your virtual Windows machines, turn off scheduled defragging and remove/set your paging to 0 bytes (no swap file).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Zoomin'

By ArmyJoe from Golden, CO on 07/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first SSD, and i figured I'd notice an improvement. Wow! I am blown away! I've only had it for a short time, so I can't speak to how hardy the unit might be, but it is surely the best thing I've done for my computer! It was easy to install, moving my OS and programs, etc. from the old drive was practically effortless with the included software. It's a bit pricy, but i would surely buy another given half a chance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Features - the best out there at this time

By cthiggin from Montgomery, AL, USA on 06/28/2014


Pros:

Great Price/value Relationship, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first SSD - incorporated it into a new build - Have used WD VRaptors for years and really like the speed and reliability of them...................However, I'm still in "shock & awe" with the performance of this SSD. Very easy to install - good instructions and great software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ideal Upgrade for older Laptop

By SaintReborn from Texas, USA on 06/19/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Fast, Easy To Install

Cons:

Did Not Include Transfer Cable, Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have an older i7 Laptop. Installing the Samsung EVO 840 TB SSD improved system performance and the temperature of the system is also much much cooler. Samsung magician and copy software worked easily and only took a small bit of time to clone my original drive and upgrade to the new SSD. Excellent investment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable

By Luthie from San Antonio, TX, USA on 06/17/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have used this product and love it nothing better than an SSD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Is the leader in electronics

By barkingdog101 from Denver, CO, USA on 06/11/2014


Pros:

Durable, Performance

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product is absolutely amazing. It's certainly ahead of everyone else. In every way specs and reliability. We all hope you guys can lower price so we can all enjoy the best SSD on the market today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable and Fast

By TombD from Raleigh, NC, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Quiet, Performance Boost

Cons:

Not As Fast As I Expected In Some Situations.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the Samsung 1TB SSD for about 4 months. For most of my work, I have seen a significant performance increase. Occasionally, I experience performance that appears slower than my 1 TB hard drive -- especially on a large volume of random reads. I also lost the ability to put my laptop to sleep and/or hibernate with the SSD. I'm not sure why I ran into this problem. All I know is after I installed the SSD, sleep/hibernate worked for about a month but has since stopped working. It tries to start-up after sleep/hibernate but then hangs so I have to reboot. Overall, I am satisfied with the unit since I do believe it has made me more productive, reducing the amount of time I was waiting on the hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great option for Business Use

By AtariBaby from San Francisco on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Silent, Lightweight, Durable, Fast

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is pricier than my favorite personal drive, the Crucial m500, but I use the EVO 840 for any serious business use. It utilizes SSD features and protections that the m500 doesn't. Plus, you get an extra 40GB over most SSD's which are 960GB. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing

By Andy293 from Undisclosed on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product by itself made my computer faster with such a visible diference


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best company to do bussines with

By koolwiz from Oroville, WA 98844, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have 5 ssds from Samsung, they are the only ssd I will use.. great support... great company, I have many products from Samsung..3 sound bars, 3 tvs, 3 blue ray players.. they are the first company I look for , for my products


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Snappy Drive that may need refreshing

By PBBob from The Villages, FL, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Good Reviews, Mostly All Samsung

Cons:

Had A Portion Go Bad - But Fixable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

On initial install, this drive worked exceptionally well and even better in Rapid Mode. It was very close to the optimum ratings in Samsung Magician. After 5 months and 3500 hours in my primary Desktop Machine, I had occasion to repeat a more detailed scan of the drive using HD Tune Pro 5.5 Benchmark - a test had also used when I first mounted the drive and it passed with flying colors. One of the tests (Benchmark) scans the entire drive for sequential transfer speed. Unfortunately I now found that the first 150GB of the EVO was either 350 or 150 MBps, and most of the time at 150 MBps. The rest of the drive was at 350 MBps. That part was almost all unused. HD Tach 3.0.4.0, an old but still good drive test tool gave the exact same readings as HD Tune Pro - multiple times for each. The sad thing is that Samsung Magician did not catch this and still told me "the drive" was good. I believe that is because Samsung Magician does not test the entire drive - perhaps something that should be added to it. Updating the firmware, Optimizing the EVO and OS and turning Rapid Mode on/off made no difference. THE GOOD NEWS is that Using SECURE ERASE in Samsung Magician restored the drive to as new performance. It is somewhat of a bother, as I had to migrate all the software on the drive to another drive and then back again after using Secure Erase - but I got an AS NEW drive when I was done as confirmed by Samsung Magician, HD Tune Pro and HD Tach. The attached pictures show the drive transfer rate across all 1 GB after doing Secure Erase and before Secure Erase when the drops down to 150 MBps occurred. If it had not been for this glitch, I would have given the EVO all 5 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't forget your SSD Settings!

By dakev from western Vermont on 03/28/2014


Pros:

Durable, Reliable

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When you install your SSD, fire up the Samsung Magician program that comes with it. For those of us who want to get the most out of our solid state drive, and want to make sure our computer settings aren't at variance with its capability, Magician will help tweak the settings in the SSD's favor. For example, my Norton was optimizing my system, which meant defragging the drive, which is something you shouldn't do on an SSD. Also, it's nice to start up your computer, and have it all ready to go in about 30 seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

RAPID 1TB Drive

By IonNuke from Earth on 01/10/2014

Samsung 840 EVO makes yet another breakthrough from when the 840 PRO stomped around. Even with TLC memory over MLC nand; on paper it looks pretty scary but in real world uses, in order to wear down TLC NAND a user would have to run the drive at 100% full load without stopping for 5 or 6 years straight which is near impossible unless the drive was being used in a server environment which will actually happen. The drive over HM55 chipset was able to reach the expected and advertised SATA III speeds. However with RAPID mode turned on the drive exceeds expectation once again with speeds nearing 900MB/s read and just over 800MB/s writing which in turn mimics a RAID0 or PCI-E transfer speed. Over Intel Z77 chipset yields even higher speeds mainly due to the bus speed and the caching that happens across the board as HM55 was a notebook used to test. Overall this drive combines both shearing speeds and capacity into one package. Cost??? A drive that size, it's not bad as other drives of on the market do not reach 1TB and look like a 960GB type. I would recommend this to anyone that has a requirement of speed and storage in 1 package.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love This SSD

By Sharkdi from Washington DC on 01/03/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The product has great Speed i didn't use ssd before this is on of my great investments i ever done for my gaming Laptop thx Samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD Replacement

By josephug from FL on 12/06/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I replaced an old Kingston snv425 with the 840 EVO and even better performance, once I tried Rapid Mode and it exceeded its read & write specs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hardward - Excellent / Software Included Doesn't work with AMD

By WillNotAcceptANickName from NM on 11/08/2013


Pros:

Excellent 1tb Ssd Hardware

Cons:

Bad Supporting Software

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased the 1TB SSD 840 EVO and tried to use the Migration software included. After 3 - 2hr attempts to migrate I called support. I was referred to a 3rd party free migration tool to use. This worked the first time and I replaced my hard disk and that also works Great. The Magician / Optimization Soft that comes with the Samsung SSD does not recognize the Samsung SSD drive. What support tells me now is that AMD SATA controllers are not supported by Samsung Drives. This includes all HP Pavillion Laptops like mine. So I'm glad to have the SSD Drive (which works fine with the AMD Controller) but have to deal with Samsung's in-ability to work with AMD to resolve Samsung SOFTWARE support issues ??? OH-Well .... If it weren't for Samsung's software I would have rated the SSD drive itself EXCELLENT!! Be aware HP users... with AMD SATA Controllers work fine it is just Samsung's support software that doesn't, where free downloadable software will....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Big 1TB SSD

By z3540 from Undisclosed on 10/21/2013


Pros:

Fast, Large Capacity

Cons:

Very Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have been using this big bad boy for about 1.5 weeks and it is the fastest drive I have used. Everything is fast: bootup, opening files, opening programs, etc. Would recommend it more if it wasn't so expensive!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best SSD for the price per GB

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 10/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's fast, it's 1TB so I can put all my games and software on one dry, which is convenient. I was getting tired of having to divide everything over multiple drives and this drive solves that issue. I couldn't be happier with this drive, great price, and from what I can see RAPID mode is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved