Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7TE250KW » 27 Reviews

Samsung MZ-7TE250KW 250gb Mz-7te250kw Int Hd Ssd Sata3 2.5in Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Durable (5), Lightweight (7), Inexpensive (11)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Installation software--Not So Much

By Bobcat7 from Texas, USA on 09/12/2015


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The installation software provided with the drive is rubbish. Finally found a program on the Samsung.com site to transfer the data. And this drive does not include the transfer cable, so you'll have to go purchase one--an additional expense.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best price-to-performance ratio

By sabrefresco from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia on 06/11/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first SSD. It was probably the best and most needed purchase I've ever made. Consistency of its performance has been great, except for a few hiccups with the firmware and the way the new TLC nands store data. Two fixes were released for the EVO. At the moment, performance seems to be as advertised if not better. I just hope it stays that way for the years to come. Given that it's my first SSD, the 3-year warrant saved me quite a bit of a headache. No real cons except for the issues mentioned above. Would've given it 5 stars otherwise. My only regret was to not go for a 500GB/1TB model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Decreased boot time, Increased performance, easy to install

By dbtech from Colorado, USA on 12/28/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The drive was recommended by a co worker and has dramatically decreased my boot time as well as increasing the performance of my desktop. I purchased another and installed it in my wife's laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

There is No Bad News to Report (This Product has Great Features)

By CKC61 from Houston,TX,USA on 11/27/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Samsung SSD 840 EVO for Desktop PC Upgrade , says it all. I have a Home built PC. After installing this drive all the stats have come up to the maximum . The installation was a breeze, the enclosed software, Data Migration and Magician work perfectly. At first, looking a the installation instruction, I thought some of the instructions were off. But I followed them and all worked very well. I did have a small amount of retuning or adjusting , as I have several (4) internal hard drives . Even that did not take very long to sort out. I am considering changing all my drives to SSD. So far very good experience. This might be a little over whelming for a beginner or novice installer. But as far as the hard Drive goes , wow. If your not Shure how to swap out your drive find someone who can. I am sure you won't be disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Performance

By ancientwolf1 from Virginia on 11/18/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product performed beyond expectation, speed of operating system has improved tremendously. Anticipating installing in other machines.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never had a problem

By Ancientgamer from Colorado, USA on 11/01/2014


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought my first SSD when I upgraded my computer for the first time. A neophyte to the inside of the computer I did lots of research and read lots of reviews before picking my SSD. Most reviews were pretty similar. Having owned a Samsung monitor and finding far superior to other models I decided to go with the Samsung. My roommate who was also upgrade his computer walked me through how to upgrade what to hook up where. He laughed at me when he got to the SSD preferring a different brand. But I got the last laugh his drive died about 2 years later. Mine is still working fine in an external enclosure. I only upgraded to a larger drive because I have several games loaded and wanted to have the abiloty to load others. I am a huge supported of Samsung products love my Note 3. I am now looking at a large tablet soon and Samsung my brand of choice for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

did not boot up

By mjvideo from Undisclosed on 10/20/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I followed the instructions but the drive would not boot up the computer. No support or troubleshooting guide. Forced to send it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast SSD, Excellent price

By deeminter from Texarkana Texas 75503 on 09/18/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Samsung 840 EVO 250 Gig SSD performs as advertized, it is fast and the Samsung Magician software makes setup a breeze. It is by far the best buy on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD 840 EVO 2.5-inch SATA 250GB (Desktop Kit)

By ESOP123 from Undisclosed on 09/10/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This was a new build ssd very happy with product. speed is holding up so far ssd holding up good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

windows failed to boot

By thutchings from Texas on 08/14/2014


Cons:

Wont Boot

Loaded the software.. Cloned the drive.. Installed the ssd replacing hdd.. Windows will not boot.. Had to put hdd back in to get pc to boot up.. Will try support to see if they can help but right now VERY disappointed..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

............... Great value for the money

By Andrew11 from Chicago on 08/04/2014

Theses drives work great, i use them all the time. I do tons of computer work-upgrades-repairs and go through at least 15-20 or so a year. I have never had a bad Samsung SSD. I just bought 4 today for my personnel laptop. I bought 3 msata and 1 sata, i expect my speeds will be about 1800+ mbps as i get over 500 R one 1 sata unit Came here to try and find a discount but that didn't happen. My computers all fully support the SATA 3 speed and these drives can utilize it. If you have an old junky 7 year old SATA 2 only computer like the reviewer(s) below you should buy a new pc not a drive that wont run at full speed. Stop trying to milk a horse and buy a newer SATA 3 computer that can actually use fast drives. I loaded the software once it was no-go, did not detect my drive. I dont know whats on the disc but i am pretty sure it not something that i would use anyway.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightning Fast Drive

By talos128 from Ft Worth, Texas on 07/31/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I recently installed this drive in my PC. Installation was easy if one follows the instruction to the letter. I was quite impressed that instead of the usual 75 secs boot time to my desktop after entering my password at the boot screen using Win 7 OS and 16Gb ram, it was booted up and to the desktop in 3 secs! I did a "cold boot" 4 times just to relieve the excitement of the event and consistently it boots in about 3-4 seconds every time. Launching programs is also delivering similar impressive results as does file transfer speed and any other intensive processing chore. I would highly recommend this drive and the SSD drive type to anyone who wants to see real speed performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD for Macbook Pro

By JGFLA from Fort Myers, FL, USA on 06/14/2014


Pros:

No Noise!, Don't Worry About Losing Your Data In Drops, Fast!!!

Cons:

No Software For Management On Mac, No Instruction For Mac Migration

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I work for an IT and computer repair company. Samsung brand SSD's are the only drives we have not had any failures with, I bought one of these for myself and my father. Overall awesome performance, made my Macbook as fast as it should have been, migration wasn't as easy as it is with a PC because of Samsung's failure to give good and proper instruction. Do yourself a favor Mac users, search Youtube for a video. Its easier than Samsung implies it to be, the most difficult part will be opening up you notebook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

840 Evo 250GB in HP Notebook

By DSCSSD from Hawaii, USA on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Everything, Inexpensive

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product, super fast, great price. Increases battery life in my laptop. AWESOME!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is good!

By RRFERA from Itu - So Paulo, Brazil on 05/19/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In my opinion, this product is very good, but de price is not good in Brazil.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extreme notebook performance

By GmanTN from Shelbyville, TN, USA on 05/06/2014


Pros:

Good Warranty, Durable, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace a standard notebook hard drive. The new drive has sped up my laptop's performance tremendously.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top Notch Product

By admndesai from Undisclosed on 04/22/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So glad I decided to buy this drive. Everything on my Windows 7 machine is faster. It would work even faster if my motherboard supported 6Gbit instead of 3Gbit. But it is still way faster then before. Will buy more Samsung SSD's in the future


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Clone using supplied software.

By medler1 from Gravesend, Kent, UK on 04/18/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this in a Samsung RF711 laptop (twin HDD) to replace the smaller third party SSD which was all I could afford when buying in 2012. The clone process for Windows 7 was painless and although a couple of functions, such as the Wi-Fi dropping out, were problematic at first, these were all restored after a few re-boots. If you have the luxury of a second drive then it doesn't hurt to copy everything on the original C: drive into a folder on D: before you start. That's where Windows found a couple of the drivers it needed to fully configure the cloned OS during the restore process. If you should encounter the same problems as I did with functionality after installing your new drive, don't panic. Windows 7 will sort itself out, just reboot a few times and all will be well. Incidentally no calls to re-activate Windows were needed and all my accounts and preferences were maintained. New SSD is 3 times the size of the original one and my Windows experience scores went through the roof afterwards. Its nice that the laptop is now all Samsung hardware again. Samsung Magician (not required for the clone process) does encounter an error on my version of Windows but simply minimise the Retry/Close alert and you will find the program is actually working in behind this warning and will still do everything it should.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice packaging that's all I can say!

By chino1980 from Miramar, FL on 04/06/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Magician Software Needs Help

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I thought I had done my homework before purchasing but I failed, should have read these reviews and not reviews by e-stores, since they might be fake. Didn't feel like purchasing a new MB or new hardware wanted to upgrade my rig with this SSD and WIN 7. After installing the SSD and WIN 7 also installed the MAGICIAN 4.3 software which now does not even recognize the SSD, Does not display SYSTEM INFORMATION? Finally uninstalled it and after several times of WIN 7 DL 142 updates and re-starting like at least 20 times...seriously it works. But once again I installed the MAGICIAN thinking it was WIN and not the SSD software but once again after re-starting an error message appears that doesn't recognize it. SAMSUNG needs to improve this ASAP. Running an ASUS P5N-E SLI, LGA 775 INTEL CORE 2 DUO 2.4, CORSAIR 6 GB of RAM DDR2, XFX DUAL NVDIA SLI 512 MB VIDEO CARDS


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Started off ok but.......

By Sklman from NJ on 04/05/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Performance Issues

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Drive installed and ran ok for a few days until I decided to do a backup. Using W7 'create an image', to a USB 3 attached drive, it did not complete. Windows said I/O errors. I have used this software for a few years with no issues. Restart back up but still failed. Tried another destination drive with no luck. Re installed original drive and all ok. Will see about sending drive to Samsung for repair.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Performance and Features

By PaPa57 from Kansas City, MO, USA on 03/27/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I researched several brands of SSD drives and after reading the reviews I decided on the 840 Evo. I must say that the reviewers were right, this drive delivers all that the sales pitches state and more. My drive is installed in a laptop and the performance increase is simply amazing. My computer will now boot to the Desktop in about 15 sec. and programs launch instantly. I did sacrifice storage space dropping from a 750GB 5400RPM HDD to this 250GB SSD but IMHO it was well worth it. The software included made this upgrade painless. I went from cloning my existing drive to installing the Evo in under an hour, pretty sweet! To sum up, the Bang for the Buck can't be beat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Migration

By Luvmy1ssd from Pennsylvania on 03/12/2014


Pros:

Perfect Replacement For Sata Drive.

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Your migration software worked pefectly everything was like it came from factory, after removing old drive, and plugging in ssd, I crossed my figures and hit the start button and wow, it was just like my old drive was there but faster a lot. Best hardware I ever bought. Plus you web sight support is awesome. Thanks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This SSD is benchmarking less than half the rated speeds.

By WindowsTech11876 from Metro Detroit, MI on 02/14/2014


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Slow., Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This SSD is benchmarking less than half the rated speeds. It comes with "magician" software which doesn't work. I wonder if thats why the speeds are so slow. I didn't expect to need software aside from the usual drivers to get the performance I was looking forward to. I guess they do not like Nvidia chipsets and do not support them... is the excuse. They should state that on the box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great hard drive

By Super2drive from Undisclosed on 01/16/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great hard drive that does all it promises


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great hardware, but difficulties with my application

By Anonymous from Palo Alto, CA on 12/03/2013


Pros:

Easy To Install, Fast

Cons:

Unstable With Old Computer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm probably a bit atypical in that I bought this SSD kit to replace the hard drive in a 6-year old Dell Latitude D620 laptop running Windows XP. I've had a lot of problems getting the new drive to work stably with my old computer. I did consult with Samsung's technical support, and got good advice quickly. With it, I've been able to experience how much faster this computer runs with the SSD. What was painfully slow before is now pleasantly fast now. However, the system is still unstable after I've redone the cloning several times. I'll probably have to reinstall the operating system and all the programs etc sometime soon. The reason I went with the SSD was that I want to have a PC laptop (my other computer is a desktop Mac) but can't justify the funds for a new one. I figured that if this works out I can buy another refurbished D620 from eBay for less than $200 whenever I have a problem with this machine (other than with the drive). Of course, as Microsoft stops supporting Windows XP, I may have to move on to a new machine then. But I will do my best to take this drive to a new machine. I really like the kit as it included a spacer to fit the drive exactly into the drive slot; and a cable with the right terminations to do the cloning. Maybe I could have saved a few dollars buying those items separately, but then I could have made a mistake in what I got.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Night and Day

By Athanasius from Undisclosed on 10/08/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Worth The Money

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This SSD drive was like the difference between night and day. Everything on my laptop is faster, surfing, apps, boot up. I am amazed at the difference between the HDD and and this SSD. The cloning software that came with the new SSD drive worked flawlessly in under a half hour I was up and running on the new SSD drive. Samsung you did great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply not ready for sale

By RobertStreetView from Eden Prairie, MN on 08/23/2013


Cons:

Does Not Work With Software, Not Fast, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This SSD just does not work very well. The performance is not any faster than the 830, and the magician software even after update does not recognize this as a Samsung drive so it won't run on it. Very disappointing product. Wait until the next version to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved