Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7TE500LW » 9 Reviews

Samsung MZ-7TE500LW 500gb Mz-7te500lw Int Hd Ssd Sata3 2.5in Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (3), Inexpensive (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I didn't realize what a bottleneck my old HD was.

By srtestee from Undisclosed on 08/15/2014


Pros:

Price Point Realistic, Improved System Performance, Easy To Install

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced existing 500G platter drive in 4-year-old laptop. The old drive was starting to exhibit signs of potential problems, so I took the SSD plunge. Cloning existing drive was dead-simple. Install the app, and follow directions. The longest part of the app install was downloading the updated app, but no problem. I let the clone process run overnight. Installed the SSD. Required one prompted reboot after Windows discovered the SSD and performed necessary configuration. Boot time (from power-on to "windows ready") decreased from about 2 minutes to about 15 seconds. Apps which had become very slow to load now load in less than a second. Photos load immediately instead of 5-second wait.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Home Run!

By 0100110011000 from Florida on 08/05/2014


Pros:

Durable, Awesome, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You will not believe how fast your computer runs after replacing a mechanical hard drive with this SSD. First of all it is so light; kinda of like an over sized credit card. Install it and see how fast it is. My computer boots in about 12 seconds! Opening programs is almost instantaneous. The only thing I can advise is don't bother installing the software from the CD. Just grab the latest version from their website. Nice work Samsung!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The performace is great

By DannyDD from Undisclosed on 07/27/2014


Pros:

Great Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive installed with no problem, using the software to copy the existing drive and changed it in 30 minutes, windows boots in 6 seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NEEDS MORE SUPPORT FOR APPLE OSX

By HMCSRetired from Undisclosed on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Lack Of Osx Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased based on the recommendation of the sales person and what I read online. The software installation CD had zero (none, nada, zilch) support for OSX. I had to use disk utility to format the drive, then use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy my hard drive to the new disk. That went well and now my Macbook Pro is wicked fast!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great upgrade

By Datawatcher from Undisclosed on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Great Speed

Cons:

Data Migration Tricky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with the product and performance. The upgrade tool with the external USB did not work but when I placed it in an internal bay, it worked fine. The external data migration would run for over an hour and then at 99% would say that the external drive had been disconnected. So, fix that little problem and you have a very quick migration. Once I switched the drives, I had only one change to make. The magician was a great tool to optimize the performance settings for the SSD. I am very happy with the performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great ssd

By notara from Undisclosed on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

as soon after cloning this ssd, it booted up so quickly. this is my third Samsung ssd.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2.5" SATA III Internal SSD Notebook kit

By sijabc from SF Bay Area, CA on 10/31/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Minimal Apple Osx Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SSD is fine, but the USB to SATA cable that comes with it does NOT work with my 2010 MacBook Pro. Support for Apple products appears to be minimal or non existent. IN order to get my files transferred over to the Samsung SSD, I had to use a similar cable that came with a another driive. My background is over 30 years in computing and 15 as an Apple developer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SSD - perfect, but migration was poor

By Vetal from Dnipropetrovsk, UA on 10/27/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I got my Samsung 840 EVO , everything seemed as impossible simple - unpack it , install "Data migration tool" from a disc, get newest update via internet, connect it via the USBSata cable from the kit , press the START button and the program will automatically migrate my system to the new SSD . But it was not so simple :) . After four days of fighting with errors , search related information from net, the disk defragmenter and correction of bad sectors, I understood that the "Data migration tools" on what not do. I had to buy and use a third-party solution. But when I finally migrate my system to the new SSD, it was amazing! Performance of the system has increased by 10 times! When I configure it (set the appropriate driver and changed the SATA MODE in the BIOS from ATA to AHCI), it increased even twice! The conclusion is - Samsung still needs hardly work on his "Data migration tool", this does not waste your time - use a third-party solution. But about the work of the SSD - solid score "Excellent"! p.s. Sorry for my poor english)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

These SSDs are great.

By Anonymous from The cloud on 09/29/2013


Pros:

Industry Standard, Fast

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have two of these drives installed in an HP Envy 17 3D notebook running Windows 8.0 Pro. I usually try to buy the best products of this type whenever I upgrade. I hesitantly purchased the EVO instead of the higher rated PRO version only because Samsung had recently released them and used their 840 label. I couldn't believe they would take a chance with this product in such a hot market. I chose wisely. These drives are fast (Sata III) and work with my HP notebook perfectly - confirmed 6Gb. All of my testing software confirms this is one fast setup. It was the best upgrade I've done, I feel I've gotten another 3 years of life out of my 2 year old notebook. I bought two of the 500Gb notebook SSD configurations. I thought that I probably did not need the second notebook version except for the spacer; I probably could have by with some kind of padding but I didn't want to have any problems. All I wound up using from the notebook kits was the spacers. It turned out that I couldn't use the USB3->sata adapter afterall since I decided to install the drives as a raid configuration. I had to do the installation the old-fashioned way... back up and then restore. That worked without an issue. I would have preferred seeing a full description of the 3 various SSD kits. I only have one issue with the package, the Magician utility does not work with raid. I bought 2 500Gb drives and hooked them up as a raid 0 device. Everything else works fine, except their utility. I'm sure it is only a matter of time before they fully support raid (famous last words). Good job Samsung, I would do it again!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved