Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » MZ7PC256HAFU0CA00 » 27 Reviews

Samsung MZ7PC256HAFU-0CA00 830-serie Mz-7pc256d/am-256gb 2.5sata Iii Int Ssd Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)

95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast (4), Durable (9), Lightweight (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Love my Samsung SSD

By DrBedlam from Arkham on 01/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you have been trying to decide on making the switch to Solid State Drives... this is the perfect drive to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Extreme speed, small and no heat....

By G0dSp33d from New York, NY on 12/20/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm using this drive as my boot drive runing Windows 7 and Photoshop 6, the speed is unbelievable. I'm a comercial artist who works on high end retouching jobs and I just build a new 6 core Photoshop work station. I needed fast drives to work on 2+gig files, this drive filled my needs and then some. Small, quiet and no heat, this is the drive to get if you need raw speed. Photoshop runs without any problems, very smooth and copying 600 meg files from my HD to my SSD in under 1 sec. I'm also using the 128 SSD 830 as my scratch disc for Photoshop. Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent SSD

By Rick600 from Easton, PA on 10/31/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Easy To Install, Fast

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great SSD. Boots fast. Comes with everything needed to install in a desktop. Can also be used in a laptop, it is 7mm thick. The TRIM/garbage collection in Win 7 works great. I initially had a different brand SSD which would lose up to 1GB of storeage space a day for no apparent reason. When I imaged the contents of that drive to the Samsung I regained over 10GB of lost storage space. The included Samsung SSD Magician software is very usefull for erasing, performance optimization, and over provisioning the drive. I didn't use the included Norton Ghost software to image Win 7 from the OEM hard drive, I used Acronis to copy from the computers factory HD. It copies all the partions, including the factory recovery partion, automatically. Norton Ghost can only transfer one partition at a time and cannot do recovery partions according to the Norton/Samsung user guide.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Five second boot

By sppeddemon from NEW JERSEY on 09/26/2012


Pros:

Durable

No need for sleep or keeping the pc on.From the time I hit the power button till I see desk top icon is 5 sec's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beauty and Function

By Shoeless from Undisclosed on 09/25/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A beautiful drive that perform equally as well. It is a snap to install and performance does not disappoint.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blazingly Fast System Disk

By Anonymous from Cary, NC on 09/21/2012


Pros:

Fast

Cons:

Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I added this into a Icy Dock 4 2.5" drive bay off an ASUS Sabertooth Z77 motherboard to be the system disk. It connects as a SATA III drive on a SATA III port on the motherboard. Normally, it runs out of data before it can really ramp up the read speed. It allows me to boot Windows 7 Ultimate within a matter of 4 to 6 seconds!! Why bother with hibernate or sleep, when a full boot occurs that quickly??!! I highly recommend an SSD for a system disk. What a pleasure!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super FAST

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/07/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After tons of research I finally purchased the Samsung 830 SSD and i am so happy i did cause this beast is very fast for gaming and I also purchased one for my Macbook Pro. Great work Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Get this drive

By elf47 from Kentwood, LA on 08/05/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice and fast. 7.9 on the Win Experience Index and probably would score higher if the scale went higher.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Product.

By Achmon from PA on 07/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy install. One of the fastest and most reliable SSDs on the market.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredibly fast!

By e733 from Bloomington, MN on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Fast, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As my other Samsung 830 Series SSD review (64GB) states, these SSD's are out of this world incredible. I use this SSD for my Steam Games/Other Games. My load times for games are... nonexistent. I have never experienced such a fast data transfer. Impressed is an understatement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hang on this puppy is Fast!

By TVTimeInAlaska from Undisclosed on 06/27/2012

I started to look at the 830 series when Maximum PC and Hardware Reviews had it as their top rated SSD. I've only had it for a month but this is fast with great write and read times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best SSD Yet!

By Chris0201987 from Bridgeport,CT on 06/14/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Extremely Fast!

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best SSD I have personally used. Im running windows 8 preview release and my 120GB Intel ssd took about 10 seconds to load to the desktop and the this thing takes 1-2 seconds to load to the desktop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st SSD

By OlderBuilder from Bay Area, CA on 05/20/2012


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It took awhile to get on the SDD bandwagon, but this little gem didn't disappoint! It's not only fast, but reviewers state it's reliable as well...which is needed for an OS drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Windows 7 install fail

By SadAndUpset from Undisclosed on 05/19/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Will not install a boot drive in Windows 7. Poor install instructions. Had to rip drive back out to get serial number off drive.Nothing in instructions tells you that you should record the serial number before installation. You find that out when you try to register it and have to remove it to get the number off it because it is not on the box. Of course that is no problem because it won't boot the computer anyway. The Windows install promptes me for the SSD 830 driver but of course there are none on the Samsung web site or anywhere else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Drive!

By bmac11 from Newark DE on 05/05/2012


Pros:

Everything!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive is crazy fast! It was worth the extra money to have the latest and greatest drive. The software that came with it is great and very useful too. I upgraded from a Sata II drive and could feel the difference.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast, But......... poor support on Mac!

By lflamarion from Boston, MA on 05/05/2012


Cons:

Poor Mac Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's really FAST, but if you use MAC, you can not use the samsung tools, and It's really critical specially when it's refer to firmware update. In the manual they tell about two functions that I really consider important, OS Optimization and Firmware Update!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid performance and Reliability

By Bobmitmen from Dallas area, TX on 04/16/2012


Pros:

Prices Have Become More Reasonable, Fast Drive Solid Performance, Attractive Casing, Samsung Reliability

Cons:

Slightly Slower On Laptop W/power Saving Settings

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I waited a few weeks, since purchasing this drive to give a fair review. I have it installed in my HP Envy 17 and it performs extremely well. I have other Samsung products, and have never been disappointed in one. This SSD is truly one of the best SATA III drives you can purchase at this time. I have chatted with Samsung technical support about some questions I had prior to and even after installation of the drive. Each time, the techs were knowledgable and more than willing to share the time to resolve any question I had. Excellent product and excellent support. Again...thank you Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got this from a thorough ...

By greenlight777 from Undisclosed on 03/09/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this from a thorough search and comparisons between other manufacturers. Key points in choosing Samsung was reliability and high performance stated in objective test results. Also many had installed this SSD to a mac computer with great success so that was enough information for me to make the purchase. Highly recommended. It's fast and smooth. Still more stable when TRIM is enabled. Not sure if the FIRMWARE update is a good thing though... some have said it'll brick the drive and have to make RMA.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent SSD

By gregzcav from Undisclosed on 03/07/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent SSD, I am pleased with its performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CLICK.....BLINK....FLASH

By Tom721 from Alabama on 02/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

WOW...as a nearly retired/first time computer builder, I thought I would have difficulty installing the SSD. I was pleasantly surpised at the ease of installation. What an improvement over the old style hard drives...and that goes back to the days of the 1.2g units that maxed out the motherboard. Some improvements over the years have been disappointing and some have been just ok..........but in the words of our grandson " AWESOME" best describes the CLICK....BLINK...FLASH RESPONSE OF THE SAMSUNG SSD.....GET ONE YOU WON'T LOOK BACK!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ttruly fantastic!

By axion from valencia (Spain) on 02/21/2012


Pros:

Durable

Cons:

Not Support For Macintosh

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this CD for installation on a Pro Macboock Its features are as expected. It works great. The design and aluminum metal frame gives an image quality and appearance that sets it apart from its competition. The only downside, I'm guessing is that Samsung still does not support Macintosh and the applications that come with the disk only work with Windows. Otherwise a 10.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blazingly fast drive

By Vectrexer from 94044 on 02/11/2012


Pros:

Extremely Fast, Durable

Cons:

Runs Warms

MY system feels like a completely difference machine! I knew Samsung SSDs were fast. But this driver is just outstanding. The only issue I have is with the way firmware updates are handled. I like a more hands-on approach than the SSD Magician. Good support software but it's just not my style. Overall I love the product and it make going back to my netgear arrary seem very slow even if the netgear as 12TB. Like all high performance SSDs of this class it does run a little warm.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product for desktop users

By FirstSSD from Undisclosed on 02/09/2012


Pros:

Fast, Durable, Very Stable, Lightweight

Cons:

Installation Documentation

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I installed this in my desktop computer as the boot drive/Win7 system drive. The drive is so fast that my BIOS takes longer to load during system boot than Windows does. My only issue was with the Norton Ghost, which is included with the SSD, data migration instructions. The documentation on how to copy the partions is thorough but it apparently assumes that only one drive is installed in a computer. I have three SATA hard drives in mine and had to do the initial SSD boot with all three disconnected to get the SSD to roll over to the C:\ partition which is the only way to get it to do that with another active System partition connected to the board. Yes, it says you can assign 'any' drive letter (C:\ is not available though for obvious reasons) when the System and C:\ partitions are copied successfully to the SSD but it stops there. A description on how to get the SSD to function as a replacement C:\ drive with multiple hard drives installed (as most desktop users probably have) would be of great benefit to others who have not had previous experience with that when replacing the boot (C:\) drive. The SSD (or any replacement drive) cannot be initiated as a C:\ drive unless it is the only drive in the computer on initial boot. I checked the Norton Ghost KB and that info is not available there either. It should be a part of the basic installation info that comes with the drive. Other than that, no issues with the setup and the Samsung Magician software is pretty good also. Windows users tip: READ the descriptor in Magician carefully on how to update the firmware for the SSD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

256GB SSD 830 series

By jjpd19 from Undisclosed on 02/02/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A very good SSD. It has improved my PC a lot and the performance is amazing. Good buying!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great performance so far. ...

By iburnt from Undisclosed on 01/13/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great performance so far. Much faster than the conventional hard drive that it replaced. Boot time on my Macbook Pro went from 45 seconds to 15 seconds. Opening programs are extremely fast as well. I would recommend if cash permits, this upgrade to your computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for an SSD

By beaker70 from Alabama on 01/04/2012


Pros:

Speed, Software

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The SSD830 is fast. I like the speed, the $ per GB not to great, but I still think its a good buy. It comes with everything I needed to install it in my desktop pc. Samsung made a laptop SSD kit too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome SSD

By jwlee52 from Undisclosed on 12/15/2011


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This drive has really boosted the performance of my computer. The only problem I had is the ability for the Samsung Magician software to see through my Marvel SATA controller. I understand that there is a firmware fix to correct this problem that is due to be released. I replaced the controller PCIE card with one that has Asmedia chipset, and it worked fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved