Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP530U4BA01US » 32 Reviews

Samsung NP530U4BI 14" LED Ultrabook - Intel Core i5 i5-2467M 1.60 GHz - Silver - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB HDD - DVD-Writer - Intel HD 3000 Graphics Card - Bluetooth - Webcam - Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 32 reviews)

92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (28), Built-in Speakers (16), Bright Display (21), Realistic Color (14), Durable (10), Inexpensive (7)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Will be replacing this piece of junk very soon

By DisappointedEngineer from Undisclosed on 12/01/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Mouse Button Sticks, Freezes, Power Plug Broke, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this laptop in April 2012 for my wife to use in grad school. I liked the idea of an ultrabook for its thinner, lightweight design and energy efficient processor. The specs on this laptop were exactly what I was looking for. However, this laptop has been nothing but trouble. It worked well at first but then started randomly freezing. It was impossible to predict when it would occur or how long it would last - not exactly helpful when you are using the laptop for school and taking notes... I sent it into Samsung and it was returned with nothing changed. I reinstalled Windows back to the factory settings, and nothing changed. I have now done a completely fresh install of Windows 7 to remove all the junk Samsung software, so we will see how that goes. As I am typing this review, many of my keystrokes are not registering. Also, the left mouse button apparently sticks now. Also, the build quality i very cheap. The screen is very floppy. The plastic housing around the power plug on the side broke off which caused the plug to come unattached from the motherboard. I had to take the laptop apart and solder the power plug back to the motherboard to allow the battery to charge. I have had this laptop for 20 months. As soon as my wife finished grad school, we will be throwing this piece of junk away and getting something useful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Light, powerful, portable

By Maxtech from New York, NY on 10/30/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small, light, powerful. This machine last hours on a full battery. I have never had any horsepower issues. Great machine


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I don't know about this one

By catmeow734 from Undisclosed on 07/24/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I really love Samsung but the Ultra just needs a little more to it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Something new on the market

By Ricky365 from Boston ,MA on 04/10/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not At This Time, 1600 X 900 Would Be Nice Not 1366 X 768

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very well designed laptop with cooling exhaust on the back and very powerful with lower consumption processor and long battery life. I would recommend all 14 " Samsung 5 series comparing design price and features.Hopefully the quality is the same as most of the Samsung products - the time will tell.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Small, light and powerful

By DJRumbero from Katy, TX on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

None

I bought this ultrabook about six months ago and loved it since the first day I got it and that has not changed. I use it mainly for work because I am always driving visiting customers and I need to have all my files with me. I do not have anything negative to say about this laptop. I upgraded it to windows 8Pro and it is even better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice looking easy to use

By NHGolfnut100 from Laconia, NH on 12/03/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

A very nice computer for the price! Light weight and very quick.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Samsung Ultrabook

By dSteve from San Antonio, TX on 11/30/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Great Battery Lifetime, Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this device since May 2012 and to this day it performs as good as the day I bought it. The start-up and wake times are super fast. It light, perfect size, and very user friendly. This is the smallest device I found on the market with a DVD player. I highly recommend. Plus the battery life is one of the best I have ever experienced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great all-in-one ultrabook

By Dealman from Undisclosed on 11/12/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Laptop maintains ultrabook status with a dvd drive,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good

By WillinNC from Charlotte NC on 10/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this for a couple of days, like it so far. Downloaded updates have affected performance and stability, shocker!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Series 5 14.0 Ultra

By Asklepij from Undisclosed on 10/22/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very high performance for this size! Strongly recommended!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Series 5 14" Ultra

By Kennon from Undisclosed on 10/12/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Good stuff. Great price! Use this as my day-to-day personal box.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By WPinAK from Anchorage, AK on 10/07/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

1st Samsung product we've had in years. We knew what we were buying and were in no way disappointed. i5, 4GB ram, it's light, and the fan doesn't run all the time (unlike my macbook pro). Strictly business and Facebook games. We travel a lot and telecommute whenever possible. Did I mention that it's light?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My ULTRA great Ultra book

By Joleigh0877 from Spring Hill, FL on 09/18/2012


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this laptop, it is so light weight , it has great features and I use it all the time I have several laptops. I had another laptop, which I still have and love but I find myself picking this one up first now out of habit. The light weight durable design and the keyboard I absolutely love. I will keep on buying my Sammy's as I jokingly call them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trendy and Powerful

By Marvelboy from Castine, ME on 09/06/2012


Pros:

Comfortable To Use, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This computer is very usable in many situations, it has great speakers for music, fast processing and a comfortable keyboard. Not only is it a workhorse, but it is also one of the most stylish laptops I've seen. I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Value

By bygremlin from Undisclosed on 07/25/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good value for the price. i5 cpu and 500gb hhd.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

its slim wish i could customize my case with airbrushing or something

By casdub7 from Undisclosed on 07/20/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

its really thin i like it. the screen is a perfect size. i couldnt ask for anything more i guess until another ones comes out


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for travel

By 2CVLady from Chicago on 07/15/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Screen Freezes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is lightweight enough to travel but has a DVD drive and 3 USB ports. My major problem is that it tends to freeze up for apparently no reason and cannot be rebooted -- you have to shut off the power. Otherwise it is pretty fast to start and load web pages (I don't do any gaming and rarely watch videos).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Ultrabook!

By Mom2four from Colleyville, TX on 07/01/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product w/ DVD - runs like a dream - highly recommend this product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big Mistake

By evanbw from Undisclosed on 06/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this product because I've had good experiences with their TV's. Now I know to stick to their TV's. I don't know much about computers, I just want them to work. This crashes all the time, and sometimes won't wake up from sleep mode. I wish I would have bought the cheapest model out their instead of this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By prasnick from tenali on 05/29/2012


Cons:

Too Big, Led Back Lit Keyboard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product almost delivers the conditions what you are looking for and unlike all ultrabooks it has discrete graphics performance but the battery life is not good as promised and over all performance is good...!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast and Easy

By Anonymous from Lawrence, KS on 05/27/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

While I have only recently purchased this product, the ease of setup, quickness, and design have already made it a big favorite at our house.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tons of features in a mobile product

By Atl92 from Atlanta, GA on 05/09/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I chose the Series 5 ultrabook because it was a great balance between the super compact ultra books with no optical drive and the larger traditional laptops on the market. It has the quick start, long battery life, and a sleek design while still carrying the larger hard drive and optical drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Road Use

By bennytoao from work on 05/07/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great road companion for the person that's always running around


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Laptop

By Gowri from Warsaw, IN on 05/07/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop satisfies all your needs, slim, fast, elegant very soft. This design is unique and attracts by look.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful laptop

By 6907samsung from CA on 05/05/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Gorgeous, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So I actually am a very frugal buyer. I did not expect myself to buy such an high priced laptop, but the beauty of this just had me spend the money. I think it is a good laptop. It is so beautiful. I plan to get linux installed on here. That would provide a good web surfing OS. It is a good laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

incredible

By tonyjd from PA on 04/30/2012


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

it does everything you would expect and so much more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop for a road warrior

By SeniorWrights from The Villages, Florida on 04/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

This product has all of the features that any working who spends time on the go would find most welcome. It is light, full featured and very attractive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For the Advisor on the go

By YourAdvisorConcierge from Denver, CO on 04/21/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have my own financial planning practice, and I needed a highly portable, high powered laptop. The NP530U4BI is a solid performer, and has great battery life to boot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great

By Lollyta from Undisclosed on 04/20/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just bought this thing for myself but already love it! I really like the perfomance, memory is enough for everything I need + with Core i5 Processor it works great. And I really like that it does have this DVD-ROM. Thank you for this product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is stylish with great features

By compfan from Jacksonville, FL on 04/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Poor Viewing Angles

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this ultra book! It is stylish and has great features without overloading the system with too much junk programs. My only complaint is that the screen viewing angles for getting the best image are somewhat limited.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By AmbitiousSTEFF from Undisclosed on 03/11/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Portability, Realistic Color, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Camera Quality Is Solid Could Be Better.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Samsung is known for their high-end products and that is exactly what this laptop is, High-End. Only con I have is the camera. Could be better for the amount of $$$ spent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good For Business

By RamanSpec from Windber, PA on 02/08/2012


Pros:

Connectivity, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Slower Than Expected

I am not an expert but I do not see much difference in this computer's performance than any other. I will say it does boot up just like my wife's Mac Book Pro but I have already had a unexpected shut down of Word. Not sure if that is the computer fault, but is inconvenient when working on important documents. I am happy with the functionality of the computer compared to is size. I did not want the ultra-book that lost most of its ports. I use this for business and being able to connect to a projector or external monitor without an adapter is nice. The fewer cables you travel with the fewer times you get stopped by TSA. The screen is clear and during my battery test I got almost 7 hours out of it. I will perform a few more tests to confirm. The value is ok but not the best, however it is competitive since it has so much more memory than other ultra-books. Overall I would recommend this to others.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved