Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP530U4CA01US » 12 Reviews

Samsung NP530U4C-A01US 14.0" 4g 750gb Quad I5-3317u Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (11), Built-in Speakers (7), Durable (6), Bright Display (11), Inexpensive (6), Realistic Color (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Nice slim line fast action computer. Weak Battery Life

By 1sttimeAndroidowner from USA on 07/16/2013


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I find the computer runs pretty fast and I don't have any major malfunctions or crashes. The software runs nicely. I am finding that after less than a year the battery life is diminishing very quickly. I used to get six hours out of a full charge with normal use not including watching movies and such. Now I seem to get four hours out of a charge. This is a big deal to me because part of the reason I went with a ultra-book style computer was for the longer battery life. I don't think you can take the battery out of this so if I am traveling I am playing the "search for power" game. And Yes I optimize my battery life by utilizing all the settings available. I recommend this computer but I also suggest you get a computer you can remove the battery for either a back-up or replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Investment

By guitarguy434 from Anderson, IN on 04/15/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this version of the series 5 after trying out some other laptops and ultrabooks from various companies as I was starting college. I had numerous problems that required upgrades and new parts so I kept looking and I found this one which was cheaper than buying the new parts. This ultrabook has met all of my needs as a student, a gamer, and for just casual usage. Two very attractive features of this version of the series 5 in my opinion were the dimensions/weight and the battery life. While I'm lugging around heavy books for various classes, my ultrabook adds very little weight and fits very nicely in my bag. I think it's great that I can get about 6 and a half hours of battery life on the right energy settings. This has been a real life saver on the occasions that I have left my charger at home. The 4 gigs of ram and the 750 gigs of hard drive space was nice for facilitating some of the games I play as well as various other media files I have from previous computers. Granted, this is not a product for hardcore gamers by any means, but it runs games I play (Minecraft, Fallout, Elder Scrolls, WoW) pretty well. I have upgraded my ram another 4 gigs to help things run smoother, but I plan to get an NVIDIA card to help out even more. I also use my ultrabook to listen to and edit music. The speakers are not the greatest in the world, but I appreciated the fact that they have a customizable equalizer. Many of the other laptops and ultrabooks I had previously tried out did not. I have had this ultrabook for about 7 months now and I have had zero problems and zero complaints. I would definitely say that I got my money's worth and it has both met and exceeded my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

could be better

By esteenj from Undisclosed on 01/24/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros: Nice combo of weight, battery, storage, etc. Cons: infant death of motherboard, no compatible USB docking stations (that I can find), trouble finding the right additional A/C adapters, low quality help from the Samsung web site. Bottom line: Could be great...but it isn't


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Value

By TygerUpperCut from CA on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This Ultrabook loads fast and due to its light weight design and size, it is highly mobile. Granted you aren't going to be doing some serious graphics work or pwning all the newbs in Starcraft II, but it's a fantastic device for students and for professionals.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

QUALITY AND VALUE BUNDLED TOGETHER

By Quadophile from Sugar Land, Texas on 11/17/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Lack Of Keypad Illumination

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is great laptop which does full justice to portability and functionality. I particularly liked the idea of an ultrabook with the optical drive. It sort of completes the package for those on the go. It is an ideal travel companion for those who use it for business. it even has the vga connector even though it is obsolete by todays standard but one can use it for older projectors and even monitors. The speed of the laptop in high performance mode is excellent in case one needs it. The Samsung optimised mode is the for general purpose computing. The screen is gorgeous to look at if you are using it to view HD content. The screen size is a great balancing act between portability and luxury of a desktop. The only gripe was that the keypad is not illuminated, I have in the past 15 years always used an illuminated keypad and miss it sorely, however this is not a deal breaker for me. All in all a great product which will appeal to those who want to get the job done.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best computer i ever had

By jr37high from clearwater,FL on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very easy to use,very light weight and priced was good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still the best so bought a second one

By ITSDirector from Cincinnati on 11/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

These days it's tough to steer your kids away from Mac Books with limited specs,proprietary connectors and high prices for just a status symbol. Thankfully mine grew up. Here is the net of this Ultra-book: As thin as a Mac Faster than a Mac More features and compatibility than a Mac Less expensive than a Mac and better built So the Pros: Easy to set up and creates a restore image during initial setup on the drive. It actually stores TWO. One is stored as factor reset and the other is how it was right after you initialized and registered it. Both are available. Samsung will also mail you a restore DVD free if you request it. 750GB - 7200rpm Hard Drive with 32Gb cache plus this PC has 24GB ExpressCache Technology which is just like an mini SSD. It boots fast (under 20 seconds) and awakes from sleep mode in under 2 seconds. Screen is not a glossy glare but still maintains its fingerprint free matte with bright and vivid colors. Does not get hot while using So thin with a built in super multi-drive is so nice! Realistic 7 hours of battery life 4GB ram upgrade is a very minimal investment and did so on both immediately Touch-pad is incredible. Better than the dozens I have used to date with multi-swipe, multi-zoom, back, forward, quick scroll, etc. So what are the Cons?: The power cord sticks out perpendicular to the Ultra-book at the left side which makes it easy on your lap to put pressure on it. Break or bend, and there goes your motherboard. So take care Battery is not user replaceable just like another manufactures toys which is disappointing. However this battery is built to last for more charges and longer life than typical laptop batteries. Guess we will see but 6 months on the first one bought and not any degradation so far and it gets charged everyday Finally, no back-lit keys. I'm not the critical party on this, my daughters are but they overlooked it quickly when they got this in their hands


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Series 5 Rocks

By kyani1 from Salt Lake City, UT on 10/31/2012


Pros:

Dvd Drive, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Full Size Hdmi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a tec background and do a lot of presentation with a projector for my marketing business. I have been looking for a laptop that has the perfect balance of power and weight. I don't need a gaming machine but show a lot of video. The series 5 is perfect. Ultra book size and weight with the features of a bigger unit (like the DVD drive). Looking forward to many road trips with this unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Clicky"Buttons

By Shinergise from Dollar, Scotland, UK on 10/27/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Noisy Buttons

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My only one complaint is the noisiness of the clickable buttons on the touchpad, they are too LOUD and this is very off-putting if you are on a plane next to someone who is sleeping! The upgrade to Windows 8 has NOT been smooth, think that both Samsung and Microsoft could provide better instructions.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So far, so good

By WillinNC from Charlotte NC on 10/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Had this laptop for a couple of days, so far I like it. Light weight and nice features. Downloaded updates have affected performance and stability, but what are you gonna do?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Light Laptop with a built in DVD

By CarolG8511 from Hawaii on 09/16/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

A Little Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Needed a laptop that was light with a built in DVD player for a deployment. This was the only one I could find that met all my needs. Does a great job, but was a little pricey in relation to those that didn't have the DVD player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By dtembe from Dallas, TX on 08/27/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display, Raw Computing Power, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased it yesterday. Spent some time removing the Samsung bloatware. Couple of tweaks to the settings. Used Ninite to install all my daily use programs. Its ready to go. I am using it as a test lab to run virtual servers showing network computing. I already feel the need to upgrade the RAM from 4 gigs to 8 gigs, but the VMs are running like a champ including a MS Server 2012 Std. VM. Very pleased with this purchase. Will recommend this to any power users. Love the keyboard and the display too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved