Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP700Z5AS03US » 50 Reviews

Samsung 700Z5A 15.6" LED Notebook - Intel Core i7 i7-2675QM 2.20 GHz - 1600 x 900 WSXGA Display - 8 GB RAM - 750 GB HDD - AMD Radeon HD 6750M, Intel HD 3000 Graphics Card - Bluetooth - Genuine Windows Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 50 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (12), Realistic Color (24), Bright Display (39), Lightweight (35), Built-in Speakers (22), Durable (29), Performance (3)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (6), Not High Def (9)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Terrible trackpad!!!!

By Podge from Arkansas on 01/11/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Bad Trackpad, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had high expectations when I chose this computer. It looks great, but is not as fast as I expect an I7 to be, and the trackpad is TERRIBLE. It does not work properly. I had read the same in a review, but hoped it was not true. Samsung needs to fix this!!! I am not happy with this computer at all......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best buy ive had in a while

By Zerokool from NY on 05/09/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Gets Hot

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Well to start off with the pros, i7 quad core processor AND dedicated high middle class graphics card (radeon 6750m) i recently downloaded tera rising and im able to play that on max settings along with other titles like skyrim and saints row the third, two 3.0 usb ports makes transferring HUGE files a breeze.....the built-in express cache takes away those moments when you're in a rush to start work or get to your files, but for the main attraction is the size and the design of the laptop. I brought this baby to school and out of nowhere "awesome laptop", "looks sweet", "Thats a quad core?!?!" ....etc but i never expected for that to happen lol the back-lit keyboard made it alittle more flashy along with its Chiclet keyboard, i also like when i take my laptop out from not being used for an hour or so, its cold to the touch ^.^. Now onto the cons or should i say con, the only real problem i have with it is the heating, it tends to get really hot when on my lap, i think its due to the lack of vents and the quad core processor but idk maybe if the bottom was also aluminum (able to absorb cool air) or it just had more vents it would be perfect but nothing is perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice foot print plenty of power

By np700z5aUser from Maryland on 10/21/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

No Esata Port

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice foot print plenty of power Bright realistic colors


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Notebook

By Anonymous from GT on 09/23/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

A Bit Slow For I7

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Thin, light and an elegant design makes this pc one of the best I've ever had. Samsung software includes easy manager and easy support center... Believe me, it's easy to keep your pc up to date. I'm giving a 4 star because when you format your Samsung, the drivers are not included so you need a wifi/LAN driver to download the software from the internet. I had to go to another pc to get the wifi/LAN driver into an USB and then install it into my Samsung PC. Always keep a driver Backup.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop for the Price

By Crunchynoodles from Undisclosed on 09/13/2012


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Quad Core

Cons:

Battery Life Not As Advertise

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Do most things well. Good build quality. Packaged well, has all the features most will need. Bright display, not hi-def but is good for my applications. I don't watch movies with this. I use my Samsung TV. OK battery life, 4-5 hrs, not 8hrs, not even close. Have to keep a 2nd charger in my truck wherever I go. Runs hot but its a quad core. Good keyboard & bright back lite. Mouse pad is a waste of time, use a cordless mouse however the zoom in & out is useful but difficult to control. Built-in speakers are not very good. Good performance in most applications. I use it for my business so I don't use it for gaming. Same size as a MacPro so most of the accessories will fit this laptop. I got a form fitting semi-rigid case for traveling.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Performance

By Dhahn from Arizona on 08/29/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This machine is just what I was hoping it would be... a great performer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great computer

By HighFidelity from Chicago,Il on 08/25/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This computer has an excellent screen.This model has the backlit keyboard which makes it easy to work with.I love the keyboard.It is superfast and I truly love this laptop


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Great

By PATech from central Pennsylvania on 07/06/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Performance, Bright Display

Cons:

Terrible Touchpad, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent countless hours shopping around between the different manufactures prior to settling on the Samsung NP700. This laptop had the majority of the features I was looking for, most importantly being a higher screen resolution than most 15.6" laptops. I have owned this laptop since December of 2011. My job requires me to have a machine that is multifaceted. In a single day I can be doing anything from RDP sessions, to .NET programming, to running multiple virtual machines. This laptop certainly fits the bill. Pros: Compared to other matte screens I have seen/used the Samsung's is both sharp and bright. Battery life is better than average. I never realized what I had been missing before by not having a backlit keyboard. Overall aesthetics of the laptop are sleek. Feels balanced when carrying it with the screen open [not that I would do that]. ;) Indifferent: The Samsung bundled management software is ok when it's works as expected; has some bugs. I'm not sure you can access some of the laptops features without having some of it installed; it's not that terrible that I felt I had to uninstall it and find out. The chiclet key board isn't very tactile. They feel very stiff/plastic. Cons: As mentioned by nearly every other owner the touchpad is horrific. It's not consistent in registering single or double-click taps. It's very difficult to right click using the lower right depression corner of the touchpad. The driver software doesn't give you a whole lot of customization options either. Despite having nearly all options except for scroll and click disabled I still find the touchpad causing a "click and drag" event intermittently. The top edge of the laptop (where your palms/wrists rest) has a raised placed edge that is annoying when moving around. My wrists are constantly getting caught on the edge and it feels almost sharp enough to cut should you move the right way. I would have really liked to have seen a higher resolution offered than 1600x900. Even at an upgrade premium. Summary: I really do love the performance and look of this laptop. I really don't have too many negatives to say about it, but unfortunately the touchpad ruins the functionality/joy of using the laptop. I'm often cramped on a spare table, step ladder, scissors lift, etc., where using the touchpad is the only option and it quickly becomes a frustrating/tiresome endeavor. If Samsung replaces these touchpads in future models they'll have a real winner. If anyone wants a good deal on a used one, let me know. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop

By OVBec from Bishop, CA on 06/26/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Backlit Keyboard, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a laptop that had a backlit keyboard and good screen contrast (to be able to see it while using it outdoors). I got just what I wanted. Set up was a breeze. So far, no issues, but I'm not a computer whiz kid; it does just what I want it to. I have to get used to the keyboard, since I've only ever used an ergonomic, split keyboard--not flat--but that will come in time. Response time is as advertised; up and running as soon as I lift the screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome computer!

By Insight4 from Cyber Space on 06/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am pleased with my purchase. Excellent features, great performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Brilliantly refreshing

By naz3 from Dubai, UAE on 06/12/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Quality Issues

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've gone through 3 of these laptops now (not at Samsung's fault!) but the retailer I bought it from. However, having tried several of these laptops I can safely say I am completely satisfied with this product and all it can provide. PROS: Its style is top notch compared to other windows laptops with a sleek aluminium finish. The bezel as well round the screen is one of the thinnest I've seen on a windows laptop too which is a major bonus for full screen content. Start up time is prompt with the 8GB of flash memory and performance is there for heavy duty programs (video editing and games work well AS LONG AS THEY ARE COMPATIBLE WITH THE GRAPHICS CARD). Lastly the battery life is brilliant for all of this, boasting about 5-6 hours with regular surfing the web and watching YouTube. CONS: -Note that these cons are so minor that no one but me that uses my laptop notices them.- As a high performance laptop it does well across the board only with few downfalls. On one of the few laptops I went through, i noticed the trim around the edge of the laptop is prone to weakness as even now I can see that just above the SD card reader, there is a small gap where the trim is coming loose and the same in a few other places. Minor though, you wont notice if you're not looking for it (I still wouldn't put any stress on the frame by holding it in one hand etc. that might be pushing it). Another is keyboard related, for example, I press the 'H' key with my right index finger and after a few months of use, i can see that the 'H' key is tilted slightly to the right after being pressed from that direction multiple times. In fact, I think most of the keys have taken their own posture however I'm OCD like this and again, you wouldn't notice it either. You'll also want to use some headphones or a microphone with this laptop if you Skype or use Voice over IP sometimes as I know I have annoyed a few of my friends using the built in microphone on the laptop as they say it is too muffled and picks up a lot of background noise. Last of these minor points, I've noticed that when watching a full screen movie using Windows Movie Maker or any other video player, there is a slight flicker in terms of brightness for a few seconds on the screen and as a result sometimes I prefer to not full screen to avoid this. Again with all the cons, they are extremely minor are more of a constructive criticism than anything to sway your choice of buying this laptop. Overall it is a wonderful choice as a machine and at the time of purchase, had i known about these minor issues, I still would not have considered another laptop. 5 Stars!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome

By Jevyjav from Undisclosed on 05/24/2012


Pros:

Design And Power

Cons:

No Blu Ray

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What more could i ask for.... oh wait i know. A BluRay player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Product

By cool6tom from Undisclosed on 05/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

Poor Quality, Touchpad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performance is great compared to my old laptop. when I got this laptop, the chassis wasn't entirely sealed. Near the hinge area, there is a gap. Touchpad is a pain to use since it's sooo sensitive. But overall, I would rate this laptop a 4 out of 5 because it does what it suppose to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great notebook, but poor quality display

By lbesze from Wine country CA on 05/10/2012


Pros:

Very Cool Design, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not High Def, Display Is Mediocre

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this notebook after an extensive year old research. Wanted a Core I 7 quad core chip, at least 6gigs of RAM, built in optical drive, matte higher then the typical 720p display, with optional graphics card, and an aluminium color and material thin design. Well this came along.Pretty much everything turned out to be as I expected, except the poor quality of the display. Mainly the poor contrast, black level and color reproduction. At this price level this is a major letdown IMO This is especially bothersome watching videos and DVD's not so with web pages. There were some issues with the graphics card as well but it was rectified with a new driver update.I have an LCD PC monitor from Samsung, and also own a DLP TV both are 1080p, and they both are very good, so I know Samsung can do better when it comes to displays.. If that issue didn't exist I would gave 5 stars all around, this a very good notebook otherwise, fast ,quiet, good battery hours,and looks just awesome. every time I hold it I keep marvel at it's looks, and cost almost half as much as the competing MBP.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best laptop I have ever owned

By Jatniex from New York, NY, USA on 05/05/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Clear and simple - I love it! The build is very solid and design professional. The only drawback is a little heat that can be noticed after long periods of working while holding the computer in your lap. However it is on the far end of the computer's base - above the keyboard, so you don't have to touch it and it is barely notable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous laptop for college

By ComputerTechie from Long island on 04/07/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Video Lecture Reading, Bright Display, Perfect Screen, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The screen is fantastic. Watching video lecture from teacher is just amazing. Especially, when your professor sends you some sort of reading that must be done online, on the web, or PDF file or something like that, instead of thinking "aw darn it, my eyes are gonna hurt later" but you will proudly say "perfect opportunity to read" because the screen is just that good. Plus,the aluminum part is just beautiful and seamlessly integrated with the body, it's like a big rock turned into a computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything it pertains to be.

By Phillipa from New Zealand on 04/07/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am thrilled with this product. The startup speed is great. There is only one thing I did not expect and that is that the C drive is so small compared to the Temp partition D drive. Otherwise I have no complaints whatsoever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No better windows alternative

By ElectronicMonkey from Atlanta, GA on 03/03/2012


Pros:

Fast Performance, Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, 7hr Battery Life

Cons:

Not High Def, Broadcom Wifi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop is fast, really good looking, and pretty light


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Notenook for the price

By Charlybegood from Undisclosed on 03/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Performance

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After one day of use : Pros : - Solid feeling, good building quality. - Keyboard, really nice typing, silent, beautiful backlit. - Thin and lightweight for a 15.6 notebook. - Excellent performance, Fast booting time - Silent in normal internet, office use, HD movie playback. - Bright screen and 1600x900 resolution - Correct sound Cons : - Touchpad is not as good has expected, but totally usable - The front edge of the notebook is a little bit sharp. and could be irritating with long time use - Poor wifi reception (Broadcom card, some models have a better Intel N6230, with widi). But it's possible to change it. - Screen viewing angles. In overall, I would totally recommend this product ! I'm a student, occasionnaly gaming, office and multimedia use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice computer for the price

By JimB123 from Greensboro on 03/02/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Slim, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like the key board that does not take much effort to push keys. Lighted keyboard is cool. Only negative right now is that the design, edge of the computer, where you put your wrists, the seam of the housing pulls the hair off of my arm. Just a bit annoying. May just put some tape over it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good laptop great ...

By mmoretti from Philadelphia Pa. on 03/02/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Too Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good laptop great picture and incredible speed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung hit a Home Run with this Laptop.

By Anonymous from San Diego, CA on 03/01/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am extremely pleased with this purchase. I normally get "Buyers Remorse" when I put down a lot of $$ on anything, but I did not and have not had any feelings of regret with this laptop. It is very fast on the boot-up, and being an IT professional that in itself almost had me sold, but the solid performance and all around good looks finished the sale. I posted a pic of me with it on Facebook, and I had friends telling me they thought it was from the fruit labeled company. I, of course, had to correct them. I have owned phones from Samsung (as well as phones for my wife) and we have always been satisfied with the performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it

By funkyfresh from Undisclosed on 02/29/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Graphics Card, Fast, Bright Display, I7, 8 Gigs Of Ram!, Durable

It's amazing, I'm very happy I bought it. It does everything I need/want.. all at the same time! The graphics card is nice, it is a very portable laptop, the sound is good, the battery lasts forever, backlit keyboard is great, its really fast, and the boot time is awesome. All around fantastic laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cooling fan issue

By RMSamsungaddict from Undisclosed on 02/22/2012


Pros:

Fast, Long Standing Battery, Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Noisy Fan Issue, Wish For An Even More Powerful Vga Card

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The overall experience is great. Light, fast and with back-lit keyboard, that's what I wanted from my notebook. And battery life is amazing. I did a 4 hours (repeated the process several times) in a Norton Ghost backup and when I noticed I was running on the notebook battery I froze. It was still having 40% juice. One thing happened though, a fan from inside went wrong and started vibrating. I set the fans to run as low as possible, but the noise started to bother. I called service and they said I have to send notebook to them to replace the fan. I ended getting a spare fan myself and replaced it. When opening the notebook, which BTW voids warranty, so assume this if you open yours, I also upgraded to Samsung SSD 830 512GB drive. Now I have my dream notebook and everyone who sees it has something to say about it's sleek appearance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Laptop I've ever had

By MegatronJon from Los Angeles on 02/17/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THis computer looks cool for starters, In addition, it's fast and is able to multi-task with ease. Burning CD's is a breeze and the Samsung software hub is a welcomed addition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Series 7 15.6"

By Aki05 from Woodinville, Wa on 02/16/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Long Battery Light, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Touch Pad On Left Hand/ No Responding Sometimes., Plastic Back, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, this is a laptop with the right idea, Light weight, longer battery light compare to MAC Pro. Fast booting up but a few of the features were poorly executed and they can potentially take away all the luster of this laptop. con is the mouse touchpad. This laptop's mouse touchpad is not in the center of the laptop. The actual material of this mouse touchpad is not smooth like many other touchpads. It is prone to more friction and becomes harder to use as time goes by. I like to effortlessly glide my finger across a mouse touchpad. However, this touchpad causes unintended taps/double-taps and palm clicks. There is no option for palm-detection. Furthermore, the entire touchpad presses down like a button, yet it also functions for touch so the cursor jumps/moves if you're trying to click on a particular area because it will recognize your finger moving slightly when pressing down. FAIL.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!

By JJohnsonairflow from Undisclosed on 02/14/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop is amazing. I think that this is the best laptop on the market....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Laptop, But...

By BMSMan from Charlotte, NC on 02/12/2012


Pros:

Matte Screen, Hardware Specs, Bright Display, Back-lit Keyboard, Realistic Color

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Open Gl Issue, Battery Life, Keyboard

I was really excited to get this laptop and held off months waiting for them to become available. Its specs are very impressive and I was fine with the price because of them. I own lots of Samsung products (phones, tv's, other laptops, etc..) and was really looking forward to this high end machine. I love the matte screen and the thin bezel around it. Love the metal feel and lots of other features it has. but 2 problems ruin this laptop for me. First one could just be my unit but the other is a Samsung issue. 1) the space bar doesn't always "click" I often have to go back and add spaces to my paragraphs because it simply didn't work when it was pressed. All the buttons are easily depressed but the space bar some time just doesn't work, super annoying. 2) The is a hardware issue that prevents the awesome AMD graphics card from using OpenGL which is used in many programs that I purchased the computer for, After Effects, Photoshop, SketchUp, and many other graphics intensive programs. This seems to be an issue that can not be resolved with a fix, its in the hardware. THIS IS A GAME CHANGER AND RENDERS THIS LAPTOP USE LESS FOR ME! I'm so bummed about this, I really want this to work as I love the look and feel of it. I'm going to try and return it if possible. Major bummer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Mike5226 from Undisclosed on 02/08/2012

Great laptop, worth every penny, only a few issues to note: -keyboard is a fingerprint magnet (not really that bad) -the bottom half of the housing is made from plastic, not aluminum like the rest of the housing -the space bar is a little iffy, it recognizes presses only about 2/3 of the time (easily fixed by inserting a square piece of paper under the bar) - vga adapter was not included Overall a great laptop, and one of the best purchases I made


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent laptop with fast speed and long battery life

By WebSurfer from Cape Coral, FL on 02/03/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop is by far the best I have ever bought and I bought quite a few. The performance is excellent super fast start up and the battery life is unbelievable. I had it unplugged for 5 plus hours while I was downloading and surfing the web at the same time and still had life in the battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sleek, speedy, and very sexy

By tylerg2002 from Kansas on 01/20/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

I've had my Series 7 notebook for a couple weeks now, and It's definitely proving itself as a contender among the ranks of other, much more expensive laptops. For half the cost of my previous laptop, the Series 7 matches or exceeds the its specs. From its sexy brushed metal exterior, to its speedy start-up, this laptop is perfect for anyone who demands both form and function.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Santa's Business Gift...!

By OktaViOo from Mexico on 01/18/2012


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Too Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My laptop is essential for my business...! I need to be confident that my information is safe, my data wont crash and that when ever I need to access my projects everything is in place and I can access fast and transmit as fast as possible...! Samsung 7 Series gives me this for half the price of other over rated brands...! I do recommend this equipment to anyone looking for the best of the best in laptops...!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sharp Wrist Rest Ruins This Laptop

By wicker from South Hero, VT on 01/16/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Sharp Wrist Rest, Did Not Meet Expectations

Unfortunately the super-sharp wrist rest edge ruins what is otherwise a very nice laptop. Samsung didn't bevel or round off the lip of the wrist rest, & the square edge is sharp enough to leave white scrape marks. It is a serious usability design flaw that Samsung overlooked. Otherwise the Series 7 Chronos is a nice thin laptop with a sleek metal case. The boot time & speed loading programs is outstanding. The only other flaws are the ELAN touchpad which is jumpy even with the latest drivers, & the wifi range is terrible. These two are flaws I can live with, but the sharp wrist rest is particularly awful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased!

By LuvMySamsung7 from Undisclosed on 01/05/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Needs Blue Ray And Better Wifi Adapter

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just received my laptop. The only thing it is lacking is a better WiFi adapter and Blue Ray.. other than that, this laptop is incredible.. the build quality is amazing!! I am very pleased with Samsung.. overall, I just wish it had the above two features. This is a dream machine and I would recommend it to anyone!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Switchable Graphics Issues Break an Otherwise Great Computer

By chronos from Undisclosed on 12/31/2011


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Initially I was very impressed with this laptop, the specifications seemed great for the price and it had great battery life. The matte screen looks great and with an i7, 8GB of memory, and a decent dedicated graphics card it seemed like it could handle almost everything I would want to use it for. However, within the first few days of owning this laptop I have found several unexpected performance issues. Several programs which this computer should be more than capable of handling perform worse than on my three and a half year old laptop whih I planned on replacing with the Samsung Series 7 Chronos. I have found that the automated switching between the discrete graphics card and the integrated graphics card is less than ideal. Several programs I use which should take advantage of the dedicated AMD graphics card do not. Upon doing some research on the internet I found that it is a known problem that any program utilizing openGL will get stuck using the Intel HD integrated graphics. There aren't many programs that use openGL but some that do that I had planned on using include Photoshop, a few video games, and Solid Works. This occurs even when setting that program to high performance in the switchable graphics options. This is unfortunate because I purchased a laptop with a dedicated graphics card only to get the performance of integrated graphics. Some other laptop manufactures have had the same problem with this combination of Intel processor and AMD graphics. These other manufacturers have released a BIOS update that corrects the issue. I hope that Samsung will do the same. I'm planning on returning this product if this issue is not fixed and I would not recommend that anyone who plans on using programs that utilize openGL purchase this until it is fixed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall great laptop

By masterofchaos from Harrisburg, PA on 12/27/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The pros: fast, sleek/thin, not a lot of bloatware, light, decent screen, backlit keyboard, (2) USB 3.0 slots, HDMI slot, fantastic video card...and did I mention FAST! The cons: sharp edge where you rest your wrists; pop-in SD memory card seems finicky and cheap; keyboard is nice, but layout takes some getting use too (esp. delete button which I use a lot); USB slot for mouse is too low that it gets in the way, speakers are not great for music.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Primary features ...

By TechBaker from Colorado on 12/26/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Many More, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Primary features influencing my decision to purchase the NP700Z5AH were the matte screen, screen size, processor, the Samsung brand, and too many other cool features to list. I've had the laptop for about 2 weeks and couldn't be more pleased as it performs well and is exactly what I needed for work and play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's a great laptop!

By MarkS1822 from FL on 12/17/2011


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Numerical Keypad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Fast, light, and a great display. I use the laptop for home and business and have to load some special business programs. If you are looking for a superior laptop, but do not need it for gaming, and do not want a laptop "designed for" or "packaged for" various retail stores, this is the one to buy!!! If you like their TVs, (and we do!) you'll like this laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great computer. Big step ...

By pahding from Undisclosed on 12/16/2011


Pros:

Bright Display

Great computer. Big step up from my economy compaq.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Laptop

By minsammie from Undisclosed on 12/13/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Can't Use Opengl, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, very pleased. Lots of bang for the buck. Display is fine. I like the aluminum case. Bottom is plastic. Spacebar doesn't work very well when pressed on the far right. Lip between plastic bottom and aluminum palm rest is pretty sharp - takes some getting used to. Mouse pad needs to be tweaked to be useful. Graphics card is glitchy. Old drivers - tough to update. Can't run Opengl programs on this computer which include lots of adobe software. Can't overclock 6750m. Other than that this computer is awesome. Its light and has a great battery. Fan is really quiet. Build is pretty good and the bloatware isn't to bad.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product but needs work on Mousepad

By mewang from Phoenix Arizona on 12/13/2011


Pros:

Matte Screen, Bright Display, Durable, Great Keyboard, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Performance, Inexpensive, Screen Bezel Is Small, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not High Def, Mousepad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall extremely happy with the product. Great bang for your buck compared to Apple Products. Ive had 2 apple laptops before this computer and although they were good they were expensive! This has a very good quality keyboard with quality performance for the price. The mousepads is what really bugs me the most. It's not as responsive as my previous mouse pads from apple. It's a struggle moving it around but I guess Ill get used to it. Sometimes it does not click or work properly. But other than that...I love the numeric pad on the right and I love the expresscache fast bootups.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Laptop

By halberto1 from North Texas on 12/09/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Backlit Keyboard, Durable, Nice Looking / Thin, Multitasking, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent several months researching all the major brands before choosing this laptop. I waited until this one finally started to appear in stores. Well worth the wait. I'm not a gamer, but I do some database design and needed some horsepower. Also, multiple apps going at all times. Features I wanted and got : 15.6 screen -1600 X 900 display - Numeric keypad. - Backlit Keyboard. (be careful - not all series 7 have this, check the F9 and F10 keys for the FN display). - 3.0 USB X 2. - Bluetooth / Wireless.- i7 Quad core - 6GB Ram (there is another model (S03) with 8 but this is upgradeable / no big deal.) - Light (5.05 lbs.) Got everything I wanted. Everyone else had some of these features, but always fell short in one or two ways.This is the complete package. Everything works as advertised. Happy customer all around.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best buy for the cost

By MikeSamsung from Fort Worth, TX on 12/08/2011


Pros:

Awesome All-around Features, Lightweight

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been looking for a replacement laptop for my Sony VAIO that had developed a short in the screen backlight leaving me with an unreadable screen. I wanted a replacement that had a backlit keyboard, better performance (went from dual core to I7), larger hard drive (went from 300 to 750GB), WiFi, USB 3.0 and Bluetooth 3.0. This system had it all and at a cost about 30% less than the competition. The only possible options missing are full HD (1920 x 1080) and a BlueRay drive. I do programming for Windows and Web-based applications and some game playing with WOW. I watch some NetFlix but am not that much into the BlueRay thing and the installed graphics are more than sufficient for my needs. All in all, an awesome system that I plan on using for at least 3 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Had Been Looking For Years!

By ShadMan29 from Undisclosed on 12/08/2011


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

Mouse Pad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I came from Samsung Vio VGN-FZ140E. Needless to say I was in need of an upgrade. I had it narrowed down between a few and then the Series 7 came out. Done deal! Love it! Start up is amazing, backlight key is terriftic. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the mouse pad. It needs to be a few inches away from the keys and is super sensitive. I'm sure there is a way to change that. However, for the money I would totally recommend this Laptop!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So many small issues, I got fed up

By kleekleeklee from Undisclosed on 12/01/2011


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Video Card, Keyboard Spacebar, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I really wanted to like this computer. Its sleek, premium feel and great specifications on paper made this computer exciting to purchase at the store. Unfortunately, it was wrought with so many small annoyances and a fatal flaw - its poorly designed spacebar, that I returned it after only two days of use. - When typing, I noticed that 1/3 of my spaces were being skipped. On both the far right side and the far left side of the spacebar, standard depresses were not registering. I went back to the retailer, who opened up a new computer and the issue was the same on the new unit as well. This is a DESIGN FLAW. - The computer came preformatted with a 50GB main partition and a secondary D: drive with the rest of the capacity. I immediately redid the partitioning from the Samsung restore utility to made it one partition. - When playing YouTube videos, I was constantly getting BSOD and video artifacts. - After waking from sleep using the quick wake function, software would run so slow that it required a restart, negating the whole SSD-like feature included. Overall, a very disappointing waste of time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really love it!!!

By foreverlove from Undisclosed on 11/29/2011


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Beautiful, Stay Cool, Durable, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is it! I'm pleased to say goodbye to my sony vaio and using this samsung series 7. I paid less and got a better machine. I was worried about the 15.6inch size vs 13 inch from sony but the experience is totally awesome with samsung series 7. One of which is it stays cool the whole time and is so fast even I had many heavy duty applications running at the same time. The speaker is Awesome! The built is solid and elegant. This is my first Samsung computer and I can see why Samsung is recognized for "Excellence". I can't wait to try other Samsung products. Keep up the great work, Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great computer, fast ...

By LolaRose from Undisclosed on 11/29/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Touchpad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great computer, fast startup, love the backlit keyboard, and it is very fast overall compared to my previous laptop. Only con is the touchpad, I don't like that it is not sensitive tomy touch. Maybe there is setting to change it that I do not know about but i feel like i have to press harder than I should to move the mouse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Aesthetically pleasing with good performance

By detailedReviewer from MD on 11/27/2011


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

No Blu-ray, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop looks great, is light, and performs like a champ but for the price I was hoping for a full 1080p screen and maybe a blu-ray player but I guess I can't have one's cake and eat it too. It is designed perfectly, lightweight, slim, super quiet, and the fans being on the inside hinge of the monitor is a nice touch so it doesn't get hot on your lap. The automatically dimmed display is very convenient as well. There are some problems with it though. Samsung's pre-loaded software doesn't interact with Windows very well and only adds a few advantages. Blu-ray, full HD, and wireless display all would have been nice options to add on as well. The speakers are not of the greatest quality either. The touchpad, while built with some nice features, is very delicate and the slightest touch can have you highlighting everything in view. Software to be able to control touchpad settings would have been another nice addition. Overall, this is a sleek laptop with great performance. It seems perfect for business, but maybe not for the user wanting the full entertainment package out of a laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By techprime from washington dc on 11/27/2011


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product with very advanced features. I like the design of this laptop. Very sleek and powerful laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great laptop!

By gautam27 from Greenwich, CT on 11/21/2011


Pros:

Bright Display, Long Battery Life, Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Come With A Vga Dongle In The Usa Model, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop packs an amazing amount of performance in an elegant chasis that is more compact than any other notebook on the market. Feature for feature, the Samsung Chronos notebook outperforms the latest Fall 2011 versions of other models available on the market! The vivid 1600X900 display, the superfast ExpressCache to speed up start times, the relatively light weight for a performance laptop - all make it hard for the competition to catch up. The only real drawback I can see is the Broadcom wireless n adapter is single band and so is limited in range and speed. The icing on the cake is the long battery life - I can work continuously for 6-8 hours without running out of juice! Pros: Bright display, Durable, Lightweight, long battery life Cons: poor choice of broadcom wireless card, signal strength deteriorates rapidly after 10 feet, only single band 2.4 GHz wireless n so the 5.8 GHz band is not available


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved