Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP700Z5AS0AUS » 24 Reviews

Samsung NP700Z5AH 15.6" Notebook - Intel Core i7 i7-2675QM 2.20 GHz - Silver - 1600 x 900 HD+ Display - 8 GB RAM - 1 TB HDD - DVD-Writer - AMD Radeon HD 6750M, Intel HD 3000 Graphics Card - Bluetooth Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Display (16), Inexpensive (6), Lightweight (13), Realistic Color (9), Durable (9), Built-in Speakers (8)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Awesome

By Alex11 from GT on 09/25/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

fast and its features are great, the design is fine but be careful with these new batteries cause get hot and it could fail


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the best laptop I've ever used.

By AlwaysCodingAway from Louisville, KY on 11/10/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Multi-touch Touchpad, Inexpensive, Value, Full Backlit Keyboard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Being a professional software developer, I feel I've got pretty high standards when it comes to hardware. I couldn't be happier with a laptop. This one had everything I was looking for in a beautiful package. :D This laptop seriously has a 7 1/2 battery life. Congrats to Samsung for being the first company with Software I actually want on my computer. I actually like their Easy Settings and Easy Software Manager. This is a fantastic laptop, I really wish I had waited a bit longer for the 17in. :( My only complaint would be the touchpad; it's good, but not great. At the same I don't think you'll find a better one Windows. :D After owning this laptop, it's extremely unlikely I'd buy another brand anytime in the near future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Notebook! Few heating issues,but overall is great!

By Magorei from Brasilia,Brazil on 08/30/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Cool Design

Cons:

Heating, Not High Def

The price was high but it has great features like the average video card and Express Cache SSD 8GB. Design is the best feature here!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It is an awesome college computer

By rowannightstar from phoenix, AZ on 08/28/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Fast Start Up

Cons:

Bad Exhast Placing

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this laptop for my high school graduation and I have had it for about five months now and am having zero problems with it. It is a really good laptop and starts up incredibly fast. I am a gamer and I enjoy the fact that I can play my really big capacity games on it like World of Warcraft and Sims but I have a problem with it when i play World of Warcraft for a couple hours it seems to cut internet connection and I have to restart the laptop. I do not know if it is supposed to do that or what but it is just inconvenient. One thing I found to be kind of a design flaw pain is the fact that the exhaust is in the back so if you have it on your lap for hours doing homework or gaming it starts to get really warm on your lap. It is a simple problem that can be fixed with a cooler placed underneath but those are expensive for a college student. Another thing I do not like about this laptop is the fact that it does not have a number pad! The pictures say it does but I am not sure this is really my computer because it looks nothing like the pictures! My laptop is a 15.6 inch Samsung series seven but it does not have a number pad and is built more like the series nine. Also if you want to find accessories for I advise you to give up now because you won't find much of anything. It does have a nice screen that stretches all the way to the sides instead of having the typical black plastic border, this is both good and bad. Good because you get more screen but bad because the only thing protecting your screen is two little black rubber stoppers that keep your screen from banging against the bottom of your laptop. The speakers are okay quality but not great, I can get a better quality sound just plugging in a new set of earbuds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect Laptop

By Gordon64757 from Atlanta, GA on 08/26/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best laptop I had...Beautiful exterior, maximum capabilities and superior product


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Series 7 Laptop

By lele666 from New York on 07/27/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product. Nice screen and fast. ExpressCache rally does improve speed and performace. Good software to manage product's firmware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE IT!

By emiljoel6 from PR on 07/16/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome!! the best PC so Far.. lightweight, durable and bright display


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great, but not Perfect

By TheAegis from Houston, TX on 06/27/2012


Pros:

Overall Computing Speed/power, Lightweight, Clear Loud Speakers, Dedicated Graphics Card, Travel Capacity, Bright Display, Battery Life, Aesthetic Design

Cons:

Track Pad

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a student in college and that means that laptops are incredibly important. They are the best way for me to work and play wherever I may be that day. This laptop is perfect for travel because of its lightness and battery life (which is astounding I must say). However, there are a few issues. My biggest and most immediate problem is with the track pad. A laptop should be easy to use without an external mouse, but this is not the case. The main issue, at least in my experience, is not with the hardware, but with the software drivers. The pad is finicky and prone to misclicking. The mouse tends to move down when you try to click. It is extremely annoying, but I have faith that new drivers will come out. I will admit, however, that this is a relatively small problem compared to the performance and design of the laptop. It is well built and extremely nice to look at. In addition, it has everything you need to run high performance programs that require immense computing power. Video games and engineering programs alike run well on the strong graphics card and ton of RAM. It does the job and it does it well. I would definitely recommend this laptop. Just be prepared to bring you mouse along with you. Also be prepared for the most powerful, travel size computer you have ever seen. Enjoy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

solid product

By celk from Arkansas on 06/22/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Cons:

A Lil Pricey

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great design and well built..crystal clear display and illuminated keyboard add to the value as well..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ergonomics Fail

By Phelixian from Undisclosed on 06/19/2012


Pros:

Attarctive, Fast

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This laptop is great to look at and if you are using an external ouse and keyboard it's fast and amazing. However the keyboard/palm rest is bascially unusable for me. The space bar engages less than 50% of the time unless I press dead center with force. Also the palm rest has sharp edges that dig in a cause pain when typing. Horrible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this Laptop

By Kacki from Cary, North Carolina on 05/26/2012


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop performs well editing pictures in Photoshop, Fireworks, and even putting together movies. The only problem I have and cannot figure out-- is how such a great computer could have gotten out of the design stage with such a horrible HORRIBLE scratch pad. To say it is hard to use is- being kind. IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO USE. It does whatever it wants to do and will close windows, and altogether screw up anything you are in the middle of doing. That said, for the price the computer has no serious competition. After months of laptop research and using it now for over 3 months, I am very happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hmmm, a little to think about

By theValentino from Carson City on 05/25/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Poor Trackpad, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

I have to say that all the top review sites out their flaunted this as pretty much the holy grail of high-end laptops that meets and beats the current macbookpro on all fronts. As Ive used both I can say that this is a fantastic machine however reliability wise, well I think and hope, that only time will tell. The design is fantastic, my laptop doesnt have the little lip to catch my skin or to braise me in anyway. The space bar works flawlessly and overall the design is sleek, accessible and basically a joy to use. The specs are fantastic, the screen is great and Its a machine that I could easily get excited about. However I am having one issue that may force me to return this laptop. As it stands with the current 8.930 drivers, the OpenGL function does not work. That means things like photoshop and Solidworks do not perform to the expected level. Another issue is with the switchable graphics, which do not switch at all. The Intel takes all the load while the ATI happily seats in the back, doing nothing. The fact that the 6750M does not perform with the current driver in my opinion designates a faulty laptop. The issue is wide spread with a campaign aimed at Samsung to fix this issue asap. Once this issue is fixed, (I will hold out for a little while) I think it will be a fantastic laptop. Right now, as it stands, I may be demanding my money back, scouring the net for a replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezing up

By Technicalone from Dallas on 05/21/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Cons:

Freeze Up, Too Hot, Did Not Meet Expectations, Screen Light Intensity Changes

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got it last month and I upgraded my OS to Window 7 Ultimate version. I was disappointed with the performance of the product. If you open more than couple applications, the PC will freeze up and keep doing stuff in the background and you cannot do anything until the action in the background in completed. It usually takes 2-5 minutes for the PC to unfreeze. I am computer major and tried to determine what the PC is calculating in the background but I could not. It is useless in this condition. There are other design issues related to the light intensity of the screen which it keeps changing every few seconds to save power. Tried to disable the feature but it did not help; it becomes very annoying to the eyes. I will not recommend it at all; the product look nice but it has some major design issues. The product operates in very hot condition. Too hot to touch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a Fantastic Performer and a Great Laptop for Programmers

By tenaciousjzh from Undisclosed on 05/13/2012


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great laptop for programmers! The battery life is about 6 - 7 hrs, not bad for a Core i7. It's light and has a really great start up time (I've gotten between 19 and 23 seconds boot up time). The i7 is great for building programs that need to be multithreaded and the 8GB memory has been great. The hard drive has enough space that I've set up a dual boot into Linux Mint 12 for working projects that fit better in that environment. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this machine!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great notebook

By Trekbunny6 from Undisclosed on 05/12/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Connects Easily To Other Samsung Products

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product has the speed and connect to all my other Samsung products Support is great if needed. I would recommend this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Laptop

By 123fakestreet from Undisclosed on 05/04/2012


Pros:

Thin, Fast

Cons:

Only 3 Usb Slots, Need Dongle For Vga

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pretty solid laptop overall. Have seen no problems with it as of yet and it works quickly. The installed Samsung "easy settings" helps make important changes in one convenient location. The matte display is also very nice as it has much less glare than the normal glossy ones, plus it doesn't act as a mirror when the screen is off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Laptop

By Poindexter33 from Utah County, UT on 04/11/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lots Of Space, Excellent Design, Durable, Realistic Color, Great Sound Quality

Cons:

No Ssd, Very Slow Hard Drive, Samsung Update Can Be A Pain, Medium Graphics

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I would pick this laptop of all the ones I've used lately, including mac's. It has the best speakers of any laptop I've used thus far and has excellent brightness and color in the screen. The hard drive can be slow as sin and desperately needs to be upgraded to a solid state drive, which I am in the process of doing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Widespread space bar issue

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 04/11/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The space bar has a flaw and does not register if you press anywhere near the edges. It's the most used key and it doesn't work properly. It ruins an otherwise solid laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice machine

By hayhauler885 from Undisclosed on 04/07/2012

Nice looking package, love the keyboard style and back lit keys.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could be better...

By hellooooo from Seattle, WA on 03/04/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Poor Build, Did Not Meet Expectations, Not High Def, Space Bar, Touch Pad

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the 7 series, but I'm not too happy with it. Performance wise, the laptop is great. It turns on fast, it runs quick without problems, and for an i7, it doesn't get too hot. The screen looks great and is bright, though I wish it was full HD. It has a decent camera. The speakers are great and the keyboard is lit. Here are the problems though... At its price, the whole laptop could have been aluminum, but it isn't. Samsung cheaped out so the whole bottom part of the laptop is a cheap plastic and doesn't come up to be flush with the palmrest. If you aren't careful, you can actually pinch the skin on your wrists. Even though the harddrive is 1TB, it feels like it runs at 5400rpm, so it is a hinderance to the laptop's performance. For just a little bit more I guess I could have got a different laptop with better specs and a better build. It'd also be nice to have a fingerprint reader. Other problems are the touchpad and the spacebar. The space bar isn't very responsive so if you touch it from the left or right sides, then it doesn't work, but I found that if you just fold up a little bit of paper and stick it on the recepticle, then well it works great. The touchpad, however, needs work. While it has multitouch, it doesn't respond properly, it doesn't recognize whether a palm or a finger is touching it, like a macbook, and it doesn't always register the correct click. I really want to like the laptop, but the little problems that it has kind of outshine the many great features the laptop has.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazed and in love

By MewMewKendra from Dallas, Texas on 03/02/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this laptop for less than a week and I can assure you this is the most amazing laptop that I have owned. It has a nice big screen 15.6" but is also thin enough to fit in my laptop case that belonged to my 14" laptop. The keyboard is nicely back-lit, and the keys look like they are chocolate covered (white sides for the back-light) I spoiled myself and bought myself this beauty and I do not regret it, although my pocket might.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic value

By Karmicscorpio from Atlanta, GA on 02/24/2012


Pros:

Backlit Keyboard, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The NP700Z5A laptops are a fantastic value for the money! I swapped out the HDD that came with the laptop for a Samsung 256GB SATA II SSD from my old laptop - it boots from powered off to log on in 13 seconds flat. Everything across the board is extremely fast. This laptop has a decent/bright LCD screen, excellent battery life, runs very quiet and stays quite cool to the touch - this is especially impressive with the I7 quad core processor. The backlit keyboard is exactly what I was looking for - I touch type, but I wouldn't buy a laptop without this feature. I did knock one star off on the design for the somewhat sharp edge around the palmrest - it isn't anywhere near as bad as some people will have you believe, but it seems it could have been smoothed out a bit. All in all, you can't go wrong here!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fast start up!!!!

By drew777 from Undisclosed on 02/22/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Hate All The Bloatwear

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this laptop. Great preformance. It also has a great battery life for this size prosessor


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great set of features for price

By LaptopBuyer from Western US on 02/20/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've only had this for a few days now, but did a fair amount of research before buying. CNET had a very positive review - and my experience so far has been positive. One thing I wish was better was the availability of a docking station. I use this computer at my office with two external monitors - so need to get a universal docking station that supports this configuration... still working on that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved