Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP900X1BA01US » 9 Reviews

Samsung 900X1B-A01 11.6" LED Notebook - Intel Core i3 i3-2357M 1.30 GHz - 1366 x 768 WXGA Display - 4 GB RAM - 128 GB SSD - Intel GMA HD 3000 Graphics Card - Bluetooth - Webcam - Genuine Windows 7 Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 9 reviews)

57% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (9), Bright Display (7), Durable (4), Realistic Color (4), Built-in Speakers (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Good little laptop with style

By aamisc from California on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

I've really grown to love this laptop, but I've already done some fairly major mods. I've upgraded the SSD to 128 GB, I've swapped out the wifi card for an Intel N-6230, and I've upgraded to Windows 8. Beware that when updating to W8, I had to update all the drivers as well (now available on Samsung's site), and Samsung's Easy Display Manager needed some manual tweaking to keep those hot keys working (delete SmartSettings.exe so Easy Display Manager doesn't crash under 8). I've received many compliments on the laptop's styling, though I do wish it was a full metal chassis like the larger 13" sibling. Keyboard and screen are nice, and the covered ports don't bother me like others have complained. Beware that this thing is a fingerprint magnet, so if you've even slightly OCD, you've find yourself cleaning the metal-clad body daily.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I hope you don't use the internet...

By Sealskin from Ohio on 12/07/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Powerful

Cons:

Junky Wifi Card, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As many other people will tell you (feel free to search). This laptop ships with a very poor quality wifi card that won't even work on some networks. Settings tweaks will not fix it. This is unacceptable in such an expensive laptop. Other than this, the book is powerful, compact, and lightweight. It's a shame. You need internet in this day and age.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I can't be the only one buying the only bad unit

By vcunhappy from NYC on 11/22/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First the wireless card performed erratically -- the technical service was allover the place -- upgrading this driver and that driver to make it worse. Then the audio port could not work with a surroundsound speaker unit and help is not readily available. Finally, connecting the laptop using the HDMI cable to the tv knocked the system dead -- completely. This is the third one I have bought in one month -- the first one came with the charger adaptor bended already. The second froze twice completely. Afterwards, it showed a bad sector message. Tell me I am the only one to get all the bad units. Or there are known bad units sold nevertheless?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

THIS IS WONDERFUL MACHINE!!

By AVIATOR1 from KOREA on 06/16/2012


Pros:

Lightweight

EVERYTHING IS THE BEST SAMSUNG IS REALLY GOOD COMPANY


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Macbook Air's SLEEK & Luxurious Rival Has Arrived!!

By holdynb from Miami, FL on 12/31/2011


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Sleek!, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable

Cons:

Only 128 Gb Ssd, Fingerprint Magnet!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the bad boy's/girl's answer to the Apple's Macbook Air! This laptop is really outstanding! It is so light, so sleek, so FAST and so powerful! I could have chosen the Macbook Air but I am so glad that I chose the Samsung Series 9! Apple has been prized because they value form and function with their computers. I was expecting it to be slow because it is so sexy and light that I was sure the performance would suffer, I WAS WRONG! So many PC's have not been able to combine form and function, but Samsung has ACCOMPLISHED THIS! I am amazed by how fast and efficient this laptop is. LOVE IT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Incredible laptop

By mlbriggs from Charlotte, NC on 12/20/2011


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I didn't think that a PC could have the cool factor that Apple products are known for. This Samsung Series 9 laptop is by far the thinnest and lightest PC that I've ever seen. This is the Windows equivilant to the Apple Macbook Air. This is my first laptop with SSD technology. Everything is so much faster, from the time to boot, to loading web pages, to opening applications. Across the board the speed improvement from a typical hard drive is very surprising. I would highly recommend this laptop for anyone wanting the reliability and security of a Windows computer in a form factor that rivals what Apple has available.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Laptop

By Maeby from Kansas City on 11/11/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Backlit Keyboard, Solid Build, Bright Display

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First of all, this thing is beautiful. Sleek black, but not too flashy. Best of all, it doesn't have an apple anywhere to be seen on it. The screen is great, keyboard is solid. Couldn't ask more for performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Series 9 11 inch (NP900X1B-A01US)

By talthing from Oakland, CA on 09/12/2011


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Battery Life

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Good: super lightweight. great keyboard, responsive touchpad, great display, great SSD (Samsung should really consider marketing their SSDs...there is a review on Samsung's SSDs with benchmark stats), modular (wifi, SSD, are able to be swapped out). Battery can be replaced. The Bad: The wifi card is sub-par for a premium notebook (a 1x2? come on guys). Battery life (3 hours max continuous light use...not even video or audio streaming or anything heavy like AV conversion or gaming)...that's pretty sad. I went with this laptop because I wanted a Macbook air type laptop to run linux (and had a windows keyboard instead of having to remap all my function keys) and powerful enough to run windows in vmware (and let's face it...at this price I wanted a black laptop...not Apple grey.) I really like the super-brite display. The mouse and keyboard are great (I haven't had any trouble with the mouse since I adjusted the sensitivity down). Since I'm running Linux, the 2-finger right-click and two-finger scrolling work. I did notice some posts of other reviews on this laptop. The screen is just as solid as a macbook air (at least the 11 inch)..no flex. The sliding port covers are durable. I keep leaving them open transporting them to and from work and they hold up great. I did try out the Series 3 (Princeton) and that laptop seemed way more fragile than the Series 9.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks great but poor wifi performace

By GreatScott from NYC on 09/11/2011


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this laptop as an alternative to a macbook air. I always prefer PC but I needed portable performance that was better than a netbook. It is a beautiful machine, but the wifi performance is so poor that it can barely be used unless you are sitting right next to the router. Have tried adding a range expander and a high gain antenna, but the integrated wireless card just performs very poorly. Though I love the design I can't really recommend a laptop that can barely be connected to the internet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved