Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP940X3GK01US » 16 Reviews

Samsung Ativ Book 9 Plus Np940x3g-k01us 13.3" Led Ultrabook - Intel Core I5 I5-4200u 1.60 Mhz - Mineral Ash Black - 4 Gb Ram - 128 Gb Ssd - Intel Hd 4400 Graphics - Windows 8 64-bit - (np940x3g-k01us) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Bright Display (11), Durable (11), Built-in Speakers (9), Realistic Color (6), Lightweight (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Strong Business Ultrabook

By Cajuknight from Austin, TX, USA on 11/29/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable, Solid As A Brick

Cons:

None And I Am Picky

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am business user and display, games capability, social media are not very important. Solid, speed, performance, battery life, ease of use, multi-tasking are critical. This ultrabook delivers on all accounts. It is simply the most solid notebook I've ever owned. The quick charge ability and real battery life are extremely impressive. And the display is magnificent, even though I don't watch vids or play games. I highly refer this product. It has no major weaknesses and the processor can handle huge, complex Excel spreadsheets with ease.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What's not to like?

By TheDetailer from Seoul on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Touchscreen - Great For Hangul, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Difficult To Find Hdmi Adapter Abroad, Who Doesn't Wish For An Even Lighter Device?

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Has been a pleasure using this ultrabook. The touchscreen makes entering foreign languages a breeze, and the high resolution and easy manipulation of photos makes multimedia a pleasure. Only ran into a problem when I realized accessories might be difficult to find outside of where this product was purchased (USA). In Seoul, at a Samsung service center, I was told I had to buy the HDMI adapter on the internet--they had no such thing in stock there at the service center; same story in Taipei.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

slim and robust

By Bexwith from Worcester, MA, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop is the best I have used in the past 7 years. The slim design makes it easy to carry, the screen is very sharp and bright. The video connections are micro so some adapters are necessary. The touchpad needs adjustment when first used but then functions well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful, sexy machine...

By cellotennis from Undisclosed on 03/26/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Easily Slips From Hand

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a most happy camper, thank you so much! Just wondering for the future; Would there be a way to manufacture the back just a tiny bit less sexy/less smooth, so it would be easier and more secure to grip? There might just be a way for this compromise to help for those of us who are somewhat clumsy? My other thought is just nit-picking since I have no way of knowing at this point; wondering how the build of the power plug into the machine would withstand the daily grind - given it's super-sleek design?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has excellent screen resolution

By G3709 from Westminster, CA, USA on 03/03/2014


Pros:

Ultra Thin, Well Built

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this ultrabook for 3 weeks now. So far I have encountered no problem. However, I do have some suggestions. The screen brightness was dimmed too dark automatically in low lighted room. I have to turned off this feature to be able to see the letters. The Samsung softwares that comes with this laptop takes a lot of SSD space: I am left with 72 GB out of 128GB for my files. I know that the partition for OS recovery takes some 20ist GB but 56GB for OS and Apps are a bit much. I believe all the apps amount to 5GB. I would try to delete some softwares and apps to free some spaces. Samsung should offer 256GB or higher storage for i5. Sound from built-in speakers is acceptable. No problem with Wifi either, connection is good and I have experienced no drop. Letters in native resolution are tiny but I have no problem reading them. However, other users might find them too small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice laptop!

By Luv2Tab from Knoxville, TN on 02/14/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this laptop for about a month and I'm enjoying the speed, nice backlit keyboard and Windows 8. The screen is absolutely beautiful!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product, Steep price

By Psychonomy from Fairfax, VA on 12/03/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Too Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I greatly enjoy this product. It should be expected that there will be scaling issues considering the screen resolution and the fact that it is the first product with a resolution such as this one. I am certain there will be an issue with others software updates and scaling will become a problem, with a recent update instead of allowing a choice for large text size full HD and what have you that was removed and required a little bit of research on my part (consumer) However, that aside the computer is beautiful, great battery life, wonderful performance, low specs however it is all I need for what I do. My only issue are the issues dealing with the operating system. But that is not the fault of Samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow, hassel filled piece of junk!

By GuineapigsRule from Undisclosed on 11/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine is filled horrible problems. Scaling issues, lagging issues, bugs... Just a awful computer. Excellent display though...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great machine

By aWriter from Atlanta, GA on 11/03/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a writer and do most of my work on a desktop machine, but when I am traveling or at conferences, I need a fast, light, elegant device. And that is what the ATIV Book 9 plus is. I love the hi-rez screen and the hefty battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best ultrabook

By dekmoooooo from Alexandria, VA on 10/17/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Design

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It has so many features, it's very great, except it would have been great if they have larger size like 15"


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs 8 GB RAM

By MikeMikey from Houston Texas on 10/12/2013

Why does this laptop not offer 8 gb ram as an option, ruins the whole experience!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

high-end laptop

By ST02 from Undisclosed on 10/09/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

high-end laptop,you can get everything you want from this book


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect college computer

By CardiacNik from Undisclosed on 09/24/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Extremely Fast, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a pre-med student, I spend a lot of time doing school work on a computer in and in-between classes. My old laptop was about 5 years old and the battery life was terrible, so I figured it was time to upgrade. I actually am writing this on my new Ativ Book 9 Plus right now. The overall design of this laptop is incredible. I knew it would be thin, but I didn't realize how thin this computer actually is! The touch screen is very intuitive and has a better response than I've ever dealt with on a computer. The aluminum body makes this feel not only light, but extremely durable. When you have a backpack full of books, this feature is extremely important. I also love the quality of the screen. I wish my desktop PC monitor looked this nice. Even though the graphics card in my desktop is nicer, the HD of the screen just makes that much more difference on this laptop. The picture also seems to be very close to the glass itself and helps make the screen really pop. The mouse pad has been something to get used to (single click as opposed to the right and left click designated buttons I was used to) but the size of it is great. The fan is also very quiet. Sometimes it doesn't even need to be on, but when it does come on, it is extremely quiet. One problem everyone seems to have is the auto brightness for the screen. It did bother me a little, but since I've turned it off, the screen can get very bright if I want it to. Honestly, the higher brightness setting is brighter than I can handle, so I usually have it at 50-60%. The performance of this ultrabook is just what I would have expected. I've had 8 different tabs open on Internet Explorer, multiple PDF's open, Microsoft Word 2013, and a YouTube video open and it ran flawlessly. I also love that I can sync my phones screen as a widget type thing on the computer and just keep my phone in my pocket as I use the computer during class. The QHD+ is a cool feature, but is a little ahead of its time right now. I hope that Microsoft will adjust to this so it will be something more useful in the future. This is exactly what I needed and I know this computer is going to be a great companion though my next few years of school. If you are someone on the go a lot and need a good solid and very fast computer, this is for you. I would definitely recommend this to a friend. I am always impressed by Samsung products and will continue to watch them and use them throughout the years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crippled

By EVVK from Europe isn't a country on 09/21/2013


Pros:

Disable Secure Boot

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Uefi

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Samsung does not seem to understand that UEFI is a standard, booting other OSes in pure EFI mode doesn't seem to work well. Hopyfully this gets fixed by a firmware ipdate. Disabling the secure boot does not seem to help. Ubuntu for example is only detected with CSM(legacy BIOS compatible mode.) Somehow this system is bundled with software that should not being run outside X labeled gaming consoles. Killer screen however, so it could have potential if the design team only knew how to follow standards, like UEFI.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is excellent for ever

By saishop from Undisclosed on 09/11/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Slick design and excellent screen resolution . and performance is good. Audio is also good performance and more were light weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost the perfect laptop

By Anonymous from Undisclosed on 09/04/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Not Enough Memory

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It's almost the perfect laptop, but limiting it to 4GB of memory really limits this computer. I cannot understand the decision to not support at least 8GB.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved