Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Notebooks » NP940X3GK04US » 35 Reviews

Samsung Ativ Book 9 Plus Np940x3g 13.3" Ultrabook - Intel Core I7 I7-4500u 1.80 Ghz - 8 Gb Ram - 128 Gb Ssd - Windows 8 - 2560 X 1440 Display (np940x3g-k04us) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 35 reviews)

93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Realistic Color (23), Bright Display (28), Built-in Speakers (17), Durable (18), Lightweight (24)

Cons:

Price (3), Expensive (5)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Fast, lightweight, long battery life

By gasoline from CT on 09/14/2015


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Non Standard Hdmi Output

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I switched from a Mac Air (had to get back to Windows with real Excel) and could not find a good looking laptop that had power and would fit on an airplane folding tray well until I found the Samsung. I have been very happy with the laptop. It upgraded to Windows 10 exceptionally well and I am even happier with it on 10 than I was with Windows 8. I do wish it had a standard HDMI output - it has some new standard so I have to carry a special dongle with me wherever I go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic performance for not-so-small price

By cypt from Lithuania on 08/15/2015


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a lightweight yet powerful laptop that could serve both as a working machine and a leisure gadget (movies, music, some light gaming). This is a perfect solution, maybe even a bit too powerful for me. Great for HD movies, works fantastic with Win10 (esp the touchscreen), quite durable (so far). Only disadvantage is a definitely high price. And also becoming too picky about low quality YouTube vids which are almost unwatchable now...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the features

By Mitzi1132 from Waco, TX, USA on 07/07/2015


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The features where what I was looking for. Easy to use and I am able to go back and forth between using a mouse or the touch screen. Just it had come in the 15 inch.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Among the best

By BJdenver from Denver, CO, USA on 05/20/2015


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Durable, Stunning Bright Display

Cons:

A Little Pricey For The Size Of The Ssd

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The display is stunning. There are some scaling issues due to the QHD+ display resolution, but they are mostly confined to software programs that have been slow to update for high resolution displays. When I first received the laptop, it was a problem, but now most have updated software to adapt to appropriate scaling. In general, Windows handles scaling well between the native display and extending to a WQHD external. I use a WQHD monitor as the primary display, and it passes full resolution through the mini-HDMI port. The graphics card is adequate, but it's surprising they didn't include something more powerful. That said, it renders 4K video at 30fps on the native display smoothly, but sometimes struggles with higher frame rates when the second display is attached. The keyboard is a little shallow, but easy enough to get used to. Likewise, some tweaks to the default acceleration on the touchpad are in order. I've had no issues with WiFi, Bluetooth. The audio quality of the speakers are above average and volume is adequate. Battery life is okay; I get about 7 hours. In summary, this laptop is among the best ultrabooks available. It's rugged and lightweight, the display and processor is capable and ready to take full advantage of all the enhancements Windows 10 will provide making it a good investment for the long haul.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By JMEL from San Diego on 01/18/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome laptop; portable, reliable, elegant design and the battery life is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By DHGlenn from Pittsburgh, PA on 12/15/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great machine. I had one at a former employer and when I went out on my own as a consultant, I specifically sought out this machine because I loved it so much. It is a great, portable, powerful computer. Easy to carry around -- does everything I want.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Ultrabook!

By ScottmanZ from Minnesota, USA on 12/02/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'd been drooling over this ultrabook long enough! I finally took the plunge and ordered one. It has surpassed all expectations, I really love this thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great and light laptop but a bit pricy though.

By Lulubelle1 from East Coast USA on 11/23/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does everything you want in a home computer but it's a bit pricy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good laptop! BUT

By Captfisk from Undisclosed on 11/12/2014


Cons:

Dissapointed

After connecting to my office server using Remote Desktop the menus and the icons are impossible to read. Tried a different resolution didn't work spent hours with online chat found that kind of useless, tried different browsers and that doesn't work either. I also have an application I remotely login to set heating and light control and can't read the menu or icons because everything is sooo small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic power

By plqcrqr from colorado on 10/28/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Expense

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Incredible speed and solid feel. I am looking forward to adding windows 10. This can handle all new apps. Touch screen is nice to review msn news. I am glad for this purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Machine

By RogueHippo from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 10/25/2014


Pros:

Really Usable Keyboard, Fast, Bright Display

Cons:

Touch Screen A Bit Iffy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My last desktop used XP, and my last laptop was a ThinkPad, which also used XP, so it's been a while since I've had a new machine. If I were to design a laptop, it would be this one. It's fast, has a great display, and features a really usable keyboard. My only nit to pick is that the touch screen is a bit iffy, but not so bad that I would ding it down. I would like a few more USB ports, but a hub puts that issue to bed. Some reviews call out price as a con, but I think this machine is great value for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Laptop I have owned

By TechGuy612 from Minneapolis, MN, USA on 10/23/2014


Pros:

Build Quality, Battery Life, Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop has everything you need. Great specs, great screen, great design, great build quality. It comes with some actually useful app instead of the usual bloatware


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Powerful - great battery life - Windows 8.1 hates Google Chrome

By tbratz from Cleveland, OH, USA on 10/08/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Does Not Work Great With Google Chrome And Apps, Could Use Clearer Speakers Or On Top Vs Bottom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nothing really bad to say about this laptop as of yet. Have had it about 7 weeks now. amazing battery life compared to my past laptops. Bright/clear screen. Only 2 cons: (1) Touchscreen and mouse sometimes stop working properly when using Google Chrome and its extensions but perfect with on other MS products (Internet explorer, Office, etc). (2) I'd prefer the speakers adjacent to the keyboard or on the sides of the machine versus underneath it. Sometimes it gets muffled when using it on my lap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product

By LanV from Orlando, FL, USA on 10/04/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Slim design, wonderful ultrabook. A must have for college life. It works way better and way user-friendly than Macbook and other apple laptops. However, the Wifi drops sometimes, that is the only con I encountered so far.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this product, EXCEPT

By Watingforafix from NY on 09/12/2014


Pros:

Display

Cons:

Display

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love my samsung ATIV Book 9 Plus - It does everything great, EXCEPT... I purchased this pc as a high end machine with cutting edge technology. I was so excited about my new pc, last one was a 2007 model. As i began loading on various software i need to run my business, it became clear that the display was a real issue because various fonts are so small they are unreadable rendering my software practically useless. I worked with various vendors for literally hours on the phone, each vendor asking me to try various screen resolution options. As luck would have it, what one vendor would fix, the next vendor i called asked me to undo those settings to make their software work. None of the fixes were proper, just a band aid. Please keep in mind this is all BRAND NEW 2014 SOFTWARE I am working with, not old stuff. I have been struggling with since July 2014 and still have no fixes. I am told to change settings depending on what software i am using. Hello, they need to be used together!! Note that the pc does work well with all browsers i have tried, however if i logon to sites, much of the working info at the site is victim to the same small font issue. So, at this point, i am stuck with a top of the line, super expensive pc, all the best brand new software loaded up, and i cant see half of the fonts because they are too small. Useless right?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I loved it

By Ulava from Collierville, TN, USA on 09/04/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased last week and I liked it. Also this is cool item


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

External Monitor Resolution

By BRHiker from Texas on 09/02/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very pleased with ATIV 9 (performance / screen resolution / ease of setup and use) but have not been able to successfully set up an external monitor with desired screen resolution.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Most definitely not worth the price

By SIGRID from Undisclosed on 08/10/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Ability To Connect To Wifi Is Terrible, Mousepad Is Terrible, Poor Quality, Material Is So Smooth It Slides Off Your Laptop, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This laptop is average at best. I've had issues with it continuously since I purchased in a bit over a month ago. Lets start with the major problems with this laptop a) The mousepad is terrible beyond words. It seems to not respond to movements by the left hand, a big problem for someone left handed like me. Secondly it is difficult and hard to click, you often have to click 2-3 times before it actually responds. At the same time the movement of the mouse is too light, meaning you always have a problem for example highlighting a section of text. The hardness of the clicks makes your fingers hurt after an hour of use. Very uncomfortable. I thought perhaps it was just an issue of getting used to it but after 6 weeks it seems this is not an adjustment issue. Friends who have borrowed the computer tell me how annoying it is so i know it is not just me. I dont know how I will stand having to actually work on this laptop and write longer reports etc. b) the Wifi has a very weak ability to connect. Continuous problem is that it will not connect to Wifi and have a problem every other day. Other devices will connect fine, just this laptop having issues. I have had to reinstall windows to make it connect to a wifi. c) Programs dont run as they should. Chrome takes up to 30 min to start up, when it tries to install updates it will stall and freeze. I dont see the point of having a super fast computer if it takes for ever for programs to start up. d) today the laptop randomly started playing loud piano music. In task manager no programs could be seen to be running. Utterly strange. Had to turn off the computer to make it stop. e) sometimes the laptop wont turn on despite being charged. Then I just have to leave it for a while and come back later and hope it will react. f) runs on windows 8....need I say more? g) over to minor issues: the material the laptop is made of makes it super smooth. So smooth you cant have it on your lap as it will just slide right off you. Want to use it while working on an airplane? Forget it. This is so stupid. h) this might be a windows 8 issue but the scaling of everything is terrible. EVERYTHING is displayed extremely tiny, so tiny it is a challenge to change the scaling. It's just annoying beyond belief. Positive: the customer service live chat is very nice and useful. I would know because i have to contact them every other day to help me get this thing to work. I just really really regret buying this, you can probably get something just as average for half the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very nice ultrabook

By SamsungTheBest from New York, NY on 07/09/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Only 2 Usb Ports, Tends To Heat Up With Some Light Gaming.

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I ordered this ultra book for school and it just came yesterday, I have to say that I am very pleased with this product. From the beautiful design to the stunning display this product is excellent. While this is a good product performance wise and for web browsing and the 8 gigs of ram makes multitasking excellent, it is not that good for gaming as I tried with some games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Laptop on the Market

By CJeren16 from New York, NY, USA on 07/03/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the bet laptop I have ever owned. It is better than any MacBook available. Its thinner than a MacBook air and Macbook viruses are more common than a Samsung Windows 8 virus. It starts up in about 5 seconds and it wakes up from sleep faster than I can open the screen. I have never had a single lag on it. And the display is simply amazing. I've never seen a laptop with this good of a display. The speakers are surprisingly great as well. It's definitely pricey, but if you want a blazing fast PC that will last 5+ years, then this is the laptop to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Machine

By Willbeen from Grand Rapids, MI, USA on 06/26/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This computer is the best. Boot-up, shut-down and internet connection times are fantastic. Brilliant screen is great for photo editing...as is the processing power for high resolution raw images. As with any new user to MS Windows 8.1, it took some getting used to...I recommend buying one of the Dummy books to help ease the transition. I still find it hard to believe some competitors install MS8.0...it's inexcusable forcing their client base to upgrade to 8.1. Kudos to Samsung for a great design, computer and including the latest software releases. No doubt this is an expensive computer, but it delivers fair value and should keep up with new software introductions for the next 5 years. Meanwhile some software developers need to upgrade their products to match the high resolution screen of this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ultra stylish & high performance

By FakeNicknam3 from Undisclosed on 06/02/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Long Battery Life, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable, Fast

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This notebook is the best looking notebook I've ever seen, The performance is fantastic with the 256GB SSD & i7 under the hood. A full days battery is awesome. It is super thin. It is a little heavy but is very sturdy. The QHD monitor throws some programs for a loop. There are software things that need to be fixed windows developers!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

strong, sleak & reliable

By Feastfate from Undisclosed on 05/22/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Strong Built, Realistic Color

Cons:

Delivery Not Speedy, Touch-pad Not Intuitive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Aside all the positives, issues are : response of touch pad :click /zone selection / precision, pre-installed software that won't work (eg. Dragon) , annoying Samsung expert, Ms Store unstable, crashing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So light and amazingly powerful

By AJAlucard from Undisclosed on 05/21/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Fast Processing, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just been given a chance to try this cool laptop out. It was my first time to ever use such a light laptop, but this is also my first chance to use something this powerful... Touch screen, so clear graphics, nice sounds, and one more, no more loading screens.... COOL!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Size and design couldn't be better

By TrueNorth from Northern Michigan on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live in a Microsoft world and finally swapped out my MacBook Air for the Samsung. It was a good move for me with the exception of having to learn Windows 8. I have no complaints other than all the preloaded programs. I am still trying to get rid of them!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Speedy

By jmdgo from Undisclosed on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Very Responsive Wifi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My first PC with an SSD. No going back now! Samsung had the best feature set vs. price point at the time. There are less expensive options but I don't regret buying this configuration and the screen resolution is amazing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best computer ever!

By Creyous from Undisclosed on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This ultrabook meets and surpasses all my expectations. It's light, portable and extremely capable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Everything you have been waiting for

By Manther from Chicago on 03/06/2014


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Pricy

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am incredibly happy with this purchase. There is nothing I don't like about this computer. I am just glad I took the leap. If you have the money to spend, you should...it's worth the extra expense for the peace of mind. The display is beautiful, the computer is super fast, and it's light and compact without feeling small.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Puts the "ultra" in Ultrabook

By nyclaptop from new york city on 02/12/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This laptop is exactly what Microsoft and Intel had in mind when they introduced the concept of an Ultrabook several years past. I've been waiting for these specs in this form factor since and Samsung really delivers. It's fast but it's also so well built that it makes using it so enjoyable. There are no gimmicks here - no unnecessary features - just the best Ultrabook and for most consumers the best laptop available today. Thank you Samsung - truly amazing computer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should have the 512G SSD option

By Mackenzie88 from Undisclosed on 02/07/2014

I think this laptop is overpriced. If it had the 512G SSD, I would recommend buying this for the same price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy overall

By Rastaf from Waltham, MA on 01/22/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Elegant Design, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

Attracts Fingeprints, Scalling, Video Card, Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: I have this machine for about 1 month now and I am very impressed with it. Was expecting something out of the ordinary and it really is. The touchscreen is excellent and the precision has been spot on every time. The display has good brightness and good viewing angles. I like the touch pad but I am still getting use with the keyboard. I haven't had such a slim laptop before and it takes time to adapt to the shallow keys. Speakers are a great surprise. Volume and sound quality is well over what I expected. I never had to worry about where I left my charger. This machine can handle a entire office work day without a problem. Excellent build quality with a state of the art design. Cons: I would have preferred the Intel Graphics 5000 instead of the 4500. Really don't know why Samsung choose the cheaper one on such a premium device. Scaling is a bit annoying with some programs and games. Sometimes I really struggle to read some menus (even in Adobe Reader which you would expect it not to have such problems, it's not a back-yard program after all). Games also appear quite awkward because of not so standard ratio of the display. Your fingerprints will be all over it. The finishing is smudge attractive. Prepare to wipe it more often than you would expect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Laptop Ever!

By SouthDallas40 from Dallas, TX on 12/21/2013


Pros:

Beautiful Design, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is without doubt the best laptop I have ever owned. Actually, the best computer I've ever owned. (And I bought my first PC in 1987!) The display is simply stunning! The Core i7 and 256 SSD results in mind-blowing performance. And all in a 3 pound package. Add the all-day battery life and you can't miss with this one. Samsung hit a home run with the ATIV Book 9 Plus!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice laptop

By idoezzz from katzrin on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

i bought this laptop week ago i very happy with him and graet windows 8 os!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really nice computer

By dogsrule from IL on 12/04/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable, Backlit Keyboard

Cons:

Some Scaling

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this computer for 3 weeks now and really enjoy working on it. The keyboard is a bit shallow, but for such a small form factor think that it is OK. The touch pad is very responsive, sometimes a bit too much, but some of that is me still getting used to this type of pad. The screen, speakers and design are amazing. Still some scaling issues, but some of it is just getting the help you may need on the forums.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Laptop

By RedTie from Jacksonville, NC on 11/10/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best laptops out there, I would definitely recommended it to anyone,


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved