Home » Video » Televisions » PN51F5300BFXZA » 46 Reviews

Samsung Pn51f5300bf 50.7" 1080p Plasma Tv - 16:9 - Hdtv 1080p - Atsc - 1920 X 1080 - Dts Premium Sound, Dts Premium Sound 5.1, Dts Studio Sound, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Pulse - 2 X (pn51f5300bfxza) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 46 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lightweight (15), Built-in Speakers (15), Inexpensive (31), Realistic Color (36), Bright Display (34), Durable (9)

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (5), Poor Quality (6)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great design, horrible durability.

By MillionDollarCritic from California, USA on 04/29/2015


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Faulty Performance Durability, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The design of this plasma tv definetly stands out from the others in the market. It doesn't have any features at all really other than pointless picture optimizations in the settings. The performance of the tv however is where the meat is, outstanding colors and shaders give great cinema esquire presentation, especially with blu-ray movies. Unfortunately after just a year of purchase it has now developed a dead pixel line vertically across the left side of the screen which is very disappointing considering the price and short length of its use out of the box. The value of the tv for me has declined tremendously because of this setback. Overall, great tv for the price, poor durability with fair use. My experience with this Samsung product has changed my mind of the quality I thought Samsung held and instead has now made me question Samsung completely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of the best and one of the last.

By Booloo from Philadelphia, PA on 03/24/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sad to see plasma going away. This set has amazing PQ, viewing angles and black levels. For the money it's an amazing value. Long live plasma.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Samsung Purchased

By 66Etype from Charleston, SC on 02/20/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Already have two Samsung TVs (one 50" Plasma and a 27" LED) and needed another one to replace an old, obsolete TV that we got rid of. We chose this 50" Samsung HD Plasma due to the fact that we have had excellent reliability and viewing on our first one. I have it in our home office. A little overkill, but why not !! We will need another one shortly to replace another old one we just got rid of and will most likely buy a 42"-46" Samsung LED.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WOW!!

By iiot from Undisclosed on 02/16/2015


Pros:

Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best plasma out there!!! You have to see to believe.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture if no background lighting

By Noobie1kenoobie from Canton, OH on 12/25/2014


Pros:

Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the picture of this Samsung PN51 Plasma TV. But make sure you are able to use this television without any background lights or the reflection will interfere with your viewing. Also, this set has limited input and output, but that was fine for my setup (cable box and blu-ray).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LACK OF QUALITY

By BOB96 from Wilmington, DE, USA on 12/15/2014


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

PERFORMED WELL FOR 18 MONTHS, BEFOFE SCREEN FAILURE CAUSED A VERTICAL LINE TO APPEAR 2.7" IN FROM LFT EDGE. DRAWING YOUR EYE TO IT, WHICH CREATES A DISTRACTION WHEN VIEWING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By coastguard from Big Bear, CA, USA on 11/10/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not Enough Hdmi Ports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This plasma TV has a great picture, Fine details, Doesn't have all the bell' s and whistles but for the price and size you can't beat it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Must Get Protection Plan!

By DisappointedFootballFan from Indianapolis, Indiana on 11/03/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Great Picture Quality

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality, Faulty Panel

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After approximately 18months of use, the panel became defective. Replacement of the panel is equal to the cost of the TV. I've never had a TV go out... I usually replace them out of want, but this time around is a new, troubling experience.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Plasma TV at competitive price. Beautiful picture.

By DoctaE from Pasadena, CA, USA on 10/25/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Hdmi Ports - Minimal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best Bang for your Buck, guaranteed. Used this TV regularly for the last 3 months. Watched Blu Rays and they're beautiful (room has to be dark, lots of reflection). Over the air HDTV looks nice. Used as an external monitor for Macbook Pro, runs smoothly. Xbox 360, cool! Started watching football. Sweet!!! Mount it on the wall, hook up a surround system receiver that has lots of HDMI ports. Watch it a lot for 90 days. If everything works still, it'll last a long time. You will NOT Find a Better Value at this price. Don't waste your money on 3D TV, Smart TV, or Curved Display. If you want to spend more money, go for a larger size TV with 4K resolution. The rest are just gimmicks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Plasma Tv

By Steroidfern from El Paso Tx on 10/05/2014


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awsome Plasma Tv Great Picture Quality. One Of The Best Tvs I Had Better Than LCD and Led Tvs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By DislikeSamsungnow from Boston, MA, USA on 09/26/2014


Cons:

Junk, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have had nothing but problems with Samsung junk. Power supplies are junk. Has failed 2x in two years. DO NOT BUY. JUNK.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Movies and Gaming

By NobleSaintJ from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 09/26/2014


Pros:

Great Picture, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been the best TV for when I use my gaming system or just blu ray and movies. Couple Netflix the HD is great. Sound and picture are crisp and sharp even in full daylight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PICTURE

By BEARFAN21 from Tulsa, OK, USA on 09/15/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Cons:

2 Hdmi

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Get this set, calibrate it, and enjoy a picture better than any LCD except maybe UHD. But for the money you cannot go wrong. I am unable to give a website about calibration but it is not hard to find. I was disappointed with this set until I calibrated. You must do this to get the most from this TV. Once you do you will be very satisfied for the bang for the buck. No "Smart", only 2 HDMI inputs, but a GREAT picture. I have AppleTV so no big deal. Plasma is the best. The only reason we won't have it longer is because the Big Box guys don't know how to show it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Major Disappointment

By UnhappySamsungPurchaser from Vancouver, WA, USA on 09/13/2014


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Poor Quality, Broke After 35 Days, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It broke after only 35 days. Watching TV, made a noise and won't come on. Blown fuse panel


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product had vertical lines

By Msmary from Undisclosed on 09/04/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Poor Quality

This product had vertical lines almost immediately after purchasing. Samsung did replace it free of cost but only because it was under warranty. Second Samsung plasma TV to need complete replacing. At least it was free of charge both times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So sad to see plasma discontinued!

By SidandNancy from Undisclosed on 08/24/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just picked one of these up today because I was shocked to see such a nice samsung tv for the same price as a smaller led tv. The picture is amazing and my wife (who generally doesn't notice or care about technology upgrades in our home) was shocked by how much nicer the picture is than our old 1080p led tv. I love the tv and my only complaint would be to have more hdmi ports and an analogue audio out for my old speakers but for this value I'll just buy the digital to analogue converter :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By MixinMatt from Tualatin, OR, USA on 08/13/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have always had plasma tv's, going on 13 years now. I still love plasma. The color, realistic nature of the screen is something I enjoy over LCD. I have had this tv for about 6 months now. It has excellent color and black level. I've had no issues. While this model does not have many features, the low price I paid reflects that. I would fill my house with many of these sets if I had more room. The only downside, and Samsung is not alone with this problem, it the lack of cable management. I can't stand looking at the wires on the back hanging down no matter how you tidy it up. The design should have wires incorporated into the stand if not mounted on the wall. All in all a great set for the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PN51F5300AFXZA

By Lyn6QML from New Jersey, USA on 07/19/2014


Pros:

Quality, Realistic Color, Easy Configuration, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Built In Speakers Audio Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Picture, easy configuration. I have a 42" plasma still works great, 42" Audio Quality was better. Have to get a sound bar for the 51". My PC Monitor is a Samsung Sync Master. Still a Samsung Fan, I will miss the Plasma Line Best Picture!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Surprisingly good TV

By poziteevo from Undisclosed on 06/18/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had an older Samsung 720p and wanted to upgrade. For the price you can't beat the picture on a plasma. The picture options are numerous, so you really can tweak the picture to make it look phenomenal. My only gripe is the speakers. They are horrible. Also one more hdmi input would have made it the perfect buy. For the price you won't get a better picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tv

By Tew83 from Bradenton, Fl on 06/17/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

I Dont Have One

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Its one of the most so far that ive seen.It look and does amazing things..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good picture

By 93vette from San Francisco, CA, USA on 05/27/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Cons:

More Hdmi Ports Needed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this plasma F5300 series tv 51" class to replace a lcd 42" that died. This has way better picture ,takes up less space,and cost less.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung pn51f5300 bfxza

By Ps4plasma from California on 05/21/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Awesome picture quality for an awesome price! Colors really pop!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By Geck from PA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Cons:

No Internet Connection

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture, better than a LED. I purchased a 55" LED 1st and ended up taking it back for the 51" Plasma.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No real drawbacks

By CPwannabe from Monroe, NC, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very satisfying to get a great value, that is actually as good and or better than advertised. The only thing that can't be praised yet is operation longevity, only because usage so far is less than a year.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product works well in our home

By Bribear from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The size is the perfect fit for our family room. The picture quality is superb and the speakers are very clear. I have had compliments on our TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV for the price

By samsungfan88 from Ohio on 04/15/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Only 1 Digital Audio Out And No Other Audio Outs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We really enjoy our new TV. It has several great features and a nice size screen. We picked because we already had a roku so we did not need a smart tv. It was easy to set the roku. The only issue we have with the tv is that it only has 1 optical audio out. There are no other audio outs and we could not connect it to our high end 10+ year old stereo. This is a slight disappointment. Still looking for an affordable solution to this issue.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

PN51F5300AFXZA

By here4now from united states on 03/16/2014

This unit replaced my Samsung PN50A450P1DXZA. Performance: Picture is not as good, Features: My biggest gripe is the Favorite channels selection. If anybody at the company reads these reviews, PLEASE do an update to add this back in. The programming is already there but will not allow you to retrieve them using smart remote w/Favorites button. No, I shouldn't have to buy a smart TV to get this as my very old projection TV had this feature years ago. Should have an MP3 input that is useable with the unit off. Design: lame stand does not distribute weight evenly, just in 4 places, I have a glass stand. As others have mentioned we are in the HDMI era and lack of at least 3 or more inputs leaves you seeking alternatives. Value: if I have to buy another TV in the next 5 years because this unit breaks makes them expensive. Lastly, I hope this unit lasts longer than my previous one that was repaired twice.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A very good TV, regardless its remarkable value

By Broadus from SC on 03/03/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wanting to replace our old Samsung CRT, I began researching HDTVs. My research led me to plasmas and then to the Samsung PN51F5300. I located one at a good price, brought it home, set it up with our entertainment system, and like it a lot. Even with brightness and contrast reduced for the first month to break the plasma in, the picture quality impresses everyone who sees our television.. The viewing angles are great, the colors are really good, everything about the picture is a win. We have two windows opposite the television, so we keep those blinds shut for daytime viewing. There is still a little reflection, as can be seen in the attached photo. With that in mind, daytime viewing is good; nighttime viewing is great. If we get close to it, we can hear a little buzz if there is a snowy background, as in watching the Winter Olympics, but you won't hear it if you're not listening for it. This is a fine television, especially for the price. Would I like one more HDMI port? Absolutely, and there's really no reason there are not at least three HDMI ports on the television. Still, it's not a major quibble. For this price, you won't find a better picture on a 50/51" television. Double the price and you may get an LCD/LED that will come close. Unless someone has a bright room and needs an LCD/LED, the F5300 is a solid set for a great price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome value

By firebird67ho from North Carolina on 02/09/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Needs More Connections, Base Could Be A Little More Stable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The value for dollar paid is awesome. Can not go wrong with Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Could Not Be Happier!

By Floridabred from Fruit Cove, FL on 02/04/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Ease Of Set-up, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was a little apprehensive about buying a plasma TV but am really glad I did now. The picture is better then I even expected it to be. They look good in the store but the real test is at home. This TV passed that test with flying colors. Very easy set-up and I'm not very tech. savvy. I hope to eventually add a sound bar but not because there's anything wrong with the sound now. I just would like to have some more range. All future purchases will be Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super deal. Great picture, easy setup

By GnGranch from Lake Placid, Fl on 02/04/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Replaced an older Samsung with this one the additional features and good price may this a super deal. Best part is the picture quality, of course but the other features make it a terrific plasma HDTV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb picture quality

By mse1602 from North Carolina on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did plenty of research before buying a TV. After listening to people who knew TV's, I decided on the Samsung 51" plasma with 1080p. I couldn't be happier with the picture quality I get on my TV. There are other reasons to look at different models, but when it comes down to the bottom line, the picture quality is why you should buy a TV. You can't beat the picture here.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1st Plasma TV

By RRRoger from Monterey Bay on 12/26/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Took my Seiki 4k TV back because the 1080 movie quality was mediocre and anything less was terrible. Most of our programing is SD. The Samsung 51" Class 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV - PN51F5300AFXZA was slightly better image than anything in the store. They were all plugged into the same HD source, so easy to compare. When I got home the image was only slightly better than my (excellant) CRT (optimized for SD) untill I adjusted the settings. Now the SD broadcast are better than BlueRay thru the old TV. I have not tested with a BlueRay disc yet but HD is exceptionally


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best bang for the buck!

By Heels98 from Western NC on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let's cut to the chase and answer lingering questions about plasmas and how this TV compares in those regards: Is it viewable in the daytime? This was one of my concerns due to the wall of windows in our open-floor living room. Rest assured, this TV is very bright and is easily viewed even during the brightest part of the day. Yes, it is highly reflective, but the light doesn't scatter when it hits the screen, so the overall picture isn't washed out like it can be with LCDs and edge-lit LEDs. What about burn-in/image retention? I've had this set for three weeks, just past the critical 100-hour stage where image retention and burn-in typically occur. This set does an outstanding job, I've yet to see the slightest hint of image retention, and I've been looking for it. Having an older plasma that did have IR I know what to look for. The colors and black levels of this set are excellent, it's like seeing HD for the first time all over again. Of course, the viewing angle of plasma is best in the business as well, so no problems there. All in all it's hard to find fault with this TV. I gave it 4 stars for features because it does not offer any sort of internet or "smart" connectivity. This was perfect for me since I already have a Roku, and I was able to save a significant amount by choosing a TV without those features. I believe this TV is the best bargain in the TV industry in 2013. If image quality and a good value are important to you, then you should definitely give this Samsung a chance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Top Notch

By Paradiso from Undisclosed on 12/12/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV has been fantastic. It's exactly what we were looking for. Great picture quality. Everything you'd expect from a Samsung product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Krlsun703 from Clermont, FL on 11/06/2013


Pros:

Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is awesome. I had to replace my 32 LCD after the color went out and this TV is not a disappointment. Great clarity with fast transitions, not only from devise but also in pictures. Great TV for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worse TV EVER

By LaurieB from Mentor,Ohio on 10/14/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We received this tv as gift from our son, back in July. We just went to set it up this past weekend (10-12-13), due to the fact we were remodeling our family room. The tv keeps shutting off. When we try to schedule service on line, nothing happens, and the nearest walk in service center is 40 miles away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plasma with the light weight of an LED and plasma picture

By hyfynut from kansas on 10/07/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is an excellent example of how far the Plasma displays have developed. The unit is less than 2" thick and weighs less than 40 pounds. It is easy to mount on the wall and the factory picture settings are excellent while leaving more than enough room for custom adjustments. Highly recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buzzing, Buzzing !!!

By Maxpower from Undisclosed on 09/18/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Buzzing!!

Great picture, but it buzzes so loudly that its uncomfortable to watch movies. Any white scenes the buzz is heard. Gives me a headache. The volume level is at 15 and it doesnt cover up the buzzing...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First time Plasma screen buyer

By pappy22637 from Pittsburgh, Pa on 08/25/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Cons:

Analog Speaker Hook Up/lack Off

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I heard a lot about plasma screen display being better than LCD?LED. Did not realize how much better it is until now. It has a clearer picture, with better resolution and contrast, and the colors display truer. Glad I decided on plasma this time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy W/ TV After Replacement

By 2NDTIMEBETTER from Oceanside, CA on 07/28/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Durable

Cons:

Problem W 1st Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall very happy with TV the second time around. The first 5300 Plasma kept turning off at random times until I requested the retailer to pick up and replace the TV.. Very happy the 2nd time around


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung 5300series plasma

By CtTechJunky from Undisclosed on 07/26/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Nice Inky Blacks, High Picture Quality, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Cons:

Not Enough Information On Howto Fine Tune The Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Over all this is a great television the picture quality is excellent as far as plasma's TV's are concerned, and compared to LED HDTV's you would have to buy a Samsung 13000 series to get the same picture quality and color quality. This HDTV does not offer all the same bells and whistles as the higher end models but unless you actually care about having the internet on your television its not a big deal since 90% of the populas has some sort of device hooked upto the tv anyways. The only cons I have about this tv is that there is a mild reverb in the speakers when watching movies or tv with the speakers set to the movie or music setting. Also there is almost NO information on howto pro spec all the little tv settings to get the absolute best picture quality possible from your set and there is almost no information on howto adjust the white level and colorspace. Beyond the lack of information on howto fine tune your individual television I think this is a great HDTV to buy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV!

By OnTheGoGuy from PA on 06/25/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to have one once I had the phone and tablet and there is no disappointment here. Super Sharp images, fast connection and easy to mount on my wall. Needless to say i'll be hosting all the games this season.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Plasma 5300 Series TV

By TheDrill from Los Angeles on 06/09/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

After viewing all the other TV,s in my price range , the quality of the picture on this Samsung model far outweighed the others, crisp and clear pictures on fast moving bluray action films. Overall really excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By jennie888 from New Castle, DE on 06/06/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive

Cons:

Simpe

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This has been the first HDtv we have bought and we are very happy to have ths tv! The hd is very beautiful! I recommend this if you want a simple tv that has a good image!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the plasma you want

By Hakuzen from Seattle, Wa on 04/12/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Screen Glare In Brightly Lit Rooms, Lack Of Additional Hdmi Ports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

You will see a lot of reviewers offer you many reasons why this TV may not be for you. They will use words like "Budget" and "Base-Model", and maybe even complain about brightness or lack of features. The truth? If you want a 51' plasma tv, there is no reason to buy anything else. Let me break this down: Features: This is the only area in which this TV does not get 5 stars from me. Why? Mainly one reason, lack of additional HDMI ports. This TV only offers 2 HDMI inputs, which is a pretty big bummer. Personally, I do not believe any TV should have less than 3 HDMI ports, but preferably should have 4. This is truly the one major weakness of this TV, but is certainly not a deal breaker. If you have more than 2 HDMI sources, you can always buy a switch. There are other features missing, but they are mostly fluff. Namely, this TV is not a "Smart TV". I do not dock any points for this, because the whole "Smart TV" thing is simply a fad and is mostly useless to anyone who is not computer illiterate. Why do I say that? Well, that is because you can turn this TV into a "SmartTV" simply by plugging it into a modern computer. You can then watch ANYTHING from your computer on your TV, including Hulu, Netflix and all that other stuff. Not to mention a PS3/Xbox will basically do the same thing, if you do not own a modern computer. In summary, this TV has all of the features you NEED, and none of the expensive fluff. Performance: This is inarguably the most important part of any TV performance. Who cares how nice the TV looks, or how robust it's features are, if the picture looks terrible? The answer is: Nobody. -Picture Quality The 5300 does not disappoint in this regard, delivering ultra-deep, inky blacks, vibrant whites, and an amazing contrast ratio. Do not listen to those who say Plasmas are not bright enough. That may have been true in the early 2000s, but it is certainly not true today. Just set the picture mode to standard, turn off ECO sensor and increase the Cell Light to 15-20(depending on preference). You will NOT be disappointed. The default 720p input looks great, but the second you watch a native 1080p movie (blu-ray) your jaw will simply drop to the floor. It is like watching a painting come to life. Stunning does not even describe it, and the picture quality is unmatched by ANY LED I have ever seen (Including the huge overpriced LEDs you will find on the showroom floors). -Refresh Rate The 600hz sub-field motion makes a subtle yet noticeable difference in comparison to the standard 60hz plasma. Basically, the sub-field motion eliminates most motion-blur and stuttering, but does not give the "fast-forward effect" that the LED equivalent 'Motion interpolation' does. This is a HUGE benefit, as most people who own LEDs simply turn that feature off and deal with the motion blur due to the unnatural feel it gives to movies. Simply put, 600hz sub-field motion is the best of both worlds and will give you flawless playback the likes you have never seen. In summary, Performance is this set's strongpoint. Flawless picture with a perfect refresh rate creates a visually stunning experience perfect for movies, sports and gaming. Design: Samsung again has learned much from past experience, designing a near perfect modern television. The clear image panel uses a single layer, which fixes the two major flaws in plasma TVs people used to complain about. Namely, Ghost images and Image retention. This TV, straight out of the box, produces ZERO ghosting and even after leaving a static image up for over 15 minutes, there was no image retention to speak of. The classic arguments against plasma are no longer relevant, thanks in no small part to the Clear Image Panel. The third issue that people often complain about with plasmas, screen glare, has still not been solved completely. In low-light, this TV is flawless. In a very bright room with open windows, you will still see some reflections. The reflections are greatly reduced/mitigated by the Clear Image Panel, but still not eliminated completely. That one minor issue aside, the design of this plasma TV is flawless. The Plasma +1 means that you get an extra inch compared to other 51 TVs, via the ultra-thin bevel featured on this set. Amazingly, with all these improvements, theyve also managed to reduce power consumption AND overall weight of the TV. In summary, the design of this TV is nearly flawless. The Clear Image Panel has eliminated most issues a plasma TV would typically have, and greatly mitigated the one issue it could not completely solve. In a dark environment, you will find no issues with this TV whatsoever. The ultra-light weight and thin design also makes it a prime candidate for wall mounting. Value: Overall, the value of this TV is quite substantial. It is very cheap for a 51 plasma, and offers the same stunning performance you would find in a TV twice or even three times its cost. The only thing you are losing out on here are ports and fluff features that most people do not need. In Conclusion: Visually, this is a top-tier plasma for a bottom-tier price. Dont be fooled by the more expensive options out there, they will deliver a similar product with features you do not need for much more cash that you do not need to spend. This TV hits the sweet-spot for Price and Performance, and I would highly recommend it to anybody in the market for a plasma TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved