Home » Video » Televisions » PN51F5500AFXZA » 30 Reviews

Samsung Pn51f5500af 51" 3d 1080p Plasma Tv - 16:9 - 1920 X 1080 - Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby Pulse, Dts Premium Sound 5.1, Dts Studio Sound - 3 X Hdmi - Usb - Ethernet - Wireless Lan (pn51f5500afxza) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 30 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Built-in Speakers (13), Bright Display (23), Inexpensive (19), Realistic Color (24), Lightweight (16), Durable (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great overall value

By bgpmpng from Bergen County, NJ, USA on 10/24/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Picture Is Great, Great For Video Games/sports, 3d Is Wonderful Replacement Glasses Are Cheap, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Speakers Are Lower Quality, The Stand Is Plastic, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture quality, color, contrast ratio and 3d. I find the speakers are only useful at lower volumes, when used at higher volumes with significant bass the speakers cannot handle it. I would recommend getting a soundbar if you like loud bass. The stand seems flimsy because it is made of plastic, I have not had any problems with it, I would feel better if it was sturdier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great picture and sound quality

By dadwag from Undisclosed on 10/10/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this tv is user friendly, is loaded with apps and the sound quality is so good it doesn't even require a sound bar to fully enjoy it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great TV

By cpcardona from Lake Mary,FL on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great TV. Beautifull image. The color are soo real.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features with a very good price

By DMellard from Kansas, USA on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display

Cons:

Sound Quality Could Improve

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wow! TV viewing was elevated to a new level. Great TV and easy to recommend for anyone in the market for this size and features. I did some comparison shopping and came to settle on this TV. One of the features is that the picture doesn't wash out even in the bright light of day. The room has lots of windows and the picture is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

tvman

By tvmoon from Undisclosed on 05/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

easy too use too and Blu-ray dvd player too it uo as fast and easy the smart tv work with my cable box too thamks


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

outstanding performance picture

By cleve49 from chicago on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best value outstanding . features Easy setup best buy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features and value for money

By AmiD from Hillsboro, OR, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am quite satisfied with the performance of my 51'' Samsung Plasma TV F5500. The 3-D and Smart features are great, especially compared to other brands at the same price range. The display is quite bright and crisp. Sound quality is also remarkable. The Wifi connectivity works well under most circumstances, depending on the quality of service from the internet service provider. The web browser is versatile to facilitate seamless browsing and for viewing embedded online videos. The Samsung apps are easy to navigate and the menu is quite intuitive. Power consumption is also quite reasonable for a plasma TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

TV

By MasonGo from Baton Rouge, LA, USA on 05/12/2014


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

No Internet Tv

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Above average compared to some smart TV. The audio jack for external speakers failed to improve my rating, not RCA Jack. Can't enjoy external speakers until I purchase an optical audio cable. Wi-Fi is a plus; but, limited use with cable. No Internet TV through the Web Browser. Full Laptop features using Linux OS would have been better. USB Port works fine. No free apps or channels for the cost of the TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One year later.

By Bigtee2055 from Undisclosed on 04/27/2014


Cons:

Don't Like The Remote Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture 2D and 3D awesome for playing games.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Moviewatcer from St. Louis, MO, USA on 04/19/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love having this TV in our media room. It has great options & was just what we'd been expecting in a Smart TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV for the money

By dbacon from Alabama, USA on 03/24/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very good product for the price, great pictures and features, as well as easy to set up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This TV Is Very Good

By plasmawatcher from Ontario, CA, USA on 03/16/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Durable, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Features are really nice, but i'm all about the image. Plasma's just blow away lcd's. the colors are just amazing the blacks are true black which means great contrast not faded like lcd's all in all this is a great tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

everything and then some

By crcmsit from Milwaukee on 02/24/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Realistic Color

Cons:

No Info On How To Add Sound System

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Exactatactly what I've wanted. One thing how to add sound system to enhance the sound quality. Great buy for the product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am thrilled with this TV!

By TenaciousLizards from Los Angeles, CA on 02/19/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did a fair amount of research and bought this brand and model because it was a "Best Value" on Consumer Reports. They did not steer me wrong. This was dead easy to install and use; connecting it to my wireless LAN was no harder than plugging in a toaster. I love the picture quality, the only reason I give it a 4 on performance is the speaker quality, while better than my last TV, still required external speakers for me to get the sound I require. (I am a bit of an audiophile, my friends thought the internal speakers were fine). I am more than pleased with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i love the features

By addictedtosamsung from jersey city,nj on 02/18/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

best plasma in ages! best value for its price and... is 3D!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

51" Class Plasma 5500 Series TV

By Pup68 from Utah on 01/29/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Not Enough Audio Outputs

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This really is a cool T V. Very happy with the picture. Very easy setup for the Wifi. Love the Amazon and Netflix apps. I do wish this TV would of had component audio outputs for those of us with older external speaker systems. Overall I am very pleased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beast of a TV with elegance

By IlikeBender from Undisclosed on 01/21/2014


Pros:

Durable, Compatible With Iphone And Wireless Sound Bar, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No probs with the Wifi at all, Awesome with Netflix, Hulu and even You Tube. The Iphone connects easy with the TV when I want to watch a You Tuube Video that I found on my phone. Workes like a charm with the Samsung wireless sound bar. The remote is a bit delicate since the touch pad is very sensitive and it took me a bit to get used to it. Picture is rich and vibrant in color. I watch TV over an antenna and get awesome HD quality with no issues. Love the auto update feature. Customer service is excellent and ready to your disposal ( I am fan of live chat) and was able to solve a prob that I had in a very short time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very pleased with Samsung plasma tv

By Nana5272 from Undisclosed on 01/18/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased a Samsung plasma 51 " TV and I found it very easy to set up. The picture quality is terrific. I needed assistance and called the customer service number and they were very helpful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Value

By Kelrod from Mocksville, NC on 01/03/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very happy with performance. Only negative is with the GUIDE. It starts from channel 2 instead of from what channel TV is tuned to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV with one hitch

By WillowDreamer from Undisclosed on 12/31/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Hard Time Staying Connected To Wifi, Did Not Meet Expectations, Image Sometimes Gets "funky"

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this TV since August 2013. It's mostly worked well, has a decent picture, and works with my other Samsung devices. I have two complaints: it has a hard time staying connected to my WiFi and occasionally the TV's picture will get very funky (as if something inside made the resolution too big - so I see like one quarter of the image all disproportionate) and in order to get either working again, I have to turn off the TV and turn it back on. There's a 50/50 chance that the WiFi will connect, but restarting it always fixes the picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Netflix Hero.

By Bobbyninja45 from Tulsa, OK on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Sreen Burn In If Stationary Menus Displayed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I haven't had a lot of time with this TV yet but here is what I think so far. Great picture, even though I get quite a bit of sunlight in the room at certain times. The netflix app is easier to see and use and is way faster than it is on either of my bluray players. It has a good DTV tuner and I really like the channel guide with the ability to schedule upcoming shows so the TV switches channels to them when they come on. The remote is cool but takes some getting used to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this TV

By Chiefman from Delaware on 12/30/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Easy Setup, Inexpensive

Cons:

Speakers Not Adequate For Larger Rooms

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love everything about this TV. Setup was easy, the smart features are exciting and the 3D is amazing. The only drawback is the speakers (a common issue with the flat panel TV's) the sound gets lost in a larger room. Our Living room is an open "Great Room" type setting and will likely need help with an external speaker at some point. It's not so bad that can't be overlooked. The picture is fantastic and the combination with our new Blue Ray player we are extremely pleased with our purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Picture @ Such A Price!

By Kipster from Undisclosed on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My old 42" plasma Samsung EDTV finally died this past summer so I did much researching before settling on this Samsung model. The color is amazing and picture quality superb! Black and white colors are the best I've seen. I do not use the remote which came with it. I should mention, after about 3 months, a slight humming (or buzzing) sound started to appear, coming from within the unit itself. My old unit did the same, but not as noticeable since this unit is half as thin. I researched the Internet and found this to be common. My room is very quiet and I sometimes turn my home audio theater off entirely when watching sports. That's when it's most noticeable -- especially when the scene goes from a dark to bright picture. I purchased the movie Avatar in 3D which looked amazing. I'm not a big 3D fan, but the glasses which come with seem very nice and well manufactured. Hookup to my wireless home network was a breeze and I did the suggested updates immediately.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great purchase ever

By bchas from Undisclosed on 11/14/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Cons:

Stand Could Be Stronger

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this t.v. surpassed all my expectations. the picture quality is beyond belief. i can access my facebook, netflix, hulu, fitness pandora and many more. Yes, i can even look at my pictures from my computer on the t.v. this t.v. has everything you need for your entertainment needs. strongly recommend to evereyone


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Ssevchuk from West Orange, NJ on 09/24/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There's not much else to say... This is exactly what I wanted. A smart 3DTV with all the features. The size and price point were perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome TV So Far

By p12iNc3 from Phoenix, AZ on 08/22/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Terrible Remote Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I am definitely impressed with the quality of this TV for what I paid. Picture quality is awesome, it runs nice and cool for a Plasma, and it has tons of cool features. My only complaint what so ever is the Remote Control.Talk about terrible. If it gets bumped or touched during a movie it will stop it. Also there are no physical number buttons so finding a specific channel is more difficult than it should be. For a Smart TV I would have expected something with a qwerty keyboard built in and some physical buttons.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV for the price.

By Bman72 from Undisclosed on 07/28/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great TV for the money. The picture quality is great and the colors are spot on. The built in speakers are better than I would have expected. The smart features are nice. The remote is smaller which I like, and is easy to use once you get used to it. The 3D is really cool. I think the stand could have been a little better, like the one that comes with the 8500 series. Overall I am very satisfied with this TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME!!!!!

By SCARLETORQUID from Undisclosed on 07/16/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Personalize Options, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Chose What Apps You Want, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Wonderful TV, great speed, responds quick... great picture quality, everything is just great.... MY HUSBAND LOVES IT!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By likeit48 from north carolina on 07/03/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great set, good features, works well, beautiful picture.......


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV for the value

By MikelMishawaka from Indiana on 06/04/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Purchased end of May and am surprised how much we are enjoying it. The movie mode with the movie sound creates a theater like experience. Being an old timer wasn't sure how I would take to a smart tv, but setup was easy and am learning on the fly. Most of it is intuitive but the one question I had was answered online within a minute or two. The picture is gorgeous and because its set up in a small family room the sound rocks. Purchased Samsung Blu ray 5900 with it. Have yet to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved