Home » Video » Televisions » PN60F8500 » 44 Reviews

Samsung Pn60f8500 1080p New Brushed Metal Bezel, Samsung Super Contrast Panel, Smart Interaction 2.0, Built In Camera, 3d W/2 Glasses In Box, Smart 2.0, Web Browser, Skype, All Share, Wifi Built In, C Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 44 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Built-in Speakers (9), Lightweight (7), Durable (10), Realistic Color (40), Bright Display (37), Inexpensive (6)

Cons:

Poor Quality (4), Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Spectacular picture quality

By PlasmaGuy258 from Bronx, NY, USA on 03/13/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Cannot get any better than this. Near reference black levels, superb contrast, accurate colours , and features galore to boot. Wow! This is a fantastic set. Gotta be a Plasma!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good picture and overall good TV

By Diego9 from University of Indianapolis, on 03/09/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Interface

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is very nice and has a great picture, however the interface could be better. When watching TV and choosing the 'Guide" feature/button, the show you are watching is minimized then goes dark while the programming list is retrieved and displayed. Then when you press the up or down channel button the minimized screen again goes dark. Why not retrieve the program guide in the background while displaying the TV show you are watching in the foreground? Simple things like this are frustrating.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceptional

By decourseydave from San Francisco, CA, USA on 01/17/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Views Well From The Side

Cons:

Audio Accs Difficult Once Hung

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Santa brought this so it's a little early for a complete review. I haven't tried the motion recognition or the 3-D yet but I'm very pleased otherwise. The picture is remarkable. Not only the clarity of seeing such great definition but the color is really pure. There is hardly any distortion when you're not looking straight on but at an angle to the screen. I haven't used Samsung's customer phone help but once and it was right on. I feel I made the right decision on the brand, plasma and as large as I could afford. Consumer Reports was a factor big factor. I'm always so please after every show I watch!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung plasma rules but this model has serious buzzing issues

By Bogdan2 from DE on 01/06/2015


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Directional Buz, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my 3rd plasma TV from Samsung. After comparing with UHD I have just still chosen to continue with plasma. The colors, contrast and movement is more natural just from out of box. After calibration this TV will become amazing. However this model (60") seems to have an issue by having a directional front forward buzz. On avsforum you can find a dedicated topic with many customers complaining about it. Even if it manufactured in Oct/Nov 2014 it seems that are plenty of customers receiving this TV. Problem seems to be at the manufacturing quality control. So far Samsung did not provided a solution for solving it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous picture!

By Rstrickjr from Undisclosed on 12/16/2014


Pros:

Excellent Overall Picture, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'm not that smart but I got calibration settings on the internet ( AVS forum). The picture is amazing... 3D if the signal is delivered in 1080HD... Smithsonian, Nat geographic type shows. I was able buy on the internet at a very good price. There aren't many of these left as plasma production from Samsung has stopped. Glad i got this as many sites were out of stock. Some of the smart features are too smart for me but most are pretty intuitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great black's the shadow deal is terrific

By LuvSamsung222 from Undisclosed on 12/14/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Shading Is Great

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Samsung LCD which we replaced with this Plasma. I thought the LCD was great, however the Plasma is ten times better. Buy one of these before they are gone!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than I could have ever imagined!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By FloydTerminator from MA on 12/04/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable, Huge Picture

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Let me start by saying.....WOW!!! Unreal. I have had a non-samung 40" tv for about 7 years. I thought I was living the tv dream when I got that tv. The only downfall was it only had 1 hdmi port. Years later, I still love it. Great tv but nothing special. However, times have changed and so has technology. I am a huge tech guy and I decided it was time for an upgrade. The timing could not have been better. After making the decision, I research and read about tvs for months on end, every minute of every day. I was driving my self crazy trying to decide what to buy. Knowing my brother has an amazing Samsung plasma from 2012, I knew how great the quality was. The only downfall was that it wasnt bright. I came across this tv, read all the reviews and tech talk, and made up my mind. I then thought the input lag and demise of plasma would make this a bad choice so I decided to go with 4k. Well after reading more and more reviews, and knowing no 4k standard is even yet official, I decided last minute to go back to this plasma. The tv arrived in 1 piece with no damage to corners or screen. I was very nervous. The box was so big I didnt think it would even fit into my apartment. What a difference in going from 40" to 60". It took me a while to set up as the screw holes for mounting are bigger than the holes on my previous tv, so although I am using the same mount, I had to get bigger screws. I got it up and turned on the tv. WOOOOWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Instant pleasure. The factory setting for Movie is incredible. This tv has amazing detail. When I say amazing, I really mean amazing. I watched a commercial and it showed a prescription bottle, and on the label i could see a tiny wrinkle on the paper. This is nothing you would have seen on any other tv, or possibly even in person. As others have said, the tv can get bright. I enjoy that as I am used to my old lcd so brightness is a plus. You can set it perfectly to accommodate a dark room or a bright room. It does indeed get nice and bright. Whites are so crisp and blacks are dark. And I mean DARK!!! I didnt know what inky meant until I saw these black levels. As with most plasma's, there is buzz. Do I care? Will I return the tv? NO WAY!!!! the gift of being able to own and watch this tv far outweighs any little buzz. The tv is so great you forget about the buzz after 10 seconds. If I had to complain about anything it would be the Smart Hub. It is definitely finicky. Sometimes windows open or close for no reason. With a wireless connection, forget it. Wont work. With a wired connection, it still didnt work. After a while it decided to start working, but the port on my router is lit red meaning theres a problem, but it is working. The apps are cool and I am able to access all the files on my computer which is awesome. The 3d is really cool. One of the biggest reasons why I made the purchase, 2d to 3d adds depth but its nothing exciting. The actual 3d is really cool to watch. I have not yet got a headache but i do get tired after a half hr of wearing the glasses. Overall, I am extremely happy with my purchase and I know I will enjoy the perks of a great tv for years to come. If you managed to read through all my blabbing you are obviously researching this tv as a new purchase, Don't think....JUST GET!!!!!!!!!!!! if you still can.....cuz this is one treat you dont wana pass up!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing TV

By Rencryst from Council Bluffs, IA, USA on 11/25/2014


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best TV I've had. Had to get it before all the Plasma TV's disappear and very glad I did. It's like real people walking around the room with you, very cool!! The color and brightness are amazing. Viewing from any angle still gives you a great picture. Would highly recommend this set. Lots of extra's which a lot of people won't use, but there if you like all that stuff. Would definitely recommend this set if your looking for a Plasma TV. Don't wait, their going to be extinct!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is an excellent Smart TV with great features

By ElectronicsFanatic from Miami, FL, USA on 11/23/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this TV for six months and it is great, the features and apps are great, the picture quality is amazing, you can view Hulu, Netflix, Amazon Prime and much, much more. The 3D is good too, even though we don't use it that often, when we do the picture is very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Plasma

By wrksad from Orange County, CA, USA on 10/14/2014


Pros:

Features, Picture, 3d, Plasma, Realistic Color, Steaming Ability, Performance, Bright Display, Quality Of Product

Cons:

Lack Of Mini Stereo Output, Poor Documentation Of How To Use Features, Poor 3d Party Bluetooth Support

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is by far the best TV I have ever owned. All my friends and family love this TV and the picture quality. I use the 3d feature all the time and really love the quality of this plasma. I very rarely use the camera or the voice option but I do use the smart hub and a lot of the apps. The system is quick and responsive apps load fast and when streaming I have never had the system buffer. This TV does have the Soap Opera effect like most of the LCD and LED sets but Samsung has made this is easy enough to turn off. The only real complaint I have and it's not really a big problem, is that you cannot connect Bluetooth headphones to this TV and you can't plug in wired headphones either. The only option is to purchase an Optical to Bluetooth adapter to get it to work. Problem solved!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful picture.

By Hogheaven from Wisconsin on 09/05/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Expensive, Poor Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Out of the box, the base was virtually impossible to install properly on to the TV. The base just wouldn't fit completely inside the sleeve on the back of the TV on one side and to this day the right side is higher than the left side because of this. This TV is heavy and tring to force things with a 60" piece of glass is a scarey undertaking. All in all we are very satisfied with the TV. I wish more apps were available. It came with HBO Go but not MAX Go, as an example. Difficult to find movies with the intuitive choices. Sometime a link to free movies would appear and other times it was nowhere to be found. Maybe in time I will get the hang of that better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great while it lasted

By BJD63 from Undisclosed on 08/06/2014


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this TV for to days and it Quit working, power will not come on


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture - terrible remote

By GarySomebody from albuquerque NM on 06/18/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Plasma, Realistic Color

Cons:

Poorly Designed Remote, Voice Control Doesn't Work Well

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this TV for its great picture and sleek design. I wanted a new plasma screen before they totally disappeared from the market, and can certainly see the difference between this TV and the many LEDs available. Great picture! So the viewing experience is good, but unfortunately the TVs downfall is its remote control interface. I havent found anyone who likes it. For starters the remote is so small and slippery that its almost impossible to control with one hand. Im constantly dropping it. Add that Im left handed, and Im always pressing the mute button (located on the left side edge of the remote) by mistake. After owning this TV for a while, you might think Id be an expert at using the remotes slide pad control. But its still very difficult to control. Im often sliding past whatever it is Im attempting to highlight. Id love an old fashioned push-button remote to control this TVs basic functions, but I cant find a compatible one " not even the TV controls on my Samsung blu-ray player will work with it. While Im glad to have the built-in program guide, it is very sluggish " taking up to a minute sometimes to display a page of content. Then, when I want to see a second page I often have to wait again " all the time having the program Im watching muted and unavailable. One would think the data could be loaded once and remain for the evening, but five minutes later it has to load again (strange). For the record, its not the fault of my wifi connection, which is super fast. One cannot just mute this TVs internal sound when watching a blu-ray via their external surround sound system. You have to lower the sound level to zero in order to prevent the mute icon from displaying over your movie (Not critical, but certainly annoying). After getting totally frustrated with the voice recognition feature of this TV, I finally had to shut it off permanently. Theoretically, one must say Hello TV in order to activate it, but I found it doing its thing whether I asked it or not. The worst scenario is when, in the middle of a great movie, it would decide to take me to the Internet (because it interpreted the dialog within the movie as a command). I take my movies seriously, and this is just unacceptable. Its common knowledge that one can be spied on through built-in camera devices. Having said that, I thought it best to close the camera when not in use. But now I have to wade through an annoying camera is closed message every time I turn on the TV. The bottom line is that I wish this TV had a more traditional interface. Where the remote is concerned, they may have tried to make it too smart and whiz-bang for its own good. Call me old fashioned, but my primary concern is a TV experience where technology does not get in the way. In this case, my best guess is that the supplied remote was designed by right-handed engineers rather than product designers with ease of use and functionality in mind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a wonderful picture

By HDguy199 from Fountain Valley, CA, USA on 05/28/2014


Pros:

Realistic Skin Tones And Detail, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned this 60" F8500 for about 12 months now, and this TV has OUTSTANDING picture quality. Deep inky black levels and a nice bright display, especially for a plasma. I've tweaked my settings and honestly, the factory settings are pretty good. I personally like the "movie" mode setting which looks awesome, plenty bright. If you like a little more brightness, select "Standard", this setting is very close the LED TV's in terms of brightness but the black levels don't get crushed. I compared this panel to the other high end plasma panels and this F5800 is so much brighter without sacrificing black levels. Color accuracy is wonderful, this is truly an amazing TV. 3D is amazing but honestly, I don't watch it much. Blu-ray movies look spectacular I must say. With respect to the software suite, you can basically retire your external streaming devise. This TV has just about everything you want built right in. The remote works pretty well, I suggest adding the keyboard if you want to surf the net, makes it much easier to navigate around. Sound was ok but I added a Samsung HW-E450C sound bar system and that ended that. In terms of energy consumption, I was concerned about it at first but having 12 months behind me, honestly, I have not noticed any uptick in my monthly bills. I'm very happy with my purchase, nothing but smiles.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV, Best picture. Go Plasma

By KirkA from CA on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great picture and great features. All poosible features are included. I cannot think of another possible feature. The picture quality is the best. Sound quality is average. You need to add a sound system. The unit has audio optical 5.1 output , just wire directly to a reciever with optical input and you'll have a good system. The smart features are very good. WiFi is very capable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing!

By dusbak from chicago on 05/20/2014


Pros:

Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Everything about this TV is fantastic. My friends and family are always blown away by the design and picture quality. The builtin wifi and smart tv features are incredible and very user friendly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best TV ever

By SeniorJoe from Boston, MA, USA on 05/19/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Picture Better Than Comparable Leds, Price Cheaper Than Comparable Leds

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For a senior citizen who was watching a tube, this TV is superb. The picture in my opinion was noticeably better than a comparable LED TV even in a bright room. I was reluctant to purchase a plasma TV because plasmas are going out of style. However, the better picture and cheaper price and the fact that the salesman informed me that Samsung will support plasmas for at least another year influenced my decision. I sincerely hope Samsung will continue to offer and support plasma TVs in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic clarity

By enem156 from Plainfield, IL, USA on 05/16/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this TV after reading countless reviews and recommendations. I can now add my own positive experience to the long list of good reviews. This TV exceeded my expectations on clarity while still maintaining a bright picture. Most other plasmas I've seen have been noticeably dim looking (albeit crystal clear). The brightness setting is able to be adjusted much higher than I currently have it set, and I find it plenty bright enough. The processor is quite fast and I've experienced no lag when switching between any of the large amount of inputs or looking for something to watch with all the smart features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best 1080p TV

By PlasmaTVguy from Minnesota, USA on 05/08/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Image Retention Issues, Slight Buzz

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For those looking for the best current generation (non-4k / UHD) TV look no further. Plasma TVs have come a long way with anti image retention and it is no longer as big a problem as it used to be. However, I have had a little image retention never lasting more than a few minutes. Another complaint is buzzing when the TV is on a bright image not a big deal when there is any volume on. Enough complaining. This TV has the most realistic colors in any TV I have ever seen. extremely bright for a plasma and has one of the best anti reflection coatings that work in a well lit room with numerous windows. All in all, a great TV for those who value picture quality in a TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

amazing tv

By audiowylde23 from ny on 05/07/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Durable, Realistic Color

Cons:

Minor Buzzing Sound While Tv Is On Sometimes

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is amazing very life like picture. BLURAY VIDEOGAMES verizon fios everything looks incredible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BUZZZING IS DRIVING ME CRAZY

By AVguy2000 from Virginia, USA on 05/04/2014


Cons:

Buzzing, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is my second F8500. Returned the first one because of buzzing, and the second one is still buzzing. At normal volume, almost 13' way from the TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

LOVE IT

By Goelb from Seattle Area on 04/13/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Love All The Smart Tv Parts., Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We just moved up to a 60 inch TV from a much smaller one, although it was a flat screen. The TV is Plasma which my husband and I prefer over the LED. I think the picture is better with Plasma although they say bright light affects the picture. This new Samsung has a bright picture with vivid colors and such a great black. It is by far the best picture I have seen on a TV. It also sits across from a wall of windows, and with the wooden blinds closed we have no problem. We ended up buying the Model # PN60F8500AFXZA. It has 3D which my husband and I did not care about but with the 3D it came with other options and rated better than the one without. I guess I have the option. The sound is fine on the TV but our surround sound is so old I do not think they are compatible so we need to replace that to see an improvement. I was a little worried about the new controller with this set but it was not that hard to get used to. We have not used the voice command yet. It is really a SMART TV. So far I love everything about it. It is also the first time I have ever bought a Samsung TV. We bought the Samsung because of the ratings given the Plasma on Consumer Reports and on Amazon. I also like the idea that the DVR can record in HD without using so much space. I have three times as much recorded now in HD and it is only 30% full. On our older set my DVR would be at 95% and none of it recorded in high definition. I hate watching commercials so this is BIG for me. The only problem we has was one part of the base which hooks to the TV was missing plus the screws. We called the company and we had them within the week. I like the way it looks in our family room too. It has a very nice style and I really like the base of this one which goes across the bottom and not just a few legs in the middle. I bought the Samsung TV online and it shipped beautifully as it was packed so well. I am definitely saving that box for our next move. I always check with the Better Business Bureau and the company checked out. I would recommend this TV because I LOVE IT.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad features

By slpaflkdj from Undisclosed on 04/11/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Picture is great. Hand and voice activation sucks useless. Remotes suck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture

By HappyInNY from Suffolk County, NY, USA on 03/21/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought this last month after shopping for some time. Compared to LED's and other Plasmas, especially at this size, the picture quality can't be matched, Lots of features that are cool, but I find unnecessary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glad I went for the Plasma

By GWBAtl from Atlanta, GA Metro on 03/18/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Feature Rich

Cons:

Requires Technical Know-how

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This plasma TV delivers a crisp, clear, bright and quality picture. Mine is in our sun room so brightness of image was critical. Have to admit on full Dynamic it's almost too bright so we toned it down even with sun outside. TV has more features than any one person would ever need or want. Even after 3 weeks, I'm still trying to learn how to use them all. Guess you could say, this TV is not for the non-technically oriented users. Of course I'm pretty obsolete at 71 but I did come from technical background. My 45 yr. old son is really impressed with the Samsung Plasma. He had been pushing for the Panasonic Plasma that has been discontinued but I selected the Samsung and he thinks I did the right thing now that he has seen and used it's features. Only problem I have noticed is with features/functions appearing on screen and I have no idea what triggered them. This is especially true if you have Motion Control activated - I still can't figure out how to make that one work seamlessly. Sound Control is likewise something I haven't mastered yet but I believe that is more my fault thank the TV's. If you are looking for a large screen TV with a brilliant image and features to spare, you probably won't find one better suited than this Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome picture

By wheatfarmer from Undisclosed on 02/27/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love the picture. First smart tv,still learning .Dont like internet browser Needs more apps Randy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture, especially in dark rooms

By redroctom from Arizona, USA on 02/26/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros- great picture quality, vibrant but accurate colors, impressive contrast and dynamic range, beautiful depth, an incredible array of features. I'm at 4600 Ft. elevation, and hear no humming from set. Cons- audio is poor and sounds a bit tinny. You will need a sound bar or other external speakers to match the video quality. Blu-ray discs in 2.40 or 2.35:1 aspect ratio will always display horizontal bars top and bottom, and there is no way to get rid of them. About 90% of my blu-rays are this format, so I either cannot use them with this set, or risk permanent burn-in damage, I think a design oversight by Samsung. And if you want a workhorse set that will see a lot of day time, bright room usage, I would say go with an LCD/LED set. However, if most of your viewing will be at night where you can control the lighting, I can't imagine a better set. With good HD source material, I feel like I could crawl right thru the screen and into the scene.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love the Picture

By SHIFTER from San Jose, CA on 02/18/2014


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Too Big

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The picture out of the box is great. You really don't need to adjust it. If you want to tinker with the picture it has all the features you could want.There's no buzzing sound that some plasma display have. The wife likes the bright display and streaming TV shows from the APPS menu. The only minor problem is with the remote. It takes some getting use to and it is very touchy. Buy a plasma before they are phased out. They cannot make they in 4K. More pixels don't necessarily mean a better picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best of the BEST!!!

By Get2play from Undisclosed on 02/03/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Great Viewing From Different Seats, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Put in a room with a lot of light? Put in a room with different seating? This TV ROCKS! I have guest who have spent just as much or more and they are shocked. I Did a lot of reading and looking (I am a GUY). My Wife Loves it! We have a few TV's and need a new Main Room TV! It is with out question one of the BEST TV's on the market. Very very Happy with Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect size TV, easy to handle, light for it's size

By Littlefilly from Aurora, Ohio on 01/08/2014


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Happy with our first plasma TV. The picture is very sharp and clear. The remote is easy to understand and allows for a lot of picture control... I like to switch from zoom to adjusted size screen for those shows running a banner at the top or bottom of the screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Perfect

By ChrisFla from SC on 12/17/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Quad Core, Durable, Smarthub, Bright Display, Realistic Color

The picture is outstanding. It is loaded with connections/plugs and features. I love smart hub and the guide. I have smarthub for internet channels and guide for air antenna channels (no source to switch between)!!! The only thing I wish it had was a bluetooth connection for audio headphones (but there are other ways to connect them).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Picture

By Alvbat from Undisclosed on 12/11/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color

Cons:

Network Connection Very Slow

I am happy with the T.V., the brilliant colors and features. One of Samsung big selling point was the internet features but the connection to the internet is very slow. I would have given it 5 Stars if it was better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a good match with sound bars: Will not pass 5.1DD from HDMI thru Optical Jack

By BMac24 from Philadelphia, PA on 12/02/2013


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Optical Jack Will Not Pass 5.1 Dd From Hdmi Source

The picture quality is good, but you can get the same from a much cheaper TV. The anti-glare screen is quite good and the overall brightness is adequate- especially for bright rooms. About the same as most LEDs. The quality of the speakers is poor which leads to my largest disappointment: The TV will ONLY pass 5.1 DD via the optical jack if the source originates from either OTA or SmartHub. The TV will not pass 5.1 thru the optical jack if the source originates from HDMI. Unfortunately, the majority of our TV viewing originates from the cable STB. (Sports, Movies, Primetime shows) Even though the STB will pass 5.1 to the TV, the F8500 dummies it down to 2.0 when passing through the optical jack to the sound bar. Samsung customer support could not explain why it will pass the 5.1 from the OTA and SmartHub, but not from the HDMI inputs. This is a very expensive TV and this seems to be a major oversight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The best

By Mach2 from Undisclosed on 11/30/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV was the top rated HDTV by a very respected high tech magazine and they did not lie.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this TV!!

By LDB62 from York, PA on 10/26/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, 3-d!!, Wifi Ready, Realistic Color, Easy Setup

Cons:

No Cons To This Point...

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this tv for a week now...what a picture...it's like my awesome gaming laptop...plenty of power but with a way bigger screen! Love the apps...love the ease of connecting to my network...hooked up to Netflix and Amazon instant movies!! Got YouTube...can surf the net...got Skype...buy this TV! You'll regret it if you don't...the guys at Samsung...they got they game on!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful, Marvelous, Stunning, Lovable, Magnificent or #BESTTVEVERMADE

By TechnologyStud from Undisclosed on 10/16/2013


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I received this beauty yesterday 10/15/13. The picture is breathtaking. Smarthub is genius. Finally a tv with a remote that can control all my entertainment devices. Im still exploring this beautiful beast and will have more of a review later. people have to realize that no one tv will ever have the best of everything. I have 3 60" tv's now. they are all different brands and 2 are led/lcd. This new plasma is like comparing mars to earth: one is lifeless and dull while the other is full of life and vibrant colors with all kinds of amazing things to find and explore. Plasma is the best for the money! I will return with more reviews after I watch some 3d movies and explore the best tv ever made.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture quality but too many nag notifications.

By PRFectionist from Undisclosed on 10/14/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The image quality and feature set are impressive. However, there are too many "nag" notifications that cannot be switched off by the user. First is the message that appears when the TV senses no video input, which doesn't automatically clear for quite a long time. A "Check the device is connected properly, then try turning on the device by selecting the button below." The "below" options are "STB" and "OK". Basically, the owner has to manually clear the nag message, sometimes repeatedly, if the HDMI signal is routed through an A/V receiver. An initial message is all that's required and should clear once the TV is provided a video signal. Second are the Smart TV nag notifications that appear each time the TV is switched on and APP maintenance is planned. In particular, a "scheduled service maintenance" message appears with each TV power on, even though I've read it already. Summary: the TV picture quality and feature set are great. But more owner control needs to be provided in selecting whether they want to be bothered by "nag" messages. My Samsung UN55ES8000 TV doesn't bombard me with such nag messages. I wish Samsung would configure their newer TV's, like the PN60F8500 the same way, hopefully with the next firmware update.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this TV!

By tmt7 from Georgia, US on 10/09/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Best Quality Picure Ever!, Bright Display

Cons:

Price Is Kinda High. . .

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This will sound clichd. . .but once I made my own adjustments to the picture, it now feels like we're in the room with the people on the screen! Every time we watch one of our favorite shows on this TV, we're astounded at the clarity and realism. We're seeing and experiencing things we never have before, even with other HD TVs. It's a whole new world.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV!

By TheFisherking from Texas on 09/26/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Cons:

Confusing Remote Control

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We spent a lot of time reading the various reviews. This TV has great reviews! We bought our last TV 12 years ago. Anything would have been an upgrade. We are so glad we purchased this TV. It has all the bells and whistles!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overall disappointed in the whole package

By WishItWasBetter from Frisco, TX on 06/23/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Difficult To Use Remote, Poor Quality, App Problems, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was extremely excited to get my new Samsung 8500, but have been overall disappointed with it. I did very much like the picture quality. It was superb. After that, I haven't been impressed. The Netflix app gives ongoing audio cutouts (one of the main reasons I went with this TV) even after firmware upgrades, the remote is confusing and very hard to use (I wish it shipped with 2 remotes, this one and a traditional one), and the TV generates an audible buzz. That, coupled with the fact that the video ports no longer work on it, have left me with a negative overall impression of the TV and the quality behind it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome 60" Plasma

By Hive68 from Virginia on 06/04/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV is amazing. Samsung rep. talked me into the plasma over the LED and I could not be more pleased. At 600Hz motion blur is not an issue. Voice activation and hand controls is also a wow feature for your friends, but is actually quite useful. Picture quality is so crisp it often feels like you could crawl into the TV. I am still learning how to use all of the Bonus features of being a Smart TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unbelievable & Brilliant

By LaptopTester from Murphy, NC on 05/17/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Awesome Quality, Powerful, Interactive, Fun And Easy To Use!, Realistic Color, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Going out on a limb here, if you haven't experienced Samsung's Smart TV's...your missing the big picture! Ok, so you get brilliant picture quality, plus so much more. The features are fun and easy to use. The smart side makes for great interactive use. You get way more than the average Plasma TV can give you. I have been glued to the screen and loving how smart this TV is. The picture? Just incredible! I love the depth of colors and bright sounds! I just wanted to tell you Samsung...this smart TV is AWESOME! Thanks for the value guys! A+++


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great color, black levels

By 85k100rt from Las Vegas, NV on 05/07/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this TV for almost three weeks and am very happy with the picture and features. A full 1080p 3D display that is truly impressive and provides a realistic 3D experience with the Samsung Active glasses provided.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never considered buying a Plasma TV

By JRWalker from Fairfax, VA on 05/01/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Based on things that I read years ago, I never considered buying a Plasma TV. After reading reviews and seeing videos about the Samsung F8500 series we bought one. Our PN60F8500 is fantastic. Bright, beautiful, realistic colors and deep black. All three of my coumputer monitors are Samsung and we have a Samsung LED TV. Samsung displays are the best! I checked the Inexpensive Pro because you could spend a lot more and not get a TV as good as mine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved