Home » Video » Televisions » PN64E8000 » 22 Reviews

Samsung PN64E8000 64" 3d Plasma 1080p 600hz 3-hdmi Web Enabled Smart Tv Skype 2 Glasses Inc Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 22 reviews)

85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Realistic Color (19), Bright Display (11), Lightweight (8), Built-in Speakers (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Plasma, Excellent Picture

By Nascarfan24 from Trenton IL on 04/06/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We love this Plasma TV! It's the first plasma we have owned. We love everything about it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GREAT TV

By FLYER2432 from NEWNAN, GA on 01/30/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am amazed at what the people at Samsung can engineer. The picture is amazing and the apps are wonderful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Teeming with features and continues to improve

By FreQ from Phoenix, AZ on 01/11/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Upgradeable, Lightweight, Fully Loaded, Superior Value

Cons:

Requires Initial Manual Calibration

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Performance: I am a hardcore gamer and watch a bunch of sports - both are notorious for causing burn-in with static images like OSD's and tickers - so getting a plasma TV for the first time was risky. The factory settings make the picture rather bright and overly sharp, so I needed to recalibrate using independently recommended settings - a quick internet search resulted in at least 2 trustworthy sites. Once these were input the change was notable and the this set's true quality was presented. A plasma display inherently gives the viewer the deepest contrasts available along with the smoothest pictures for gaming and sports... but this set delivers it the best. Recalibration is highly recommended if you are wary of burn-in (although it is still unlikely). Further this TV is on an average 12 hours a day and I have no issues. Features: So many to choose from so I'll put my Top 3. The SMART Hub is ridiculously loaded. I have friends and family with "smart" TV's from other brands and this set has the best variety of apps I've seen. Even though I do not use the voice or motion controls all the time, they work great in the right environment (i.e. low ambient noise and well lit). I use a separate universal remote or my Galaxy Tab 2 to control it but the TV includes 2 remotes as well. The traditional one is familiar and easy to use and the touch one is futuristic and funky (if not unnecessary) with a learning curve drawback. I would rather have too many features than too little. Value: Both the firmware and SMART hub (along with the apps within) are consistently updated - which is a huge plus. Also I waited to write this review, partly to see if Samsung would really deliver on its annual Evolution Kit. Once they announced it at 2013 CES I feel assured that this TV will remain "new" for years to come. I'll note the price relative to performance of a plasma versus an LED/OLED really makes this TV an unsurpassed bang for the buck. Design: The only reason I did not give it a 5 is that I actually prefer how the Samsung LED's stand is designed... then again the swivel stand on this TV is very practical on top of a console. Overall I believe this is hands down the best TV in its price range.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great image but doesn't last

By NotBornYesterday from Saratoga, CA on 11/15/2012


Pros:

Great Image

Cons:

Screen Burns Easily

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The good: excellent image quality, better than LED TVs. The bad: After using it for 4 months the screen is already burned, in the areas where the TV displays the subtitles for All Share (DLNA, network, USB) content. While I understand burn-in or retention from watching CNN tickers, games, fixed logos, etc. this was caused by the TV's own firmware. When watching content from the USB stick or through the network, using srt or similar subtitles, the TV firmware puts them in BRIGHT WHITE at the same location every time. There is no option to make them another color or less bright, to alleviate the problem. The current implementation of subtitles in the 'Not So Smart TVs' could be called 'Plasma Suicide'. Samsung warranty does not cover this defect. The pixel scroll is useless (only 4 pixels is not enough, it just blurs the burned area a bit). The scrolling pattern that should make it better is like refinishing your floors - it will wear out every pixel a bit in hope of making them more similar in intensity (all lower). Didn't work for me and would likely just add wear and tear to the cells if used often. I'd stay clear of this TV and other Samsung plasmas due to this problem (unless you get a new one every half year).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent picture & convenient features

By AegirBaegir from Undisclosed on 10/22/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I spent quite some time researching TVs online and feel I made a very good decision in purchasing this TV. The internet browser is handy, as well as all the apps. The picture is outstanding and I am thrilled to now have a TV I can watch even on a sunny day without having to close the curtains.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Somewhat disappointed

By Tspada from Washington on 10/17/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Great Support From Samsung

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Cheap Remote Light Is Dim

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This TV replaces a 58" series 650 SAMSUNG because I wanted a larger screen. Picture quality great, but not as bright as the 58. Also, the remote is rather cheap looking. The lighted feature is quite dim, it's almost useless. Out of the box, the sound was so tinny, you could hardly stand to listen to the dialogue. Suspect faulty speakers or PC board that controls the audio. A service call has been made to fix the issue. SAMSUNG does have great support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super picture

By canedmoose from Undisclosed on 10/02/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great TV. Super picture quality. Very satisfied.Smart TV works rather slow. My living room not bright enough(with all the lights on) to use the hand motion option. Voice control is alright, unless you talk to someone in the room while holding the remote then it trys to do something else on the screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Smart TV

By Nitrisx02 from Houston, TX on 09/04/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, 3d

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you have loved TV's and always wanted the best, this TV is the one you want! Picture Quality is amazing, color and black levels are top notch. 3D is awesome really pops out if you adjust the setting to push it most. Also, if you have other samsung products, setting them up to work with one remote is totally easy. Smart Hub is really cool and being able to control with my hand and voice is just the coolest thing in the world. NFL starts in 5 days and I can NOT WAIT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy Samsung Plasma TV

By mhorner9999 from Undisclosed on 08/23/2012


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

You read the forums you will find that they all suffer from a purple haze fault. It is so common that it must be a basic design flaw, however samsung will do nothing if you are even one month out of warranty. Last time I ever buy any samsung product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great tv

By kilani from Undisclosed on 07/30/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

overall its is an awesome TV pic quality is amazing.Menu has been simplified and is intuitive now. cons: Response is a bit sluggish at times and needs improvement. motion control and voice are terrible and not usable. skype quality isn't good either camera should zoom. or track subjects.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful

By Speed1 from Colorado on 07/29/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy everything about the smart TV except it's own mind. The voice control comes on without being asked even in mute.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great TV with many features

By Madirishman from Oregon, USA on 07/17/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Sound /motion Command Feature Not User Friendly

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It IS a SMART TV with many bells and whistles! Haven't had it very long or used all the features but the picture is amazing! Looking forward to really learning how to take advantage of the full features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Bobaa from Forsyth, GA. on 06/29/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Plasma was the way I wanted to go this time. I had a rear projector HATV that I got in 2001. Then a LCD tv in 2006. This time I desidse to go with a plasma because of the better picture, and the mush lowwer price then in the past. I am very happy with this set. Way too many extras for me, but that is PK, I am sure some people will use some of the features, and others will use them all, and want more.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV, Poor remote

By cvscvscvs from Undisclosed on 06/17/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Silly Remote

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is great tv easy setup great picture, the remote however is ridiculous, small, hard to type into using the internet side, batteries life minimal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome!

By 206CityGirl from Seattle, Washington on 06/13/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first smart tv and I love it! I've seen on commercials and went and bought myself a smart tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

excellent product with nice features

By Topolino from Cary, NC, USA on 06/08/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was doubtful to buy a plasma TV with all the new evolution but after I read many reviews I decided to do it and I'm very satisfied of my choice. It is only 2 weeks that I have it and I can confirm all the good reviews , it is probably not sharp as a LED but definitely worm and clear. I will spend some time after some more hours of usage to calibrate it and to adapt to my media room.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Give me more Quality, & LESS FEATURES

By TheMan2Know from SAN FRANCISCO,CA on 05/04/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color, 3d

Cons:

Too Many Teenage Features

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Although I bought this SAMMY based on a glowing Home Theater review, I find the quality of picture excellent and 3D a WOW. The only issues I have,, if you want to call them that, are all the features I will NEVER use. Wi-FI..Camera..Voice-Face-Hand recognition...SMART HUB features, Extra Remote and BLASTER, too etc etc. The White Balance and Adjustments very helpful to tweek the panel. The E-Manuel, cumbersome too. I wish the pop up menus "BLOOMED" as with the "D" series did and the fonts were smaller.... Give me HIGH-END SCREEN...PICTURE..and VIEWING SPECS...with LESS Teenage features and this could be very well be the best VALUE in Plasma 3D FULL Hi-Def Dispaly on the market, regardless of the added useless features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SmartTV not very smart

By Jamdown from PHL on 05/01/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color

Cons:

Smarttv Not Very Smart

I like the many features, but the Smart features are not very smart in how it interacts with the user.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NEW 64 Inch Plasma

By painesk from houston on 04/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Easy Install, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a really good TV. I bought it for the size and 3d capabilities. It Lots of features and it will take awhile to figure all of them out as they are not something I would use every day. 99 times out of 100 I just turn the TV on and watch it and not mess with it for 10 - 15 minutes messing with the advanced features. One "issue" I have seen several times is... the voice activated menu pops up during a movie when the TV thinks it hears "Hi TV" or something, haven't figured it out just yet. Can turn off voice activation if needed. I May have the sound bar to close to TV or something. More of a nuasance than an actual problem. Just say "cancel" and it goes away. Actually, I will most likely not use the voice and gesture contols very often, as I am tied to a cable box. I am not sure if the TV can control the cable box. The voice controls would be great if I was actually changing the channels on the TV itself and not the cable box. The TV has two remotes one for controling the TV and other devices and one that acts like a mouse for the internet browsing and samsung apps. I might use this to rent movies or something eventually from Netflix, etc. I would suggest if you are going to use the internet feature of the TV to get a keyboard and mouse that will work with it. It is not easy to type "select" one letter at a time using the controller.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So Far its great

By Swifty6509 from New York on 04/23/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this TV last week and so far it is wonderful....Love the picture and the new smart features are very cool. Very easy to use and set up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best plasma yet. I've owned Samsung tvs and this one .is excellent. Congrats Samsung .

By Jimdub from Undisclosed on 04/09/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got to say from last years .wow it does make a lot of difference in color and brightness and don't forget .the 3d is really popping images.wow I'm glad i have this tv .this is the best tv have not found any diffects.and I have a excellent eye.and ear.excelent job Samsung


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SAMSUNG PN64E8000

By VOLKILMER from TENNESSEE on 03/29/2012


Pros:

Inky Blacks, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

THE PICTURE ON THIS TV IS AMAZING.DEEP BLACKS AND VIBRANT COLOR


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved