Home » SEK1000/ZA » 15 Reviews

Samsung SEK-1000/ZA Smart Evolution Kit Black Accs Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

61% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations (4)

Pros:

Lightweight (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Makes TV Unwireless...

By Rock2143 from Fort Myers, FL, USA on 06/28/2015


Pros:

Adds More Apps

Cons:

Very Overproced For What It Does, Did Not Meet Expectations, Tv Has To Be Wired Internet, Gets Very Hot

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love this item but it makes your TV have to be wired to the internet because the wireless feature isn't supported, i have tried it on my television and although with out it my TV was wireless connected to the internet after putting this item on the TV it only connects wired, that gives it the negative rating other than that its great (it does get extremely hot though) and it is extremely overpriced for what it does.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Out of Box Failure

By Britboy145 from Chicago, IL, USA on 02/14/2015


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I was looking forward to enhanced performance by adding the SEK-1000 to my UN65ES8000 LED/LCD TV but was bitterly disappointed to find that the TV would not recognize the device. I tried reinstalling it a couple of times and gave up after the third try. The SEK-1000 is now being returned as dead on arrival for a full refund.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the Year 2015

By GaleD from Indiana, USA on 01/16/2015


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Updates From Samsung Is So Very Slow On Any Device

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Where is the upgrade for the TV's SMART EVOLUTION Samsung is way behind in this product. I have the S 7500 and still no upgrade. This TV was supposed to keep up with newer TV's guess they didn't say that they keep up but only a year behind on everything..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Newer Is Not Always Better

By craigc82 from Mississippi, USA on 08/31/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have the 2012 model UN55ES7500F and was excited to get the 2014 evolution kit to update my Smart Hub interface and add some extra processing power to the tv. The kit was easy to install when the tv finally recognized it (took about 5 tries of inserting and removing). The new Smart Hub was nice and the remote that comes with it is really nice. However, I had several problems after installing. I reconnected the tv to my wireless network and was initially able to use Youtube with no problems. A couple of hours later, I tried watching content on the Explore 3D app (which I've done numerous times before the upgrade), and every time I hit Play, the app would say "format not supported." I thought this was odd as the initial start up page and content info were showing in 3D as they should. I then tried using Pandora and Youtube and was unable to connect to either, despite the tv saying I was indeed connected to the wireless network. The motion and voice control is supposed to be improved and more user friendly; however, mine seemed to be more sluggish and less responsive. Very disappointing. I finally decided to uninstall the kit and see what happened. After doing so, all the apps began working again; Pandora and Youtube connected right away and Explore 3D played its content without any problems. I did not buy the 2013 evolution kit because I wanted to wait for any kinks and bugs to be worked out (as there always are some with new technology). Sadly, it seems Samsung still has some work to do. Perhaps I received a bad unit, but at this point, I will be returning this product for a refund, and I will continue to enjoy my "old" tv.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs Netflix support

By dragonfly991 from phoenix, az on 08/28/2014


Pros:

2014 Upgrades

Cons:

Netfix Not Working

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

So far I have many new features. The interface is awesome. Apps took a few trys to load...except Netflix. Nothing I try makes this app work. This is a must feature for many. Help with this and the rating goes up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SEK-2000 EVOLUTION

By aztecaman from Santa Ana, CA on 08/16/2014


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy kit to install, overall no glitches when installing on my ES8000 65 inch tv. Remote will take a little getting use too, but pointing on screen with remote seems to be v era accurate and remote microphone also seems more sensitive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Evolution

By USAFCrewChief from Texas, USA on 08/07/2014


Pros:

Software/hardware Upgrade In A Box

Cons:

Expensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I will start by saying that the Evolution kits are not for everybody. For those that use a PS3/4 or Xbox360/One as their media hub, you will not gain much here unless you're using the smart tv for its smart hub. The major benefits you get when you install/upgrade an evolution kit is. 1. Updates your TV's smart platform to a 5-panel smart hub so you can enjoy enhancements to your existing smart TV features. (keyword here is features not improve picture/panel quality) 2. You get a new Smart Touch remote; if you have the old generic remote or don't like the remote from 2013 then you should upgrade to this new smart remote. 3. 1.5GHz quad-core processor along with 1.5GB memory promotes optimal performance for apps and games on the smart hub. 4. HDMI 2.0 with HDCP 2.2 support-Supports sharp high-definition. Now that the features have been clarified a bit, let me also specify some other models that may not show as being compatible on the website but are. Compatible With: LED ES7500/8000/9000, F7500/8000 PDP E7000/8000, F8500 SUPPORTED MODELS PN51F8500AF, PN60F8500AF, PN64F8500AF, UN46F7500AF, UN46F8000BF, UN55F7500AF, UN55F8000BF, UN60F7500AF, UN60F8000BF, UN65F8000BF, UN75F8000AF


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SEK 2000

By strop1234 from Undisclosed on 07/22/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

nil firmware available. I cannot use this item with out it. When will you make it available?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to installed tricky to set up with my ES8000 tv.

By aztecaman from Santa Ana, CA on 07/13/2014


Pros:

Easy To Attach To Tv

Cons:

Tricky To Actually Setup

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Evolution kit seemed easy enough to install, but once I did my tv would not connect via wifi. Luckily I have my router next to my tv and was able to hard wire via a ethernet cable. I tried reseting tv, unplugging power, restarting setup process, and none would allow the tv to connect via wifi. Overall the Smart tv functions work smoother and quicker. It also has a newer look to the Smart hub. Kit included a new remote that's a bit small for my big hands, I wish it was an inch or two longer and a bit wider.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is not ready for public distribution

By poppagene from Bethesda, MD on 06/05/2014


Pros:

New Remote, Improved Ventilation

Cons:

No Netflix

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The new remote control is a great advancement. The web browser works better than the 2012 or 2013 versions. There are air vents on the side of the module which allow the heat to disperse -- something that the SEK-1000 could have benefitted from. However there is currently no Netflix availability when using this upgrade evolution kit. This is a deal breaker for me and I have shelved my SEK-2000 until this is remedied. Additionally, I found the sound customizer to be a bit "buggy" and not as good as the SEK-1000/ZA version.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great way to update

By Moonb007 from Houston on 03/12/2014


Pros:

Voice Control, Bright Display, Speed

Cons:

Cost

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the evolution kit for my 2012 TV and I was worried it was going to be a waste of money. I would say no to that answer after having it for 6 months. I noticed a better picture, the new remote is a ton better if you use the voice controls and its faster with the apps to. I think these kits are a great idea to keep the TV's fresh and last a little longer. If you don't use the internet features or voice/motion stuff then I would pass it up, otherwise go for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

big feature

By geauxfan from baton rouge, LA on 06/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

wow it is great to be able to upgrade your smart TV without having to purchase a new TV


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing TV upgrade

By Drbonche666 from Alhambra, CA on 06/15/2013

Just got my Evolution Kit a month ago and I'm impress with the quality and design, great new features and the new smart hub contain plenty of new options.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Evolution Kit a welcomed upgrade for current 2012 TV Owners

By bigtree from New York, NY, USA on 06/07/2013


Cons:

Price

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased the evolution module for a PNE60E8000 to upgrade the CPU, Memory, Smart TV interface. The installation went well with two exceptions. It took some time to use a credit card to remove the cover of the new universal remote. When installing the dongle cable for the Ethernet adapter its best to install the cable on the kit before installing the kit on the TV. The dongle is on the bottom side of the kit and its difficult to install after the kit is attached to the TV. The programming of the setup went smoothly without any issues. It did take some time to download the current Firmware/Updates to the kit. When you use a function for the first time it may download additional updates. I was surprised to see you can now control the cable box with the 2013 universal remote this is a nice feature. Also you can control the cable box from the original TV 2012 remote (not the 2012 universal one) and the optional Samsung external keyboard. The integration with the new keyboard is tighter and welcomed. The updated web browser is also welcomed. The white 2012 arrow was replaced with a blue arrow with the evolution kit. You can now see the arrow from a distance from the screen and using the optional external keyboard is now more useful and I will now use the TV for more surfing as a result of the evolution kit. The only issue I have is I cannot figure out how to log-in to the Pandora app. When I start the app I am never given a change to log-in and I receive the message invalid log-in and or password. The price should be lower if Samsung would wants to upgrade every time a new Evolution Kit comes out (yearly?).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super fast!!

By supercomm from Honolulu, HI, USA on 05/18/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Anynet Functionality With Avrs Needs Improvement, Expensive

Awesome performance upgrade. Everything is way faster and functions such as cable box integration are vastly improved!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved