Home » Audio » Network Media Players » GXSM530CF/XAA » 14 Reviews

Samsung Gx-sm530cf Network Audio/video Player - Wireless Lan - Black - Internet Streaming - 1080p - Mpeg-1, Mpeg-2, Mpeg-4, Divx Hd, Mkv, Wmv, Vp8, H.264, Vc-1, Wmv7, Wmv8, ... - Mp3, (gx-sm530cf-xaa) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 14 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Inexpensive (6), Bright Display (3), Lightweight (5)

Cons:

Poor Quality (3), Did Not Meet Expectations (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Every thing is good except support

By Gigili from Undisclosed on 12/14/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I got this box to use one of Samsung apps named "GLWiZ". unfortunately they did not update their compatible device list for this app and I can not download it to my media player. older Blue-ray players are in the list, and latest Smart TVs are also in the list but this smart player. they even don't have this device in the support list menu. I like the player, it is small, well designed, high quality. but if they don't update their apps I will return it. There is no Issue with the other apps, The YouTube is great, much better than my Sony media player. Now I have all features in one device. TV, Media Player, Stream Player and even web browser. I hope they update their apps for being used in this Player. The web browser also does not support Microsoft Silverlight. My overall feeling is good about this media player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't wait for next version

By PoolHustler from Jacksonville, Fl on 11/05/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great device for a second room. It has a tiny foot print and if this is a second box, you save money in box rental fees. It essentially pays for itself in the first year. The guide is clean and easy to read. Have not had any problems with internet connectivity. Netflix runs great and access to the app store is available. Only reasons I don't recommend for primary cable box. OnDemand app with Xfinity would be nice to have since it doesn't support OnDemand. DVR would be a nice luxury but isn't needed with Netflix and Hulu services, but Hulu isn't available. The only problem I've had is that some channels give an error message about signal strength. Typically resolved by going up or down a channel and back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nyc

By rabbi from New York on 10/06/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Really nice and awesome product. Just love it..........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good features unstable network connectivity

By MarkG34 from MN on 09/13/2014


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive

Cons:

Network Connectivity Inconsistent

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Samsung Smart Media Player has some great features, pretty much turns you standard TV into a Smart TV. Easy to set up, Cable card setup can be frustrating unless you get someone from the Cable Company that knows how to do it. The only issue I have repeatedly experienced is the device frequently has partial or full network connectivity issues when both wired and on wireless. Impacting the ability to get programming information through the guide but connection to Amazon/Netflix services. To correct you need to either go through setup again or reset the device back to factory settings which clears it up for a while. With a few tweaks to the network connectivity issue this would be a 5 star offering.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

CableCard

By TechTastic from Detroit, MI on 08/23/2014


Pros:

Crackle App Is Great, Replaces Cable Box

Cons:

Poor Quality, The Future Evolutions Should Be Better

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The CableCard dialog screen, used for Pairing with your cable provider, is too small. Increase the FONT SIZE on the light blue screen with the next software upgrade. Changing resolution of the actual TV has no impact. Changing from 480p, 720p, to 1080p has no helpful benefit. It's not the TV, it's the menus, they are too small. FYI. I would like the freedom to put ANY app on my favorites. Mostly HBO.GO, and the Huffington Post app does not work, it never did. I love Crackle, what a fun discovery. Typing in a code to any website with that little remote is a pain, don't put an app on that directs me to website to put in a code. Just make the app work, that's why they are called APPLICATIONS. Pandora, Youtube, etc. all have this redirect which I find unacceptable. I want to put email and password once and never have to do it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product for Use With Cable Card

By Nanrah from Kansas City, MO, USA on 08/10/2014


Pros:

No More Paying To Rent Cable Box., Blue Ray Works Very Well, Nice And Sleek

Cons:

No Hulu App

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love the box it was easy to set up with my cable company Time Warner Cable. I don't like that it is not compatible with Hulu Plus. I cancelled my subscription due to I could not access it through the Samsung smart media hub not was it possible to add the app through the Samsung app store. Sad Sad Sad. Not many other apps available for this product either. Every thing else I love.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor APP performance and VERY slow interfaces.

By PeteSamsung from Undisclosed on 07/21/2014


Pros:

Inexpensive

Cons:

Needs Constant Reboots, Poor Quality, Slow Apps, Slow Interfaces

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device is a great idea, but all of my apps run at a 486x snails pace. The box in general is slow and often unresponsive, requiring many power cycles or smart hub resets. Buy cheap, get cheap I guess.... Also, the APP selection is horrible. No HULU Plus , no Amazon Music, ...etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

decent but would not recommend

By jonyboy92880 from Eastvale, CA, USA on 06/23/2014


Pros:

Features, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Has some great features but does channel lineup has hiccups...Only reads some premium channels and have tried working with cable company to find out the cause of missing channels. To no avail!! Pretty frustrating when you are limited to some of your channels, especially your premium networks.. Need to turn in to Samsung to see what is happening...Very inconvenient!! No clock, power light is very dim and hard to see if unit is on.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice streaming media and cable box

By FiosOnSamsung from MD on 03/12/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Channel Guide, Lightweight, Inexpensive, Youtube

Cons:

No Smartphone App, Not Listed On Watchon App, No S Recommendation, No Dvr Function Or Cloud Storage, Few Smart Hub Apps

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Picture quality is good but none of my Fios HD channels had 1080p resolution, the highest output was 1080i. It will take 2 years of ownership before any savings is achieved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cable Box Yes - Smart Media Player No

By Cantthinkof1 from St. Louis on 02/12/2014


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

I just purchased this unit, my local cable co. is going all digital and seen this product to use with a cable card. If that's all this unit did, I would give it 5 stars. It works great for a cable box and getting all my cable channels. It falls short on being a Smart Media Player. The apps for this unit are limited, the interface for the app is the same has they advertise on the Samsung TV's but this units selection is not the same. Will it change? I hope so, but they way it is now I will be using another media player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice and Slim but doesn't support Xfinity On Demand

By rotcop4u2 from Undisclosed on 12/17/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations

Looks nice, really slim, awesome that it has 2 usb ports(1 rear, 1 front) The biggest problem is that XOD(Xfinity On Demand) doesn't not work with the box. Samsung needs to do what TiVo did and integrate with Comcast. Also it was difficult to download Samsung apps. I had a hard time 3 hours and 4 phone calls to Comcast to activate my Cable Card but that has nothing to do with the rating of this product. The remote is kind of basic. I also had the same problem with changing guide channels to easily surf through it. The info button on the remote should display what's on tv not the channel name as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great features! Wish it came with multidirectional remote when aiming at the tv

By Grenplen from Macungie, PA on 12/10/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Cheap Remote!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it . Only issue is the remote.too small and feel cheap! and no DVR. They should add software update for portable drive backup as a DVR


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My next purchase

By mdbeliever from maryland on 12/07/2013


Pros:

Frugal Device, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have seen this, this is ideal. Cannot wait till taxes come in to purchase this to upgrade my TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good device, but could be great

By DZTT from Undisclosed on 11/15/2013


Pros:

Don't Have To Pay For Cable Box

Cons:

Requires Tuning Adapter, No Hbo Go, Have To Rent A Cable Card

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Smart Media Player is a great alternative to renting a cable box from your cable provider, but it does have some flaws. Initial setup of the device was painless. Setup of the cable card was a little more involved. To use this device as a cable box you must pick up a cable card from your cable company. For the cable company in my area this also required getting a tuning adapter box if I wanted to receive any of the higher numbered HD channels, which I do. The slim design of the smart media player ends up being a mute point since the required tuning adapter is essentially the size of a standard cable box. Once I had the cable card and tuning adapter configured by the cable company I have been able to receive and watch cable without much issue. The channel guide works fine and looks decent. One issue I have with the guide is if you have the guide open you can't manually enter a channel number to jump to that channel in the guide. You have to exit the guide enter the channel then reopen the guide. As far as using the device to play apps I have only used it to play netflix. For the most part Netflix works fine but I have had it lock up the device a handful of times. When this happens none of the buttons on the remote work and the device has to be reset. The one app that really needs to be made available for this device is HBO GO. The majority of the apps available in the app store aren't that great. Overall I am happy to not be paying my cable company as much per month to be able to watch the channels I already am paying for. Aside from being required to have a tuning adapter, which I see no way around, I think any of the bugs with the software should hopefully be addressed with future software updates.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved