Home » Computers » Computer Systems » Mobile Computers » Tablet Pcs » XE500T1CA01US » 79 Reviews

Samsung XE500T1C-A01US Series5 Z2760 1.5g 2gb 64gb Syst 11.6in W8 1yr Ativ Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 79 reviews)

77% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Built-in Speakers (44), Bright Display (56), Realistic Color (30), Lightweight (62), Durable (29), Inexpensive (21)

Cons:

Not High Def (9), Did Not Meet Expectations (13), Poor Quality (11)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

HORRIBLE!!!

By NPSMainError from MI on 01/22/2014


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Simply Horrible; will not purchase another Samsung product. 2nd time having to send it back in the matter of a few months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice little Tablet/Laptop

By HateQuestionairs from Burlington, IA on 01/16/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Light and responsive, just what I was looking for in a windows 8 touchscreen. Works as a tablet and a laptop (with the keyboard dock) when you need it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it!

By TheBartender from Twentynine Palms, Ca on 01/16/2014


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

App Center Needs Help

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this tablet! It does everything I need it too. I take online classes and needed a tablet that supported Microsoft Word and this tablet fit the bill. I love that it has a keyboard. The app market needs some help (a search bar would be great), but other than that it's awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lightweight and fast!

By njcontrer from PR on 01/15/2014


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Upgrades Process

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The best of two worlds. A tablet with excellent performance, lightweight, bright display, storage and even USB ports. Connect to the small dock and added keyboard, more ports and still light. Had a problem doing a BIOS upgrade the first time, but Samsung took care of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The power of a PC in the "palm" of your hand!

By SixEight82 from Chatlotte, NC on 12/25/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Durable, Fast, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I enjoy this product, it has all the functionality of a laptop with the convenience that a tablet offers. It's lightweight, fast, cool running, it has a the largest screen I've seen yet and its very easy to operate. Personally its a perfect fit for my needs!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great tablet

By xanadu from phoenix az on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive

Cons:

64 Gb Not Enough

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this tablet is great big enough to see and small enough to be portable and not cumbersome. for the money I practically stole it. this is so cool from tab to pc in seconds. love it and tell everyone to buy this one...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tablet with added keyboard helps Windows 8 newbies

By MarcusAFRE from Evansville, IN on 12/13/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Realistic Color

Cons:

Slow When Working With Raw Files

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The ATIV Smart PC 500T is a good tablet with excellent battery life. Unlike iOS and Android tablets, it gives you Windows 8 (free update to Windows 8.1 via Windows Update) and excellent expandability, including a USB 2.0 port and a micro-SD card slot. Add the optional keyboard for more USB 2.0 ports and a touchpad. When running Windows 8, the keyboard didn't always stay connected via Plug and Play, and it was necessary to remove and reconnect it. If you shoot large RAW files with a digital SLR or compact system camera, you will want to get a third-party RAW image viewer as the on-board ATOM processor renders RAW images very slowly when used with the standard Microsoft Digital Camera Codec pack. The front and rear-facing cameras work very well with Windows 8.1's new Camera app.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Design, Big Flaw converting tablet to laptop

By WASTEDMONEY from Undisclosed on 12/11/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Lousy Connection For Hybrid, Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I tried the ipad twice & hated it, I have always been a pc user and laptops especially since I work on the road constantly and I find the virtual keyboard to be too slow. So I came across this unit with high hopes thinking great its the best of both worlds. Little did I know I would go through three keypads since the connection ports are cheaply made and don't transport well and you are limited with the tilt. Otherwise you breach the connection, huge design flaw, try making this a little more secure, for the price I paid I expected much better. Do yourself a favor and find another hybrid.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good and bad

By PDSEng from CT on 12/06/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Camera Front And Back, Durable

Cons:

No Windows Disk, Bulky Keyboard, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought several of these for supers in the field. Theses little things are great and sturdy. Out of the six or so I've bought I only had two issues. One time i got a keyboard where the connectors were warped and wouldn't attach. But these things happen from time to time Exchanged it no problem. The other issue was with windows, it began to bug out than just broke. The only other thing I don't like is that there is no disc for windows. If windows is broken and doesn't boot up than you can't get to the recovery part and you have to send it in. Other wise this is a decent sturdy little tablet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok Tablet

By dccommuter from Undisclosed on 11/24/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

No Webcam Facing User

Have had this for a couple of week s now. I like the size. A little frustrated there is no camera facing me to webchat. Also have an issue with the keyboard dock loosing connection if the computer goes to sleep. will continue to use this and update comments


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung ATIV PC 500T Keyboard

By 1UnhappyCust from 78566 on 11/21/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Disconnects Every 5 Sec, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

THE KEYBOARD FOR THE ATIV IS HORRIBLE! I SENT IT IN FOR REPAIRS AND IT STILL DISCONNECTS ON EVERY SNEEZE... WARNING!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Game changing Windows 8.1 tablet

By Flashman66 from San Antonio, Texas on 11/16/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Memory Card Slot, Usb Port, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This changed my entire feelings about Windows 8.1. I am able to use almost all open source and legacy software that I use under desktops. I used this on an airplane for over 6 hours and had 60% battery left. The "start" screen can be the entire screen!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for the little things

By ClassyTech from Undisclosed on 11/08/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Flickering Screen, Not High Def, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this computer to use for college. It is the perfect size for running around and using it for notes. The touch screen tablet is classy and will attract some attention. The performance is very poor on my computer. The Wifi constantly will not connect, and I always have to restart the computer to get it to function again. The touchpad disconnects on a regular basis. I don't have a lot of memory used up because I put it all on an SD card and the processor is still slow. Chances are that I bought one of those computers that don't perform like all the others. If you want a computer for taking around and using for leisure this is just for you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A real full OS powerhouse!!

By biddy2276 from sacramento, ca on 11/06/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Cons:

Need More Space Not A Lot Left After Os

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This tab is a cut above, great processing, great design!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keyboard / docking disconnections

By BetaBill from Cincinnati on 11/05/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The connection between the keyboard accessory and the docking accessory is very fragile. The slightest movement causes a disconnection. I have seen several reviews on the internet that indicate same yet there is no help here to fix the issue. While I find the 500T to be underpowered, I would buy a more robust device if it were not for the mechanical issues that ultimately cause all kinds of electrical disconnects (USB, Network). Needs a redesign.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my ATIV 500T

By GoATIV from Paso Robles, CA on 10/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had my ATIV for about 7 months and I still love it. Being able to access all my MS Office files is great. Accessing my office pc is simple, not the fastest but gets the job done. Reading my Kindle books in two columns, with the 11.6 screen, gives the feel of having a regular size book in my hands. Syncing Outlook and other Office files with my desktop pc means I have all my priorities with me when I'm out and about. I look forward to future ATIV tablets with faster Atom processors.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded my expectations

By AzLady from Sunny Arizona on 10/06/2013


Pros:

Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, One Of Few Tablets With Usb Ports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I wanted a tablet with USB ports. My service provider recommended this one for a lot of reasons. He was 100% spot on as far as performance, apps, ease of use and value for my dollar. I am still figuring out a few things, but so far I am very satisfied with my purchase. It has more than exceeded my expectations. I purchased a USB DVD/CD so I could install some of my favorite programs in addition to the apps available. This tablet PC is awesome.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great tablet

By Himself from Undisclosed on 10/03/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use this tablet as a GPS using MS Streets and Trips. A large screen which is bright and clear providing an easy platform to view my route and to make changes. The ATIV is an excellent pc for travel. Small light weight with features like music, email etc that keeps you in touch and on the go.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tested

By isarraff from San Juan, PR on 07/31/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I tried it and its lightweight, portable and more or less close to others in pricing as other similar devices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung's ATIV Smart PC is the BEST!

By rdhulse251 from Brewton, Alabama on 07/30/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Inexpensive

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Samsung's ATIV Smart PC is just what I was looking for. I was looking for a Windows 8 tablet and Samsung's ATIV Smart PC fit the bill. I did a lot of research and this tablet came out on top. I really love the keyboard accessory. It turns this tablet into a great little laptop. This tablet was very affordable compaired to other Windows 8 tablets I tried. The only thing I was disappointed about was the lack of a car charger for this tablet. But, the lack of this accessory was not enough to lower my rating. I can't say enough good things about this tablet. I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my Ativ!

By dragon1ite from Daytona beach, Fl on 07/13/2013


Pros:

Dual Camera, S-pen, Slim Profile, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my Ativ for just over a month now. No issue no problems. Love the S-pen, whether its S-note or OneNote. The Design is nice and well balanced with the keyboard docked (Not top heavy at all). In terms of design I only wish if there was more metal involved. The battery life is excellent, even though the keyboard dock does not come with a backup. I use it for my college and can run a whole day on one charge. The atom processor is quite well suited to my needs, reading, MS office, Rosetta stone, web browsing, etc. The bootup is quick enough and I really don't need any heavy photoshop processing experience. There was a little connectivity issue with the keyboard dock at first, though the recent Touchpad driver update seems to have solved that problem. To sum it up. I really recommend this tab for other students. You will love the note taking experience with the s-pen, the multi-tasking ability and the battery life on the Ativ 500t.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use & reliable product

By AZDoodle from Arizona on 06/29/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Realistic Color, Hours Of Battery Usage, Lightweight, Good Size, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Computer power that I can use like a tablet, great idea! And Windows 8 has performed wonderfully, the first Microsoft O/S I've really liked. Easy to use and simple to learn makes startup very quick and easy. I chose to not get the optional keyboard right away and don't think so far that I ever will. The virtual keyboard in its various configurations works well for my small amount of typing or number entry and the s-pen adds handy functionality, really a clever little device! I cannot imagine going back to a full laptop in this lifetime.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Trying My Second

By RetiredSenior from Undisclosed on 06/18/2013


Cons:

Wifi Unreliable

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

First pc had wifi connection problems unable to maintain connection. Have to manually reconnect after loosing connection. Had to download and install MS Office 3 times in order to get it to install and even after that excel still failed to function and kept freezing up pc. USB port ejection failed, locking up system. That last try on installing Office failed and told me I did not have windows 7 or higher. Three days late to get a full refund so I am trying out the second to see what happens. I am posting this with my 1995 Laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Portability

By marioch33 from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 06/14/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Durable, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Like this product. Has great features and love the picture quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love my ATIV Smart PC

By neogeo from texas on 06/12/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is the format I have been waiting for. this has fairly good performance and the features are outstanding. I use a 64GB card mounted as a hard drive to get more storage space. the keyboard dock is a must as well. although the touchpad doesn't perform well, it is a great addition to this very capable device. the pen and touch input give you great flexibility in how you use this device. battery life is incredible and could easily last for a day when fully charged. home run, Samsung!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What a great system!

By SamsungPsyche from Richmond, VA on 06/09/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Everything!, Lightweight, Durable

Cons:

Nothing As Of Yet!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is absolutely amazing! if you're looking for a functional tablet/pc and are tired of being restricted by a normal tablet OS, this is your kind of product! Completely functional, completely revolutionary. Combined with Win8 this is probably one of the best devices I've had the privilege of using. It's small enough to go anywhere, but yet workable enough to do anything you need to. I have no issues taking it to work with me, and I spend 14hrs at a time on an ambulance. All you need is a folio, a case if you prefer, and an optical drive and you're set (just look at the recommendations). It's already rocking 3 USB ports, an HDMI, and crystal clear audio. The display is flawless. The only gripe I MAY have is the camera resolution, maybe not the highest, but this isn't exactly the size device you should be using to take pictures of any kind of decent quality. It's not like you can't integrate any other picture device in five seconds, so I really can't complain on that end of things. The keyboard is a great accessory. I know some people have complained about the attachments and magnets in the actual dock itself, but I have yet to have a problem. Yes, it's nerve racking at times sure, but it holds fast and will certainly let you know if it isn't connected properly. And the ability to transfer anything you have is built right into it. It took about a full day of transferring between another PC and a Samsung phablet, but it was also almost 40GB worth of data and it went seamlessly. I have yet to find one corrupted or improperly transferred file. This definitely gets 5 stars from me, and you can't beat the price for its functionality!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A great tablet for light personal use

By wzin1234 from Portland, ME on 05/02/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Cons:

Slow Wifi File Transfer

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife uses it for e-mail, browsing the internet and reading e-pub books. It serves two windows systems rt and win 8 desktop. I can use it with the s pen for drawing on an HDTV at 1920 x 1080 screen res using older windows graphics programs that are pen pressure sensitive. It can use a bluetooth mouse and keyboard if needed. It networks with other PC's easily and is able to share dvd's and files on other computers. Picture quality is excellent the only complaint is performance saving large graphics files is slow.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An excellent product with one minor design flaw

By Stabler from London England on 04/28/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, S Pen, Durable, Bright Display, Good Connectivity

Cons:

Better Connector Needed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't use the tablet for gaming but for entertainment and business use. I was sceptical that it could run a lot of the Windows Apps that I threw at but I have to report it has not baulked at anything, it is especially good for running Office 2013 as it is very tough enabled. The Waicom powered S pen is an added treat. Now to the flaw! When connected to the keyboard the tablet has a tendency to disconnect and reconnect at will, if that could be sorted out I would give it 5 stars all round. I don't think anyone should be put off buying one because of this flaw as otherwise it really is an excellent product with superb battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No S pen, no S apps, storage is eMMC not SSD

By SwEngr from Dallas on 04/27/2013


Pros:

Bright Display

Cons:

Actual Product Not As Specs, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you need S pen, then you'll feel cheated as the actual product doesn't include S pen and S apps. The storage is also not SSD as in the specs. It's so surprising that for huge company like Samsung, several specs don't match the actual product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ATIV PC 500T

By HOODAVE from Kennewick, WA on 04/07/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Love it, I can take it with me everywhere. Its like a big smartphone, with all the application easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great combo

By Bashp from Oman on 03/29/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Features, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Storage

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Have just purchased the Samsung Smart pc 500T its a great little computer which can easily replace my laptop and my Ipad, the hand writing technology is amazing it even recognizes my very bad writing thumbs up from me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a substitute

By rusireus from lala land on 03/27/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Realistic Color, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My wife bought this tablet for her use. So it has a fashionistas appel. I later bought her the dock. It has windows 8 which for most of us is a bit childish for work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worth the mony

By shadowdo2 from Cleburne,The Great State ofTEXAS on 03/20/2013


Pros:

Durable, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have owned this product for 2 months and still learning what it is capable of doing. Learning curve a little steep. I am very impressed and happy with it.I was originally on android.now my phone and tablet are together on windows 8


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Agile and slick

By israeljm01 from Undisclosed on 03/19/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Built-in Speakers

Optimum performance for every need on a compact design yet powerful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I hate it, so sorry I bought it

By bbann from ontario on 03/16/2013


Cons:

Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this tab for one day and had to take it back, the power cord did not recharge the tablet when it was not on the keyboard dock, do not spend your money on this !!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent tablet/PC - Be sure to update!

By eric42 from Undisclosed on 03/14/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Full Windows 8!

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is really a great little PC/tablet. Its great that I can run full desktop apps like Quicken and Office but still have the quick tablet interface for simple things like e-mail, browsing, blogs and casual gaming. I can't emphasize how important it is to run the SW Update program when you first start up. It will update just about every driver and the BIOS. Be sure to install the optional updates as well. I suspect that many of the people reporting reliability issues aren't running with updated software.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Windows 8 Tablet

By B26354 from San Juan, PR on 03/12/2013


Pros:

Battery Life, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Lightweight, Microsd, Bright Display, Full Size Usb

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my first tablet and I been using it for 3 months. I was looking for a windows tablet that can run desktop programs and not too expensive and I found it. The ATIV Smart PC is great for watching videos, browsing the internet and it gives me 1 to 2 days of moderate use without charging. Also I can run many desktop programs that dont run on a Windows RT device, thats a plus.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Tool

By Tabnut from Oregon/Washington on 03/06/2013


Pros:

Value!, Realistic Color, Windows 8, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

Windows 8

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What an amazing device! Still not accustomed to Windows 8 and its table functions, but they are generally intuitive and easy. The tablet is quick, sharp, and highly functional. I am using a Bluetooth mouse for some functions as it's easier than reaching to the screen. I have been surprisingly pleased with the on-screen keyboard and am delighted with the S-pen. My PC-Tab crashed after a recent Windows update and was stuck in a re-boot loop which forced a full-reset (to factory defaults (ouch). Since you can't boot from an external device and I couldn't access any restore/reset info on the device, it required a factory reset (double ouch). But, despite the best effort of the folks in Bellevue, I still love this machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Superb!

By muskie from usa on 03/01/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Light, thin, powerful! A joy to use. Well built, quality materials.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Happy

By inbartlett from Chicago, IL on 02/12/2013


Pros:

Durable, Can Run My Older Programs, Usb Ports, Not Just A Tablet, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is every thing I had hoped it would be. It is the best of both worlds a tablet and also a notebook. I have been able to load my favorite programs and the store loaded MS Office. Everything is running fine. I love having 1 USB Port on the tablet and 2 on the keyboard. The battery life is excellent, I use it for 3 - 4 hours a day and charge it after two days of use. No more being attached to an outlet. I also use a Bluetooth mouse with out any problems. In brief I could not be happier.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!!

By techboy8 from long beach,ca on 02/10/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product at a great value. I was a lite scared at first since it has an atom processor but after using it for a while I've found it not slow at all and can handle internet browsing, document writing, watching movies and many other tasks without any lag. The s pen is one of its greatest features and let's you write in many different applications. The only part I do not like very much is the hinge on the keyboard it seems to work okay but could be better. Overall this is a great product for the price I highly recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love this little guy!

By Ricerocket from York, SC on 02/09/2013


Pros:

Long Battery Life, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Thin, Lightweight, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've used 6 different Windows based tablets now, and I think this is my favorite! The best things about THIS tablet is the lack of fans on the back (as compared to the Series 7 Slate and the 700T), super long battery life (I can pull off a full day's work without recharging) and how thin it is! The only downside I can really find is the lack of accessories. They're coming to market slowly, but I think that there should have been an abundance of accessories when this tablet was released. My only other disappointment is that the Hand Strap case does not work with the Keyboard Dock. I am an Automotive professional, and I am constantly undocking it and carrying it around. This would be fine if I used the Desktop Dock, but my preference is the Keyboard Dock. It looks like there is an aftermarket case that will work with the Keyboard Dock, but it doesn't look like it is a protective as the Samsung Hand Strap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Better than expected

By DocGT from Undisclosed on 02/08/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display

Cons:

Too Big, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had purchased this tablet to get the windows 8 "experience" with a touch enabled device. I have found the experience pretty good. I was surprised by the performance of the atom processor. I would have a hard time telling the difference from my regular computer and this device for the basic everyday tasks. It is nice to see an actual windows tablet that works, I have used tablets off and on in medicine for several years but this has been the best so far. I wish some of the medical apps on ios / android would get into the windows 8 RT store. I like this tablet because I can run anything that I need from the windows operating system. This is a killer feature for me. No more being locked into an arbitrary app environment like ios, android or WinRT. This is a much better device and more usable than a WinRT device. I just wish the screen was high resolution but this may also be a limitation of the atom chip set. It needs more memory but surprisingly I do not seem to have problems with the 2gb limit. It is too big however. about 2" less in length would improve this product a lot. I think that the next upgrade product will be a killer product especially if the processor and memory are improved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest Gadget

By LadyCreo from Los Angeles on 02/07/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love how versatile it is....can be all I need.Now if I can just find a white one to purchase....been looking for months now.Happy hunting!!!Thanks Samsung you guys have the best gadgets.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good PC Better Tablet

By KJC4EVER from WILLINGBORO, NJ on 02/05/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

Have To Reset Out Of Stand By Mode, Keyboard Doesn't Charge Tablet, Screen Flickers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a tablet with full PC functions. It does exactly what it should do. Battery life if great, sound is good. Watching movies on this device is a blast. The only negatives I have is that the screen dims out. The keyboard doesn't have have a battery to charge it. Also when the device is put in standby it doesn't fully turn on without a full reset. Other than that this is a great Tablet/ PC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

able to replace my laptop -yay!

By bethmcgold from Minneapolis, MN on 01/26/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Easy Wireless, Double-duty As Laptop, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a replacement laptop, but I wanted a tablet. This does both in one device. It's perfect for me. The only drawback is not many companies make accessories for the tablet. I am very happy and recommend it to anyone I know.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally what I wanted in a tablet

By Whosjohnny from Chicago, Il on 01/25/2013


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Great Battery Life, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display

Cons:

App Store Selection

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A year ago I bought an android tablet and was so disappointed with the performance and immediately started inquiring about a windows tablet. I upgraded a laptop to Windows 8 and though it is not touch screen I really like the new OS. I found this tablet while searching the internet for windows 8 tablets and while some reviews were less than stellar I thought perhaps those users were expecting more than a tablet could provide. I bought the tablet and once I turned it on and started playing with it I realized it was exactly the experience I was looking for a year ago when I purchased a different tablet! I am pleased beyond words, the interface is very quick, never lags. I was used to Windows 8 when I bought this so the os was familiar to me. The S pen is so handy, especially for right click purposes. It is light, and at first it seemed a bit large but now I wouldn't want it any smaller. The speakers are on both sides and face the user so listening to music or videos is a pleasure. I use a mini bluetooth keyboard and syncing was a breeze. The display is bright and crisp. The battery life is really great, I can start this tablet at 6am and use it all day and it will still have 25% charge left on it when I shut it down at 10pm. I had an issue with the screen brightness switching between bright and dim every few seconds but chatted with a Samsung rep online and the solution was as easy as turning auto brightness off, letting it sit a minute and turning it back on again. I have not had any problem since. I love being able to use all my programs on a tablet and the syncing between the tablet and my Windows 8 laptop and Windows 8 phone have been spot on. Over all I believe this tablet is a great value for the price and it has and most likely will continue to exceed my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

love this thing

By fboomer from south east florida on 01/25/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

since my purchase I have been amazed by what this computer can do, in a few words "just about anything my desktop can do"' I really like ability to use USB devices. this make it very versatile and flexible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is unreliable

By westernsoul from Undisclosed on 01/18/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Unreliable Speaker, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When it goes to sleep for more than a few minutes with dock-in keyboard attached, touch screen looses functionality and I can only operate it through touch pad or touch pen then if I want to use touch screen again I have to restart computer. So annoying! If this isn't enough speaker started to fail after a couple of weeks with intermittent sound. Have to restart it to make it functional again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product future

By A65PR from Puerto Rico on 01/17/2013

Is a good item, but I returned the product back to the store because after software update, the tablet did not recognize startup button and keyboard in this model. I would buy again other if the issue in the updates was fixed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Tablet

By LostWeekend from California on 01/15/2013


Pros:

Durable, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display

What can I say, this is a great little computer. Nuf said.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good portability with balanced features

By Consumer12 from Norfolk, VA on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, No Fan, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am returning to academic studies after many years and wanted a lightweight computer for note taking in class and for doing assignments. The docking feature gives me the flexibility to carry the tablet alone for lightweight transport or attach the keyboard and use as a laptop. Another key feature of the tablet is that it does not need a fan for cooling. Since I don't need high processing power, I can trade that feature for longer battery life. Processing response is snappy as long as I am not running too many apps at once. Construction for the tablet and the keyboard are solid overall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung think about brand loyalty.

By MandarJ from Undisclosed on 01/13/2013


Pros:

Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality, Too Big, Not High Def

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This device is all plastic built terribly. Its back flexes in the middle. It ships with a cheapo half pen.The bundled Samsung apps they have put zero effort into. For what you are getting, the price is $100 too high.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not my fave

By dbrock2121 from Undisclosed on 01/06/2013


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Not High Def, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

for as expensive as this product was, were are any features at like on tab 10.1 i have serious buyers remorse. wish i could find the docking keyboard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Smart PC ATIV 500

By PBC09 from West Atlanta on 01/06/2013


Pros:

Realistic Color, Durable, Lightweight, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It runs smoothly and and is capable to do more then a tablet. It has a nice sleek and light design. Easy to work with. The apps are ok, but the pc does what I need it to do.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Exceeded My Expectations

By DarenK from Utah on 01/01/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Durable, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Ability to hook up common usb peripherals and use them? Check - external DVD, USB stick were a breeze to use and install programs (.iso of software CD's, etc). Flawless, and convenient. Ability to use the programs I have already purchased for my home machine? Check - Office 2010, adobe photoshop, etc - they all worked without issue. I just can't emphasize how nice this is to finally have in a tablet. I even put world of warcraft on for the heck of it - just because I could. Ability to expand through a Micro SD card? Check - bought a 64GB class 10 card and have Apps installed on it (yes, you can install apps to the microSD card) as well as videos, games, MP3's and pictures. Very handy, doesn't fill the O/S drive with unnecessary items. Great Screen? Check - even coming from a retina ipad user. Bright, vivid display with good sharp resolution. The auto brightness is a tad harsh at times, but that can be adjusted in the power settings. Great battery? Check - hours and hours of play each day for the last two days, and the remaining battery life frankly blew me away each night (60%+ available). This is through installing programs, playing games, watching videos, surfing the web (can't count the number of times my son looped that gangum style song on you tube!?!). Very impressed with battery life for a full featured machine. Windows 8? Not as bad as I thought. I was anticipating a train wreck that would take me a long time to get used to. It is well done and feels good on the tablet. Not sure I am up for putting it on my home machine yet, but on the tablet, it really goes a long ways to make it the experience it is. Also, Samsung includes a program if you use the "SW Updater" that puts the start button functionality basically back on your desktop. Samsung did a nice job with the pen that you get with the tablet as well - that thing is handy in OneNote, it can even read my terrible handwriting. When you have to bounce to the desktop, it is also a nice feature to be able to use the pen and click, drag, right-click. Not necessary, but nice none the less. Processor Speed? Again, not as bad as I thought. I almost didn't buy it when I saw "atom". Perhaps intel should change the name, because this processor actually performs well. It seemed sluggish for the first few hours, but after that it has really been peppy. Perhaps there were some things installing in the background, or maybe uninstalling Norton bloatware did it, but the performance of the Atom processor has exceeded my expectations. I think the build quality of the tablet is very nice - good clean edges, great sounding speakers that point toward you, well placed inputs on the edges. As far as "feel" of the materials, I find it very similar to my wife's Galaxy S3. It is lighter than I expected for the size, but the size poses issues I mention below (non-standard - nothing fits it). Negatives? No docking station in stock anywhere - I mean I have tried all over. No Cases and covers. The charger for it is like a laptop charger that plugs into the wall (has a mini brick). I don't see any Car adapters for it available, and would guess it will be expensive as you can't seem to use a common USB type charger for it. Overall, those few negatives aside which time may fix, I love this thing. More than I expected. Thanks Samsung and Microsoft for finally making the tablet a common piece of technology.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good mid-high Tablet

By salesprof from Undisclosed on 12/29/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

got this for a mobile work device - works great for notetaking and product demos. fast, and never really had a problem with lag, delay, etc. video is amazing - with Left and Right speakers, that face your viewing; no more "cupping" the sound with your hand/palm. only issue is finding accessories for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No Accessories

By Jmalt from Ma on 12/23/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Features

Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Slow Internet, No Accessories

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Internet is slow, left speaker failed after three weeks and no accessories can be purchased even though the Samsung website shows a keyboard and smart dock available. As much as I like it, it's in need of improvement and accessories.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Compatibility to WAP-Enterprise w/AES not good

By CompForensicsdude from Ohio on 12/19/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable

Cons:

Wirless And Aes Issues

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The device is solid except for joining the domain with wireless. Applied all patches but still no connection. Manually moved the cert to the tablet but still unable to connect. Unsure at this point if an interface issue, Windows 8 issue or device itself. Like the unit and works well with RDweb logins.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product

By rw3706 from Undisclosed on 12/15/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

For both work and fun (my daughter loves it). Samsung and windows 8 go together fantastically. A little heavier, but considering I don't have to carry a 3 " notebook around anymore, its a big win. Performance, options and availability to office and exchange, apple has nothing on this. There were some poor reviews on this, and all I can say is that people that work in the real world will love this practical and efficient tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast/Extremely Functional

By ITConsultant from Undisclosed on 12/14/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Accessories Not Available

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent product. I have used an IPad for a couple of years and was waiting for a better alternative. The full version of Windows 8 is key with this product, allowing you to install any applications, not just and app. I upgraded it to Professional version. I have not had any technical issues with this tablet. I have not had to restart other than after an application install. The pen is a great feature. The resolution is excellent. For the price you cant find a better alternative. My productivity out in the field has almost doubled due to the ease and capabilities this has. No more can't display page because you dont have flash or java! If you are a business professional like me, this is by far the best tablet out there. I can't wait for the keyboard dock.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Are the other reviewers on the Samsung payroll?

By Ineloquucius from Undisclosed on 12/11/2012


Cons:

Not High Def, Poor Quality, Did Not Meet Expectations

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am now on my 3rd one of these. The first two also exhibited the freezing described by many when docked in the keyboard. The mouse and keyboard become unresponsive for up to 20 seconds and magically restore themselves. In the above paragraph, this has happened twice. I have applied the latest patches, but the disconnecting appears to be due to a poor design on the dock connector. The device also docks and undocks--as indicated by the ring tone--all by itself...not even in my lap mind you, but just sitting by itself, not touched, on the table. I'm not kidding, nor are the dozens of other reviewers on the internet who have reported the same thing. (keyboard froze three times in this paragraph). The screen dims itself up and down by itself as well--and no the auto-dimming isn't on. The unit is very top heavy and wants to fall backwards on your lap if you have the slightest incline backwards. This is an appalling product release. I can honestly say I've never been more disappointed in a product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broker within two weeks and took over a month to repaired.

By SKinMD from Baltimore, MD on 12/09/2012


Cons:

Did Not Meet Expectations, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have very bad experiences with this product. Sent it for service, and still have not received it back. It has been over a month now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Samsung Ativ Series 5 Review

By dalepl from Huntsville, AL on 12/04/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Full Windows 8

Cons:

Could Use A Second Usb Port, Would Be Nice To Have Usb 3 Support

I am really liking this tablet. I have had it going on 3 weeks and must say I really have no complaints. If you keep your expectations at the right level, this tablet will do all that it should. The pen works great. This is no speed demon and never was ment to be. Having the ability to run Windows 7 apps is a great thing. I have had no issues with anything I have tried to use it for. This is not a gaming machin, so do not expect it to play your games like Warcraft and such like your PC does. The Metro games I have tried have worked quite well and smoothly with great graphics. The ability to connect external devices is a plus. I recommend this device to all my friends in the market for a Windows 8 tablet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost great

By cmat1120 from Undisclosed on 12/03/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Quality Control, Major Software Bugs, Heavy

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been using this tablet for a coupe days and I think it's really cool. Its awesome having a full windows computer in a thin tablet. Overall it runs pretty smoothly and is pretty powerful(I am used to a gaming desktop so that's actually saying quite a lot). Problems: When I press the sleep button the tablet decides to automatically turn its self off completely. So basically I have to save everything before I turn the screen off expecting to have to turn it on from cold again. The only reason I'm not returning it because of this is how fast it boots up, but if its not fixed by the time my return date gets close it will go back. Also like others have said there is a wifi issue. For some reason it just won't connect for awhile, but if I leave it for like 10 minutes it will then be connected. That's really annoying if I have to access google drive for notes in class and don't have 10 minutes to spare. Also this is my second tablet. The first one stopped registering finger input within about 2 hours since it was first turned on...quality control? Overall: This is a great tablet with potential, but it seems to have been released to early because it has MAJOR issues. Now if the issues are fixed I can forgive Samsung for them, but my hopes are not high that it will happen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do NOT Buy Until Samsung Fixes WiFi Issues

By samsunguser21 from Undisclosed on 11/29/2012


Cons:

Wifi Unstable, Did Not Meet Expectations

I was very excited to finally be able to buy this x86 Win8 tablet. Unfortunately, the tablet has a WiFi problem that occurs after waking from sleep or a power on. Basically, it can't connect to WiFi for about 2-3 minutes. Usually, you have to turn on/off AirPlane mode to get WiFi to work again. For 2 weeks, I was installing every Samsung update but the issue was never fixed. Other users have reported problems with the keyboard dock (I only had the tablet). So, unless you want to go through a lot of frustration, wait for Samsung to resolve these issues before purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Expert

By SentreeSystems from Indianapolis on 11/26/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great product, it is fast for the type of processor and the amount of memory it holds. I was not expecting it to perform as well as it does. I do need to clarify first by saying I did have to update my firmware first to get the speed I am getting now but once I did that it really gave me the performance I was looking for. There has been times that I have had to reboot the system and I am hoping that Samsung will work those kinks out and get us some updates, but for now this is a sold device and I would recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tablet and Ultrabook in one - Lovin It

By Brainsinthefamily from Undisclosed on 11/23/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Versatile, Bright Display

Cons:

A Few Bugs

Purchased the Samsung ATIV 500T last week online. What I wanted was one device that I can use to do serious computing, or to just sit back and read, browse, watch, or play. It did not disappoint. At first the tablet seemed big and awkward, probably because I had been using an Ipad2 previously. But now that I've used the Samsung 500T for a couple days, I've learned to handle it comfortably with 2 hands, plus I now see the benefit of having the wider aspect ratio, particularly when watching a movie or video. The screen is very bright and it displays HD content beautifully. When docked, the Samsung functions perfectly as an Ultrabook, giving me the ability to use a real keyboard and trackpad. And since it's the full Windows 8 OS, and not RT, it runs every app I've thrown at it, including the full Office Suite. Now, if you're planning to load lots of desktop software, you will probably need to buy a 64gb micro SD card to supplement the internal 64 gb. The 3 USB slots (2 keyboard, 1 tablet) are extremely convenient. Win 8 also provides Cloud storage through Sky Drive as well, although I personally use Dropbox. Although I am not a doodler or a fan of handwritten notes, the S-pen app works very nicely, especially since it deactivates hand input whenever the pen is close to the screen. So, no worries about wrists or fingers interfering. For those who haven't used Window 8 yet, all I can say is Wow! It is, in my opinion, the best Windows OS ever, and it completely blows away the Ipad's IOS. With that said, I have experienced an occasional BSOD. There is a Samsung app onboard that troubleshoots software and device driver issues. There are also firmware updates available at the Samsung support site. i am hopefull these will resolve whatever issues I'm having. Other downside are (1) unavailability - for now - of some popular store apps like Facebook and Spotify, (2) the tablet can lose it's connection with the keyboard momentarily if jarred or moved around, and (3) when using the tablet in Windows 8 desktop mode, the keyboard does not automatically open whenever an input field is selected (you need to click the on-screen icon to pop it up). On the other hand, it sure is nice being able to view flash sites when using I.E. or Chrome browsers from the desktop. All-in-all, I am pleased with this product, despite it's few shortcomings.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I want to love it, but glitchy drivers and a dock that constanty disconnects makes it impossible

By Foster1100 from TN on 11/19/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display

Cons:

Dock Is Unusable As It Constantly Disconnects, Did Not Meet Expectations, Glitchy Drivers = Frozen Pc = Reboot Often, Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been looking forward to making this my go-to device for around the house, at the pool, and travel. Although I really want to whole heartedly love this device, after four days of use, several issues make it unusable. The tablet has required a reboot many, many, many times (more than 20 in four days). I have installed all of the windows updates and all of the Samsung specific updates through the included Samsung SW Update software. The problems listed below puzzle me. It is impossible to determine if I am experiencing hardware failures or device driver inadequacies. I am returning the unit as defective and reordering another unit. I am very impressed with the build, size, and design. Hopefully I received a defective dock/tablet and the replacement will work without issue. I really want to keep this machine. I will update my review after using the replacement unit. Here is to hoping for a flawless experience the next go-round. PROS Awesome packaging Great speakers for a tablet Never warm/hot 8-10 hour battery life (my experience Keyboard/trackpad dock pros -excellent tactile keyboard = fast typing with few mistakes -trackpad is responsive, but clicking the corners for left/right clicks takes some getting used to CONS Keyboard/trackpad dock loses connection very often -you will hear three disconnect chimes when it loses connection -sometimes the dock reconnects with three more connect chimes -sometimes it brings up a "USB device not recognized" error in the system tray -this makes the trackpad no longer responsive -sometimes this happens when the device is on a solid table without anyone touching it or the table -all of these issues can cause the tablet to become unresponsive -because this happens when the machine is not even being touched, I have to think it is a combination of the dock connection and/or bad device drivers =requires reboot Buggy drivers leave the sound choppy and very low bitrate sounding after an apparent glitch = requires reboot Graphics drivers buggy, making the auto rotate function glitch and the display unresponsive = requires reboot Downloading large updates or syncing large files causes the tablet to become very slow, but still responsive Keyboard/trackpad dock inadequacies -no 2nd battery in -no 2nd SD card slot -trackpad does not have options in driver in system tray -no edge motion - when you reach the edge, the cursor stops moving -no gesture personalization


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

AWESOME PRODUCT

By profarend from GB,MA on 11/18/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is my second Samsung product after the Galaxy 3 SIII and this is my new favorte electronics company. The have exceeded my expectations and I am extremely pleased with my Samsung products


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this is an awesome computer

By Joleigh0877 from Spring Hill, FL on 11/17/2012


Pros:

Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like the new software but I like the Samsung computer even more


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Windows 8 tablet

By TabletSmart from Undisclosed on 11/16/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Lightweight, Pen Mode

Cons:

Cannot Find Keyboard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I found this tablet offers everything I could want. It is great that I can finally use Windows applications on this small form-factor. The only con I have right now is that I cannot find a retailer with the keyboard dock. If you are listening Samsung, how about solving that issue. I have lots of Word files to create.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works great with win8pro, too

By Vercingetorix from Seattle on 11/15/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Runs Pc Os, Runs All Pc Apps, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive, Bright Display

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Got this tablet as a super mobile device with cell connectivity for meetings, running remote demos, and taking compute power places I would not want to carry a big notebook setup. It has exceeded my greatest expectations for these roles. This works great as a wide screen tablet with sharp screen, accurate touch, ideal weight. When I need a keypad it is excellent in portrait mode with several keypad layout options and a full view of the page or screen I'm working. Best of all, upgrading to win8pro was as easy as entering a purchased key code and letting the tablet update itself. Join domain, vpn, load flash, load Java and voil! It's a fully compliant workstation with remote desktop access into lab servers and running consoles for all our lab's IT gear. The cellular connectivity has worked very well and seems to run almost as fast as a good wlan connection. I haven't tried a wired lan connection but haven't encountered any need, as the wireless options are easily fast enough to run my lab and meet my needs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice, with some kinks

By giesend from Undisclosed on 11/13/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Bright Display, Lightweight, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Freezing Issues

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this tablet pretty much on opening day and in many respects, it has surpassed my expectations. The screen is beautiful and the processor is plenty fast to run multiple things at once. When it's working properly, its a blast however the S -pen Crashes almost daily and it freezes up about every 3 days or so. There are also some java issues that need to be resolved, but hopefully that comes with time. The ABSOLUTE most frustrating thing at this point is that it is impossible to find a keyboard for this thing. I know it's new but I feel like Samsung should have pushed the release date back. Sorry about the short rant but this device will be way cooler once they get the keyboards out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beautiful Product, great features, nice size

By techlvr from Madison, WI on 11/12/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Able To Use As A True Tablet And A Laptop, Battery Life, Realistic Color, Bright Display

Cons:

Would Rather It Have A Micro Usb Power Supply, Should Be Bundled With A Keyboard

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had my Smart PC for a few days now and am learning Windows 8 slowly, I feel a little cumbersome using it but feel that in time my productivity will speed up dramatically. The design of the product is wonderful, very sleek and lighter than expected, I have been a Samsung fan for a long time and this tablet PC is no exception to their quality. I am struggling finding a place to purchase the matching keyboard dock but the tablet alone works pretty well for basic tasks. To do any serious work you are going to need the keyboard. I have not had a chance to really test the battery life yet but have used it for several hours a couple different times and did not see any great drain on the battery. All in all it is a nice product and the only problems I have encountered so far are with the OS and even those are due to my unfamiliarity with it. My purchase of this was more for a test device rather than an every day user of it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great device for the price - trumps Surface with full Windows 8

By riceboyler from White House, TN on 11/07/2012


Pros:

Full Windows 8, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Lightweight, Big Screen

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked up my ATIV SmartPC at a local store after having to fight to find a retailer that would sell one to me. I'm glad I fought with them. This little tablet displays everything that's right about Windows 8, and that's the difference to me: it's FULL Windows 8, not just Windows RT that can't run any legacy software. Now, I rarely ever even visit my desktop on my tablet, but it's nice to know that if I need to run any of the millions of Windows apps out there, they'll run (although perhaps a little slowly, after all 2GB RAM is a bare minimum...) This is a great device, does great in overall performance, and really shows off what Windows 8 can do. It's high quality, has a big beautiful screen, all of the ports I need, and expandable storage. I'm a huge fan!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Tablet or PC?

By LuiGlyCar from Ft Worth on 11/07/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have had the product for 2 days and I love it. Easy to use right out of the box. I bought it for work but have spent more time playing games on it than working on it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Full PC Capabilities on a tablet

By Bnap from Alta Loma, CA on 11/06/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Runs All Software, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

Poor Wifi Connectivity, No Custom Case Available

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros: This Windows 8 tablet has the full capabilities of a PC, including running all desktop software, connecting to a VGA monitor, Bluetooth keyboard, and mouse. Through USB port, it can also easily connect to external DVD drive and other devices. Excellent battery life. Cons: It's ability to detect and automatically connect to Wi-Fi on boot up is often sluggish and problematic. There is currently no custom case available from Samsung.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great alternative to iPad

By Bnap from Alta Loma, CA on 10/30/2012


Pros:

Runs Microsoft Office And Adobe Photoshop, Usb 2 Port, Durable, Built-in Speakers, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Easily Attaches To External Monitor Projector, Lightweight, Works Great With External Keyboard And Mouse, Video Port

Cons:

Slow Wifi Speed

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been an iPad user since the first day they were released. Never thought I'd switch to something else. However, I purchased a 500T on the day it came out, and have not looked back. It does so many things that the iPad doesn't, especially running the entire Office suite and other important PC apps. On the other hand, there is almost nothing that I can do on the iPad that I can't do on the 500T. Windows 8 is great, once you get used to it. My only complaint so far--the Internet connection on the 500T is very slow, and not always reliable, There seems to be no cover designed for the 500T, and no car adaptor yet available. Hopefully, Samsung or some 3rd party vendor will make these available shortly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved