Home » XE550C22A01US » 15 Reviews

Samsung XE550C22-A01US Series 5 Cel/1.3 12.1 4gb 16gb Wls Chrm Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Built-in Speakers (11), Durable (11), Inexpensive (9), Lightweight (12), Bright Display (12), Realistic Color (8)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

chrombook

By mknightaw from Undisclosed on 06/01/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Built-in Speakers, Durable, Bright Display, Inexpensive, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very good product, it is reliable and dependable. good job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pretty good for almost all everyday jobs

By iKing from Dallas, TX on 03/13/2013


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Lightweight, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Cons:

None

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Chromebook is exactly what I needed for 95% of my everyday non-work stuff. Full sized keyboard, responsive track-pad. Fast. Boots up in less than 6 secs. Good sound & battery life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awsome machine!!!!

By ericsmusichub from Staten Island NY on 01/08/2013


Pros:

Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Inexpensive

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This chromebook has alot going for it. First Samsung makes it. When you buy a Samsung product you know you are getting the best product for your money. This Samsung chromebook is built very sturdy as well as the screen is awsome. Samsung screens are top quality. Battery life is awsome as well as the sound and it is priced right. I have no negatives to say about this chromebook.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good laptop.

By 4utosee from Undisclosed on 01/08/2013


Pros:

Lightweight, Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Only Display Port, Scratches Easily, Needs More Programs, You Cant Install Java

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a great computer but there is one problem I am a student using this computer to study but there is some programs like blackboard collaborate or java to get all my work finished and the computer gets alot of scratches. Otherwise this is a great computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great LAPTOP just misunderstood.

By SamsungKeeper from Undisclosed on 01/03/2013


Pros:

Durable, Inexpensive, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers, Lightweight

Cons:

Poor Quality

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quick points: - Yes, it DOES work offline. There are loads of apps and games that do work offline, and offline mode is coming to Gmail, Docs, and Calendar very soon (this summer) - Web apps are nearing the usefulness of actual desktop apps - The vast majority of people don't need Photoshop or Final Cut Pro, or a 4GHz processor - Web apps are the future. They are compatible with any OS that has a browser, which is basically every OS - Seems even more secure against viruses than a Mac - No more paying for OS updates like you do with Mac or Windows - Don't need antivirus software running all the time - Open sourced OS is very technologically ethical, meaning more progress and more transparency in terms of what is going on inside OUR computers - The browser was becoming an OS itself already for while, Google is just separating it - Super fast start up time and long battery life are great pluses - What about music/video offline? It can't do that with a web app RIGHT NOW (it almost certainly will in the future, but you can easily download any kind of media (yes it does have internal storage like some critic say it doesn't), or you can put media on a SD card from another computer and pop it into this when you cant to watch a movie on a plane or something - the price IS very good. some people say it's too expensive for what it offers, citing the processor and the almost comparable price of a Windows PC. They are overlooking the fact that this has a solid state drive, which is a huge plus, that a PC running anti-virus software all the time slows down the processor, that most people don't NEED the desktop OS anymore, and a vast array of other reasons, including far superior build quality. If you want to try this already extremely functional laptop, and are ready to jump into the future of operating systems, you can expect improvements in leaps and bounds very quickly, as Google will update everything in the background, and everything will get faster and better, and your experience will improve over time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it! Fast and convenient.

By Dignitywalks from Daytona Beach, FL on 12/27/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Bright Display, Durable, Inexpensive, Real Keyboard, Built-in Speakers, Easy Syncing To My Phone, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I use it primarily for business. I travel to client's homes and it is lightweight and very fast. Gives me all the info I need and has a real keyboard. Google print works great so that when I need something printed out, I just send it to my home printer and it is there waiting for me when I get home. Syncs with phone and home desktop PC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple to use

By terryr97 from M'ville, Va on 12/20/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Durable, Very Easy To Setup And Use, Lightweight, Realistic Color, Bright Display, Built-in Speakers

Cons:

Can't Play Some .avi's But Not All

Of course, there is a learning curve on most of the things I use being internet based and not being able to use apps like I the rest of the electronics I own, but it's worth it. Owning a Razr Maxx, a Windows 8 laptop and a Windows 7 desktop, an iPad, a Samsung Galaxy player, a Samsung Tab (all rooted/jb), I got the Chromebook for it's simplicity. It's to get on the web. Period. So, I have to learn to simplify. Not easy but I'm trying. It's a beautiful machine and easy to use. I will still try to hack it, cos that's what I do, but I hope I can't. I can always depend on Samsung for great products!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Chromebook Available

By onenonlycasper from Estero, FL, USA on 11/12/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Very Fast, Battery Life Excellent, Touchpad Is Great, Durable, Chrome Os, Small

Cons:

No Hdmi Just Displayport

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was intrigued when google came out with the chromebook laptops, and even more interested when I saw that Samsung was among the short list of manufacturers. I love Samsung products and this one definitely held up to the hype and reputation of the company. This lightweight, durable, fast, and simply wonderful little laptop exceeds most of my expectations. It was a little pricey for the limited features and doesnt have an HDMI output, but does make up in every other area. I love the quick-starting OS and the battery life. I rarely have to charge it and I often dont even realize its in my laptop bag because its so small and light. The chrome OS runs great on it and the slots for memory cards really helps for extra storage. Its built pretty sturdy and yet still very lightweight overall. The touchpad is excellent as well and I dont think they could have done much better with this computer overall. Another homerun in my book and another Samsung laptop/product added to my collection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent alternative to heavy laptop.

By NoTimeToSpare from Alabama on 09/16/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Does exactly what it claims. Chromebook has very fast internet connectivity and a bright, larger screen than tablets. I prefer the accuracy of typing and mouse cursor control over touch screen input so it is a good alternative to tablets. The 550C22 model with Verizon wireless service is a great back up for internet connection when no Wi-Fi is available. I do not miss the constant Windows updates and expensive anti-virus software of my heavier laptop. Great battery life. I was able to take Chromebook to family reunion at an outdoor pavilion, connect via cell service, share family photos via the cloud, and even log into genealogy web site for family research for hours of fun. Great product. Only con issue I have is Chromebook has no CAT5 cable connector for wire connection. But it is really too thin to accommodate that and it has plenty of other connectors including USB and SD media card reader. A concern I had at purchase, sound quality, turned out to be a non-issue. The Chromebook speakers are comparable to other brand laptops.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't replace a PC, but it doesn't need to.

By J404 from Boston on 08/18/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Lightweight, Durable, Realistic Color, Built-in Speakers

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

If you're looking for a primary computing machine, this isn't it. But, if you're like me, with a workhorse on the desk, and you're one the move a lot, you can't beat this Chromebook. It's essentially a web browser that you hold in your hands and can take anywhere. Though it's great for keeping up on email, Facebook, reading, or just surfing, I wouldn't use this machine to do any serious work. Sure, you can view/edit/share files with the integration between Google Docs and Drive, but working with large, complex files can be a pain when you're stuck inside a web browser. This little machine perfectly fills the gap between using a less responsive phone and the primary machine with all the expensive software. Great for taking to classes, or while travelling for work. It's snappy both in booting and while running. Video and audio quality is just fine, if perhaps a bit too quiet at times. Keyboard is visually appealing, very comfortable, quiet, and responsive. The lack of a delete key, is off-putting, however. The touchpad takes quite a bit of getting used to - I had to dramatically adjust scrolling speed so that a small swipe didn't send you instantly to the bottom of a page. Battery life is excellent; it's definitely an all-day machine without being perpetually tethered to a wall. I usually get about 6 hours of constant use before I need to plug in. The OS is wonderfully secure and worry-free, and the user interface is very clean and simple, yet looks great. The frame is very sturdy, as are the hinges My only serious complaints are that you're limited to a small set of provided wallpapers, and the necessity of an internet connection to really be able to use the machine. A little overpriced, in my opinion, but I'm absolutely willing to pay the premium for a great little machine that vastly outperforms a similarly priced netbook or laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simplicity = value

By flyer23tango from St Pete, FL on 08/08/2012


Pros:

Built-in Speakers, Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight

Cons:

Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Simple to use, just turn it on, sit back and enjoy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Chromebook Review

By SGSIIE4G from Undisclosed on 08/06/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

First, to address the "Would I recommend this to a friend" question: Yes, I would, as long as it is not their primary computer. This decision has more to do with the operating system than with Samsung's build. The build quality on this device is stellar. The keys are sharp and responsive. The frame is solid (which is an improvement from the previous Chromebook. For the software: It is very easy to do the majority of stuff I need to get done within the Googlesphere. However, I do wish there was some type of on device storage. Perhaps not enough to run Office, but enough to install some on-device applications. But I knew what I was getting into when I purchased it. Let me say, though, that battery life and start-up times on this machine are superb, which is the main reason I bought it. I wanted a keyboard web-browsing experience and that is what I got. I would buy again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love my chrome book

By Locoboy1 from Honolulu Hawaii on 08/02/2012


Pros:

Lightweight, Inexpensive, Built-in Speakers, Bright Display, Realistic Color, Durable

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nuff said about my chrome book. It does everything and more that it expect from it. Terrific Samsung!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product fun to use

By chirochiro2012 from Detroit on 07/26/2012


Pros:

Inexpensive, Lightweight, Durable, Bright Display, Realistic Color

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The chromebook is a great product and it seems like more and more offline apps are becoming avb which is good news if your like most people and 90% of your time is spent in a browser this notebook is for you. Best 2 features of the chromebook : the screen and the keyboard


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Chromebook Available Today

By carguy86 from Dallas, TX on 07/14/2012


Pros:

Bright Display, Battery Life, Fast, Keyboard, Lightweight, High Quality

Cons:

A Bit Expensive (but Still Fairly Priced), Not High Def

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I'd wanted to buy a Chromebook for quite some time, but the hardware really held me back: slow processors and too little ram most notably. With Samsung's Series 5 550, Chrome OS finally could be experienced as I'm sure Google intended. nearly instant start-up and super fast web browsing with the full functionality of Chrome browser and its extensions. Honestly, this is this first consumer electronics product I've bought in a long time that I feel has actually increased my productivity but streamlining my interactions with the web and my computer. Now if only the case had the superb quality and feel as the new Samsung Series 9 notebook...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved