Home » Appliances » Home Appliances » Kitchen Utensils » Cookers & Steamers » ECJPX50S » 19 Reviews

Sanyo Ecjpx50s 5-cup Micro-computerized Pressure Rice Cooker And Steamer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 19 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Versatile (4), Easy To Configure (16), Consistent Performance (12), Easy To Use (14), Durable (11), Reliable Performance (3)

Primary use:

Personal (19)

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast (5), Power User (4), Casual User (5)

Best Uses:

Home (12)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

thanks for the excellent product!!!!!!!!

By linachan from Las Cruces, NM on 06/25/2010


Pros:

Easy To Configure, Reliable Performance, Easy To Use, Durable

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is popolar in Japan as well.Thank you for the excellent product for the lowest price in U.S.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

State of the art in rice cookers

By DeweyDave Verified Reviewer from Dewey, AZ on 05/27/2010


Pros:

Easy To Configure, Durable, Reliable Performance, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had it now for a couple of weeks and absolutely love it even though I'm still experimating with the "brown rice" settings. White rice is PERFECT. I plan to try some more complex receipes in the near future. Also, the quality of this cooker is top notch... Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love it!

By 1happybecky from Boulder, CO on 05/25/2010


Pros:

Durable, Reliable Performance, Easy To Use, Easy To Configure

Cons:

Expensive

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing is great! I love the handle that allows me to move it from my up high cupboard down to the counter. The cookbook that came with it has some really good recipes. We are trying the Yang Chow Fried Rice this week. Rice is coming out perfectly each time so far. The soft/regular/hard selections of how you like your rice make customizing easy. I would recommend this product to others!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect bachelor tool

By Brian in Utah Verified Reviewer from Park City, UT on 03/30/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Configure, Consistent Performance, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing is great. Perfect rice and some great complete meals. Load it up in the morning, set the timer and come home to dinner.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very well made

By mtbikerdave Verified Reviewer from bullhead city arizona on 03/09/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use

Cons:

None So Far

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home, Travel

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

great product for home or travel yes travel small enough to use to make steel cut oats/steamed vegetables while traveling saving money also thanks beach audio great price [...]


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good deal for VPC!

By Jim Verified Reviewer from Natick, MA on 01/17/2010


Pros:

Easy To Use, Durable, Easy To Configure, Consistent Performance

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home, Travel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was hooked on VPC technology when I got hand-me-down of Sanyo ECJ-DG10 few years ago. VPC makes rice perfectly soft and PLUMPY, so when I needed to replace it, just "computerized rice cooker" wasn't good enough for me, yet I didn't think I could afford new one with VPC. I was glad to find this with affordable price. I chose ECJ-PX50S for VPC(obviously), stylish look and additional function such as slow cook and steam. Steaming tray makes up to 8 perfect & EASY TO PEAL boiled(steamed) eggs for hi-protein breakfast for the week or egg salad. It will be even better if it has delayed start for slow cook. Thanks for the good deal!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent rice cooker

By Secret Asian Man Verified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 12/31/2009


Pros:

Durable, Consistent Performance, Easy To Configure, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Best Uses:

Home

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I mostly cook white rice and this does the job. Our last cooker was a standard flip top unit. You can really taste the difference this rice cooker makes. Plus it has all of the other features for cooking different rice and steaming veggies. The clock & timer function are great too. Never knew I needed one until I used it. The non-stick pot and rice scoop are the best I ever had. If you are looking for a high end cooker at a more reasonable price, this is it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sanyo Rice Cooker

By Linda Lee Verified Reviewer from Palm Beach Gardens, FL on 09/01/2009


Pros:

Consistent Performance, Easy To Configure, Easy To Use, Durable

Cons:

No Delayed Starttimer

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Wake Up To Hot Cereal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I live alone and love, love this product. I can cook breakfast while I'm sleeping and I can cook dinner while I'm at work. I eat very healthy (steamed vegetables, cooked rice/barley/whole grains) for dinner, cook steel cut oatmeal or whole grains while I'm sleeping and wake up to a hot healthy meal. Outstanding machine. Haven't used it as a crock pot/slow cooker yet. It cleans easily and the cord is retractable. Love this machine. Worth the money. Was recommended by my brother.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good rice cooker. works as described

By ari from new york on 08/05/2009


Pros:

Consistent Performance, Easy To Configure, Durable, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Home

Primary use:

Personal

- it is not a real pressure cooker and does not cook rice faster than normal stovetop, but it is simple to use and cooks rice well


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Engineering rice to perfection

By Tom from Michigan on 07/17/2009


Pros:

Consistent Performance, Easy To Configure, Easy To Use

Cons:

Unplug To Reset

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Home

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Little wonder satellites designed in Japan are now winging their way through the solar system, as this cooker puts in play some fine rice cookin' engineering. Be aware that the Ecjpx50s comes with a pre-installed battery that retains time and presumably custom settings that will in time (years) need replacement. The hefty titanium-coated pot fully lives up to my non-stick expectations and will tend to retain heat longer than it's distant thin-gauge aluminum cousins. [...]the Sanyo heritage is done proud by my brown rice sessions with perfection delivered every time; though I do not care for the need to "unplug" the unit to completely reset the unit out of "keep warm" mode - but that is very small nit indeed. Fab purchase!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice product...

By raytayzmd from louisville, KY on 06/23/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Configure, Consistent Performance, Durable

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

...works as described...lots of cooking options...easy to program...easy to clean.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this product again

By Kwee from NY, NY on 06/20/2009


Pros:

Easy To Configure, Easy To Use, Consistent Performance

Describe Yourself:

Power User

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This device is great. It cooks rice evenly and the rice retains it's flavor. Best rice cooker I have ever owned considering I eat rice on a daily basis.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice rice cooker for casual use

By seekher Verified Purchaser from FL on 05/19/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Configure

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This does it's job. Cooking rice. It take a while ~40 min which is kind a long time for just cooking rice, but usual for those induction cooking or kind of high tech cooking. Usually, pressurized cooking rice makes even bad rice tastes good, but this one does not do this job well. Cuckoo will be alternative for pressurized rice cooking. This one does pressure during cooking, but not devoted pressurized cooker - I mean, light pressure than heavy pressure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product!

By ex808er Verified Purchaser from Hawthorne, CA on 03/27/2009


Pros:

Versatile, Easy To Clean, Easy To Configure, Consistent Performance, Durable

Cons:

No Temperature Settings

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Primary use:

Personal

Best Uses:

Set And Forget

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've cooked white rice on all settings and found that the consistency is pretty good. The warm function really does its job without turning the rice brown or hard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Greatest cooker

By Lou from Washington DC on 01/05/2009


Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Pros:

Versatile, Consistent Performance, Durable, Easy To Configure

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

' Love this cooker


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great rice cooker

By yummy rice Verified Purchaser from maryland on 12/21/2008

This rice cooker has all the pros, it looks great, it has a steamer, slow cooker, sushi, brown rice, etc. We have only used it for a few weeks, but we have tried it extensively and we are very happy with its performance. Sushi rice is slightly different to what we are used to but delicious and we are still trying for the right consistency. It is easy to use, my 12 year old daughter likes making porridge and all varieties of rice. I recommend buying a rice-cooker's recipes book since the recipe book from the manufacturers is really not that good. The size is perfect for 3-4 people, I guess if you use it as a slow cooker you would want a bigger size, but for rice this is great and you can make single portions easily. The machine is easy to clean (has detachable internal lid).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quiet, compact, easy to clean

By tri-weekly rice eater Verified Purchaser from Cambridge MA on 09/05/2008


Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Consistent Performance, Attractive, Easy To Configure, Versatile

Best Uses:

In The Kitchen

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using this rice cooker for about three weeks now, so no word on its durability. Stainless steel exterior fits the rest of my kitchen well. It is not square (as pictured) but rather shaped almost like a motorcycle helmet. Inner pan, lid is easy to clean (I usually empty the pan, open the lid to let the rice dry, and scoop out the dried flakes with my hands later, before rinsing) The rice comes out nicely. Tried the normal regular, normal firm, quick cook, sushi textures with Tamaki Gold short grain rice and all taste better than the rice made by panasonic sr-sj10p Zojirushi neurofuzzy rice cooker, both of which I've used here. Both are non-pressurized. The rice cooked with the normal regular has a layer of rice at the very top that is a little more wet than the rest of the rice. The Zojirushi NP-HBC18 that my parents use does not seem to have this layer. There are at least two times that the pressure is released from the rice cooker while cooking that can definitely be noticed but it is not bothersome. I've kept rice warm for 48 hours and there's very little color or texture change. This might be a reflection on the quality of the rice but I think it also speaks about the rice cooker's keep warm function. All in all, this rice cooker makes rice that tastes better than a non-pressurized rice cooker, but the evenness of the cooking doesn't seem to be as good as an IH one and at around half the price of the IH one, and less than double the price of the non-pressurized rice cookers, I think it offers a pretty good $:Taste improvement ratio.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Versatile and great performer

By wen Verified Reviewer from Palo Alto, CA, USA on 12/11/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Cons:

Pricey

Describe Yourself:

Tech Savvy, Gearhead, Professional

Pros:

Versatile, Easy To Configure, Make Rice Stickier, Consistent Performance

Best Uses:

At Home

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been owning a Sanyo pressure control rice cooker for almost ten years until it was broken by improper use. (My in laws used it to cook porridge with regular rice program, everything spilled out and the circuit was shortcut). After that, I used a Sharp cooker. However, it could not cook brown rice which we often do. The broken one was bought from Japan and I couldn't find one here in the US. Finally, I found this one here. After several uses, I would like to recommend it to everyone who cooks rice seriously. It has so many features such as: 24 hour timer, different finish texture, slow cooker, steamer etc. I compared the rice cooked by both Sharp and this model, the difference shows when you open the lid with your eyes closed. The white rice is sweeter, brown rice is softer. That is exactly what I want. The design of the product is very good too. The inner lid is easy to take out for cleaning. My previous Sanyo one was not easy to clean. The cons: It is pricey. However, if you use it everyday and enjoy the high quality rice from it, you won't be sorry to pay that price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fabulous Rice Cooker!

By Sachi Verified Purchaser from Redwood City, CA on 09/30/2007


Primary use of this product:

Personal

Describe Yourself:

Practical

Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Upgrade, Replacement

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's easy to use including setting up the timer. It has three texture selections which I really like. I can cook tasty brown rice as well as white/haiga rice. I would highly recommend this to everyone who loves rice meal.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved