Home » SDPX2 » 13 Reviews

Sharp Sd-px2 1-bit Digital Amplifier Flat Panel Home Theater Receiver With Dvd /ea (sharp Sdpx2) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Clear Sound (6), Interfaces Well With Tv (5), Easy To Setup (5), Intuitive Controls (4), Thundering Bass (3), Easy To Set Up (5)

Best Uses:

Movies (5), Smaller Rooms (5), Surround Sound Solution (6), Living Room (3), Television Shows (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great Performance for the Price

By Northwest John Verified Purchaser from Snohomish, WA on 03/23/2007


Pros:

Interfaces Well With Tv, Easy To Setup, Intuitive Controls, Clear Sound, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Surround Sound Solution, Living Room, Movies, Television Shows, Smaller Rooms

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am very happy with this product [...]. I have only connected it to the audio outputs of a TV system and have not tried out the DVD player except to play audio CDs, but it is the right size, delivers pleasing performance, and is inexpensively priced. My personal experience with several categories of Sharp products is that they are technically innovative but less reliable than most, but so far this unit is flawless. The styling is a bit unconventional (not at all unattractive but not a beauty) and you need to exercise more care than would be the case with a player with a horizontal tray not to put fingerprints (if you care) on the underside of the disc, but so far I am glad I bought this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great looks Better performance

By music1960stopped Verified Purchaser from Waterville, VT on 03/14/2007


Pros:

Clear Sound, Easy To Setup, Fits In Small Space, Thundering Bass, Intuitive Controls, Interfaces Well With Tv, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Smaller Rooms, Surround Sound Solution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Even I, a sixty something grandmother, had no problem setting it up even with the addition of the Sharp Sp-SD10 speaker system. THe picture is superb and the sound is like having The Band, J.J. Cale, Leon Russell, Jerry Garcia, etc. sitting in my living room playing it just for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

small but powerful

By madball Verified Purchaser from norwalk, ca on 03/05/2007


Cons:

No Audio Output

Pros:

Clear Sound

Best Uses:

Movies, Smaller Rooms, Surround Sound Solution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the product has received many good comments since i bought it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good system but not perfect

By SpaceShaver Verified Purchaser from Orange County, CA on 02/27/2007


Cons:

Heavy By Todays Standards, A Bit Bulky Design, Unattractive Design

Pros:

Interfaces Well With Tv, Clear Sound, Easy To Setup, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Movies, Surround Sound Solution, Living Room, Television Shows, Smaller Rooms, Larger Rooms

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I agree with all the pros mentioned here in other reviews. I would like to add that this is currently the only upright DVD player model in the American market. The only con that I would add is that it is a bit bulky and heavy for the features by today's standards. In other words do not expect the thin sleek and light design you may be used to with this model. Overall I would suggest this to anyone who wants to save space. If not then there are certainly better players particularly with the age of HD/BluRay dawning on us.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This an up to date piece of equpment!

By \stuck on stupid from Louisisan, Katria Verified Purchaser from Baton Rouge, La. on 02/27/2007


Pros:

Thundering Bass, Interfaces Well With Tv, Intuitive Controls, Clear Sound, Easy To Setup, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Smaller Rooms, Movies, Television Shows, Surround Sound Solution

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I speak with 50 years of TV Broadcast Engineering experience on both the transmitting and receiving tv business. Retired at last and now doing non technical wood working stuff. I know when I see and buy a good piece of equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BIG Bang for little bucks!!

By FLCopierTech Verified Purchaser from North Port, FL on 02/12/2007


Pros:

Intuitive Controls, Clear Sound, Thundering Bass, Interfaces Well With Tv, Easy To Setup, Easy To Set Up

Best Uses:

Living Room, Television Shows, Surround Sound Solution, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to set up. Sounds great even with low end speakers. No coax input into unit. Had to use TV out put with RCA cables. Still not a big deal and it looks so cool on the wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I bought this unit ...

By Shaun S Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 10/13/2006

I bought this unit primarily as a space saving measure for my one bedroom apartment. Its small footprint is a big advantage for me. You might consider it underpowered at only 35W/ch, but it's more than enough to drive the set of small satellite speakers I have and the subwoofer pre-amp output allows me to use my powered subwoofer too (i.e., I would disturb my neighbors if I used maximum volume). The unit's three(3) inputs (TV + VCR + a nice AUX input that will accept either a coaxial digital *or* an optical digital feed) are barely sufficient for my needs (i.e., a second AUX input for a total of four(4) would've been ideal), so think carefully about how many things you'd want to plug in to this unit. Although the Dolby Pro Logic decoder works great on all the inputs to create simlulated 5.1 from 2.1 feeds, the Dolby Digital 5.1 decoder and DTS decoders only work when you're using the progressive scan DVD player built into the unit. However, the DD 5.1 and DTS sound produced when using a compatible DVD in the built-in player are truly outstanding when played back on a decent 5.1 speaker set. The remote control that comes with the unit is plenty functional, but I think most people will find it very annoying to use at first because so many of the buttons are poorly laid out. The DVD control buttons are almost completely screwed up relative to a normal layout ... and there is a Mode1/Mode2 switch which changes the function of almost all the buttons and you'll find yourself in the wrong mode frequently when you're starting out ... and to complicate matters the remote doesn't light up, so when you are trying to read the buttons, which will be frequently, you'll have to be in a well lit area or have a small flashlight. Bottom Line : The remote is the only thing I can really ding the unit for, but like someone learning to use an unfamiliar controller on a new game system, you'll catch on quick, particularly during day-to-day use after the initial setup of the unit is complete.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I am very pleased with ...

By ROBERT G Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/02/2006

I am very pleased with the product I ordered. It works as advertised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I've had it for about 2 ...

By Stephen W Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 06/15/2006

I've had it for about 2 weeks and so far, so good. It was easy to setup. Looks great. Sounds and operates great. Very happy with my decision.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"A cool little unit. ...

By John B Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 04/04/2006

A cool little unit. Sounds great with my Cambridge Soundworks 3-piece speaker system. Great for a bedroom. Plenty of power, great sound, and it looks cool. The remote is complicated and hard to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Ok, I'm really not using ...

By nyc_geek Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/13/2006

Ok, I'm really not using this as intended. It is only being used to play CD's in the kids room through Dad's beloved Magnapan MiniMag speakers. Why, you might ask, are 15 month old twins listening to Stan Getz and Gilberto (their favorite) on planar speakers? Because they don't fit and any other room in the apartment and Dad won't get rid of them (the speakers, not the kids!!!!) So this is really an acid test of the 1 bit output amps. And I can say that, for the money, I'm impressed. I'm only listening in stereo but the sound is very even and clean. They drive the Magnapans nicely. I don't listen to any bass heavy hip hop, trance etc but for classical, jazz, acoustic music the Sharp sounds pretty darn good. It won't win over any audiophiles. I do notice the sound is not a open and transparent as a seperate reference amplifier but I only know that because that's what this is replacing. I don't want the kids getting zapped or tangled in all the wiring of seperate component system, so this is great. I'll mount it on the wall soon, up out of reach, and conceal the power and speaker wires. Problem solved with good sound to boot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Pros: Hand flat on the ...

By Lance D Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 12/27/2005

Pros: Hand flat on the wall,Perfertly math with my Aqua LCD Con: No progressive scan and not play photo CD. That is only Theather in the box to math the flat tv if the want to hang it on the wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I selected this product ...

By MARK H Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 01/23/2005

I selected this product for 2 reasons: it matched the Sharp Aquos 32" LCD TV it would be used with as far as style and it is a small, self-contained unit. I have a limited amount of space in which to put a number of components, including a HD satellite receiver with Tivo; the vertical aspect of the Sharp receiver fit in nicely. It can be wall mounted, which I did not require, but which would look great with a wall mounted LCD or plasma. Upon receiving and unpacking the unit, I was pleased with the appearance, fit and finish: it looks good, and is very substantial with no flimsy feel at all. Connections are simple, nothing too complicated. As you might expect for a receiver in this price range, it has spring clips for the speaker connections rather than binding posts. Because of the unit's small size, everything is close together, but the layout seems well thought out and I experienced no difficulties. The amp power output is adequate for my listening/viewing room, which is 13' x 35', but a very acoustically "live" room with brick floors and lots of glass. Obviously, at a rated 35 watts per channel, you won't blow the walls down, but there's plenty of volume. I do not notice any distortion even at full volume, which of course I tried just to see how loud it would get. I do wish the receiver had HDMI in/out, but at this price point that's probably wishful thinking. The vertically mounted DVD unit presents some loading/unloading problems, because there's just not much room, but once you get the hang of it, it's a good trade-off for the space savings. All in all, I'm satisfied I made a good decision based on my needs; if you have no limitations on space, want or need more amplifier power, there are better choices.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved