Home » Communications » Phones » Cellular Phones » 12732352 » 11 Reviews

Sony Mobile 1273-2352 Xperia Zl Lte C6506 Red 5in Hd Syst Qc 16gb Msd 13mp Nfc Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)

88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Comparison to Xperia Ion my previous phone

By markeemark from Webster, NY on 09/13/2013

Upgraded to the Xperia ZL from a Xperia Ion which was my first Sony phone. The Xperia ZL is quad core and has a larger full HD display compared to the dual core 720p Xperia Ion. So far I'm very happy with this phone. The display is gorgeous and the phone is extremely fast. Initially the phone was draining the battery even when plugged in but that day coincidently I received a software update (10.31.A.0.244). Since then the phone has been even better with battery use than the Xperia Ion. The Xperia NFC tags I used with the Xperia Ion I was able to reuse with the Xperia ZL which offers more configuration options. My only complaint is the difficulty with viewing the LCD display in sunlight. Overall I am very happy with this phone and don't see myself upgrading for a couple years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST PURCHASE EVER

By Nlitterer from Calgary, AB on 09/05/2013

This phone is terrible


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great phone and a great size

By Xevin from Bay Area, CA on 07/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I picked up the red Xperia ZL and I must say the device looks fantastic. I love the metallic, red back. -Screen size is excellent, yet the device is barely bigger than most 4.5" devices. This is a huge plus over the Xperia Z which is noticably longer. -Phone runs very smoothly. -Battery life easily gets through the day even with LTE+playing games+moderate usage. -Camera takes great pictures and focuses very quickly. -IR blaster+remote control app is very easy to setup and use. I've used it to control 2 different TVs, definitely a great feature. -Power button design makes it very, very easy to distinguish from volume/camera buttons, which is great. Having the power button on the side with the microsd/sim card door on the bottom makes a lot of sense. The only real con I have so far is that I had to manually setup T-mobile's APN settings in order to be able to properly send MMS messages. The defaults worked fine for data, but not sending MMS. Not a big deal though. Very happy with the device overall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome Device

By TwiztidJackel from Wheaton, IL on 06/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought the ZL to replace a Nexus 4 that had abysmal battery life, and have absolutely fallen in love with it. This easily gets me through the day with close to 50% battery left after quite a bit of Google+ reading, a few hours on the phone, and a few emails, while the N4 needed a recharge by 1pm. The screen is beautiful, but the screen protector that is applied in the factory scratches easily, so beware. I don't notice the washout in the schrren that reviewers were complaining about, nor is the speaker quiet, it's much louder then the N4 was. I will say I'm disappointed that the OS is still on 4.1.2, but that comes from owning nexus devices since the S came out. I don't miss the Nexus at all, and I love that very little junk is pre-installed on this, as well as how Sony really doesn't tweak stock android by much, leaving the Xperia UI very similar to the original stock UI, with minor changes. Overall, I would really recommend this device to anyone who wants a big screen, but doesn't want a big phone, just make sure you put a screen protector over the factory one (Don't Worry, it doesn't wind up looking cheap or detracting from the screen's sensitivity). The ZL even has a few window apps similar to the Galaxy Note devices!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great phone but needs improvements

By Lizto from MD, USA on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I own sony laptop, desktop, speakers, tv and many more electronics. Now, this phone is a mix bag. The good: Works great with ATT LTE network, has all kinds of nice features such as remote contro IR, Walkman, Radio, big screet with small footprint. It comes with a nice back up and restore software unlike most android phones. The bad: Battery runs out quick, can't last a whole day with avarage use, color whashes out when viewed from angles, it is not an LED screen thought it is nice HD resolution. It does heat up, as much as other phones. The ugly: it comes with too much useless software, it has a very flimsy "back door hatch" for the SIM card and SD card compartment. The placement of the front-facing camera is odd. The volume is weak except with blu tooth adapters. I recommend the phone for all the nice features but not for the price and type of screen.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless

By LeoSilva from Brazil on 05/21/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This phone is great, camera, video, apps, music. But this time Sony has made a poor investment in its wireless receiver. I always thought of Sony as a superior industry but in this case I was worng. How come an Ipod generation 4 has more wireless reception than this new Xperia? My wife bought a D3 which is way cheaper and yet has a more functional wireless antena than the one of the Xperia. I am taking it back to the store for a technical review or even a device change.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not quite worth the price

By SF728 from San Jose, CA on 05/09/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Overall a good phone considering all of the features, though overpriced. For all the hype, the screen's viewing angles are poor"the screen is best viewed directly. Blacks seem washed out. Not exactly what one would hope for from a $700+ phone. Considering returning this phone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Perfect

By memo from Tucson, AZ on 04/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I originally ordered an international Z but due to a bad experience with the network, I returned it. After noticing the LZ would come to america with LTE, I started to research it and it began to grow on me. In the end glad I went with the LZ. Like the Z it has a monolithic classy front but this version is very compact which is impressive given the huge five inch display. In the hand it feels like a Samsung galaxy 3 which has a much smaller screen so again impressive. The camera is located in the bottom left hand corner. The location neither improves or degrades video angles. If anything it just makes the phone look cooler. The notification light is also one of my favorite things about the phone. It has a sharp led light design at the bottom middle. It is so bright and viewable from all angles I can even see it when my phone's wallet case is closed. Nice touch. The light is not overbearing either which is great. Not sure why the Z didn't get these neat aesthetic features but they are great. The notification light lights up different colors for different notifications and it also turns on when viewing pictures and changes color based on the overall color the picture. Purely aesthetic beauty and I love it. Some more practical people might care less. The screen is super sharp but does suffer in viewing angles. Which is totally fine with me anyway since I don't like people seeing whats on my screen anyway. The only phone I would say has a superior screen is the HTC One. Even this Sony fanboy can't deny that. Where this screen does shine is VIDEO. WOW it's made for video. Pictures are beautiful to see on this screen too. Definitely a multimedia phone. The back is another story. While the plastic does not look cheap, it's ribbed with soft rubber and feels great in the hand, it does lose the aesthetic factor and starts to look like a typical smartphone I really wish they would have made the back flat and glass like the Z. Not sure why they went this route but since it's either in my wallet case or protective case, the back never sees the light of day anyway so no big deal for me. I'm glad they decided to include the small aluminum power button on the side like the Z though. It makes the phone pop with classiness. As far as the software goes, like my old Xperia S, it's very similar with a light skin added by sony which I love. It's minimalist and classy looking and my opinion, once you get used to it very intuitive. The walkman music player is the best app in the market in my opinion. It looks beautiful with equalizer and the notification light also lights up and changes color based on color album art. The video app is need too. A + on Sony's multimedia apps. It's also powerful with minimal lag. The Camera is definitely a plus on this phone. Pictures are clear and it includes many more feature options over it's predecessor. This camera can easily replace a point and shoot camera. Of course, this is not a high end smart phone without the LTE. Another huge plus over it's "big" brother the Z. While the Z is LTE outside the US, it has been confirmed it will NOT be LTE in the states. To have such a beautiful screen for video, it would be a huge minus with no LTE. After testing it out, it blows away HT+ without a doubt. Average speed is about 30mb. This of course if your area has LTE service. At first I thought I could live without it, now I can't. The phone does come with a remote control sensor for tv's and its super simple to program but they flubbed this one.... they put it in the side. So if you buy a protective case or in my case, a wallet cover, it covers the sensor! So you have to take phone out to use it. They could have easily put the sensor at the earphone jack which is at the top of the phone and avoided the problem. Also, it's not intuitive to use as a remote control if you have to hold it sideways. Big flub Sony. Finally, Phone quality experience is the best I have ever had on a smart phone. The Z has awful call quality and speaker quality. This is probably due to the fact that it is waterproof and they would probably have extra filters to protect the phone. If I have the option, I would rather have good call quality and speakers. I Mean it is a phone after all. Sony has even included software to tweak the sound quality of phone calls! Impressive feature no one probably knows about. Comparisons with my wifes samsung galaxy 3 and brother's Iphone 5 also confirmed the superior call quality. The only thing that would make this phone perfect for me would be is if it was as thin as the Z and it had the glass back like the Z. Otherwise, this phone is superior to the Z. In the end, I am super happy with my decision and very happy with this phone. I have to admit, it is very expensive but if you want high end, this is high end.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great phone

By crazychef from Undisclosed on 03/22/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Oh wait I would write a review for this phone or or the Xperia Z if it where available for purchase here in the United State from sony. By the looks of things sony doesn't care about the united states market when it comes to cell phones. Because the whole world already has these phones except for the americas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By Argen88 from Ecuador on 03/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

the best of sony..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ZL review

By Defiantbeast from Philadephia, PA USA on 03/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was fortunate enough to get my hands on a final release Black Sony Xperia ZL from a very reliable source. This phone is expected to be released around the middle to end of March. This is the unlocked C6506 model of the ZL which comes with UMTS HSPA+ 850 (Band V), 900 (Band VIII), 1700 (Band IV), 1900 (Band II), 2100 (Band I) GSM GPRS/EDGE 850, 900, 1800, 1900 LTE Band I, Band II, Band IV, Band V and Band XVII. For those of you who are not sure what that means this is a penta band phone that will work with Tmobile and AT&T HSPA + network as well as AT&T's LTE and Tmobile's soon to be released LTE network. I am currently using it on Tmobile but i have also tested it with AT&T. This phone has the exact same specs as the Xperia Z minus the dust and waterproofing. However what you lose in extra protection gains you a very compact phone. It is actually smaller than the Galaxy S III as far as length and width are concerned, it is slightly thicker but not by much. The back casing is made of a poly plastic with a durable textured back that actually gives you a better grip over a 5" screen that was made to be used one handed. The screen is bright and crisp and the viewing angles are great if your one of those people that look at your phone dead on (Why people want a phone that can be seen by the person sitting next to you is beyond me). I will take some pics comparing it with the Galaxy S III as well as the Xperia TX. But the screen is amazing and watching the walking dead on it has been a joy. Battery life has been pretty decent. Im averaging about 13-14 hours of light to moderate use and 6-8 hours of heavy use witch include browsing the net, youtube, facebooking and watching movies. Mind you i have done all this without using stamina mode. i wanted to see what my results where without it so that i then have something to compare it against. i will report back. The Ui is pretty slick it has some neat animations but its not heavily tweaked like sense 4.0 or cartoony like Touch Wiz. there is nothing about this phone that has lag or stutter in anyway. It is FAST, and ive attempted to bog it down opening and closing apps as well as switching between apps with not so much as a problem. Another nice touch which had me thrilled was that i was able to download all of my old Nvidia Tegra games that i purchased back when i was using the G2X (im really enjoying gaming on this phone GTA3 and Vice city play great as well as 9MM, Order and Chaos, The Dark Knight, Spiderman, Backstab, Max Payne, Dead Trigger, Dead Space, Vector and Angry Birds). Music sounds excellent provided you have decent headphones and the speaker on this thing is pretty loud.loud enough to allow me to have conversations on speaker while driving around town. Things im not crazy about...Im not digging the fact that the background has switched from black to white in the stock messaging app as well as contacts but thats just personal taste. Also the lock screen requires you to do a full swipe up and down with this neat little window blind effect but its annoying at times because it really does require you to go from top to bottom and vice versa for it to unlock the screen. The camera takes great shots but i feel that the burst shot should really have its own button rather than me having to go looking for it in the menu or perhaps do like HTC has and register that fact that i haven't taken my finger off the shutter. Especially considering it that theres unused space in the left hand menu options that would make for a good place to put a burst shot button.The notification area has the easy access settings buttons vibration, blue-tooth, wi-fi, data connections and settings, but they are not customizable at all and that reallys drags away from their purpose in my opinion as it should be up to the user to set. the placement of the front facing camera while interesting does mean that if your a right handed user you may be holding it with your left hand or looking at the person your chating with sideways because your palm may get in the way. None of this is deal breaking just my personal take. If any one has questions or request ill try to accommodate so ask away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved