Home » Communications » Phones » Cellular Phones » 12900538 » 16 Reviews

Sony Mobile Xperia Z3 Compact D5803 Smartphone - Wireless Lan - 4g - Bar - Black - Sim-free - Sms [short Message Service], Mms [multi-media Messaging Service], Email, Instant Messaging - (1290-0538) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)

62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Great phone, breaks easily

By CanuckRS from Vancouver BC on 07/08/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best phones out there in a compact size if not THE best. Fast, excellent specs, great camera, i love this phone. A few weeks after receiving the phone i put it down on my desk (didn't drop it or even close to that) and the back glass shattered. I had to replace it myself because sony will not help out at all. I would recommend the phone but not until they do something about the fragile glass which breaks with minimal usage. Unacceptable imo.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not made to last

By Astrid89 from Undisclosed on 06/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My boyfriend and I both got this phone back in October. A few weeks later the back of my boyfriend's phone shattered. A few weeks after that the screen in front cracked so he can't use the top of the screen anymore. Mine was fine until today when I was reading something and all of a sudden the screen started dimming and went completely black. I thought the phone had died but turns out my screen now just shuts off at random times or changes color. Very disappointed in the quality of the phone...would have expected more from Sony.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would purchase it again.

By Fredv from Qubec H2V, Canada on 06/05/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i usually root and install pure AOSP version of android on my phones but I don't feel the need to do it on this device. with Google Now launcher the sony theme is almost absent. never thinking about battery life is amazing. I have a hard time going to bed with less than 50% left. i'm considering buying a backup just in case this model gets discontinued.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best phone I have ever had.

By Josh22 from Toronto, ON, Canada on 06/03/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This phone is excellent. It takes great pictures. It is a fast phone. Compact size, fits in my pocket. Unlocked is great as I change sims when I travel. It charges in the cradle and the battery lasts a long time because the screen isnt so big. I love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

perfect once lollipop&updates applied

By jeffypooh from Kelowna, BC, Canada on 05/17/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great build quality and I have the magnetic dock which is handy. Phone is reliable. Picture quality is very good. Had issues with dialer sensitivity... Updates fixed it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

be careful

By imnotimpressed from Montreal, QC, Canada on 05/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Ive always been a Sony guy. Everything i use, TV, speakers, the first phone and PC of my life is Sony. I would only buy Sony out of all Android phones, but Z3C let me down big time Z3C is a tremendously beautiful and powerful device, but the waterproof capability they claimed for this phone is a lie. I am the most OCD guy when it comes to my electronics. I purchased this phone right after it came out, along with a case, screen protector and a magnetic charging cable to avoid opening the flaps all the time so it won't get loose. I wash my phone about once a week. Before i wash my phone I always check if the flaps are tightly closed, and i would just let water run through the surface... but water still got in anyway. At first, the screen brightness would go super bright for no reason, after a while the screen would just stop working. The IP65 and IP68 claim is a lie. water going through the phone is far from 1.5m. I sent the phone back and they said they couldnt fix it and the warranty doesn't cover that... that was like the biggest insult, because i know that i take extremely good care of all my electronics and that it wasn't my fault the water got in... My phone was flawed. now i have to use my old second phone HTC HD7 which is more than 4 years old now. And theres no way that I'm getting a non-Sony Android or an Apple. Im so disappointed in Sony's quality and customer service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stick to a well-known brand

By gabbog from Canada on 04/15/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The good: very long battery life. Fast processor, with Kit Kat. The bad: Poor call quality, especially with noise cancellation on. Poor camera quality in any mode. Does not focus in video mode. Pictures are not sharp either. Bluetooth voice command does not work unless the phone is on a flat surface, facing up ONLY. Any other phone position will lead to an impossibility to issue any voice dial command to the phone: basically rendering Bluetooth useless. This happens even if the headset is right next to the phone. The touch screen can be jittery and exhibit bounce-back. You will need to get used to it. It is not as easy-use as other phones.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love it

By Adrianbud from Canada on 03/29/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love this compact version of xperia z3, it fits great in my hand and the waight seems perfectly balanced, the battery life is amazing and its super fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cracked Screen

By CanuckRS7 from Canada on 01/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this phone a few weeks back and i love it except that the screen cracked for no reason. I didn't drop it or do anything odd to cause it. All of a sudden i feel this line along the back of the screen and it looks like a big scratch, but no, it's cracked top to bottom. Don't buy unless you are able to fix. Good phone otherwise but i wouldn't buy again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Screen cracks without a reason

By danyal from m1m3r7 on 01/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i used this phone for less than three weeks and one day the screen just cracks without any reason. turns out, these phones have this problem and its happened to many people. I send the phone to sony and I was charged $120 to get it fixed. spend hours speaking with different people at sony but they refused to admit its a phone defect and said that I either had to pay or they couldn't do anything about it. not happy with this phone. examples of what im talking about: 1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UiyJXrkNBK8 2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9DuXZ3Q6O8


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nice phone

By yo87 from Undisclosed on 12/30/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was hoping to see built-in infrared in z3 but not.I was not happy about that part but it still cute phone to have


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic Little Phone

By OrionTheBarbarian from Ottawa, ON, Canada on 12/13/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It's an elegant little device with flagship specs. This means it feels very "zippy" when you're doing stuff with it. I owned a Nexus 5 prior to this, so I'm used to phones that feel fast to use. The battery easily lasts 2 days with moderate use. The display is only 1280x720, but you won't notice that unless you're looking at it from an uncomfortably close distance. This is an unlikely usage scenario for most people who buy this phone. It feels classy and grippy to the touch, thanks to all the glass. It's pretty to look at in-person; it just feels well thought-out. I can easily live with this phone for the next 2 or 3 years, with the Nexus 5 as my back-up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Until

By xDEATH4 from Canada on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

When I bought it, I was so excited, it had everything I needed. Great audio, screen was bright and clear, MicroSD expansion, Fast, decent memory and overall not to expansive. I've always though of Sony as a company that makes quality products but for the first time, I'm having doubts. I've owned my phone for like a month or two and the 3.5mm started breaking down, audio isn't clear makes weird noises when I turn my 3.5mm pin... so I've come to the conclusion that it is broke. I'm not sure if I'm even covered in warranty but it just sucks that a feature so necessary for me, just died. Now I'm like stuck carrying an iPOD all the time with the phone... the usefulness of a phone is it can do everything so you don't have to carry so much, I was hopping with all that dust and water resistant, it would be longer lasting.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

the best!

By AA69 from Ottawa, On on 11/23/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had many xperia devices and other smartphone brands but none compares to this. I have not faced any problems with it. Have had it since middle of October. Super fast, great looking and battery is just fantastic!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really good phone, many annoying details

By Morphlin from Undisclosed on 11/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pretty decent phone. Love the performance. The software is not so good, too bad unlocking boot-loader voids warranty, many don't buy because of that. Sony Apps update using a Software Update app instead of Play Store, which is not cool. Many apps are not removable, but thankfully most can be disabled. The orange color is nice but in a dark setting it looks pink which I really don't like. REALLY GOOD NFC READER. My micro tag is read from a distance as much as 1 inch! That's like twice as much as typical NFC reader. Camera is fine. Focus issues but when focused pictures are really nice. The glass is not Gorilla Glass so be careful. CONNECTOR FLAPS ARE NOT SUPER TIGHT. MIGHT LET WATER IN. Did the test with the pressure sensor and it was not great. DOESNT COME WITH EARPHONES OR MAGNETIC CABLE AT THIS PRICE?! DOESNT HAVE A INFRARED EMITER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Probably the best price/perf phone in 2014

By Z3COwner from Canada on 11/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pre-ordered the Z3C when it first available in late October, and I just got it from Sony.ca yesterday. Mine is a black one, looks cool. It is thin, but "thick" enough to hold in my hand comfortably. It is not the lightest, but I won't complain because of the super long life battery. Not new under xperia, water resistance is all phones should have, but some don't seem to get it. Camera is good, but the front face camera can be improved in low light condition. Connectivity is robust, so easy to connect to tv, pc. Finally, the price is reasonable for this elegant piece of loaded hardware.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved