Home » Video » Security » Video Surveillance Systems » SWDVK830004 » 12 Reviews

Swann SWDVK-830004 8ch Dvr8 3000 D1 Plus 4cameras Perp Pro-530 Cam Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 12 reviews)

83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Freezing

By Tony4115 from Oceanside, CA, USA on 12/02/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Product works amazing, tech support over the phone is very helpful. Every now and then, the product freezes. When it does, it stops doing it's job, but also kills the live feed that we can observe from out personal devices. Why? I have no idea. The only way to make the product unfrozen is to turn it Off, and back On again. The camera views return to Live feeds and we are able to access them from our personal devices. It just sucks that the entire system shuts down when this machine freezes. I wish I knew why the product will freeze occationally. I really wish someone out there who understands this and can help me can contact me and hlep me sovle ths problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORKS WELL

By CAMERA1 from Victoria, Australia on 08/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

ALL GOOD EASY HOOK UP AND WORKING WELL. FIRMWARE UPGRADES ARENT THERE FOR THIS PRODUCT UNDER DOWNLOADS. AS SAID IN ANOTHER REVIEW THE FAN IS TOO NOISY AND HAS NO SPEED CONTROL JUST RUNS FLAT OUT PUMPING UN-NECSSARY DUST INTO THE UNIT COULD DO WITH A FILTER.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best system, best features

By InstallerTech from Greater Los Angeles, CA, USA on 05/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am an installer of various surveillance systems at a Big Box store in Southern California. This particular model is by far our most popular system for several reasons. For one, the relative value in the quality of both the cameras and the DVR is superior. Swann offers everything you need in one box for 90% of installations, but occassionally some extensions for distant cameras are needed. The cameras are easy to mount, cameras are non-obtrusive, wires are easy to conceal and the DVR looks attractive. Typical easy installation involves locating the system near your internet router and TV or monitor. Wires can be ran into and up walls through the attic or crawlspace and out to the desired location along the perimeter of the house at the eaves. This method is best to prevent the wires from being accidentally cut, chewed by animals or vandalized. Power is provided by the DVR so you need not have electricity near the camera location. To view the cameras with a computer monitor on the local network, it's as simple as running a CD and installing a program on each computer. Just click the icon on the desktop and your cameras are viewable in real-time, right on the laptop or desktop (mac or PC) Mobile viewing may be a little trickier to set up but well worth it. With a little patience, reading the instructions thoroughly and referring the tutorial videos online the average person should be able to tackle it. However, if not, Swann offers AMAZING online tech support via chat window or via phone during regular business hours. This has been helpful in some situations where the local network is more complicated that just a modem and router. The most difficult step in the mobile viewing process is the modification of some settings in your router which isn't always straight forward. In the event of a power outtage the system does not function. One thing most people aren't aware of is you can prevent this. To do so, the system can be plugged into a battery backup. For online viewing, the modem and router should be on a battery backup as well. This will assure that your home and valuables are protected even during an outage. Overall, this product is very good quality. I have seen one defective camera among hundreds and it was replaced for the customer without any problem. I always highly recommend Swann products to our customers and am a firm believer that their product is superior to the competition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swann DVR-8-3000 TruBlue 8-Channel DVR

By ddmorgan from Washington, USA on 05/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Less than 6 months and the hard drive goes out. Poorly made product. I will never recommend a Swann product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Super easy setup

By SamM from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, UK on 04/13/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Super easy to setup the cameras and get the unit connected to the home internet to send email alerts. The instructions are written in English, not some translated words you cant understand, and there are ample images to guide you through the menus. Only downside is that the on-screen keyboard is a pain to use with the remote, something that might be adjusted in a firmware update, but you only need to access it for setup, not regularly. Now just the "fun" of wiring it in around the house, but as I found, the boxing around the downpipe does actually have a use for easing wires from loft to ground floor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding!!!

By cafa79 from Maspeth, NY on 02/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a follow up from my previous review. Costumer Services is amazing. Bad cable was replace, not a question, no returns, just show up. Thanks. Getting the network set up is a real challanged for a regular been, but you just need to call them. They are open 24/7. As soon as you allow them to get access through your computer and network, some modem and routers passwords info, and all done. Got access from Home and Ipads. I did not ask what they did, but sometimes there is no time for that, works and thats what matters. In top of that, they provided a code, in case you have another problem, then, they can start from the work done before, as a reference. Thinking to start getting another kit for home and upgrade with more cameras and PTZs the business one. My wife love it!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

costumer service

By angel from Miami, FL, USA on 01/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

i dnot buy nothing from swan, i buy devices from defender sentinel,but i want say costumer service swan is the best,they help me so much,defender sentinel costumer service is very bad


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

High quality and easy to install!

By Coco from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 01/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was very surprised to see how easy it was to install this system. It's literally plug and play to get the camera's working. I have not yet tried to setup online viewing but I'll post another update after I have time to do it. The picture quality on the four included cameras is awesome in daytime and with the night vision. I totally recommend this system to anyone looking for an affordable and high quality video surveillance system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good so far...!!!

By cafa79 from Maspeth, NY, USA on 01/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Just got it for a restaurant. Simple to use and install. One cable came bad from factory. I will call them for an exchange. I heard customer service is the best. The obvius things to do are running the wires to every camera location, but check all connections and cameras before you start. Next step, networking. Will see.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent DVR & Cameras

By HawtDogFlvrWtr from Partlow, VA 23015, USA on 12/11/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this at bestbuy last week for $549. They were selling it for 649 but let us price match with frys.com. Also, Fry's had a $50 mail-in-rebate on the product that I was able to use also because it was a swann rebate. all in all, this product rocks.. the quality is outstanding even at night. when they say 65 feet in the dark, they mean it. The 60' cables are high quality which makes the picture just that much better. Must Buy!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Camera-DVR Combo Kit

By JC305 from Miami, FL, USA on 10/10/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this 8 channel DVR with the intentions of buying more cameras. The cameras that come in the package are great for daylight & very good in night vision mode. I am very happy with this combo kit and it is very easy to install if you are handy. Setting it up to see it on the internet was a little difficut but it was nothing that the swann techs could not help with. Swann's customer service was very helpful. Swannview app works great and it is easy to set up on the iphone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent complete package

By Houstonian from Houston, TX, USA on 09/19/2012


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great DVR with 1-TB storage, 8 phenomenal cameras with excellent night vision, audio, great color and over the internet viewing capability. Live in Houston where weather is hot and humid no problems so far with external conditions. Overall good features and complete package - excellent value for money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved