Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Shredders » SWI1757572 » 15 Reviews

Swingline Stack-and-shred Automatic Shredder - Cross Cut - 60 Per Pass - 4 Gal Waste Capacity (SWI1757572) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 15 reviews)

20% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Broke after 2 months

By RRJA from Prince George, VA, USA on 12/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased three of these two of the three have stopped feeding the paper into the machine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not function as advertised

By Disappointed7878 from Minnesota on 03/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It will not run automatically. The cover is bowed and the machine only activates if I push down moderately hard on the cover.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Occasional Shredder

By Wicked820 from McBride, BC, Canada on 11/07/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you only need to shred 1 sheet of paper once a week, then this shredder is good enough. I bought it for the stack 'n shred feature and it's extremely slow and doesn't like anything thicker than 20# paper or anything folded. The manual feed is quicker than the stack 'n shred but will only take up to 3 sheets of paper, 2 if thicker at a time. The basket seems to fill up at the back quickly and tends to leave bits of paper behind and underneath it once you empty it, so you have to shake them out or use a broom. I wish I would have done some research before buying this, but Swingline is a good name and went with the one I could afford. I may be selling it to a friend and buying a better one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of money

By RGTTAX from Toronto, ON, Canada on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As oultined by others, this machine can barely handle 3 pages at a time. The autofeeder stopped working shortly after I bought it. You must press on the bar and hold it to shred a sheet of paper. I should have bought a better pair of scissors instead of this machine. It is totally unfit for the purpose.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY!!

By ReMa from Oklahoma City, OK, USA on 09/13/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just wish I had read the reviews first----this shredder is a waste of money!! Unless you just want to feed it 1 paper at a time, it refuses to work. I had hoped to find some suggestions on this site as to how to make the feeder work but looks like everyone else has the same problem-----and now to go to the store and buy another shredder!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't stack and shred

By CathyP from Kenora, ON on 09/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

No matter how many times I've tried, I can't get the stack and shred feature to work - the reason I chose this shredder. Must feed all papers in 5 at a time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save you money

By Pat01 from Nj on 08/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This machine overheats before it shreds anywhere near 60 sheets. The auto feed does not always catch. I haven't figured out the trick to get it to work consistently. It is extremely slow when it does work correctly. The manual feed on top jams if you feed more than 3 sheets. The collection bin only fills up on one side before it automatically shuts off. It does a very poor job on credit cards. I would have returned this unit if I saved the receipt.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

shredder works better than other shredders

By cybercroke from Brooklyn, NY, USA on 08/16/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this product can shred 60 sheets at a time which is better than most of the other shredders available for home use. It is not very big and is worth the price. When it gets hot the red light comes on and it automatically continues shredding when it cools down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overheats easily, auto feed doesn't work

By Sherry from Louisville, KY, USA on 07/28/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Good thing I got this on sale. It gets hot at the drop of a hat, and then shuts off for a long long time. The auto stack/shredder no longer works. It is LOUD. Has to be emptied every few minutes. I would not recommend paying full price for this!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Always Too Hot?

By Annoyed from Boston, MA, USA on 07/22/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

For some reason, the machine is always saying it is too hot, and will not shred any longer. I can't see why it is too hot -- I unplug it, leave it for hours, and immediately when I plug it back in it states it is too hot. This is without even using it. It makes no sense, but it is now completely useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Carefully feed no more than three sheets

By Buzz from Fort Myers, FL, USA on 07/18/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

While it's advertised to take "up to 5 sheets," the 60X handles three, hesitates and gurgles on four, and jams on five sheets. Most likely be fine if you're simply wanting to shred an occasional important document, but do not buy this shredder if you actually need it for work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Automatic stack feeder has never worked properly

By LARRYZCPA from Broadalbin, NY, USA on 06/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've owned it for over a year. From day one it never worked fully right--the shredder stack often never grabbed the paper. I read one other review of the three on their website and I am thumbs down like the other negative reviewer. I'll guess it is out of warranty, but now the stack feeder does not work at all. I am asking them to replace it for free. Let's see if they can turn me from mad to glad. Hey, you never know!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline 60X

By rulost2 from Orlando, FL on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been having major issues with this from the start. The auto feeder does not work half the time and I have to manually feed the papers in. I could have purchased a higher quality shredder to manually feed. The shredder is loud. The shredder cannot shred manually more than 4 pieces of paper at a time. Get used to using scissors to get out the pieces in the blades. The basket always loses pieces of paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great!

By trinkits from NH on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

TERRIFIC lot of power for a little machine....gets the job done!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great product for small stack shredding. Love it.

By LDAS from Wake Forest, NC, USA on 05/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This shredder is very, very quiet. It handles a stack of 60 papers quickly, then "goes to sleep" until needed again, and the slot on top handles credit cards effortlessly. I've shredded different types and weights of papers together without any problems. Suggestions: If you have a large folded brochure or mailer, tear it along the fold to give you 2 pages to avoid a jam; and, empty the drawer frequently. I love this machine, and again, it's quiet!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved