Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Staplers » SWI74701 » 43 Reviews

Swingline Swi-74701 747 Classic Stapler - Desktop Stapler - 20 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staple Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Black (swi74701) Reviews
Swingline Swi-74701 747 Classic Stapler - Desktop Stapler - 20 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staple Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Black (swi74701)

Swingline Swi-74701 747 Classic Stapler - Desktop Stapler - 20 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staple Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Black (swi74701)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Classic desk stapler is simple, accurate, reliable and strong - just what you would expect from a Swingline stapler. Durable metal construction guarantees long-lasting performance without making the stapler uncomfortable to use. Superior strength allows the stapler to staple through as many as 20 sh... <more> 

Swingline Model: SWI74701

$24.64

10 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 43 reviews)

87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

I wanted info on SF-15 staples, but got 747 classic stapler results

By shimizur002 from Honolulu, HI, USA on 08/09/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased a Swingline 711 (mini desk) many years ago and it still works - after a big bump. This stapler recommends use of "standard staples". I have a half a box of Swingline SF-15 staples and the 711 staples once and then fails to feed the next staple. The staples do not slide forward easily, even though the spring seems to have sufficient tension. I don't recall having this problem before. I thought it was too old so I bought a new Swingline 747 Classic today. This stapler recommends the use of SF-4 staples. Since I already have the SF-15 staples I used it again but have the same feeding issue, except the staples seem to fit tighter over the staple slide feed and do not slide as easily as in the 711! Penetration of the sheets is not the issue - feeding the next staple is the issue. Is there a difference between the SF-4 and SF-15 staples? Are the SF-15 staples too old? Will use of the SF-4 staples resolve my issue?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One hit wonder

By Rob747 from Milwaukee, WI, USA on 03/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My 747 will staple once. The cap then needs to be lifted to staple again. Repeat, Repeat, Repeat. A real treat at tax time! I even purchased new staples (even though genuine Swingline staples came with original purchase), no relief. The stapler is between one and two years old.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Stapler on the market

By janetnels from Memphis, TN, USA on 02/04/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've been using the same Swingline 747 Classic stapler for too many years to remember. Swingline makes the best staplers on the market. The only brand to buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Stapler ever made

By Dano from Georgia, USA on 01/16/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My 747 is at least 25 - 30 years old and it is still going strong. It has been dropped and taken a beating over the years, yet it still works like a champ. The only time it has ever jammed up was when we tried to use some off brand staples from China that would not work in any stapler in the office. This is a quality product built in America.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Two Defective Staplers

By SmartSquad from Amherst, NY, USA on 11/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought two new staplers and within a few days of our purchase the staplers will no longer staple more than once. If the stapler top is open then closed it will staple once, but then will not reset the hinge to staple again. There are no jammed staples and both staplers have the same problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Old Fashion but Fabulous!

By Michelle895 from Fayetteville, NC, USA on 08/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had this stapler for a long time. It never aggravates me the way the others always have. Never jams up. love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i got mine in 72 and its still going

By oldfrt from missouri on 06/06/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is richard bulloc again.i have at least 6 different types that range from contractor grade to regular staplers.at least 4 staplers are still working after around 30 years.thank you again for such well made products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

By far the best stapler I have ever owned (actually have 2)

By JohnIn from Indiana on 06/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had some cheap staplers before and they would constantly jam and would be hard to push sometimes. There were times they would not put a staple in at all (it would just be a blank shot). I love this stapler and actually have one in the office and one in the living room. Works GREAT!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The classics are the BEST!

By plytle456 from Gibbstown, Greenwich Township, NJ, USA on 06/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What can I say? This is a reliable, sturdy product! I would purchase this again in a second, but will it ever wear out? I think not!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great stapler... for 3 months

By Ashley20 from West Palm Beach, FL on 06/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This stapler worked great for me for 3 months, but now it keeps jamming. No matter how often I unjam it or put new staples in, it still keeps jamming!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is very dependable for your everyday needs

By Joanna45 from Alsip, IL, USA on 11/12/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

a solid performing product; dependable. Easy to use. Punches through light to medium thickness of paper stack quite easily. Recommend it for day-in, day-out regular usage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Staples paper, not much else.

By r083rt from Logan, UT, USA on 11/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In the world of staplers the Swingline 747 Classic Stapler has established a dominance that no other stapler has even presumed to challenge. Made in the USA, this stapler is more American than apple pie! Here is a list of functions the 747 has to offer: 1. Stapling In addition to this basic feature, there is advance tacking function that should only be utilized by advance stapler users. In my experience, the 20 sheet paper limit is a good rule to follow but in extreme situations I have stapled up to 21 sheets. (note: Swingline is not responsible for damage to your stapler if exceeding the maximum 20 sheet paper limit). This stapler is a must have for all stapling enthusiasts. Impress your coworkers when they see you stapling with this, the Cadillac of staplers. For the ultimate stapling experience use only Swingline staples and Swingline approved accessories. Happy stapling!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

staples everytime. no jams.

By debnm from Albany, OR, USA on 10/31/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Staples every tome with no jams. I have a hard time finding a stapler that works worth a darn, but this is it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline 747 classic stapler, excellent product

By helobuff from Boston, MA, USA on 09/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stapler is fantastic! Lasts forever and takes a beating. I use it all the time. Highly recommend swingline staplers!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

32 years and still going...

By DrDave74 from Springfield, MA, USA on 09/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

32 years ago, on my first day on the job, I was given a form to fill out for needed desk supplies. I checked off "stapler" and the next day received a Swingline 747 Classic stapler. It is still on my desk. I use it every hour of every day I have hit it hard in frustration (not over the stapler, something else), I have stapled more than the 20 pages recommend, dropped it many times and have probably abused in other ways. It works just as well today as day 1. It is hard to think of any product as well made as this and as durable. Despite the fact that the company originally bought it (that company no longer exists), I think I will sneak it out the day I retire and quite literally use it for the rest of my life.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great stapler for the price

By Spmony from Greensburg, PA 15601, USA on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Loads easily ,staples don't fly everywhere like most staplers. Very good oldschool stapler


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Product

By pattis92 from Monroe Township, NJ, USA on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stapler excels in all the projects I need it for.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Swingline 747 always meets my expectations

By Brenda57 from Baltimore, MD, 21230 on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My boss had a habit of buying office supplies haphazardly. When I took over as office manager I noticed that we were going through a lot of staplers. The only ones that we didn't have to replace were the 747. From then on I only buy the 747. And when someone leaves the company, I make sure that I put their stapler back in the supply closet so it doesn't get lost and I can reissue it to the next new employ. They cost a bit more that other stapler, but, they hold up and do not have to be replaced very often. I just recently replaced my old red 747 with a new black 747. I had the red one for the last 13 years and it was used when I got it. It still works but it gets jammed. I think I dropped it one to many times. I keep iit in the closet for a spare.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still the best!!!

By JimF from Rochester, NY on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

In a world of ever changing " new " products it is great to see an old stand by remain available. I am old enough to remember of the Swingline products from the Tot to the early electrics. I am glad to see that they have kept the same quality in this product through the years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Standard

By lisamhl from Camarillo, CA, USA on 06/20/2013

This will always be the best stapler, simple to use, works great every time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Work horse of the office

By BaseballFan from Round Rock, TX on 06/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this stapler for years and if no one steals it from your desk, it will last and last. Very dependable up to a point...no binding extra thick reports.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable and well made

By cking3177 from San Diego, CA, USA on 06/09/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

this is a sturdy and reliable stapler; it rarely jams and will probably last a lifetime!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliable

By Fran from Spring Lake Heights, NJ on 06/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As a registrar in a high school a stapler is a must and this one is very reliable and easy to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great stapler!

By Rob26 from Orlando, FL, USA on 06/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a great classic stapler with excellent quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Red Stapler!

By bew112 from Bettendorf, IA, USA on 06/08/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The red stapler is a perfect going away gift for coworkers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

You buy not just the product, you buy the company.

By kevin70 from Sea Cliff, New York on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The stapler has a classic style that never gets tired. Quality is better than store brand and other competitiors. Excellent warranty. If it breaks the company replaces it. Swingline Customer Service is excellent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

One of few products that you can count on for years

By Lorenzo from Rockford, IL, USA on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Best ever, as long as it has staples it never fails


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Old Faithful!

By CapeCodder from Woods Hole, Falmouth, MA, USA on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This basic stapler does the job and lasts forever. What's not to love!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Reliability

By dust51973 from Tell City, IN, USA on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stapler does a great job and is always reliabilabe. It is easy to find staples for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid product!

By Andrewk from Portland, OR, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The all metal version(s) persevere year after year with heavy use, and consistently perform with the same solid functionality they did on day 1.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Anonymous from Niagara Falls, NY, USA on 06/06/2013

I use this stapler all the time. It is very durable and I think it will last a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very relieable

By Kimi from Columbus, OH, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have use 747 Swingline for over 10 years and not only am I satified but my whole office of 150.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well on paper up to 10 sheets thick

By Plato123 from Tomah, WI 54660, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Quality product that is easy to use, load and operate.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Getter' done!

By 5upplies from Sacramento, CA, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

No fail, always get the job done. Other staplers fall apart or won't hold up to numerous jobs, this one always comes through. Everyone knows in our office to not even hand the boss anything but this type of stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Stapler!! Best we ever used!!

By nansdream from Hazen, AR on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is one of the best Staplers we have ever used. We got some other brand and newer models and they just aren't as good as this classic!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

awesome hand stapler

By Anhmh1 from Anaheim, CA, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I had to change staplers for people at my job site. They went from broken plastic stapler to this metal one and it is awesome. The return rate for the plastic staplers has disappeared. I keep getting requests to order more of this stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not withstand use for being made of steel

By Library from Ohio on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work in a library. Over the past few months I have thrown out 3 of these staplers. They are too rigid, and our patrons put so much pressure on them to get them to do their job that they get bent on the inside where the top hits the staple. At that point it will never push a staple through again properly. I am amazed for something made of solid steel.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is like the old Timex ad - "it takes a lickin' and keeps on tickin!"

By Nancy1127 from Mineola, TX on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've had two of these staplers forever - one at my home office and another at my office away from home. Both of them get a ton of use and are always reliable - staples don't get stuck or jamb up. I've had others from time to time (provided by an employer) but not one has measured up to this Swingline Classic Stapler. A stapler is a basic tool - it needs to be easy to use, dependable and not a source of frustration! I love it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very reliable!

By Floridagirl from West Palm Beach, FL, USA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchanse several of these each year for our 200 employees, they last for years and look great on the desk. We're a law firm and paper is the name of the game!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Classic is a classic because it's reliable

By Anonymous from Rio Rancho, NM on 06/06/2013

This is the stapler I have used over the years in a number of different jobs and offices, and it always stands up to continued use. This stapler doesn't jam, it's easy to load with new staples, and it works time after time after time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline 747 Classic Stapler, 20 Sheets, Black

By shschaumburg from Illinois on 06/04/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Swingline 747 Cllassic Stapler is easy to use and very reliable. As a former teacher I have used this stapler for years and it has performed well for me. It makes my job more organized as I am able to quickly grab this stapler and staple papers together to keep them in related groups.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My stapler is a desk stapler over 30 years old. It is made of metal & weighs approx. 8 ounces.I do not know the model number.

By Whizzer from Dallas Texas on 05/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler over 30 years ago. I used it in my own business & have used it at home since I retired in 1985.It uses S. F. 4 full strip staples. I do not know if this stapler is available anymore. I also have a Swingline 200 Tacker that was purchased in 1956-57 that is in working condition & I wish I could get staples for it as it is a very handy product. This tacker stapled many grocery store display wrappings & many Christmas light displays & I am very disappointed that I can no longer purchase staples for it. The only thing I can say is that any product lasting this many years must be the best quality of any other product of it's kind.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never jams, always works!

By Anonymous from Honolulu, HI on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product never jams. It works exactly as it should, every time. The only reason I keep buying them is because they keep disappearing! Guess everyone else figured out how great they are, too!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved