Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Staplers » SWI87811 » 26 Reviews

Swingline Optima Grip Stapler - 25 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Silver (SWI87811) Reviews
Swingline Optima Grip Stapler - 25 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Silver (SWI87811)

Swingline Optima Grip Stapler - 25 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - 1/4" Staple Size - Silver (SWI87811)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Ergonomically designed specifically for comfortable handheld use. Boasts 25% greater capacity than other desk staplers. Jam-free with Swingline S.F. 4 or Optima premium staples. Stands vertically or sits horizontally. Metal with enhanced soft-feel material for stapling comfort. 2 5/8 throat depth. L... <more> 

Swingline Model: SWI87811

$28.85

664 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)

42% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Best stapler ever!

By DRea from Amarillo, TX on 08/10/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Stands up! Balanced. Doesn't take up needed room on my desk. Easy to find when desk is covered. Staples great. I use it at home, church, and the office. I don't staple on the desk, I grab the stapler and staple in the air. Simply put, easy to grab and easy to staple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Jam Free!

By Mary83 from Concord, NC, USA on 04/30/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product states Jam Free Guarantee, however it has not been at all. This is why we replaced our desk top staplers with the most expensive brand on the shelf and it's highly frustrating and jams about every third staple, which then takes me five minutes to get it working again. I did not know a stapler could bring productivity to a minimum!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Optima 878 - bottom plate fractured - 5 years old

By LGB1965 from Paoli, PA, USA on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Two days ago I was stapling two pages together with the stapler in my hand. While doing this, the bottom plate fractured; the clean break is approximately 3" from the front of the plate. It is broken clean off, with only the rubber bottom holding it to the rest of the stapler body. It no longer works. Disappointing! It is only 5 years old!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT jam free

By Skari from North Carolina on 04/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I'm stapling 10 sheets, half of the maximum. It has jammed three times in the last hour. I was pleased with its weight, feel and handling until today. Now I can not unjam it. Expensive paperweight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

good stapler

By Buyer123 from Abilene, TX on 04/21/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have this product- I use it everyday without any problems. I routinely staple multiple sheets with no problem. I use the Optima premium staples. I had it about 3 years- no problems!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality

By Marva from Mississauga, ON Canada on 04/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this Optima Grip Full-Strip Upright Stapler after my other staple began to jam. This one is no better that the previous. Now this one jams also. Such a waste of the company money. I am now in the market for another stapler. The product does not live up to what the company says it will do


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

jams almost every time

By MrTaxi from Talladega, AL, USA on 03/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We bought the Swingline Optima Grip Stapler. We also use the premium sf4 staples and this stapler jams with 2 or 7 sheets. Havent tried it with more. Not satisfied at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked three times then no more.

By Karen33 from Jan Jose, CA on 01/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I recently purchased this stapler so that I could have one to travel around with me for work. I have another Swingline stapler at home that I love and have never had a problem with. Unfortunately that stapler is no longer manufactured. I purchased this one expecting the same great performance. After purchasing the stapler and the Optima staples to go with it I was able to staple three times. It was incredibly difficult to staple and then it jammed. I have not been able to un-jam the stapler. For a product that is advertised to not jam and be easy to use, I am very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stapler Continuously Jams

By Walkerk from Queen's University Kingston, Ontario on 12/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Two and a half months ago I purchased two of these stapler's for our office. For the first month they worked okay, jammed periodically but were okay. Now both staplers won't work at all and I can't figure out why as there are no staples jammed in them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Has NEVER worked - I'm about to toss it in the trash

By OfficeManagerJill from Houston, TX, USA on 10/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this stapler for 6 years, used it a ton, and it worked great! Never gave me any problems. When it finally wore out, I loved it so much that I bought another one. This one has LITERALLY NEVER WORKED. It jams literally every single time I use it. I make sure I clear it of all the mangled staples, try again and it jams again!!! Extremely disappointed!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

my jam free guaranteed stapler has jammed.

By Gina12 from Ocean Springs, MS, USA on 08/27/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My jam free stapler has jammed beyond repair. A black bracket came off and it cannot be re-installed. It is broken and I need a new one. We bought three (3) for the office and the other 2 are fine. please help


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your MONEY

By NC1500 from Bohemia, NY, USA on 06/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had this stapler for less than a year worked great until the plunger part decided to stop, now I have to turn upside down to get paper in so I can staple. Not a productive way to work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does Not Last, Jams often with little Sheets

By Kberghs from Bergen County, NJ, USA on 04/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I own a small business, we staple our end of day paperwork together, maybe 20 sheets on a busy day. For as long as I've been stapling paper together, I've been using a Swingline stapler. A brand to trust, however not this time, or for this model. We bought our first (2# over a year ago, one sort of quit about 6 months in, which I had to fix, and then later quit due to jamming completely. The second one jammed a few times then all the time at about 11 months old. So we bought #2) more about two months ago, have already had to replace both due to consistent jamming. As I mentioned earlier, I always trusted Swingline, I have already purchased a 747xx model to replace one of the others. The package read, "Built to last", lets see what happens. Jam Free Guaranteed*, please fill me in on your guarantee and how I can get my money back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline Optima Grip Stapler

By ConcernedConsumer from Montgomery, IL on 03/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A picture is worth 1,000 words. I just figured I would send along so you can share with you Quality Control Dept. No I did not run it over, drop it from a tall building or a plane? This is(was) a home stapler with limited use and only on several sheets of paper for most of the staples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My "Jam Free Guaranteed" stapler jams at least twice daily

By Agitated from Beaumont, TX, USA on 03/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work reception at a veterinary clinic and this stapler jams CONSTANTLY. We use genuine Swingline staples, and are binding light stacks of paper (10 sheets). We have another, cheaper Swingline stapler that works just fine, but I have had nothing but problems with this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

stapler will no longer staple. Not Jambed!

By dude from Utah on 12/31/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler cause it felt solid and looked like it was well constructed. It worked great for about 6 mo., the plunger which pushes the staple down became disconnected from the top which looks like it is supposed to be riveted, now I have a $40 paper weight. I would not recommend this stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I give this stapler a D grade

By Gayle from Utah on 11/15/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this stapler for 9 months. I chose it because it stands up and is easier to grip. Recently the staples began to jam consistently, until I opened it up and a plastic part had broken, causing the jamming. I'm in the maket for a new stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great stapler

By ilovecoupons23 from southwest on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I like this stapler for it's ability to stand it upright. can easily fit in a corner on my desk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your money

By Glamstar08 from Ohio, USA on 08/20/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had this stapler for a while now and I use it at home. I hardly use the thing and I have never dropped it or stapled more than 5 sheets of paper with it. Every time I used it pieces of the metal/plastics would break off and the thing always jammed! Ijust went to staple something and the whole rubber black part and silver piece just broke in my hand! Now it is unusable! I can't believe how much of a piece of junk this is! Swingline used to be a good trusted brand ...... Not anymore! I could understand this happening if I used this stapler more often but, I maybe use it twice a month!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A really quality stapler and pretty too!

By Ziana from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 07/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stapler has a nice look and good solid feel to it. I goes perfectly with my desk accents and is a pleasure to use. It never jams and staples nicely with minimal effort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing and staples without any problems.

By tawalsh from Halifax, NS on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stapler is amazing. It never fails or jams. Always staples on the first try.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just the best!

By SouthernLady from Nashville, TN on 06/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Whether my day is calm and relaxed or frantic and hectic, my Swingline never lets me down! I never worry that it will let me down when I'm stapling meeting handouts at the last minute. As hectic as life is these days, everyone should add a little calm assurance to their desk with a Swingline. You might even have time to smile more! Thanks, Swingline!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Optima Power Ease

By Wendy26 from Riverside, CA, USA on 06/05/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I feel it is less fatiguing to staple and I like that it staples with less effort. It is a little loud though.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Right fit for the wrong wrist

By TheBrokenStapler from Eugene, OR, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was in a job where I had to use the stapler consistently throughout the day. Having broken my wrist a number of times throughout the years I needed a stapler that wouldn't add to issues I already had. Not only was it helpful to have a stapler that sat upright easily, but to nave it work consistently and smoothly when I was rarely stapling it from the standard down position. A lot of staplers don't like to live on the upright edge all their life and fight back by jamming, breaking, etc. This was a sturdy stapler that didn't wear my wrist down throughout the day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very reliable and sturdy stapler

By Anonymous from Casper, WY, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have been using this stapler for almost a year now, and have been very satisfied with its performance. Here's hoping it last for years like my last Swingline stapler. :)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does what it is advertised to do and there have been no staple jams.

By DScott61 from Lethbridge, AB, Canada on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The stapler is built solidly except for the plastic side panels on the base - one cracked and broke off soon after purchase - this did not affect the way the product functions however which is what I had hoped for - reliability - no staple jams - no problems. The ratings of 4 out of 5 reflect the poor design using sub standard trim materials that are prone to failure. The machine itself is steel and works well. In the time that I have had it, I have had no issues. It does not have heavy use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved