Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Staplers » SWI87845 » 91 Reviews

Swingline Optima 40 Desktop Stapler - 40 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87845) Reviews
Swingline Optima 40 Desktop Stapler - 40 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87845)

Swingline Optima 40 Desktop Stapler - 40 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87845)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Optima 40 Desk Stapler combines jam-free flat-clinch technology and 40-sheet capacity. Ergonomic handheld design takes less effort to operate. Quietly staple documents from 2 to 40 sheets with standard-size staples. Staple with up to 50 percent less effort than a conventional stapler. Staples lie fl... <more> 

Swingline Model: SWI87845

$30.46

1896 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 91 reviews)

26% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Love this stapler

By Meg88 from Golden Meadow, LA on 08/26/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Works great at stapling large stacks of paper! Highly recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed with Stapler

By Bronwen from Mississauga, ON, Canada on 06/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had the Optima 40 Stapler for about 10 months now. The stapler was fantastic for the first 8 months and then it stopped working. I was using the recommended Optima Staples and I am the only user of this stapler. One day the staples just crumpled up without stapling through 10 pages. Many hours were spent trying to determine what was wrong but I was unable to come up with a reason for the crumpling staples. I tried to exchange the stapler at the place it was purchased but they wouldn't exchange it or even help determine what was wrong. I've since purchased another brand from a different office supply store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I really like this stapler

By Jasbell from Lake Elsinore, CA on 04/30/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It staples easily. Be sure to be careful to reload correctly, it is NOT like the other staplers. If you open it wrong you can easily break it. Also, don't try to load two or more small strips of staples, it will jam and I wasn't successful at getting it apart.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Karenbrooke from Atlanta, GA, USA on 04/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

You would think - with the expertise of Swingline - that they could make a product that does what it says. I spend more time pulling out staples that are bent, protruding, and just generally not stapled correctly. Minimal effort - I don't think so. Most of the time I have to pound on it to get the staples to lay flat. Don't hardly ever reach the maximum of 40 sheets. Normally about 20. The one good thing - no one wants to borrow my stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Would be great if it would stay together...

By MadManager from Aloha, OR, USA on 04/21/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This worked great right up until it exploded into a million tiny pieces while stapling 2 sheets together... it wouldn't be so bad if most of the pieces weren't tiny greased rods that won't stay in the ten places they have to be in place simultaneously in order for the stapler to go back together... all dependent upon one tiny screw that refuses to go back in.... RAWRRR...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not take full strip of staples

By rmnc from Davidson, NC on 04/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have reloaded this stapler several times and have not been able to load a full strip of staples (210 - Optima brand). I press the black reload button and pull out the staple tray to its full length - no luck. Bummer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Makes Me Sad

By Stacey from Oklahoma on 04/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This stapler just makes me sad. It is our second one, the first one having jammed and failed within several months of purchase. We got a second one, thinking perhaps it was just a fluke. No such luck. Even after using only the recommended staples we faced constant jams. The staple tray frequently became stuck with a stray staple wedged in the back that resulted in me taking the ENTIRE stapler apart (sure would love a diagram on how to field strip this sucker) and reassembling, only to have it happen again and again. I may just head to the dollar store and consider my next one a disposable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stapler will not advance the staples.

By Walt57 from Garner, IA on 04/01/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have used this stapler for several months and have been generally satisfied. I do like the flat cinch as it makes storage of documents so much nicer.However, in the last week, it will not advance the staples. I have to bang it on the the desk so the vibrations will move the staples forward.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fit for the garbage

By Murphy from Ajax, ON on 03/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Very disappointing performance. Garbaged almost 1/2 strip staples for each strip used. Never used anything but the Optima Premium staples. Wasted time, effort and money when trying to complete tasks. Last two staplers purchased were replacements of the same models as I thought maybe its because we use them so much thats why they were jamming and not doing a proper job. Have only had the replacement staplers for a month but theyre going in the garbage as soon as I find replacements. As an added note, purchased the Optima Premium Heavy Duty staples for our large stapler, also unusable. They crinkle up every single time, will not go through even a stack of 20 pages let alone more. Again, waste of money, time & effort. Whats up with Swingline and the below standard performance? Used to love the products, not so much anymore. I will be thinking twice before future purchases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline Optima Stapler Failure

By rc5alive from Cleveland, Ohio on 03/24/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work in the legal field and need a stapler capable of combining 25 to 35 pages with one clean staple. I purchased the Optima and have only used the optima premium staples. Initially I was happy with the purchase, when the stapler worked it genuinely attached up to forty pages with one nice clean staple but the stapler failed after several months and now every time I want to staple pages together I have to push the back eject button, push the staple cartridge back in and then make a staple, then repeat for the next staple. Its very annoying and an inordinate amount of energy required to make a staple. Im looking for a reliable stapler that can do up to 40. Any suggestions?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought two - both no longer reliably staple

By IMGFINA from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 02/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Have always loved Swingline staplers and since we need to staple upwards of 30-40 pages at a time, figured this stapler would be perfect. And it is when it works, which now is about once every 7 or 8 tries. And seeing that we use the Optima staples as per the instructions, we are wasting a lot of money. Definitely expected better quality and reliability from Swingline, a company I have known and trusted for the past 30 years. Alas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This stapler is the jam! Literally... :(

By Citizen451 from Atlanta, GA on 02/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Considering the price, I hoped this would be a quality stapler for my office. It looks nice, is padded and stands up for easy grasping. It is pretty heavy considering it is designed to be hand held. It is also stiff despite having used it enough for it to loosen up. The most disappointing is how often it jams. This thing jams up at least 4 times between loading more staples and lately it literally jams every 3 staples! I figured it was the cheap staples and bought the type instructed on the stapler but saw no improvement. Don't waste your time and money on this one! Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not satisfied

By Mandy from Purvis, MS 39475, USA on 02/11/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler hoping it would be great. As a teacher, I use a stapler daily. This stapler was great in the beginning but didn't last long. After only a short time it started jamming and didn't staple properly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

use only quality staples

By jstan from Vancouver, BC on 02/09/2015


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product yesterday thinking it would solve the problem I am having with my Staples generic stapler that won't hold 10 pieces of paper together . I took the staples from my old stapler and tried them in the Swingline with similar results. These are standard Staples brand staples. I then tried the staples that came with the new stapler. The difference was amazing. I tried the Swingline staples in the old stapler with much better results as well. Although my review seems to be about staples, the Swingline stapler is of good quality and easier to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By VeryDisappointed from Sacramento, CA on 02/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this once for a project several months ago, and when I tried using it again, it didn't work. It wouldn't staple properly and the back flap jammed/broke off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

can't reload

By Realtor from Valdosta GA on 12/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I see that I am not the first one to say when I reload my stapler it doesn't work. It's full -- with the correct staples. And nothing happens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working

By grab8810 from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 12/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Expensive product, and like other people on here, worked fine until going to reload it for the first time and now it jams and doesn't work. Have only ever used the recommended staples in it, and have only had it for about a month or less.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Opening up

By cheez from Chicago, IL on 11/25/2014

Can't figure out if it opens up to staple onto bulletin boards. If it has the capability, please advise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jammed, but managed to clear jam.

By mark1969 from Portland, OR, USA on 11/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler mainly to staple closed paper bags holding shredded paper for recycling. It works well at this task, but jammed stapling 2 sheets of paper. Pressed the button at the back of the stapler to open, and it did nothing. I looked that the photos posted and observed the stapler in the open, load staples position. I saw that the stapler had not returned all the way up after the last stapling attempt. I used a letter opener to return the stapler all the way back up. I pressed the eject button again, and the stapler tray popped open. After removing the jammed staples, I reloaded the stapler and it now works properly. BTW I am using Optima Staples as recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not uy...one shot wonder

By khlake from Latham, NY on 11/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used this stapler up until the first reload and now it will no longer work. I put the staples in and tried to push the section back that holds the staples and it not go back in. Very expensive for being able to not reload and use. One shot wonder.....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reload

By RGIII from Seattle, WA on 11/05/2014

I just reloaded my Optima Desk Stapler and, like other users, had a small spring fall out of the stapler and onto the floor during this process. There is no obvious place where the spring goes. The stapler still works, but it does not seem as smooth as before. Can you help?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not stapling

By Dz11 from Port Moody, BC, Canada on 11/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I liked this product until I couldn't use it for no reason. It hasn't beend dropped to my knowledge it just stopped being a stapler. I can't open it other than the cartridge to investigate other than to put more staples in that refuse to be stapled. model 8784x


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

jams easily, no easy way to fix

By JLR579 from IL on 10/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've had this stapler for about a year and today tried to reload staples. I thought that the reloading was successful, but the stapler is no longer stapling even two pages together. It's as if there are no staples in the barrel, but it's full. Assistance would be appreciated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke within a month of use

By millerj74 from Ewing Township, NJ, USA on 10/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This stapler started jamming and bending staples with a month of use. It now won't even staple 2 pieces of paper correctly. This stapler was a total waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Premium models are just bad as the cheaper models

By madashell from chicago, Ill on 10/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had several of the cheaper models go bad in the last few years so I thought I would upgrade to a premium model. I was wrong, this model is every bit as bad as the cheap models. It cannot push a staple through a couple of pages cleanly, what a waste.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product is high-maintenance.

By Tiz999 from Montreal, QC, Canada on 10/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this about 6 months ago. Since day one , had problems loading a whole line of staples in. Have to push them in. Also recently, noticed that the bottom part was loose. Had to remove rubber and a screw fell out. Had to tighten the screw.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor engineering and poor manufacturing

By klkho from New York, NY on 10/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler thinking that it would be a durable and efficient desk stapler. But the first time I tried to load some staples in the stapler the button for ejecting the staples guide simply collapsed and fall apart. I did not even force the button but just push it hard to get the staple guide to eject. What a disappointing product! This engineering design and execution of manufacturing is simply unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Busted Button

By reese78 from Great Falls, MT, USA on 09/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As soon as I took this stapler out of the packaging and pushed the back release button, the button popped off and a spring fell on the floor. I tried to get the spring back in, but have no clue where it is supposed to go. I was able to get the staples loaded, and it seemed to staple ok, but no better than one of the little mini staplers. So far seems like a waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not long before you cannot open to refill

By Sianin from Smithers, BC, Canada on 09/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the second time that I am going to load my Optima 40 and unfortunately I cannot open it anymore. For an expensive stapler that is not a very long life. Would not recommend. If anyone has suggestions on how to fix or open....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wall

By missy from Lubbock, Texas on 09/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This stapler cost a good dollar but not good to staple things in the wall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product has trouble loading

By BethanyD from Washington, DC, USA on 09/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a decent product, but has great difficulty being re-loaded. I am trying to refill the staples for the first time, but cannot because the button is broken. What is the point of having a stapler when you can't even use it more than once? Would not recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just bought it

By MrScott from SE Michigan on 09/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just bought this stapler and haven't had a chance to try it. Why? One would think that they would give you one row of staples or say staples not included. And another product made not in the US, but in China...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not hold up!

By HSTeacher from Jackson, MS on 09/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought two of these staplers for my classroom last year and they are now both non-working. They have not been abused by the students. I go through about 2 Swingline staplers a year because they DO NOT hold up. I am very disappointed in this company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product looks effecient and proficient but it does not work.

By TheLibrarian from Thomasville, AL, USA on 08/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased this stapler for our campus library. We had to have the first one replaced because it fell apart. However, the replacement will not staple. I have even googled it to see if there was something I did not remove or something. But nothing has worked. It has been useless to us.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't Open Stapler to Reload

By ptalar from San Dimas, CA on 08/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I tried pushing the black button on the back to release the staple well/magazine so I can refill. But the staple magazine/well does not open or slide out so I can refill. I believe the stapler is broken. We have not had this thing more than a couple of months. We had bought it at a local stationary store but it has since gone out of business. Although the quality of the stapler appears good the mechanism to release the staple magazine/well is less than satisfactory. How do we get this stapler repaired or replaced? Please advise.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed!

By CindyLouWho1 from Louisville, KY on 08/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had several Swingline staplers in my time. We purchased this stapler for work and have been extremely disappointed with it! It only staples correctly 1 in 8 times. I expected more of this higher grade stapler. We will never order this stapler again and would think twice about ordering even a Swingline in general.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

update on customer service

By Greg894 from Maryville tn on 08/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Previously I gave a very negative review of this stapler. I recieved a response from customer service almost immedietly. They sent a replacement and return slip within days. I cannot update my opinion of the stapler at this time but will add an excellent for their customer service and warranty. I hope that the replacement stapler gives much better service.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Follow-up review

By sempty from Franklin, IN on 08/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I posted a review a few weeks ago regarding this stapler. It was sticking closed and had to be pulled apart with each use. A representative contacted me and sent out a new stapler and so far it has been working great. They sent me the paperwork to return the malfunctioning stapler at no cost to me. Thanks for the quick response.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth the money!

By Emily00 from Crossville, TN, USA on 08/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have an office job.. so I purchased this stapler because I liked the overall look of it and thought it seemed like a good one. I only ever used it to staple things that were about 15 pages, although it says it can staple up to 40. After just two months of using this stapler a spring fell out of it when I was trying to staple two sheets of paper together. We couldn't figure out where it came from and now the stapler doesn't staple right. I'm sure someone could have fixed it... not the point. Paying this kind of money for something you don't expect it to be junk and tear up in two months. Very very disappointed in this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product does the job

By BusyLawyer from Los Angeles on 08/02/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

A bit surprised to see so many negative reviews. I've used this stapler as my go-to stapler for the last two years in a busy law practice, meaning that I've used it thousands of times. It never jammed or not work properly. Highly recommend it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this product is terrible!!!!

By Greg894 from Maryville tn on 07/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have had three of these after returning 2 others that didn't last more than 3 months. The third one broke into a bunch of pieces and pinched a good cut on my finger. The product has a good warrany but will never last even in the smallest of uses. If it breaks don't try to unjamb or open it because you will just hurt yourself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy

By bsipes01 from Oklahoma City, OK, USA on 07/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Less than a year old, rarely used, crinkles staple at 2 pages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Pry apart after each staple

By sempty from Franklin, IN on 07/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler less than 3 months ago. It will not reset to the original staple position without being pulled apart. It is very annoying since we paid the extra $$$ to get a better product. I like the feel of it and if it were not for this, I think this would be a great stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful

By Pamajama from Wyoming, USA on 07/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the worst Swingline stapler I have ever used. I was very excited when I first purchased this stapler, however after using it a few months, I waste more staples than I use. It doesn't jam, but the staples don't properly adhere to the pages and I have to pull them out and try again. 1 in about every 6 staples actually works. I have to use excessive force to try to make this not happen, but usually it doesn't help. If I had the receipt I would take this back to the store I purchased it from.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jammed Staple Makes It a Paperweight

By PaperWeight from Mansfield, LA 71052, USA on 07/23/2014

We use(d) this stapler (model 8784x) in a government setting. It began to jam and as of right now I have been unable to get to the staple that's jammed to remove it. Poor design for removing jammed staples. I guess I'm going to have to take the thing apart to be able to try to get it working again. Not what you'd expect for the $$ invested. Works great as long as it doesn't jam.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Stapler EVER!

By Valerie7 from Tustin, CA, USA on 07/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased a total of four of them after the first one broke less than six months of using it. A co-worker's exchanged one broke again (2nd time) and then the one I was using broke, too! Just stopped stapling and came apart in all cases.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Addendum to my prior review

By Cathleen99 from Portland, OR, USA on 07/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After my rather scathing review of the product, I was contacted nearly immediately by customer service. They promptly shipped us two replacement staplers for free. I returned our broken product so they could hopefully make some improvements. The replacements are holding strong, working great. This "excellent" review is more about the customer service than the product. Way to go Swingline for standing by your products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product and Customer Service EXCELLENT!

By LisaC from Lincoln, NE on 07/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

After a not-so-great experience with our first stapler, we were provided with a replacement which is had worked superbly! The replacement process was seamless and customer service was EXCELLENT! Thank you!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Customer Service

By JSB05 from Calgary, AB, Canada on 07/17/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We had ordered 4 of these staplers for our office and were having some trouble with them (dysfunctional staplers are VERY frustrating). When we contacted Swingline they were very quick to help us sort out the issue and make sure that we have 4 working staplers in our office. These staplers are working great, and we couldn't be happier! Every product line has some 'lemons', but what is nice is the quality of people behind the product!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got jammed and can't be fixed

By Stapler53 from Jonesboro, LA 71251, USA on 07/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have been using this stapler with good results for a while, but now it has jammed and there's no way to remove the jammed staples. You can't open up the mechanism where the staples are loaded, so there's no way to unjam it. I really like that it staples many pages at my desk. It is a poor design for jammed staples, and now it's a useless stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is the 2nd one that has broken in less than 2 years =(

By mtighe from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 06/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler because I have a job that uses lots of staples, the stapler wors GREAT(when it is working) the problem is that it BREAKS. The company did back up their product by sending a new one.......then a few months later this one broke too. I like the operation of the stapler when it operates(I just with it would work for longer)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First one broke apart; 2nd one, same thing

By Cathleen99 from Portland, OR, USA on 06/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

When it works, it works great. Staples 25-35 sheets of paper effortlessly and no bent up staples to jab at your skin and snag your shirt. Unfortunately, before you can get through the first set of staples, the top or back part of the stapler disconnects from the base and the thing is virtually useless. I thought the first broken one was just a lemon. But when the second one did the same thing, this has been about $60.00 worth of nonsense. Don't waste your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

extra page stapling capacity

By KarenH from Oak Ridge, TN, USA on 06/04/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Extra page stapling capacity and staples lie flat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice stapler, if the button was higher quality.

By Dianne from Elyria, OH on 05/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this stapler, and it worked great for a few loads worth of staples. Then the button that releases the cartridge broke. Is it possible to get a replacement refill button? It works now, but I have to jam a screw driver into the back of it to pop the release. I work in education, and use a ton of staples. If this button can be replaced it would make me quite happy, as this is a high quality stapler in all other areas.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Adding Staples a Nightmare

By Islandwire from St. Thomas 00802, USVI on 05/17/2014

I have been a Swingline customer for a number of years and I think they are by far the best in the industry, however I think a few things were over looked with this model. I love how easy it is on your hand but adding staples has been a nighmare. A spring came out and I don't know where it goes. A few revisions to this model and it will be perfect!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheaply made for the cost

By MsOz from Cincinnati, OH on 05/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I love the functionality of the stapler I actually have 2. This stapler works great (unless it gets knocked on to the floor) There is too much plastic that is dependent on the functionality of the stapler. I can't open my magazine any more because it the trigger to open it is not longer staying in place. I should have just bought the traditional Swingline stapler. This one was over priced and just made with a few cheap parts.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

So easy to use

By Pbrown from Harrisburg, PA, USA on 05/12/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler for my supervisor, because she was having a hard time using her other one. The other one she had would hurt her hand. I read the description of this one and thought it was worth a try. She finds it so much easier to use and I myself think it was very easy to put the staples in. I got worried when I ready those other reviews, but I think it has been of great quality. It came with no loose or broken parts and it also staples nicely and is very easy on her hand. I think it measures up to the Swingline standard.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality stapler

By John47 from Phoenix, AZ on 05/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I've been fighting this stapler for some time now... light home use. The mechanism is not smooth, a spring came flying out of the release button, and it jams constantly. I wish I'd seen these reviews before purchasing. Much too frustrating, it's time for the trash can. Swingline has always had a great reputation and I've used them for a lot of years, but they failed on this model. Too bad. Guess I'll go back to a traditional model.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Perfect for a few weeks - now sticks

By JordanZ from Los Angeles, CA on 05/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler a few weeks ago for work. It was perfect until today! Now whenever I staple papers, it gets stuck closed and I have to pry it open by squeezing the back which opens the staple loading tray.... I used to be able to use one hand and now it's so hard I have to use two. I would probably be able to fix it if it had the capability to open but apparently it does not. I staple way too many papers at work to not have a working stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Product has fallen apart after 4 months

By rmuszynski from West Palm Beach FL on 04/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The stapler spring has fallen out, wont staple, I expected a better quality stapler


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked for a While then Stopped Working

By WJT75 from New Jersey on 04/24/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product worked fine for about two months. Now the staples will not staple straight, even with just a few pages.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Smooth, not 50% reduced effort, loud, and sticks.

By Sam44 from Little Rock, AR, USA on 04/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Every time I staple, this Optima I have had for one week, sticks and I have to pry it open to get papers out. Very disappointed!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This stapler is garbage.

By Holly10 from Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada on 04/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am very disappointed in this stapler. At first it worked great but it didn't last. Not only will it not staple 40 sheets, it will not staple two properly. I expected much better from the Swingline brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Adding staples

By MrsD40 from Gastonia, NC, USA on 04/15/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I loved this stapler until it was time to refill it the first time. Then I discovered that I had no idea how to open the stapler.... In an effort to add staples I broke the small, plastic item on the back, (inside the back of the stapler). I still do not know how to add or refill staples. And now I have a broken part to add to the empty stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed!

By GDBCOffice from Denver, CO on 04/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

What a bummer, really wanted this stapler to work. Love the design, ability to staple as many pages as it can, and the flat clinch staple capability is a blessing to keep files from tangling. However, already having serious problems with it functioning properly. And yes, I'm using the official Swingline Optima premium staples. Very disappointed- wish I would've taken heed to the reviews on OfficeDepot.com.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor construction

By HJ21 from California on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just got this Swingline Stapler Optima 40. I opened the package and the ejector button was alrady fallen out in the packaging. the Ejector button does not stay in place and is too loose. I will return this junk to Amazon.com right now. bad bad manufacturing quality. sorry I had to write this review. H.J. California 3/24/2014


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS COMPANY!!?

By DLASCALA from New York, NY, USA on 03/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

SEEMS THAT EVER SINCE YOUR STAPLERS HAVE BEEN MADE IN CHINA THEY BECAME THE WORST. I HAVE BEEN USEING SWINGLINE FOR AT LEAST 14 YEARS AT OUR ACCOUNTING OFFICE. I RELY ON 4 DIFFERENT SIZE STAPLERS THAT I USE. I EVEN USE THE RECOMMANDED STAPLES FOR EACH MODEL. I HAVE TO STAPLE THOUSANDS OF TAX RETURNS AND PAPERS TOGETHER EVERY YEAR, EVERY DAY I USE THEM! I HAVE ONE OF YOUR OPTIMA 8787X'S AND IT DOESN'T WORK 3/4'S OF THE TIME. AND IT'S ONLY A FEW MONTHS OLD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big on price, small on design

By cdsweeney from Nashua, NH, USA on 03/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The stapler will not hold a full strip of staples, nor will it properly insert the last 3/4 inch. The ejector button has fallen out twice now, and sits extremely loose. Very unimpressed


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Staples not long enough to go through even 30 sheets

By JoelG from Pewaukee WI USA on 02/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I need the staples to staple through at least 30 sheets, but the staples that are recommended (Optima # 35556) for the Model # 8784x, are not long enough to staple through the 30 sheets of standard weight paper. I will most likely return it, unless there are longer staples that can be used for this stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't staple 40 sheets (or even 25) reliably

By pclearner from Irvine, CA, USA on 02/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The reduced effort of using this stapler is appreciated, but standard size staples (1/4", the only size it uses), won't reliably staple 40 sheets - they're far too short. Even 25 sheets of 24lb paper are a gamble as to whether the staple will penetrate completely. And yes, I am using Optima Premium Staples. I expected a better stapler. Instead I got a more expensive average one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Refill "Button" Poorly Designed

By Lyn46 from Ohio on 02/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I loved this stapler until it was time to refill it the first time. Then I discovered that I had no idea how to open the stapler (and I've been opening Swingline staplers for years)! In an effort to "make it work", I broke the small, relatively delicate, plastic protrusion (on the inside of the refill button) that SHOULD push a release lever (inside the back of the stapler). After the fact, I researched the problem online and found that I'm not the only one to have problems with refilling this stapler. :-[ The bottom line: Refill instructions should be ON THE STAPLER and, in my opinion, the release button itself should be of sturdier materials.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This stapler is junk!!!!

By Glenda56 from Waynesville, GA 31566, USA on 01/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This was 30 plus dollars thrown away. Absolutely junk. Was told to use premium staples which I did. Still cannot get a clean staple release. Stapler looks good but works like junk...........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to rate something that broke before I even loaded the staples!

By onlineshopperfromnowon from Lynchburg, VA on 01/20/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

No instructions for loading staples. Pushed the only thing that looked like a button and it broke off. So mad that I usually order from Staples online(where I would have seen other reviews) but this ONE TIME I drove 25 miles across town to buy something from Staples and on the spur of the moment, decided to get this stapler. Junk. Mad. $30!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolute Garbage!

By RShoop from Kent, OH, USA on 01/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I can't load this stapler. The loading instruction on the Swingline website says to "push the black button on the back of the stapler." I do this, but nothing happens. Contrary to another reviewer, I do not think the stapler makes an attractive paper weight. Swingline, you've marketed a device that is unworthy of my trash can. I'd send it back to you to grace your own garbage bin, but I don't want to pay the postage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Looks Good. Works great as a paperweight.

By aplan82 from Indianapolis, IN, USA on 01/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After 2 days of use and maybe 4 staples the stapler now jams whether staples are loaded or not. I'm not a frequent stapler user but its a pretty standard device that should work everytime. This one didn't even work a handful of times.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It never really worked

By MABs from Boulder, CO on 12/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought the stapler and the right kind of staples. It never worked. A big disappointment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

test review delete ->

By sdaffasdf from asdsadas on 10/14/2013

test review delete ->test review delete ->test review delete ->test review delete ->test review delete ->


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Test test trst Test test Test test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trsttrstTest test trstTest test trst

By Tes0203 from Lviv Test test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trst on 10/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Test test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trstTest test trst Test test trstTest test trstTest test trst


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test te

By Tes0203 from Lviv Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test testTest test test on 10/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test testosterone Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test testosterone Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test test Test test test testTest test test test Test test test test Test test test test


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

test tedt testtest mobile > test mobile > test test mobiletest mobile > >

By Tes0203 from lvivest test test mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test test.test mobile > test test test test on 10/10/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

test mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test test mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test test.test mobile > test test test testest test test mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test test.test mobile > test test test testest test test mobile > test test test testtest mobile > test test test test.test mobile > test test test test


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It Broke from the back side.

By Ricky from Manassas, VA, USA on 09/29/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product worked well but just broke with no reason. For the price, I thought it would be made better.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By ACritterB from Auburn, AL on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I needed a stapler I didn't have to pound to get it to work. This has been a very easy stapler to use and not a crooked staple yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great quality, consistently

By Naner76 from Ancaster, Hamilton, ON, Canada on 08/01/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a light user stapler(2-4 boxes annually) however I love this stapler. It is easy to use with minimal effort, easy to load (although the first time it took me a few minutes to figure it out as I had thrown away the specs on it and couldn't remember). Something that I can depend on will give me consistent stapling for professional looking documents.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disapointed in this Swingline

By ksmith44 from Atlanta, GA, USA on 07/04/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After only a few months of light use, stapler doesn't staple smoothly. Have had to reprint many documents due to not stapling neatly and "crimping" the staples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The thing broke

By Anonymous from Pacoima, CA on 06/17/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It was not hard to break the back part and now I cant open it to put more staples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just wish it came in RED!!!

By two1stnames from Scottsdale, AZ, USA on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Product works flawlessly! No complaints on it's performance as a stapler. I use it daily and have had +6 months of jam-free/smooth action from it. Does everything is was built for! ******************I just wish it came in RED!!!***************


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Completely trouble free stapling

By Howa from Virginia, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

With this stapler you do not have to worry about jams. It just staples, whether 2 sheets or 25, it works! Easy refilling, simple and straight forward. Priced right for all this quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Quality

By LaRay673 from Ponca City, OK on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler two years ago. I really liked the design of the stapler, its comfortable to use and rarely jams. However, the quality of the stapler is poor. It will staple through about 32 sheets of the cheap copy paper, not the 40 pages as advertised. This stapler has been lightly used (almost 4 boxes of staples in two years) yet it is literally falling apart. It stops stapling with less than 20 staples in the tray. The staple tray pops out randomly and the button to push out the staple tray falls off. This stapler has never been dropped or misused in any way. Another annoyance is the staple strips sold to use specifically with the stapler do not fit into the tray. You have to break apart the strips to fit and since it won't staple with less than 20 staples in the tray, it is really incovenient all around. Swingline is actually standing behind their product and sending me a replacement stapler so I am pleased with the warranty program. I hope the second stapler is better than the first.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

EASY TO USE

By Collinsville from Oklahoma, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have arthritis in my hands and find it hard to use a manual stapler. This stapler is great it is easy to use and gets the job done with little effort.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Desk stapler works great

By Ellie from Dallas, TX, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Nice reload ability w/push button. Had bottom break off one and Swingline replaced. Very difficult to get full strip of staples reloaded. I usually have to break off ten staples to reload stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great for those big daily reports

By fbny from New York, NY on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to use, but a tiny bit loud so don't use when you're on the phone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved