Home » Office Equipment & Supplies » Office Equipment » Staplers » SWI87875 » 52 Reviews

Swingline Optima 70 Desktop Stapler - 70 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87875) Reviews
Swingline Optima 70 Desktop Stapler - 70 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87875)

Swingline Optima 70 Desktop Stapler - 70 Sheets Capacity - 210 Staples Capacity - Silver (SWI87875)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Optima 70 Desk Stapler combines jam-free flat clinch technology and 70-sheet capacity. Ergonomic handheld design takes less effort to operate. Quietly staple documents from 2 to 70 sheets with standard-size staples. Staple with up to 50 percent less effort than a conventional stapler. Staples lie fl... <more> 

Swingline Model: SWI87875

$40.80

684 in stock

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 52 reviews)

21% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Bought 2 - both broke

By fleaflala from Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, CA, USA on 06/18/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1) staple slide (that holds staples) won't lock in any longer 2) the other one ... the staple does not crease/crimp when pushed down ... just stays straight with points out the back of the paper Very poorly constructed and I wouldn't recommend it. Of course, unless I'm doing something wrong ... I'm using the Optima hi-cap staples.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work - used once

By bcmcbride from Pittsburgh, PA, USA on 06/08/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Looked for a new stapler and like the idea of being able to staple high capacity documents. Trying to staple two sheets together and the staples do not advance so the head can push a staple. I can't figure out how to make it work. I am using the Optima staples. A stapler should not be this hard to figure out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loved it...Until I didnt Love it Anymore

By MarcSam from Las Vegas, NV, USA on 05/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler and fell in love with it. Actually got a second one for an officemate. It was Fantastic....at first...and then it all went downhill. Anything more than 20 pages was difficult. Anything more than 30 pages and it would jam. And after 1 jam, the spring and another part broke off...which cause the stapler to be completely useless. The 2nd one is having trouble now as well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work properly.

By Greg1961 from Hico, West Virginia 25854 on 04/27/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had this stapler about a year and a half. Worked pretty well for the most part. Now the effortless part has become a major effort. I have to push very hard to get the stapler to work properly and then it doesn't staple real well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just don't

By Admin4 from Wisconsin, USA on 03/31/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Don't buy this if you want a properly functioning stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Stapler

By Gorbash99 from Provo, UT on 03/28/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had problems with jams from the beginning. I had to take it apart to get one jam out and now i cant put it back together. Do not buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst stapler I have ever owned

By soxfan1977 from new hampshire on 03/19/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work in a paper intensive industry (patent law) and so I often have a need to staple stacks of 2-70 sheets of paper. I bought this stapler to replace my previous high capacity stapler (another model), based on the Swingline brand and the advertised 70 sheet capacity. I've had good luck with Swingline staplers in the past, so I figured this stapler would at least work as advertised. Boy was I wrong. This is a perfectly fine low capacity stapler (2-20 sheets), but it jams every single time I try to staple anything more than 20 sheets. And yes, I am using the recommended high capacity optima staples (#35550). And no, I am not using heavyweight paper. The thing jams 100% of the time while stapling >20 sheets of basic laser printer paper. In sum - this stapler is a piece of garbage that does not work as advertised. If you need a high capacity stapler that works, look elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Disappointed

By Volsfan13 from Knoxville, TN, USA on 03/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The High Capacity Optima 70 does not even come close to the past Swingline products I have purchased over the years.......the "Reduced Effort" , "Jam Free Guaranteed", and "Quiet Operation" listed on the box were not the case when I received my new Optima 70 stapler a few days ago. After repeated effort to get it to work, it jams every time and takes repeated effort to pull the staples out and try again........I hope this is just a one off "lemon" stapler, and your company will make it right.........


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broken straight out of the box

By thorps88 from Madison, WI, USA on 03/05/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It couldn't staple a single thing. Jammed the first and every time I tried to use it. Complete waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Having MAJOR issues getting this thing to work properly.

By AluminumMan81 from Lehigh Acres, FL on 02/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is the 2nd we've purchased. The recommended Optima staples keep jamming inside the unit. I've notice when the black base piece flexes up & down the stapler will jam. When it's rigid, the stapler works fine. What is causing the black base piece to flex some times, bot not all the time?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sure wish I had read the reviews before buying this thing tonight. Does not staple at all.

By DianeB from Jackson, Michigan on 02/20/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just jams. Didn't they test this product at all? I am a paid tax practitioner and had nothing but trouble with my ancient Swingline all last week, so this looked like just the thing, but it is worse than my 40-year-old stapler. Now I've got to waste more precious time taking this piece of junk back to get something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By Jillio from Absecon, NJ on 02/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We purchased two Swingline Optima 70 staplers for our office. Right from the start they both didn't work. Jammed constantly, or door that holds staples would not close.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never worked right out of the box.

By thisisjunk00000 from Staten Island, NY, USA on 02/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product never worked out of the box. Piece of junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good quality but poor stapling

By ajsmile76 from Lewistown, PA 17044, USA on 02/12/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I like the look and ease and you can tell it has good quality. The disappointment is that is does not staple correctly or at all. Not sure what or how to fix it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Did not work from the start!

By Flower4 from Milwaukee, wi on 02/07/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am disappointed that I did not read reviews before purchasing this product. It did not appropriately staple 2 or 30 pages. I was left scrambling to combine a bunch of manuals 5 minutes before my presentation started.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My stapler jams.

By Loosepapers70 from Leon, IA 50144, USA on 02/02/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased a Swingline high capacity Optima 70 and the Optima staples after seeing how well it worked for a friend. Unfortunately, my stapler does not work like my friends, exact model. . I even tried some of her staples, identical box. My stapler jams and will not staple more than a few sheets of paper at a time. And when it does staple, it crinkles the staple. After seeing how well my friend likes her stapler, I am very disappointed in the same exact stapler I purchased.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice stapler when it works

By JD88 from Dallas, TX, USA on 01/23/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work for a consulting firm and we are constantly printing and binding anywhere from 3 to 50 sheets. We have a heavy duty high capacity staplers for bigger jobs and this Swingline was supposed to fit in perfectly. It will not staple more than 15 to 20 sheets without jamming, even using the Optima High Capacity Staples. This stapler has been reduced to stapling our time sheets. We are so disappointed in its performance.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work

By UnhappyCustomer from Roseville, MN, USA on 01/22/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Never worked from right out of the box. 2 pages or 70 the staples didn't bind the paper. It is nothing more then an ugly paperweight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jams

By JoeRocksLA from Los Angeles on 01/16/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

From the first attempt to 5 attempts to staple 10 pages to 20 pages, the stapler jams every time


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't staple anything

By Anna23 from Los Angeles, CA, USA on 01/14/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This stapler won't staple anything. The only time you feel resistance is when staples are being jammed inside the stapler. Other than that, it just kind of crunches your paper together and does nothing. What's the point? Looks fancy and has a nice weight but is virtually useless.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jams all the time. Do not buy.

By tonyrupe from Eldridge, ia on 01/13/2015


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this stapler has not worked since day 1. Do not buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great stapler when it works

By Riley68 from Hamilton, ON, Canada on 01/08/2015

This is my 2nd stapler that I have had under warranty. It seems the ones that they send me don't work properly. I loved this stapler, it was great, but I am very disappointed with the replacements ones that were sent to me. They seem to work once and then stop working. The first replacement I got, jammed the first time I tried to use it, the second replacement, worked once and that's it. It doesn't want to push the staples through the paper.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

2nd stapler, doesn't work

By finter from wading river, new york on 12/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

love the product, I have several swingline, but it seems something is faulty with this product, I am on my 2nd optima 70 and neither one stapled 1 sheet. right out of the box, they do not seem to work. please help.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

it doesn't work

By Lola111 from Michigan on 12/22/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The staple worked perfectly for a while, but suddenly stopped working and as I cannot figure out how to open I cannot fix it myself. There are no jams and I am using the right staples, so I have no idea how to fix it and I do not want to buy a new one. The only solution I have is to browse online and try to get someone to help me fix it. Hope the company can help. The idea of the product is great and when it worked it was really a good tool.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Was expecting better performance

By Peter49855 from Marquette, MI, USA on 12/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

We have several of these staplers at work, and they usually work just fine. We have always use the recommended staples and usually have no problems, however, our newest Optima 70 jams after every other staple. Wish it worked like the others do. Perhaps we received one that missed quality control during manufacturing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Continously Jams/Won't Staple

By williamssj from College Park, GA, USA on 12/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have only used this stapler 6 or 7 times. It worked great until today, it will not staple. The staples get jammed and will not go through the paper. I cannot see what is causing this problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Will not stop jamming!

By pwal from Ohio on 12/09/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have this stapler at work, and up until lately, it worked great! We have always used the same staples with absolutely no problem. Now, every single staple jams!! I have tried multiple times to find a solution, but not having much luck. It is unjammed completely, and I can not figure out what the problem could be.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Help the staple tray won't lock in place

By BalancedBooks from Hudson, WI on 12/03/2014

I've been using my stapler for about two weeks. It's been so great and effortless to staple while I'm working, but now the staple tray won't lock into place and when I do get it to stay, it pops out spraying staples without stapling my papers. I paid quite a lot for this stapler and I need it. Can you help me?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Optima 70 desk stapler - replacement

By Claire2729 from Naperville, IL, USA on 11/28/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I was having a problem with my Optima 70 desk stapler and wrote a review. I was contacted by Swingline almost immediately and they send me a new stapler and it works great. I have to complement their terrific customer service. Thanks Swingline!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product does not have great features

By Diane7 from Athens, GA, USA on 11/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The product worked great until now. I had no complaints with the overall performance. When I went to reload with the staples that came with it, I was unable to close the slot. This stapler is way too expensive for a one cycle use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Staple tray for Swingline Optima won't close

By ClaireB41 from Naperville, IL, USA on 11/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I just recently bought this stapler and it was working fine until now. the staple tray for our stapler stopped closing. We push the tray all the way back inside, but it doesn't lock in place and just pops back out. Disappointing! Claire Bray


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awesome stapler, just order the right staples

By Janet from Keene, NH, USA on 09/29/2014

This is an excellent stapler for larger packages. The only problem I initially had was that the stapler kept jamming and the strips of staples were too long so they had to be broken in half to fit. I read other reviews and others had the same issue. I found that my problem was that I didn't order the correct staples. Once I ordered the staples for this stapler, the strips fit perfectly and the stapler works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product fails to meet expectations.

By NSluszka from Memphis, TN on 09/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Unfortunately, this stapler is more like 2-40. It certainly doesn't do 70 as advertised and I can guarantee you as of right now it doesn't even staple 55.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quaility

By monkey from Bakersfield, CA on 08/30/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased this product because of my past successful dealings with Swingline produces. After using it for 2 months, the bottom rubber section would not stay on and the spring inside of it broke and came out. Very disappointing product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I PAID $$$, WHAT A SUCKER I AM

By wilkie from Kapaau, HI, USA on 08/04/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased what I consider an expensive stapler for my desktop only to find that the darned thing is smarter than I am. As mentioned in other reviews the magazine does not accommodate a entire row or unit of replacement staples. Second I don't understand the diagonal staple 'crimper' on the base of the unit. Why is it diagonal? Is it modifiable for some bizarre secret mission? Now that I have broken up the replacement staple unit into parts to fill the staple carriage, the darned thing won't staple anything! The instructions should be clear as to the function of various parts. Directions should be up front: 'break the staple replacement bar in two pieces or precisely 6.8 centimeter length for replacement. I am disappointed in this product but it is not worth my time to take / ship it back to the retailer for replacement. I would entertain an exchange for a functional, perhaps simpler model designed for us "non-rocket scientist' types. wilkie


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Broke after two days.

By Wusoop from Flushing, Queens, NY, USA on 07/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The stapler had worked fine at first with the recommended Optima staples. However, it stopped working after just two days. When I try to staple just 3 pieces of paper, the staple doesn't come out, or sometimes only one leg of the staple goes through papers and the other one gets stuck in the stapler. And yes, I'm still using the recommended staples. What about the 100% performance guarantee? What about the enhanced durability due to steel body?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This product is over rated, features didn't work for me nor others

By Smitty from Ontario, OR 91761, USA on 04/11/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchase this Swingline Optima 70 Stapler to staple 7 sheets booklet together for my brother Funeral. Looking at the Stapler package and reading the features it was just what I need to finish my task. But for starter there was no direction with this stapler to show how to load this stapler. Check the internet to learn how to load the stapler and it was disappointed to see many was having problems with this stapler. I read on Swingline site that a simple push of the button on top of stapler would open and retract stapler housing area automatically. The stapler housing area didn't fully retract even after a gentle pull on the retractor therefore wasn't able to load stapler. A waste of my time, gas, money and cause problems due to not performing the way it display on package. This product is going back to the store quickly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Swingline 2 to 70 pages

By posfagain from Carlsbad, CA, USA on 02/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this Stapler ripped me off, it will not staple through 2 pieces of paper


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not built to last..

By MDSanders77 from Modesto, CA, USA on 01/29/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I work in a tax office with 15 employees and last year our manager purchased one of these staplers for each desk. They worked fine for that tax season. Now that the new season is starting we are having issues with these staplers jamming even though we are using the swingline optima staples, item# 35550. Already 2 of the staplers will not work at all. Very disappointed in the poor quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not what it's cracked up to be

By taxseason from Tulsa, OK on 12/04/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this stapler thinking it would be able to handle my average of 45-55 sheets of client document presentations. The staples jammed constantly even though I used the Swingline brand for this model and special ordered it. Many times it would staple but not go through the sheets of paper; rather, it would bend and then pop out of the stapler's side. I spent around $70 on this product and it has been a great disappointment that has caused great frustration.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The Best Ever!!

By dcoder from Marietta, GA, USA on 09/17/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is absolutely the best stapler ever!!! It takes no effort at all. Never Jams! We got this for work. When everyone tried it they had to have one as well. One of the students that works for me loved it so much he bought one for his personal use. You cannot go wrong with this stapler!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Configuration

By Tractor1 from Catskills on 09/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

My immediate response was it's a lot larger stapler than I expected, has a huge desktop footprint: 2 1/4" X 9 1/2", and is tall: 6"... I believe the dimensional information should be readily available. So far all I've done is given it a small test, stapled the cardboard box it came in four times, perfect performance! The stroke is a bit long but otherwise I am very satisfied... I actually purchesed this stapler primarily for compacting recyclable packaging so it takes less volume in the trash bin... stapling is faster and less laborious than using packaging tape... stapling is also a great stress reliever, especially with this monster! Replaced my ancient Rexel Matador.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

**Hate that a full sleeve of staples will not fit the device

By GeeGee from Raleigh, NC, USA on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The stapler it self works great, but the stapler requires Optima staples but a full sleeve will not fit the device. So you waste staples!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stapler quit working

By Telecom from Lakeland, FL, USA on 06/28/2013

This stapler failed to meet our expectations. It never has been able to staple the full 70 pages as advertised. Not even used on a daily basis, within 6 months it wouldnt even staple 20 pages. Would not recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

this product is a lifesaver!

By sibby from Tampa, FL, USA on 06/07/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

would be lost without it. Works with ease - seldom jams and easy to unjam. Have more than 3 in the office at various locations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy to use

By Catwoman81 from Sacramento, CA on 06/06/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We bought this several years ago and haven't had to replace it. It works great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Stapler Ever

By tricia464 from Manteca, CA on 06/03/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I purchased this stapler for my desk at work and I love it! It staples just as easy as it advertises for. Everyone who tries it on my desk wants it. I actually wrote my name on top of it in permanent marker to make sure it stays on my desk. Love it and would defiinitely would buy it again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This stapler works with ease and has never jammed.

By JacqueL03 from Moon, PA, USA on 05/30/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Swingline Optima 70 Desk Stapler has been a life send. It is very simple to load and works with very little effort. I have people coming to my desk just to use this stapler and everyone always comments on the ease of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By dcoder from Marietta, GA USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

By far the best stapler there is! My co-worker loved so much he had to go by one for his personal use at home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sturdy, dependable, and powerful

By markm from Phoenix, AZ, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I am a school teacher and used this stapler all year for projects, student papers, year end reports, etc. I did not have a single problem with this stapler and it is so easy to staple multiple sheets. Highly recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Whisper-light touch, error-free stapling

By HopeForHorses from Seattle, WA, USA on 05/28/2013

We love our Swingline Optima staplers. We bought the first one and then liked it so much, we went back to the office supply store and bought one for each desk. Our organization regularly produces multi-page handouts and this stapler handles 20 or more pages without any trouble at all. We've also noticed that it reduces the repetitive motion stress that happens when you are manually producing 40 or 50 sets of materials at a time. In our small all-volunteer, nonprofit organization, we need all the help we can get. Swingline produces reliable, hard-working products that are affordably priced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Workhorse

By OvertroubledWater from Spring Lake, MI, USA on 05/28/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This thing ALWAYS works. I have never had a jam or a problem with this stapler.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved