Home » TD1901 » 8 Reviews

Thorens Td190-1 Three-speed Full Automatic Turntable Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 8 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:

Limited Features (3)

Pros:

Versatile (5), Easy To Use (7), Excellent Sound (8), Consistent (6), Professional Features (3)

Best Uses:

Listening To Records (3)

Describe Yourself:

Experienced (4)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Glad I bought it

By Dr Don Verified Purchaser from Conway, AR on 07/16/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Versatile, Excellent Sound

Describe Yourself:

Experienced

Best Uses:

Home Studio

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this to replace my 30-year old Thorens TD 126MkII which finally died. I was nervous because the TD-190 is really a re-badged Dual and wasn't made by Thorens; but the performance is first rate. I was looking for a high-quality turntable with auto shutoff that will also play 78s. The only other 'tables with auto return and 78 capability that I've found are modified Technics belt-drive machines sold by Rek-O-Kut and KAB; and they don't hold a candle to the TD-190. I know because I've owned one of the KAB-modified Technics 'tables for three years and use it almost daily. While the TD-190 isn't the sonic equal of the TD-126 or my TD-115, it is nonetheless a very good-sounding turntable and its performance has far exceeded my expectations.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Turntable

By Cinelli from Miami, FL on 03/16/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Sound

Describe Yourself:

Experienced

Best Uses:

Audiophile

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Excellent quality table. Think about upgrading the cartridge and you have a top-notch player


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Vrey good product... it's a Thorens!

By Still have LPs Verified Purchaser from Denver metro area on 08/12/2008


Cons:

Limited Features

Describe Yourself:

Experienced

Pros:

Excellent Sound, Easy To Use, Professional Features, Versatile, Consistent

Best Uses:

Amateur Recording, Soundtracks

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I still have my 35 year old DUAL 1229 and love it, but to restore it to near new condition would be impractical. So I turned to new 'tables. Thorens has always been in the DUAL class, if not better; so instead of looking into brand names that I'd never heard of, Thorens was an obvious choice. My ONLY complaint is that the cueing lever is not right up front like my DUAL. However, I seldom use it, and it seems all new 'tables have it in back, even manual 'tables, where you have to use it. Short of spending thousands, (a turntable for $150,000? Yeah, right!) I'm very proud to own a Thorens, and yes, I did a lot of research. Big note; I give Beach Audio [...] price 6 stars out of 5. Fantastic!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good

By Happy, happy. Joy, joy. from near the Denver metro area, Colorado on 08/01/2008


Describe Yourself:

Experienced

Pros:

Excellent Sound, Professional Features, Versatile, Consistent

Best Uses:

Amateur Recording

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I've owned DUAL turntables from 1972 'til now, and loved them. To get my old 1229 made "all new" would cost more than a new Thorens. I've always known of the Thorens name, and always wanted one. Worth the wait! The only bad thing is that the start/stop button, and the cueing lever is in the back. But that's just the way new turntables are made. I'm pround to own a Thorens.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a snap to set up

By Propers18 from Provo, UT on 07/08/2008


Cons:

Limited Features

Describe Yourself:

Novice

Pros:

Easy To Use, Versatile, Excellent Sound, Consistent

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The Thorens TD 190 was a snap to set up. All that one basically needs to do after taking it out of the box is put the platter on and presto, a working turntable. The ease of set up makes this a great turntable for those who are looking for something to play their vinyls on but who aren't audiophiles. Being so easy to set up comes with a price however, audiophiles and those looking to get into this great hobby should consider that the audio jacks and the tone arm are integrated and therefore non-upgradable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A high quality entry-level turntable.

By eLaurence Verified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 07/11/2007


Cons:

Limited Features

Pros:

Versatile, Easy To Use, Excellent Sound, Consistent, 78 Rpm

Best Uses:

Listening To Records

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is the perfect spinner to enjoy your archive of well-kept analog discs. Ortofon 78 rpm stylus slips right into the cartridge provided. Anyone currently buying vinyl will probably want to move higher up the Thorens line. I miss the strobe and pitch control that my old turntable had.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Quality Turntable

By Zdaddy Verified Purchaser from Roseville, MN on 03/12/2007


Pros:

Easy To Use, Excellent Sound, Professional Features, Consistent

Best Uses:

Listening To Records

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Since receivng this Thorens turntable I have been amazed at the sound quality and the stability of it's chasis. No skipping, no kidding. A great all around turntable for the price. Nice Ortofon cartridge to boot.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Product

By Mikey Verified Purchaser from New York on 03/04/2007


Pros:

Easy To Use, Consistent, Excellent Sound

Best Uses:

Listening To Records

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What an amazing product. Yes, I paid over 400 for it, but it's worth every cent. I love it so much, and I'm so glad I went with Thorens. Its reputable and all around great product. If you're hesitant to pay for it, you may want to go with Thorens entry-level turntable, but you can't go wrong with the TD190.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved