Home » Video » Televisions » Lcd Tv » 40SL412U » 17 Reviews

Toshiba 40SL412U 40" 1080p LED-LCD TV - 16:9 - HDTV 1080p - ATSC - NTSC - 1920 x 1080 - 3 x HDMI - USB Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 17 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

A bad egg of the batch

By tvgal from Undisclosed on 04/02/2012

We bought this TV and it's only been close to 3 months. Bought it new, wasn't used. A month after, it started acting up. Menu screen would all of a sudden pop up, it would all of a sudden change to different input, and the worse, volume would all of a sudden go all the way up and we can't turn it down at all! All happened at different times and while watching just TV. Not playing a game or off a DVD player. Very disappointed but like the TV in general. We have to unplug the TV to 'reset' until it happens again. It was a definite pain.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Speakers?

By Total Eclipse from Quebec - CAN on 03/25/2012

TV is perfect. But with 2 'LAPTOP' speakers.... My rating cant be 5 stars.. Buy a bar sound to enjoy your TV.... I don't like the fact that when you 'mute' your tv , there is a SUB-TITLE automatic ( CC1 ).. You have to select SUB-TITLE to OFF each time... I like this TV anyway even if the sounds is really cheap.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

can't get full screen HD

By fanolax from ohio on 03/24/2012

Nice TV, really don't care how great sound is, my issue is full screen. I can get it from analog cable, vcr and dvd but not HDMI digital cable. I'd rather have full screen than super defined picture if that is the issue but there is no option. Cable service, Time Warner, says it is not their issue so I guess it is a Toshiba software problem. I'd just like a full screen option for any input, regardless of whether it impacts quality to some extent.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV but poor Sound!

By Rick71 from Charlevoix QUBEC - CAN. on 03/15/2012

Before to buy this TV, i've took a look at all comments and you all had right. This is a great TV for the price but the speakers are cheap, Even in my little bed room the sound is to 100 and the sound is almost not disturbing for the rest of the house. I dont have HD signal yet here and i dont have tested the PC and the PS3 picture quality when i will connect it , i will can more apreciate the HD . So if you buy it, think to buy a sound kits too.Its the price to pay to get slim TV....( Sorry if my ENGLIH is not correct ). Eric.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Sound

By Glenn from Rancho Santa Margarita, CA on 03/07/2012

This was the 4th Toshiba Television that I have owned and the first one that I was so unsatisfied with that I returned. The audio is horrible. The size of the television was achieved to the detriment of the audio. The speakers are on the back of the set! There isn't any way that it will sound good unless it is hooked up to a home entertainment system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Purchase

By Big Nerd from Lansing, MI on 02/28/2012

very clear picture (as expected); sufficient input slots; zero problems with sound (despite some reviews - not at all tinny, far more than needed volume - yet to need to put it over 10, and that's with 3 young kids running around). Only minor gripe was with remote: inconvenient to flip through menus to select desired ratio or input, would prefer more intuitive buttons


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I love this TV!

By Donni from ATL on 02/11/2012

GREAT TV! I don't have a problem with sound w/ this TV! don't listen to all those people who have a problem with the sound!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV

By Stretch from St Paul,MN on 01/29/2012

I was sceptical because of reported sound issues but we have an older REGZA and this units sound was great for for having the speakers in the rear. do not be fooled this is a great unit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great picture, poor sound.

By Ken from New York, NY on 01/05/2012

I read the reviews about the poor sounding speakers before I made this purchase. And they're correct but I can live with the poor sound. However I bought this mainly to replace a dead tv that mainly used for playing online games with my xbox360. I chose this set because it has an analog audio output that I can connect my xbox headset and hear the game sound. So far it's a big disappointment, I can barely hear anything from my headset because the sound volume barely was so so low that I thought the jack was defected.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Father-In-Law Loves It

By J D from Charlottesville, VA on 12/30/2011

Purchased this as a Christmas gift for my father in law and he was speechless. The picture quality is exceptional and with the QAM tuner is allowing him to get the HD versions of the networks on his cable system that was previously unavaible. He is a huge Steelers fan and the day he opened it was a game and was happy than I have ever seen him. A+ Toshiba


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Quit whining

By Coffeeguy from Undisclosed on 10/15/2011

After a lot of research, I bought this tv and love it. For the price, it is an exceptional buy with a great picture. I'm tired of reading about the poor sound quality. It's adequate, which is about the best you'll get on ANY flat screen where the speakers are in the back. A sound bar is a necessity if you don't have it hooked up to a system and want a richer sound at higher levels. Set up was simple and I was amazed by how light it was--far lighter than the 26 inch flat screen it replaced.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great TV, Great Buy!

By Drizzy1906 from Topeka, KA on 10/01/2011

I have had this TV for a little over a month and it's great! The picture is very clear and bright. The best TV I've ever bought, and one of my best purchases in a long time. Great job Toshiba!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

40 inch lede tv

By party pat from piqua ohio on 09/28/2011

bought this tv and cant get any sound out of speakers turn it all the way up to hjear it called toshiba they said they only put 71/2 watt speakers in it talk about cheap should have 30 watt speakers


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Beware of the Sound

By Goofy from orlando, fl on 09/05/2011

Great picture on this TV, but lousy sound. Very tinny and unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best LED for A GREAT PRICE!

By Alex NY from Howard Beach NY on 08/28/2011

the sounds does sound a little off because the speakers are in the back of the tv however i hooked my ps3 up to it and this tv can get loud enough i dont know what people are saying loven it !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

SOUND

By tymx50 from Undisclosed on 07/06/2011

DO NOT BUY THIS TV. UNLESS YOU HAVE A SOUND BAR. THE SOUND IS TERRIBLE.IT SOUNDS LIKE A CLOCK RADIO.YOU HAVE TO TURN IT UP TO 42 AND THE LITTLE SPEAKERS ARE IN THE BACK OF THE TV .PICTURE IS GOOD


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My Opinion

By Jason from Hamilton, Ontario on 06/25/2011

This was a great buy!! I have had this tv for a little over a week now and LOVE IT. The picture quality is amazing (two thumbs up), I would definitely recommend this tv to anyone looking for a mid range led. I really enjoy the 3 hdmi inputs and the usb capability. It really dose bring this bad boy to life :) however seeing is believing what are you waiting for you know you wannnnnt it!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved