Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BDX2150 » 51 Reviews

Toshiba BDX2150 Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS HD - BD-RE, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, CD-RW - BD Video, DVD Video, AVCHD - Progressive Scan - Ethernet - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 51 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Won't play blue ray or DVD

By Lynne from MASS on 04/06/2013

Worked fine as a Blue ray and DVD player. One day it just stoped working. Won't read the disks. We never tried to use the other features.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

low quality

By disapointed from marietta, ga on 04/03/2013

I never read any reviews of this product. I should do that! the unit get stuck very often, I have to disconnect it to be able to use it again. the interface on youtube and netflix it's slow. I have a ps3 and xbox 360 and this is way slower then this other two. the other thing people has to be aware, is mine is not wireless, and the adapter to do it is way expensive! so I just connect to a ethernet cable! and don't think toshiba has any update of the system lately to make it better! I do not suggest to buy one of those to nobady!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok dvd/blue-ray/internet player

By Wonder from Charlotte, NC on 03/11/2013

Like everybody's been saying, it does get stuck and doesn't work sometimes. Happened to me many times, only way to reset is to unplug power cord and leave it overnight. When it works, it works really well, though.I stream Netflix, Youtube, etc. fine. I must have lucked out and got a good unit. Does anybody know if Toshiba makes a keyboard for this blue-ray/internet player? Typing in titles with the remote gets very tedious and impractical.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Player Ever

By brokerman87 from Chandler, AZ on 02/22/2013

Wifi takes forever to connect, Even when it does connect, the apps take forever to load. I mainly use it for netflix and pandora, but I don't want to wait forever for a connection. Sometimes it literally takes 15+ mins! PS3 is the way to go for an entertainment system.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stay away!

By Chas from Canton, OH on 02/12/2013

Purchased this player approx. 4 months ago and it initially worked fine, then all of a sudden it would not play dvds or connect online. I tried it with multiple tvs and still no help... I just bought another player, this time from Sony...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

true piece of junk

By bott21 from st. louis, mo on 01/08/2013

basically use this unit to play DVD's & Blu Rays. plays blu rays fine, but every once in a while i wanna watch an old DVD. wont play them for anything. can re-insert 100 times, wont read. such a hunk of junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I just wish it worked!

By soooperdave@yahho.com from Highland, IN. on 12/29/2012

This unit was selected for all the features it has. the network hookup worked fine, played my netfix account. The avi videos I try to play using a disc or USB turn off after 20 mins or so. I find if I hid play every 15 mins, a real pain, will keep it goin. Just this week after owning it for only 3 months, it will not play a disc anymore. It probably goin in the garbage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sorry unit

By Gramps from Weatherford tx on 12/03/2012

I wished i would have seen the reviews before i bought this unit. It will not connect to the internet via wifi. Sometimes it plays a dvd but most of the time i have to remove the dvd and reinsert it several times before it see it. Don't waste your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba . . . never again

By Scott from Milwaukee, WI on 11/23/2012

I have a Toshiba TV that I have been happy with, so when I saw this BluRay player with a good price and features, I bought it. It worked good out of the box, but now refuses to play a BluRay. I get an Invalid message with any BluRay I try. DVDs work fine. Apparently Toshiba is inundated with calls about this lousy product, because they re-route you to the (useless) web-support immediately. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING TOSHIBA AGAIN


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good player

By pjnr2564 from Canada on 11/16/2012

I bought this Bluray player at a very good price, so I didn't expected much, altough I was deceived at first with a glitch when playing video files it would turned off after 20 min of playing. Well, there was an update and install it and the problem is now fixed after a long wait. We mostly use the BD to view netflix and it does a decent job at it. If the hard drive is connected to it it takes quite a while to load. I'm quite satisfied with this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't track

By Joe from Undisclosed on 11/02/2012

How can a product as bad as this not be recalled? It constantly mistracks and gives a screen full of snow. Every review on this product is bad. Last Toshiba product I'll buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good for Nexflix, not for playing Blu-Rays....

By Paquizzle from Tampa on 10/06/2012

Bought this for Christmas since Best Buy had a sale on it. Works great for streaming Netflix, but is terrible as a Blu-Ray player. Only watched a few movies on it, mainly used it for Dora on Netflix. Suddenly last week, after watching a movie on it, I went to turn it on and now there in no video output.... First and last Toshiba product....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not a good purchase

By bl from slc,ut on 09/01/2012

sometimes it plays, and most times it doesn't. i don't use it often, because i have others in the home. But I would not recommend this to someone else. always had issues with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

what a waste

By Whoever from florida on 08/05/2012

This is the ONLY adapter that works with the BDX2150. It cost as much as the Bluray player itself. Wireless is useless on this player because you have to have a thumb drive to use BD Live, thus no wireless connection.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

nothing but problems

By golions12 from Undisclosed on 07/14/2012

On my second player, same problem with both, after about 3 months i have sound but no picture. I saw someone say on here to try unpluging it and pluging it back in so I tried it and it works but I have to keep doing that every few dys to weeks, its up to the player how long it wants to work. BAD purchase!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T BE FOOLED!!!!

By Vexed In Vermont from Undisclosed on 06/20/2012

Okay, when I bought this, I didn't care about the wireless stuff and netflix and all. I just needed a new dvd/ blu ray player, but they don't sell dvd players anymore. I rarely used this to watch some movies and one day, it stopped working and it was overheating when i first turned it on. I tried to reboot the system for two hours, but nothing worked. WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME. so save yourself and save your money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worthless Junk

By tmg42 from falmouth, MA on 06/20/2012

This is not a wireless ready player, it is a ethernet ready player, and a poor one at that. It will only stream 30 mins of video, and then shut off. After 2 months of light use it no longer plays in fullscreen, just in the upper right corner of screen when playing DVD. I would not even give this 1 star if it was allowed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

misleading

By R from Undisclosed on 05/13/2012

Never had a problem with playing movies-either blu ray or dvds. I did not know that wi fi ready meant that you need an adapter or that you had to run a line to the device to make it stream. I'm extremely disappointed that I spent the extra $20 on this model, when I could have bought a cheaper one without those capabilities, since I can't even use it on this one. In the future I will do my research before buying anything like this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's great--when it works

By RockinRobin from NC on 05/09/2012

We purchased this player because we wanted to be able to stream Netflix in addition to watching DVDs. The first one we had quit working within about a week. The replacement worked fine for a few months, then we stopped getting video output from it to our TV. As I was researching whether we had any recourse for replacement, I saw the other reviews on this model. I tried plugging the machine back in, since someone else reported success with unplugging and replugging the player. Lo and Behold, we now have video and audio! Not sure why it does this, but apparently this model of Blu-Ray player has its temperamental side. It's not endearing. If consistent and dependable operation is a feature you value, you might want to steer clear of this DVD player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

By Ashh from Tonawanda, NY on 05/07/2012

Played one blu ray, and then never played another bluray disc again, i have NO PROBLEM WITH A REG DVD THOUGH!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba DVD Player

By Dizzy Dean from Farmington, NM on 03/31/2012

I purchased a new Toshiba Blu-ray DVD / player today It worked for approximately 30 minutes and Locked up. It won't even open the disc drawer so I can get my disc out. If I can get my money back I will buy a different brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not working

By Manju from Atlanta GA on 03/21/2012

After working for month, it stopped working. I dont know when it will come back to working mode again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dial up internet runs faster

By onemadmomma from Hamilton, OH on 03/19/2012

Piece of JUNK!!!! it runs slower than my parents dial up internet they had 6 years ago. Freezes up, screen blacks out movies dont play half the time and I cant get hulu on it - can get everything else except the one thing i pay monthly services for. Will NOT ever buy from this company again unless this is resloved and they recall this garbage they sold everyone and replace it with better quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Can't play Blue Ray disc

By js from Buffalo, NY on 03/05/2012

I got this product a few days ago, play standard DVD OK, but when I loaded Blue Ray Disc, it made horriable loud noise while loading, sounds like the disc was dancing inside! Called customer service and reboot it (by turn off and unplug). Worked that day, but same problem came back the next day, and this time, reboot didn't work. By the way, when a Blue Ray disc is loading (with horriable lound noise), it is difficult to eject the disc! It can't be the problem of my disc, because I tried 6 different Blue Ray discs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY, NOT WORTH THE BARGAIN!!

By azzkikronu from Brownsville, Tx on 02/19/2012

Do NOT buy!! I bought this blu ray player less than 3 months ago, and now there is only audio and no video. I was immediately ticked off because of the misleading description, wi-fi ready. REALLY?? Not so, you can't use any other wi-fi adapter, but the one specific adapter that is sold by Toshiba and expensive too. The player was troublesome since the beginning. It took forever to load the movie and some other little annoying things. IT IS NOT WORTH BUYING AT ALL, NO MATTER THE BARGAIN PRICE!! I wish I could have read the reviews before buying...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Waste of time and money!

By Gracie from Las Vegas, NV on 02/18/2012

Just got it two days ago and was only able to see one DVD movie and now there is no image only sound. I can hear the movie play. I can't even go to menu to use Netflix! One good thing about it that Netflix worked really good had no problem with streaming the movies!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By schubej from Indianapolis on 02/07/2012

I purchased this as an affordable BluRay player with Wireless WI-Fi. Then I determined why it was so affordable. Not stated on the box was the fact that in order for the Wireless feature to work a Toshiba Wireless LAN Adapter must be used and it is not included. Not only is it not included it seems that it is no longer available either. I could have purchased a BluRay Player without WiFi capability for an even less expensive price. Another poor feature: if interrupted in watching a movie or if watching a disc of a TV program with multiple shows, this player does not ask if the viewer wants to return where left off but goes to the beginning of the disc. What is really irritating is that every time I turn the player on it tells me that I am not connected to the internet to remind me how upset I am. The only positive thing: the picture quality for both BluRays and DVD's is good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDX2150 not worth the hassles.

By Not a happy customer from Cincinnati, Ohio on 01/25/2012

Bought this player as a Christmas gift, it worked for 6 movies, then only sound. Returned it back to the store, the replacement one worked for 2 movies this time. Saw issues on web sites that others had same issues. The solution is to unplug and then reboot. Not worth my time to do this just to watch movies. Other issue is the WiFi not all there in the unit wasn't told I needed another part to use the Internet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok with some reservations

By Experam from Indianapolis, IN on 01/21/2012

Good unit if all you want to do is play DVD & Blu-Ray discs or stream Netflix. Search capabiity for You-Tube is extremely poor and ability to sync to your You-Tube account is non existent. I like my Toshiba TV's and Toshiba laptop computer, but there are considerably better brands of Blu-Ray players if you want to access internet content. Very disappointing!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No video

By Nico from Allentown, PA on 01/17/2012

after 2 months of playing a movie, the sound works but the video stopped working. the TV works correctly. I checked it using an old DVD and it worked fine. Unfortunately I threw away box. I wish I could be reimbursed or exchanged but I don't see that happening. I would not recommend it to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Frustrated Customer

By SLC_Cust from Salt Lake City, UT on 01/17/2012

SO frustrated that I cannot find the wireless adapter anywhere. I was aware that it was WiFi Ready however I figured it would be easy enough to purchase the adapter, ONLY reason I bought this product was to stream Netflix.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wi-Fi ready NOT

By Moviegirl from Kansas City, MO on 12/31/2011

As for watching Blu-ray discs and dvds it's fine. Pretty much comparable to my Sony. Unfortunately just as with my Sony, you have to buy a separate Wi-fi adapter to be able to be able to stream Netflix, etc. AND, you can only use the Toshiba adapter compatible with this player. HOWEVER, you cannot find the adapter ANYWHERE! It is not available on this site or anywhere else on the internet. They all claim that is is either no longer available or out of stock and no idea when it will be back in stock. Also, the only way to connect this player to a tv is by HDMI. I was hoping to connect to a slightly older model television and stream Netflix and now I cannot do either.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointed

By Funkyrocket from Vernon, CT on 12/30/2011

So I must have missed the WiFi Ready comment on the box. I know what that means and definitely didn't see it. I guess I should have looked harder. I only found out it was WiFI ready when my brother told me he couldn't hook it up to the internet. This was a gift. Also, while he was able to play bluray movies fine, when he tried to play a regular DVD, he had sound and no video. There's some more small print I missed. You're TV may require a special connection for regular DVD's to work. Of course, who knows what that connection is or what TVs you'll need that for. Hmm, I felt like a cheap skate after hearing about all that. Should have went for the bluray player that was a little more expensive and included everything. This player will probably end up costing more anyway after getting everything I need to make it work correctly. And then it probably still won't work as well. :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless? Even WIRED connection is no-go.

By marathon from Wheaton, IL on 12/30/2011

No amount of contortion, rebooting, re-connecting or network manipulation (Dynamic addressing, manual settings) will allow this unit to connect to the internet through my router. The DNS will not be reconciled under any circumstances, even when I explicitly define it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product

By Media Man from Undisclosed on 12/27/2011

This product worked as advertised. I purchased a TV for the bedroom and I wanted a device to watch Netflix on. I started to purchase a Streaming Media Server but saw for 10 bucks more I could have a Blu Ray Player that would also access Netflix as well as a few other Media Content providers. I knew from reading the box that the WiFi was optional. No problem... I had an extra Linksys router at home and setup a bridge to my wifi router. It took about 10 minutes to reconfigure the router and the Blu-ray player worked the first time. This is a great product. The only reason it didnt get 5 stars was because I think Toshiba could have offered a few more media services or they could had given the end user an avenue for adding additional services. My suggestion to other people that have posted negative reviews... Read and Research.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very misleading AD for blu-ray

By dhkbdq from Towson MD on 12/24/2011

When the ad say wireless ready, a lay man will think that it can be connected to internet once you ready to use the device. But in this case wireless adapter is not included so its not wireless ready. Very misleading...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HORRIBLE

By imsh from Washington, DC on 12/17/2011

I don't even care about it not being wireless ready, i simply connected it using ethernet cable because my router is right next to the tv anyway. My very big problem is having a blu-ray that randomly stops working. After less than 2 months of buying and only ocassional use, one friday I watched a whole movie streamed, that next sunday i turned it on and there was audio but no video, STRANGE. TV worked fine, a dvd player worked fine, only problem was the blu-ray. After powering off and back on, and playing around cables, what worked was unplugging it from power and plugging back in. It happened again today, 3 months after initial buy. I buy a blu-ray to work when i turn it on, not this hassle, i would rather pay more for one that works whenever I want to use it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Thank you for feedback!

By Alex from Seattle on 12/14/2011

I was going to buy this, read everything and I had understood it was wi-fi ready. Only through the comments did I realize it wasn't! Saved me much time! Thanks for your comments to prevent what would have made me very unhappy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best bluray

By jordan.negative from NJ on 12/13/2011

this is just an awesome bluray... its not just running on dvd's but u can do is download a movie online and put that movie in flash drive and u have a pin in the back to connect flash drive. connect your flash drive and have fun of all movie! =D


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MISLEADING

By misleading advertising from Undisclosed on 12/10/2011

The box of the product claims to be 'Instant Streaming READY', and the Toshiba website specifications states 'Wi-Fi READY, however after getting home and trying to connect this Blue Ray player to the my Wi-Fi, to my surprise, I would have to buy an adaptor to make it work. Perhaps that should have been disclosed??!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

everything I need

By jake from waipahu, HI on 12/09/2011

I was well aware that this player did not have built in wireless so I am not disappointed. this player does all that I need from a blu ray player, and that is to play blu ray movies to my TV. with my set up the player is close enough to a router that I just run a cable to the player for internet access. I can not think of anything more I would want a blu ray player to do regardless of price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HORRIBLE

By Joe A. from Houston, Texas on 12/02/2011

This is the most leading device I have ever bought. It states on the box it has video streaming capabilities, wireless ready but what it doesnt tell you is that you need to purchase a USB wireless adapter. What's even worse is that it MUST be a Toshiba wireless adapter. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

usually you have very ...

By d from wausau, wi on 11/27/2011

usually you have very good products, but this is a very misleading product. I expected more, like having a built in wireless card. I wish it would have told the user that you can stream videos but you need a card to do so.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad

By toro from Undisclosed on 11/25/2011

can not conect to network with ethernet cable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Use Wired Over Wireless

By PadresFan from San Diego, CA on 11/22/2011

I don't use wireless for my streaming media player and now blu-ray player. Wireless can get incosistent with these type of devices. I use powerline adapters to hook up ethernet cables to these devices. Problem solved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very misleading

By Disappointed from Royal Oak, MI on 11/21/2011

They do not make it obvious that you can't use the WIFI capabilites out of the box, or that you need to buy an adapter. I ordered 3 and will return them all upon reciept.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable. Has streaming video

By Gabe from Undisclosed on 11/14/2011

Great deal, especially at some retailers. It has netflix which is awesome. Navigation is subpar. If this carried some of the other streaming services it would get 5 star for price-value (e.g. missing hulu!).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wireless adaptor not included

By jason from laurel MS on 11/13/2011

I will be taking this product back, I had no clue that in order to use the internet services wireless, that I would have to buy an adapter that is so expensive. Nevermind! I will just take it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good, but

By Yankfan from Bellevue, NE on 10/22/2011

I thought I would not agree with a soxfan, but they are correct. Wi-Fi capable is probably available if you have the proprietary LAN adapter. Never thought I would agree with a Soxfan. But they are correct.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ask Questions

By HAR from Chicago, IL on 10/18/2011

Picture quality is fine, but just like the woman in Maine, I got it home and was looking forward to using the online services, but nope. Can't do it because the LAN adapter is sold separately ONLY via the Toshiba website. Very misleading indeed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Wireless... maybe

By soxfan from Maine on 10/09/2011

Picture is great, no complaints about how it plays, BUT if you want to use the wireless option, GOOD LUCK. It is only usable with the Toshiba proprietary USB Wireless Lan adapter, which they don't even sell. They don't tell you that.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved