Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BDX2250 » 43 Reviews

Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS, DTS HD - BD-RE, DVD-RW, DVD+RW, CD-RW - BD Video, DVD Video, AVCHD - Progressive Scan - Ethernet - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 43 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Discontinue Product!!!

By Sherry from Bronx, NY on 03/31/2013

Blue Ray player worked for about 3 months, has not worked since. The Player is at the point where it doesn't even open...everything said about it on the bad reviews is true this is a pure waste of money


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

just dont cut it

By newfie from newfoundland on 02/23/2013

i can sum this device up in one 4 letter word JUNK


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST Blu-Ray/DVD Player Ever

By Kristin from NY on 01/02/2013

Do NOT waste your money on this! Turns off in the middle of each use, if you can even get it to turn on at all. The remote does not work well, and I am constantly having to unplug the entire unit to restart it. This was the biggest disappointment ever, and it is quite obvious why the warranty by Toshiba is only 3 months. They know that their product is not good, which is why they will not put it under warranty for a whole year! It is absolutely ridiculous. I will never be purchashing anything made my Toshiba againt.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Got connection 1 time then nothing!!

By Barbra from VA on 12/30/2012

I am sick of this, I signed up with NetFlix and watched 2 movies, next morning nothing!! Would not connect to my wireless network. Kept freezing where I had to unplug and restrat and still will not connect! Waste of money and time..... :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lemon

By rw from stockbridge,ga on 12/24/2012

My first,thought i had a good deal,but its not me this is a terribly unreliable


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Total garbage

By cheeko from Swartz Creek,MI on 11/27/2012

Piece of junk, remote never worked.Tried a universal remote and got the same results.No remote = not able to use the player at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horribly disappointed

By Boo from Canada on 10/06/2012

Had problems from day one, but thought it was us not knowing how to set it up properly.... Nope! Wish I had checked out reviews prior to buying! Oh so many issues:Loses connection to internet, so cannot us any of the internet-based options. Will not play some blue rays. Intermittently will not turn on at all, may sometimes turn on but no menu appears on tv and cannot open or then turn off, have to unplug instead..... and keep doing this until it allows function so you can get the dvd out! Now no longer works with surround system, only sound comes through tv, and ,most of the time dialogue so low you cannot hear. This was brief outline of issues. Toshiba used to be a good brand, instead this was a huge waste of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Giant paperweight

By cj from Missouri on 09/25/2012

After 7 months, the unit has sound, but no picture.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont Buy

By Brian from Central NH on 09/23/2012

Bought this in May 2012 by the end of September it was no longer able to open any of the applications like pandora, vudu, or most important netflix. Blu ray Player still works but I'm guessing it's only a matter of time. I also have a sony Blu Ray and have never had any trouble with it. Also the remote on this is extremely slow. Only has connections for HDMI and Ethernet. I way never able to get it to work fast enough through my network so I've always used the ethernet. It's been nothing but problems since day one. Now I have to go out and buy a better more expensive one 6 months later. Great!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy

By farber2 from portland or. on 09/10/2012

it functions poorly, remote works occasionally, just not very good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible Blu-Ray player!!!!!

By jerseygirl717 from Cape May, NJ on 07/27/2012

This was my first Blu-Ray player, so I had nothing to compare against. I liked that it had Wi-Fi, but it takes a long time for the player to connect-and it's right on top of the router. Also, 75% of the time, the remote does not work. 75% of the time, Netflix does not load. This was a huge waste of money. Now that I have had the player for 5 months, I have absolutely no picture whatsoever. I would not recommend this at all. Nothing but disappointment and frustration!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hotel Connections Via Web Portal

By Traveler w/o a net player from Phoenix, AZ on 07/13/2012

This unit has no capability of connecting through a Hotel WIFI or direct Internet connection that uses a Web Protal (web page) to log-in through. This player needs a web pop-up-screen to allow an Owner to log-in through a web-browser-portal. I was unable to use it at all during a weeks stay a hotel. Glad I brought it with me right? NEEDS A FIRMWARE UPDATE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

BDX2250 BluRay Player

By Toolman from NJ on 06/16/2012

I am on my 2nd unit. Studders terribly - 1st BDX 2250 went back to store. I thought we had it beat. but the 2nd one started studdering in a few weeks. Tried another TV and another HDMI Cable - s..s..studder. Additionally, the WiFi needs to be on top of my router to connect. I was hoping a firmware update was available - but no. Always like Toshiba products in the past 46 inch TV is great. but last year - Bad portable 1TB drive, lasted 1 day - now 2 DVD players - Next eletronic purchase won't be Toshiba. Features are Great...if it worked.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy this player

By guyinusa from USA on 06/09/2012

When it works, it has good features. Player stops working and has to be unplugged for a couple of minutes to get it working again. I have not experienced this kind of failure with home electronics before. Sent first unit back to Toshiba. Second player had to be unplugged after less than 48 hours of using it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

refurbished, but still -

By leQ from mason city ia on 05/10/2012

DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT. IT DOESN'T DO WIFI UNLESS YOU BUY A MORE EXPENSIVE ADAPTOR. I WISH I COULD TELL YOU MORE, BUT GOT STOPPED POSTING BECAUSE OF THIS: We're sorry but we encountered the following issue(s): Your review text contains inappropriate language.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

JUNK!

By 2weave from Milwaukee, wi on 04/29/2012

I wish I would have seen these reviews before I wasted my money on this piece of junk. I have experienced the same problems with this unit as the others on this board have posted. I came here to see if I can buy another remote because mine DOES NOT RESPOND AT ALL when used. It is aggravating since that means I cannot use the player at all. What a waste of time and money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

best blueray deal

By mikey from arkansas on 04/19/2012

my third brand name blueray player. the cheapest. by far the best. it is so simple to hook up ANY BODY could do it . i was using it in 15 minutes. even hooked me up to face book what ever that is. i am so glad i sent the samsung back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissapointed

By Sandwich from Orlando, FL on 04/19/2012

Powers down on it's own. I'd rather spend money on Blu-rays than, another Blu-ray player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

First Blu Ray and Wifi Player

By gotglasses from NY on 04/18/2012

Nice unit that plays most video files off a USB drive or DVD video or data disc. Toshiba does not advertise on the box that the unit can play back Xvids, Mpegs, MP4 and WMV files - even off a flash drive! Unfortunately it does not play most, but not all, AVI files as they come off my video camera. However, WiFi and Youtube Videos work well. I bought this to watch video on WiFi and it does that admirably. Some complain about noise on disc play, but this is rectified with a little rubber pad under the front two skimpy foam rubber pads supplied by Toshiba. DVD's spin fast and balance can be a problem with a lightweight player - and they all seem to be that light! I highly recommend this Toshiba product!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy this product

By TM from WI on 04/17/2012

The remote doesn't work, the player works intermittently only if I unplug and plug it on again. when the player does work it has a very slow response.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Is my first BD Player

By Tony S from Coulter, IA on 04/14/2012

The delay on playing bd rom makes me push the home menu, but it does seem to go to the home menu. Starting to get use to the black screen for a while before the disc does play. Yes the remote has to be pointed directly at the player, but I see it as a child safety feature though you sometimes wonder if the button you pressed went through to the player. I have Netflix and Hulu Plus it be great to see hulu plus added as an app to this player. Maybe replace the blockbuster app with hulu. Seems to me it needs an update on it's software, but isn't too bad of a player overall.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

blu-ray

By Mr.G from St. Paul MN. on 04/09/2012

trouble,trouble,trouble!!!!!!!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst blu ray player

By Agnome26 from Undisclosed on 04/01/2012

This is the worst Blu Ray player I've ever own. You really have to point the remote next to the player in order to make it work. I really can't believe that Toshiba has not noticed all the problems associated witn this product prior to putting it on the market


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Value

By manaray from Upstate NY on 03/30/2012

Easy to setup - only problem we had was having to reboot the unit by unplugging it from electrical outlet when a disc wouldn't play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dont waste your money!!!!!

By naya from lowellville oh on 03/27/2012

i bought this player to stream netflix and have had nothing but problems with it. im taking it back today and exchanging it for Roku. this was the worst investment ive made in a long time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

slow and unreliable

By artamesia from Chicago, IL on 03/26/2012

another reason to read reviews of products before purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best BR i ever had.

By Monk from Gonzales LA on 03/26/2012

This is a good BR player for the price the picture quality is great media streaming works great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not happy with this DVD BR

By jwel from Undisclosed on 03/11/2012

I purchase this DVD about two months ago. I am new to this BR DVD use. But I decided to try it out. I am totally disappointed with the product. It's been more problems with trying to stream on Netflix and just trying to get connect is a problem as well. When watching a BR Movie, it keep showing connected and then disconnected on tv screen. I am not sure what this is about. I will be looking for me another DVD Blue- ray player, and it will not be with Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By jgoff from Beaumont on 03/06/2012

The BDX2250 is worthless. WiFi cuts in and out every 45 seconds. Unit is as loud as a train. Shuts down randomly. Freezes up during playback. I threw it away...would not even donate it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy!!

By AMR from Undisclosed on 02/27/2012

I should have listened to the other customer reviews! As soon as we plugged it in, it started making really loud rumbling noises. It also makes loud noises when playing discs. If anything is slightly touching the machine (cords, disc case), the player will vibrate and rattle. Interaction between remote and player is very delayed. We had to push the buttons several times to get it to work. The player froze in the middle of one our movies and we had to restart the whole player to get it to work again. This player is a huge hassle and frustration. We took it back to the store.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible

By Nottoshiba from Hartford, ct on 02/15/2012

Have had this blu ray for 2 months. It works intermittently. Today there is no video. The streaming wi fi only works sometimes. The remote is too small and responds slowly. Read other posts. It's just a poor product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy!!

By TV Mommy from Houma, LA on 01/29/2012

Got as a christmas gift. Took over a month to get connections because I have an older HDTV. Once connected ther is either no sound or horrible sound. Would not purchase again! Should've stuck with my dependable DVD player :(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Garbage

By Lamb66 from Ontario Canada on 01/22/2012

Rec'd as Christmas gift, & worked fine for the 1st week, then lost video completely? Have audio with no picture. Disconnected, reconnected, even replaced the cable, to no avail. Living in a northern community means a big hassle trying to get this back to the manufacturer. Waste of time & money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By unsatisfied customer from Undisclosed on 01/15/2012

I am very disappointed with this unit. It only works about half of the time. Waste of money!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Third time not a charm

By MaxMuscle from Rio Rancho, NM on 01/14/2012

The first player worked for 2hrs than no picture. The second player was slower than molasses in the winter and now the third player is louder than a freight train when playing a DVD. I have other Toshiba products and this is the first time I have had any problems.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

dissapointed with product

By jwellington from hudson, NH on 12/28/2011

I really wish I had read more reviews before purchasing this product. For the price it seemed a steal, but after having tried to use it I realize why. The unit locks up all the time and has to be unplugged to get it to reset. The built in wireless is worth than useless, I have a 20Mb internet connection with a wireless n router less than ten feet from the unit. Most of the time it cannot find the connection and even when it does it constantly rebuffers. I gave up using the wi-fi and loaded it onto the Wii which works fine although it does not have an hdmi output, which is one of the reasons I purchased this product. Overall not impressed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Good At All

By Pott from DC on 12/26/2011

This blu ray player is terrible. It randomly shuts off on me and the remote is bad as well. Sometimes I have to press buttons on the remote multiple times for it to work. Netflix on here is terrible as well. Not sure if its a Netflix problem or a Toshiba problem. All in all this thing is terrible wouldn't recommend.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DISAPPOINTED

By CONCERNED from Toronto, ON on 12/26/2011

Between the odd clunking sound at startup and now the remote control does not work and trying to get a remote code or new controller... It is a nightmare. VERY, VERY DISAPPOINTED and would not recommend this to anyone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Love This Player

By DarkSinistar from Greenville, NC on 12/22/2011

Not only are the DVD and Blu-Ray features outstanding, the ease of accessing Netflix, Pandora and YouTube make this player a real winner in my book. Especially the layout of Netflix compared to my old player. I haven't found one single bad thing about this player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

annoying

By JC from Undisclosed on 12/21/2011

THis DVD player has been a sore disappointment. I have been trying to watch movies using a USB thumb drive plugged into the unit. The files play fine for 15 minutes or so then player just shuts off and goes to sleep. So every I have to restart the unit and fast forward to the point where it shut off. There is no way that I have found to disable the auto shut off. This terrible feature has rendered this player useless. If you want to use a usb plug to play movies, do not buy this item.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cheap and poor performance

By Mr. "G" from South Dakota on 12/16/2011

Very disappointed in Toshiba. I have several other Toshiba product that I am very pleased with. This Blu Ray player is not typical Toshiba. It doesn't have a display so you don't know if it is working or not. It did lock up on me 3 times in 2 nights of use. Can't read the nomenclature on the remote - very cheap remote. Can't press any buttons on the front panel without pushing it off of the shelf. Too little, too light weight, needs a display, needs a much more robust OS. It is going back!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointing Netflix Streaming

By Chadwick from Denver, CO on 12/11/2011

This was my first blu ray DVD player purchase, and I was excited to see how much better movies would look on my new HD TV. I don't own any blu ray movies yet, but I tried the upconvert feature using a few older-format DVDs and was happy with how the player was performing. Next I tried Netflix - big disappointment! When starting a new Netflix movie, the 'loading' screen displayed, indicating 0% loaded for several minutes before finally filling the 'loading' progress bar and starting the video. Once the video started it played fine without problem. I watched 1 full-length movie and two TV show episodes at different times on two different days, and had the same experience each time. To me, this is unacceptable. I had a Roku player set up in the same location using Wi Fi and did not have this problem, so it's not an issue with my Wi Fi or internet connection. I also checked to ensure that I was running the latest software on the player. Unfortunately, this DVD player is going to have to be returned, as the poor Netflix performance is a deal-breaker to me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

very good for price

By ricko from Undisclosed on 10/14/2011

purchased today had to take first one back. did not send signal to TV. but second one turned out to be very good easy to set up and excellent picture quality for the price wi-fi easy to use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved