Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » BDX3300 » 29 Reviews

Toshiba BDX3300 Blu-ray Disc Player - 1080p - Dolby TrueHD, DTS HD, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, DTS-HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital, DTS - BD-RE, DVD-RW, CD-RW, BD-ROM - BD Video, DVD Video - Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 29 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

wast of money

By turuzzo from uk on 09/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After 4 Months i connect the player BDX3400KB to my wireless router , but it just freezes and i have to unplug and then to do the set up again. hope there will be an update to the software to make it working.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyer Beware!

By Disgruntled Buyer from Oklahoma on 09/03/2013

Wish I had read some reviews before I bought it... I have had the player for several months now and have only been able to get it to connect to the internet once and it only last for about 4 days. I have not been able to get it to connect since! I have let it sit for months and I finally decided to give it a shot again... STILL SAYS CONNECTION FAILED!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Blueray Player

By Steve from Carmel, Indiana on 08/09/2013

Don't buy this Player. Had it for 4 Months and I am not able to connect to any network. Also player freezes up and I have to unplug it to get it working again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worthless

By disappointed from Ephrata, Pa on 07/15/2013

My daughter who is struggling financially was so proud to have given me this for Christmas. I had WIFI for about 1 month and then it was gone. I have tried and had IT people try to get it connected to my wifi, to no avail. I would never buy any Toshiba product again. So, I have a fairly expensive dvd player.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buyer Beware!!!!

By Disappointed from Newark, Delaware on 07/11/2013

I am so disappointed in this product. I wish I had read these reviews before I purchased the blu-ray, but I thought Toshiba was a reliable name and regrettably my retailer would not take it back either. The player freezes up repeatably and turns off. Maybe every 20 miinutes or so. Then I have to power up again. There should be a recall of this BDX3300. My sister and I bought the same model. Hers does the same thing. I would rate it a zero if I could. I want my money back!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blu-ray player

By Court from MS on 06/29/2013

Having the same problem everyone else is having. I player will not connect to the internet and I am unable to watch Netflix using this blu-ray player. Definitely disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful

By CS from Cleveland, OH on 05/07/2013

I have to agree with all the other reviews. Also could not connect to home network. Also freezes up. I have sent it back but don't know what to get with my voucher. The BDX5300 and 5400 have equally terrible reviews.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very sleek looking

By Welchguy from Indianapolis on 04/04/2013

Too bad it doesn't work! I played a few movies, connected to the Internet and upgraded it. Played 2 minutes of a DVD then it just froze up! I never get an extended warranty and this time I wish I got one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst buy everrrrrr

By Lola from New York on 03/14/2013

Waste of money, can't use Netflix, Hulu or anything! Freeze it all the time and I have to unplug it. My son is so disappointed and I only have it for two weeks. It only worked for few days and now it says connection fails all the time. Just a piece of garbage that can't be use it anymore. Do not buy it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy it!

By Katlyn from Appleton, Wisconsin on 03/11/2013

I liked it at first but when I tried to use the wifi it did not work. I was unable to set up my wifi. The only reason why I got this was because if the built in wifi


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

update needed

By golfer44 from Undisclosed on 02/25/2013

The unique feature of this player is it's ability to connect to a 5ghz wireless N signal at a great price point. This was my motivation for buying it, but I ran into some problems from day 1: 1) Whatever the initial firmware was installed allowed it to connect wirelessly at my house, but after the firmware update to 1.18, I can't connect anymore and the player freezes after 10-20 seconds from powerup and I need to unplug it. The only way it remains useable is by unplugging the unit and plugging it back in and then disabling the wireless by changing the option to Ethernet. The Ethernet connection also causes the unit to freeze in the same timeframe once the RJ45 cable is plugged in. If Ethernet is selected and no cable is connected, it does not freeze. Disabling the networking all together prevents any sort of freezing as well. At home, I am using an ASUS RT-AC66R router set to WPA2 - AES. I have tried different security settings and played with the 20/40/80 bandwidth, but no success. Both 2.4ghz and 5ghz SSID's can be seen by the BDX3300 but I cannot connect without the lockup problem. All other house wired and wireless devices are able to connect - xbox360, sony products, dish DVR, iphones, droid phones, etc. Now the strange thing is I can wirelessly connect with the 5GHZ GUEST network of a NETGEAR WNDR3700v1 router located at a friend's house. Same WPA2-AES encryption. The ASUS is using a Broadcom chipset while the NETGEAR is using Atheros so I am not sure if there is a correlation to the problem.. 2) BluRays play fine, but DVD's cause the unit to power off and reset after about 30-60 minutes of play unless a button on the remote is pressed every so often - almost like there is a sleep function that kicks in after awhile, but it is only with DVD's. I am hoping that Toshiba can issue a firmware update to fix this problem or provide a way to tweek certain player settings or wireless router settings to provide a stable connection. I did give this player 5 stars on features because it has everything I could want in an inexpensive player - bluray, dvd, Netflix and 5ghz wireless are great features if only I could get it to work as intended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Agree with other folks

By chepierre from Vancouver Canada on 02/03/2013

I gave this player an extra star in performance (2) because it DOES play movies, mostly, though about every third movie it will simply power off at some random point. And though it will sign into Netflix, it's unable to play a movie, even after the firmware updates (have done 2 now since we bought it). Haven't noticed the heat issue, as we have it by itself on shelf in front of the TV. Also doesn't seem to be able to play WMVs on a flash drive, though it recognizes them as video files (Message reads unable to play this file type). Will likely not buy another Toshiba player, or at very least will read the reviews first next time!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible product

By madmom from Indiana on 01/10/2013

Worked fine for a few days, but now will not connect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy

By not happy from Topeka Ks on 01/02/2013

WiFi does not connect to my network. The primary reason I wanted a wireless blu ray player. I enter my network ssid, and password, and the only response is network failed. I can connect via ethernet cable for d/l the latest updates, but defeats the purpose of going wireless. Wish I had searched for reviews prior to purchasing. I USED to trust the Toshiba name, not anymore


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst blu-ray player

By omar from el paso, tx on 01/01/2013

Shuts off constantly when playing dvds. Sometimes it freezes when using Netflix as well. Even after updating firmware I'm tech savvy and I know what I'm doing. This dvd just has too many issues and not enough firware updates to fix the problems


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba should be ashamed!

By Mike from Los Angeles, CA on 12/27/2012

My player worked for a few days now all of a sudden it will not connect with my WI-Fi under any circumstance, which is the main reason I bought it. Also if you leave a blu-ray paused for more than a few seconds it skips when play is resumed. Overall the bdx3300 is complete garbage, pay a little extra and get something that works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Glass half full

By Zoeysmom92081 from San Diego, CA on 12/16/2012

I haven't experienced the wi-fi issues mentioned in other reviews. I connected with no problem. However, it has turned itself off twice in the middle of a streaming movie and YouTube locked up. No problem playing a DVD so far. Not sure the refurb model was the way to go but price was right.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fair

By Ray from Tampa FL on 12/08/2012

Had problems getting it to work with my network at first. My bedroom is too far from the router. It did not connect in the bedroom, so I moved it to the tv room and then after it connected and I programed it, I moved it back to the bedroom and had no more problems. It is true about the heat, you cant stack.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD ejection problem

By Jay from Shreveport on 11/11/2012

I have played 1 DVD, now it will not eject. Very poor performance from a manufacturer that is typically good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought it and returning it

By lp from hollywood fl on 10/25/2012

Could not connect to netflix. That was the purpose of buying this DVD player. Was very excited, then concerned. Looked it up to see if anyone else had problems. Seems everyone has. I'm going to return it today. Toshiba usually makes a reliable product. This one is not their best.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good potential bad execution

By BDuser from Undisclosed on 10/19/2012

I just setup this player today and have it attached to a toshiba tv. Internet setup was fairly easy and the firmware updated without issue. Getting it to play with my network was a different matter though. I have a WD Live media player on another tv with my media content stored on a usb drive. I also have a Toshiba Windows 7 laptop... the player finds the laptop share but errors when it attempts to connect. There's no settings and I can't even provide it with the network address to find my media.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another Wi-Fi Complaint

By Not An Expert but from Belleville, IL on 09/22/2012

Only 7 reviews of this so maybe there are satisfied users out there, but from the start my husband and I have found this device difficult to set up, and once that was figured out, frustratingly inconsistent with its ability to stay connected to Wi-Fi. More times than not it will not maintain connection between uses and we have to re-program the router code to get it to work. However, once this is done, it works well enough, has always connected with Netflix. Perhaps the heat issue is our problem as well--hadn't thought of that before I read these reviews. But ours is not in a stack and has plenty of air all around it. Not sure if we will return it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WIFI connect issues

By jts from BC Texas on 09/15/2012

I agree with previous reviews. I get network fail error. Can't make Netflix work


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

didnt work out of the package

By nate from kansas city on 09/07/2012

i org had a bdx 2250 and the remote stoped working so i got this one as a replacement and i opened it fresh out of the package and it did not work so now i have to send it back to get another one hopefully that one wont be messed up


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

a new cisco router couldn't save wifi

By stone from san franciaco ca on 09/02/2012

I use my wifi to game around my house. Yes i have a boaster. This blue ray player can't load netflix and it is 6 feet away from router. I am bringing it back today.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not good

By k from cali on 08/25/2012

cannot connect to my wifi even tho it says it's wifi ready. found a link to purchase adapter, but pretty sure 'wifi ready meant i didnt need one. no easy access to support... not pleased


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too Hot to Handle

By NevadaJ from North Las Vegas, NV on 08/17/2012

The several Toshiba BR players have ALL had the same problem. They are VERY sensitive to heat. They must be absolutely alone and not part of any equipment stack or in a cabinet. Even the slightest heat will result in quirky crazy behavior. If it does start to overheat the unit must be unplugged from power and TV. Once cooled the unit needs to be reset. I had a player in my bedroom but needed to keep it on my bathroom sink in order to play.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful!

By Traci from Milwaukee, WI on 08/15/2012

I bought this product last week and I was able to connect to the wi-fi to use Netflix...now all of a sudden I can not connect. It just keeps saying Network Fail. NOTHING has changed with my wireless home service. I can't figure out why it won't connect and there is no number to call Toshiba and get support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Internal WiFi Problen

By PJ from PHX, AZ on 08/04/2012

Sirs, Secondary to the update released in June there is no longer any capability to connect to ANY network. Please develop a work around. While my device worked (two weeks) I liked its features. Now that it will not function properly, not so much.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved