Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DR430 » 37 Reviews

Toshiba Dr430 Dvd Player/recorder - 1 Disc(s) - Dolby Digital, Virtual Surround, Dts Dvd+rw, Dvd-rw, Cd-r/rw - Dvd Video, Video Cd - Progressive Scan - Hdmi - Usb Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 37 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Stopped loading DVDs after 5 months

By DVDgirl2076 from VA on 09/23/2013

I was completely satisfied with this unit until it stopped loading DVDs, instead receiving a Disc Error message. The user guide's Troubleshooting causes/solutions section did not fit my situation. Also, and very irritating, I cannot seem to find the correct phone number to call for support.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

problems

By Shtach from Iowa on 08/26/2013

Bought recorder summer 2012. About 6 months later I noticed problems with the remote, I thought it was the batteries and replaced them, but it works on and off. I suspect something is wrong with receptor on the recorder itself. When it works, it records nicely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Loose sound after using pause key

By k from b on 06/01/2013

Unfortunately if you are editing out commercials as you record once you use the pause button once, the unit will no longer record sound.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DR430 Defective....TWICE

By JWEUSMC from Atlanta,GA on 04/28/2013

I've had two of these machines in the past month. Cannot get it to record any shows from my DVR. Alli get is the audio....no video. I have a nice store credit to use on this website, but honestly don't see anything on here that I would use. I hooked up both of the recorders in every way possible, but still no video, just audio...Frustrating to say the least.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good value for the money

By Minuteman from Sturgis, MS on 04/14/2013

I have owned my DR430 for about a month now and have found it to be user friendly and good quality recorder for the money. I am very happy with my purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value!

By JazzDad from South Central Texas on 04/02/2013

I've owned one of these units for about 3 years now, and couldn't be happier with it. The learning curve wasn't bad and it records discs nicely. Due to the low price of this machine, it is my everyday DVD and CD player, as well. (I play the Blue Ray discs on my more costly machine.) I bought this brand because I was so pleased with my Toshiba LCD TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Useless as a recorder

By stosh from Glendora, CA on 03/24/2013

The unit plays commercial dvd's , but won't play back what it records. Screen goes black. Toshiba replaced the first unit, replacement does exactly the same thing. Since you can't talk to anyone at Toshiba anymore, is there anyone out there that has had any experience with this??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not up to par

By Dave F from Sun City, AZ on 03/06/2013

Bought a new DR430 Recorder/Player. Was defective from the box. The S-Video IN would not accept video from Cable box. Would only work with a yellow Video RCA cord. The Unit has no HDMI input fo bring audio and video into the unit. Has HDMI OUT port only. It does have a HDMI OUT port to TV which seemed to work well.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great recorder

By Stumpy from Crossville TN on 02/24/2013

I bought this to record some shows and got a lot more then I expected . I have had this for the last four years and if any thing should happen to it You bet I will replace it with an other Toshiba !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD Recorder

By Film Jockey from Sacramento, CA on 02/21/2013

I purchased my DR430 in January 2012 to replace a dead Sony DVD recorder that I had owned since 2005. I had researched all of the available DVD recorders and settled on this one. Like others have said, it's important to understand the machine lacks a tuner. I mostly use the S-video input to record a signal from either my satellite receiver or my camcorder. Image quality surpasses my old Sony, and the Toshiba doesn't seem to be nearly as finicky when it comes to disc media. So far, reliability is very good. I'm a video professional, so my standards are a little higher than the average person; I'm very pleased!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DR430 Records UVerse from 1200 Box

By TimeLord04 from Danville, CA on 02/14/2013

My Panasonic DMR-ES20 died today with a U99 code. I could not find a Panasonic replacement unit. Found this Toshiba unit, compares nicely to the Panasonic DMR-ES20, and same price point even though years apart. Hooked up to UVerse 1200 Non-DVR box via RCA cables. Tested signal from DVR through 1200 box to DR430; perfect signal pickup. Recorded from DVR through 1200 box to DR430 with no problems. DO NOT connect this unit directly to a UVerse 1225, (or newer), DVR, the DVR will pump out a copy protection signal into the DVD Recorder. You MUST connect the DR430 to a 1200 Non-DVR secondary box elsewhere in your house and run DVR shows through the 1200 box then into the DR430 to record DVR programs. MOVIE CHANNELS ON UVERSE ARE ALWAYS COPY PROTECTED, they will NOT record... ALL lower channels, (and HD counterparts), record just fine through a 1200 box. I have no knowledge on the new AT&T Wireless boxes, though. This unit is AWESOME!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Replacement DVD Recorder

By Skip from San Antonio TX on 02/01/2013

I Frankly don't understand why so many users had problems with this recorder. Recorders without a tuner cannot be used to record from TV but must be connected to another source (i.e. VCR). I had mine up and recording in under 20 minutes, and that included the time it took to format the disc. I use DVD+RW discs, which do not have to be finalized before playing on this machine or another player. So far, I've played back only one recording and it was fine. Of course, I have no way of knowing what the future holds, But, I am optimistic.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Almost Worthless

By walterb-sfo from Chicago, IL on 12/26/2012

Will NOT record most programming from ATT Uverse box due to digital rights management. Might work with some cable boxes or digital to analog over the air converters. DVD-RW discs with CPRM seem non-existant.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Documentation bad product good

By No longer confused from Undisclosed on 11/25/2012

Unit was easy to setup and worked great as long as you used unit to play, However, I could not figure out why it would not work on other devices until I found this page. Would be nice to have actual manual included But key is finalize. Also note unit will not work direct from standard TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD recorded but won't play back

By RosieRose from Pascagoula, MS on 11/18/2012

Bought this for my church because our camera heads were bad. Thought an RCA output from the camera to this recorder would fix our camera issues. The DVD recorded from the camera or appears to have recorded but it will not play back. I keep reading about a tuner. Do I need an interface between the camera and DVD recorder? Is that what you all are saying?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very easy set up

By Bill from USA on 10/13/2012

I just got it today.It was very easy to hookup and the on screen setup was simple .One complaint is there is no manual. I hope there is one online .But I was able to figure it out very easily. Picture quaility is great


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba DR 430 Video Recorder

By JT from La Mirada, CA on 10/09/2012

Excellent for the price. Very reliable. I have three of them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WE WERE LED ASTRAY

By Scamp from Undisclosed on 10/03/2012

After searching for a good DVD recorder/player we thought we had finally found the one! Many hours later after still not getting it to record/play... we gave us, disappointed. We tried to find a number to call for support -- nothing! Then today I came in here to search again and found the answer to our problem from the PREVIOUS posting. IT DOES NOT HAVE BUILT IN TUNER! That was not made clear/plain from the sites that we ordered it from that we needed something extra. Thanks to the gent who explained why our would not work. We're boxing it up and taking it back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVD Recorder

By middleoftheroad from San Jose, CA. on 09/30/2012

Several people wrote reviews that this unit does not record. THAT IS INCORRECT. This unit records just fine BUT THIS UNIT DOES NOT HAVE A BUILT-IN TUNER. That means that this recorder relys on the output functions of another product such as a TIVO or VCR or Digital Tuner converter box. When using these output sources to the input of the Toshiba the unit will perform just fine. I have several DVD recorders from different manufacturers so I can easily compare features and quality. This unit is a bit slow on finalizing and the titling features are awkward but usable. Video and audio quality is good. Recommend not recording slower then at 4 hour speed. The DVD recorder market is drying up. If you need one grab this one now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent value

By hihoaudio from NYC, NY on 09/08/2012

I replaced an expensive Panasonic DVD Recorder with this model and have no regrets whatsoever. The DR430 is easy to use and program, records all cable channels and has had no problems at all. Half the price of the Panasonic and picture quality is as good or even better. 100% satisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Know what to do before you complain

By Church Video Director from SC on 09/05/2012

This unit is so simple my 11 year old kids on our church youth video team operates them with ease. We have four. It does everything a recorder should, I never needed the manual, to simple.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By hkat from Ontario, Canada on 08/09/2012

I bought this recorder at Christmas (8 months ago) to record some tv shows - and it works well. Operation can be a little complicated, must read and keep instruction manual. Took time to learn to use. Still, I would purchase the same unit if I could do it all over again. Worth the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible product

By bigdog from indiana on 07/23/2012

I honestly would not recomend this product to the devil himself it is the most complicating electronic I have ever faced. Im about 6 hours into figuring out how to record and still havent figured it out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD Recorder

By mamawoof from Stockton, CA on 06/11/2012

Has to be hooked up correctly for it to record.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Awesome

By Taperjim from Essex Jct. Vermont on 05/31/2012

Lots of bad reveiws but I love! To the Haters READ the instructions and FINALIZE THE DISC.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Recording Feature

By moe from michigan on 04/12/2012

This unit does not record directly from TV . It has not tuner built in. YOu pay extra for nothing. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS if you are planning to record directly from TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bummer

By unhappy from Cedar Rapids, Iowa on 02/17/2012

have had this unit 1 day, and i find (as others have) that it wont record anything from TV. this is my reason for wanting a recording unit.. how can i get my money back?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Capable recorder

By HiTech from Cincinnati, OH on 02/14/2012

Records great from Directv box and VCR dubs at XP and SP. Picture degrades quickly on slower speeds


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great DVD RECORDER

By Bikeman from Salinas ,CA on 01/02/2012

It a very nice recorder . It does everything I need it to.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NO GOOD

By SAD from TEXAS on 12/07/2011

NO GOOD DOES NOT RECORD. BEEN THROUGH 1 PACKAGE OF DVD DISK .LOST THAT MONEY BUYING WHEN ITEM DOES NOT RECORD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy It

By C J from Lafayette, LA on 11/28/2011

I can view movies, but I cannot get it to record from the TV. Brought it back to Best Buy and they gave me a new one. I cannot get this one to record either. I will return it and buy another brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not record

By mike from phoenix, az on 06/19/2011

product will not record. it is unsuitable for mass distribution. it needs to go back to the lab.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Value for DVD Recorder

By worp63 from Idaho on 01/27/2011

Easy to use for simple recording. Have transfered my home videos from camera with ease using built in port! Use to watch movies and never a skip.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Buy

By cachedog from Wolfeboro, NH on 12/28/2010

Plays our DVD movies fine BUT I bought this unit to be able to record from the TV. The unit does not work. It may be recording but plays nothing back. This one is going back!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good dvd recorder

By raider ken from manteca, ca on 12/04/2010

solid dvd recorder. Wish it have a hdd, more recording features(ex. time, and picture) , but overall a good product for the price


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wowzer DR430 DVD RECORDER

By a44magmn from Phoenix AZ on 11/30/2010

EASY TO USE... does the job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wowzer DR430 DVD RECORDER

By a44magmn from Phoenix AZ on 11/29/2010

EASY TO USE... does the job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved