Home » Video » Video Disc Players/recorders » DR570 » 3 Reviews

Toshiba Dr570 Dvd Recorder With Built-in Digital Tuner Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 3 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Fast Recording (3)

Best Uses:

Home (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worst piece of vide equipment I've ever purchased

By Frustrated from Arroyo Grande, CA on 02/14/2013

I purchased a DVR620KU DVD/Video recorder, and the DVD recording feature is so unreliable as to be useless. When recording to DVD the unit correctly records only 20% of the time. The majority of the time only portions of the data are recorded while the balance is recorded intermittently (skipping).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Same Failure as Y2K12

By Scruff E. Dog from Winfield IL on 01/29/2012

We have really enjoyed this machine; however, yesterday both of our machines would not power up. The electricity was there, the internal fuses were ok, have not troubleshot further as yet. Very strange. We are on UPS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

wonderful tuner

By jim from st. pete Fl. on 01/21/2012

bought 1st dvd recorder in 03. bought this toshiba dr570because if offered HDMI input via antenna. It performed beyond my wildest expectations. I bought another on for my other home.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best DVD Recorder I ever had!

By Hector from Albany, OR on 01/04/2012

I cannot believe all the complains I see here. I have my DR570 for 14 months now and all I can say are praises for it. It is the only one in the market that would output to HDMI not only DVD playback but also from composite analog or component video. The tuner is great too as you can either hook it up to an antenna for over the air ATSC reception and get HD reception, or hook it up to your basic cable and because it has a built in ClearQAM decoder it will also give you the local channels in HD. My DR570 is hooked up to my cable so I could record local channels in HD on DVD-RW disks which i could recycle over and over again. My only complain is about the specifications for the DR570 that is listed on this website. A lot are wrong (e.g. Multi-angle Display: No??? - oh yes it is available!!!) and a lot of good stuff on this unit has been omitted. I hope Toshiba could correct this. But with the unit itself, I am a happy camper. I am planning to buy another one so that I could record two shows at a time.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Y2K12 or planned obsolescense?

By RRS from San Dimas, CA on 01/01/2012

I have 3 of these units in use for over a year. While unnecessarily complex to use, they have worked satisfactorily. Until today. Woke up this morning, 1/1/12, to find all 3 machines are dead. Clock window displays only dashes and the machines will not power up, eject discs inside, nothing! Tried unplugging and replugging from the wall; no change! All 3 at once; this cannot be coincidence!! Anyone else have this happen?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

support

By Larry from Sarasota Fl on 12/08/2011

the unit stops recording and gives E-6 and there is no way to find out what that is. The user guide should have a list of errors and what they mean.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well

By MBM from Glendora, CA on 09/17/2011

overall this product performs reasonably well. resulting dvd that is recorded is average in quality. remote difficult to read due to poor silkscreening color on the names. auto clock feature must be turned off as well as the auto daylight savings time feature. auto clock based on ANALOG PBS station to be available, in the U.S we are now DIGITIAL and feature will not work and will mess up any attempts to use timer recording. digitial turner however is very good. in LA over the air stations are numerous and could be used without cable if necessary.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to learn an for what?!

By Dr. Chasable from Olympia, WA on 07/10/2011

The istruction manual is crammed with details and instructions that don't help. All discs recorded need to be finalized. Instructions tell you how to set up auto finalze for disc full or end of preset timer recording. End of timer does not auto finalize. Discs can not be duplicated on my computer. That s not mentioned anywhere in the literature or manual. You must use RCA or fancier connections to output to a TV and can not do any setup operations with out a TV. As in other reviews on this site, RF coax in and out is pass through only, no connecton to the rest of the recorder with out a converter. It's been a nightmare getting just the basic service from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard to learn an for what?!

By Dr. Chasable from Olympia, WA on 07/10/2011

The istruction manual is crammed with details and instructions that don't help. All discs recorded need to be "finalized". Instructions tell you how to set up auto finalze for disc full or end of preset timer recording. End of timer does not auto finalize. Discs can not be duplicated on my computer. That s not mentioned anywhere in the literature or manual. You must use RCA or fancier connections to output to a TV and can not do any setup operations with out a TV. As in other reviews on this site, RF coax in and out is pass through only, no connecton to the rest of the recorder with out a converter. It's been a nightmare getting just the basic service from it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unit does not produce an RF output.

By Dan in Arizon from Tucson, Arizona on 04/18/2011

Overall the recorder is a good unit at a good price. The issue I have is that this recorder can only be used with a television with an auxiliary video input. The television must be switch to the auxiliary input to see the recorder's output. This detail is not included in the manufacturer's literature.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unit does not produce an RF output.

By Dan in Arizon from Tucson, Arizona on 04/18/2011

Overall the recorder is a good unit at a good price. The issue I have is that this recorder can only be used with a television with an auxiliary video input. The television must be switch to the auxiliary input to see the recorder's output. This detail is not included in the manufacturer's literature. The antenna In/Out provides to the TV only a signal pass-through from the antenna or cable/sat box; not the recorder's output. I had expected to be able to receive the recorder's signal from the antenna out. This is the first time I have seen a unit with a RF In and Out that does not provide its output on the RF Out. This recorder cannot be used with a TV without an auxiliary input without the addition of an RF modulator.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great buy

By yvonne from OH on 02/21/2011

I was not familiar with Dvd recorders so it took me a while to figure it out. I did a lot of playing around with it until I understood it well. No problems with recording. Copied a lot of pictures from my camera and my vhs tapes. i have done at least 250 hours and i am very happy with it. thinking about getting another one because they are so hard to find


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your money !!!

By Iceman from U.S.A. on 02/12/2011

I bought this unit in October of 2010, and it worked well for a few weeks, then the headaches started, and have gotten worse.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your money !!!

By Iceman from U.S.A. on 02/12/2011

I bought this unit in October of 2010, and it worked well for a few weeks, then the headaches started, and have gotten worse. Programs that were to be recorded using the units timers simply didn't record at all, and there was an E 3 next to the program timer. Toshiba does not provide the info for this and many other error codes. Then the DR570 would re-format the DVD-RW after recording a 2-hour program in the SP mode. Unfortunately, I never got the chance to view the recorded programs. The latest program timer issue with this unit is that it will stop recording during the program, and show an E 6 error code. Though there is a list of some of the Error codes in the Owners Manual, Error codes E 1 - E 22, and E 37 - E 39 are bundled together in a group, without any specifics about the Errors. The Error code info is not even available on Toshiba's website. My experience with this Toshiba product, and the problems that my fried had with his Toshiba HDTV has convinced me to avoid making any further purchases of any other Toshiba products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Finally a Great DVD Recorder w/ a tuner!

By NYY - Mike from Jacksonville, FL on 12/21/2009


Pros:

Simple Controls, Fast Recording, Attractive Design

Cons:

Must Read All Direction

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home, Movies

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to work and enjoyable to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works just as we had hoped

By fans of Chuck Verified Purchaser from Crystal Lake, IL on 07/20/2009


Pros:

Fast Recording, Attractive Design

Cons:

Discs Load Slowly

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Movies, Home, Archiving Tv Shows

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We needed a DVD recorder that would work after the switch to digital when we discovered that our old recorder could not receive the new digital channels. This model has a digital tuner allowing it to record all channels. We are very satistified; although still in the learning curve on the new remote, etc.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I would buy this product again and again

By accmhlc from Bridgewater, NJ on 06/17/2009


Pros:

Fast Setup, Simple Controls, Fast Recording

Cons:

None At This Time

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Archiving Tv Shows, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

none


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved