Home » Video » DVR670 » 4 Reviews

Toshiba Dvr670 Dvd Recorder Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 4 reviews)

75% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

High Quality Picture (4), Easy To Set Up (3), Easy To Use (3)

Best Uses:

Bedroom (3), Home (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

10 min no pic

By ranger from Buffalo, mn on 05/15/2012

The machine worked fine first 5 months then just latly last 2 weeks it started to send no pic or sound to the TV. The tape was still playing but no picture. I would have to push the play button to make the pic come to TV. It takes 10 minutes and no pic, always 10 minutes over and over all the way though the tape. Ive unplug the recorder to see if that would fix it no it didn't. Manual doesn't talk about this happening. I didn't see it in the manual.The tape works fine in my other players.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst ever

By wlm from Undisclosed on 02/01/2012

I have gone through six of these in about 8 months. All failed--some as quickly as three days. Stay clear!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba DVR670

By Skip from NH on 12/31/2011

This unit performs Excellent. The DVD picture quality is clear and stable. Set-up is easy. I have used other VHS/DVD units that were not too bad in picture quality but, the Toshiba DVR670 blows them away.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Learning curve

By Lnk Mike from Lincoln, NE on 12/04/2011

I wanted to convert old VHS family recordings to DVD. The instructions are a bit cumbersome but once you learn the process it is easy to make copies. The best feature is when copying a 2 hour tape it will automatically pause while you set up the next DVD for recording. Also this machine has a tuner so you can also record TV shows.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Out of Warranty

By JamaicaGirl from Medford, NY on 12/01/2011

This was a Christmas gift from my daughter - last year. For the last 2 weeks it sat unplugged because the power wouldn't come on at all. Hoped it needed to be reset. Just called & it's out of warranty. Less than a year old & a top-of-the-line machine that doesn't even power up! Give me a break.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DVR670 nightmare

By Bob from Tucson, Az on 09/09/2011

I have hooked up the cables the same way for many units cannot even get the setup menu to come up put in a legal disc to watch a movie see the numbers move no video and no audio what gives


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor documentation; counter-intuitive operation

By Curt from Scottsdale AZ on 08/17/2011

Owner?s manual does not include instructions for the steps required to record and play back with the VCR. While I have rewound the tape several times, I could not explain to you how I accessed the rewind. I continue to mash four or more buttons in different sequences to make it happen. I have not tried to use the DVD recorder. I am frustrated and almost ready to ship this unit back to the vendor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor documentation; counter-intuitive operation

By Curt from Scottsdale AZ on 08/17/2011

Owners manual does not include instructions for the steps required to record and play back with the VCR. While I have rewound the tape several times, I could not explain to you how I accessed the rewind. I continue to mash four or more buttons in different sequences to make it happen. I have not tried to use the DVD recorder. I am frustrated and almost ready to ship this unit back to the vendor.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

useless

By mgd from Va on 08/07/2011

Try this with Verizon Fios! Useless documentation. Abs. garbage


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

useless

By mgd from Va on 08/07/2011

Try this with Verizon Fios! Useless documentation. Abs. garbage


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Pannonia from St. Louis MO on 07/30/2011

Here is the sequential list of failures I have experienced with my Toshiba DVR670KU since I put it in service Jan 2010. (1) In DVD recording mode, it recorded only the beginning and end of a program with the center missing. I stopped DVD recordings. (2) The auto clock reset function quit working. (3) When it reached the beginning of the tape in VCR rewind mode, it automatically started to play the tape forward. (4) About 90% of the time, a new channel number input was held only for about 2 to 3 seconds before it reverted back to the previous channel setting. (5) The manual clock set function also quit working, rendering programmed recording impossible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Pannonia from St. Louis MO on 07/30/2011

Here is the sequential list of failures I have experienced with my Toshiba DVR670KU since I put it in service Jan 2010. (1) In DVD recording mode, it recorded only the beginning and end of a program with the center missing. I stopped DVD recordings. (2) The auto clock reset function quit working. (3) When it reached the beginning of the tape in VCR rewind mode, it automatically started to play the tape forward. (4) About 90% of the time, a new channel number input was held only for about 2 to 3 seconds before it reverted back to the previous channel setting. (5) The manual clock set function also quit working, rendering programmed recording impossible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Happy

By wow man from Los Angles, CA on 06/30/2011

This is one of the best DVD recorders still sold. The only unit I know of with an option to record in XP mode PCM for high quality audio to DVD, not to mention great video quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

QAM Analog Tuner Sub Standard

By dvr record expert from Livonia MI on 04/12/2011

I purchased this DVR670 to record qam channels from Cable TV. The ATSC tuner works great recording both vhs and dvd good on limited number of free channels. On the analog not so good the signal records 5 seconds and then off 5 seconds.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best available DVD-recorder/VCR/Tuner

By RAS from Vernon Hills, IL (Chicago) on 02/27/2011

Thoroughly compared this DVD recorder-VCR-tuner with 2 competitors: 1) Panasonic's DMREZ47V looks slick but can't record digital broadcast with VCR. Also: programming the DVD recorder is unreliable. However, Panasonic's digital tuner is the best of the 3: you can block individual unwanted decimal channels whereas with Toshiba / Philips you can only block the whole number, including all the decimals. Hopefully Toshiba & Philips will add that capability with next version. 2) Philips DVD recorder-VCR-tuner is identical to Toshiba's but the controls are scrambled - dowright maddening at times! Therefore, Toshiba's DVR670 DVD recorder / VCR / digital tuner is the best available of these 3 (I haven't tried either the LG or JVC). I'll be buying another one soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best available DVD-recorder/VCR/Tuner

By RAS from Vernon Hills, IL (Chicago) on 02/27/2011

Thoroughly compared this DVD recorder-VCR-tuner with 2 competitors: 1) Panasonic's DMREZ47V looks slick but can't record digital broadcast with VCR. Also: programming the DVD recorder is unreliable. However, Panasonic's digital tuner is the best of the 3: you can block individual unwanted decimal channels whereas with Toshiba / Philips you can only block the whole number, including all the decimals. Hopefully Toshiba & Philips will add that capability with next version. 2) Philips DVD recorder-VCR-tuner is identical to Toshiba's but the controls are scrambled - dowright maddening at times! Therefore, Toshiba's DVR670 DVD recorder / VCR / digital tuner is the best available of these 3 (I haven't tried either the LG or JVC). I'll be buying another one soon.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

adequate

By musicmamasu from NY on 02/04/2011

This DVD player works fine.I bought it as a sub for grandchildren to view dvds and vhs. However the recorder does not work to record DVDs from VHSs. I have had many problems trying to deal with this and have not been able to do it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad

By Bizz from Denver, CO on 01/16/2011

This unit is set up with a lot of appealing features which are useless if they don't work. I don't want to do anything fancy but watch movies and record games I miss due to work. Since the tuner won't scan channels higer than 22 I can't even get an opportunity to see if it'll record the upper channels. I have messed with this thing for almost 2 months know and don't know what direction to take. The owners manual is useless. This is most disappointed I've ever been with a piece of electronics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fantastic combo unit

By zep89 from Tucson, AZ on 01/01/2011

Very happy with this purchase. Plays back all of our DVD and VHS collection. Records DVDs in high quality. HDMI will come in handy when we finally get a 1080p TV.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not happy

By Sally from Rochester MI on 11/29/2010

There is a long process to go through to get the TV playing. I have to enter an unlock code and set the TV to a different setting. Then I enter the channel on the Toshiba remote. The Toshiba remote has no volume control so I always have to use the two remotes. NOT happy about this process.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fits the bill for Mid-level users

By Stitchintime from Woodstock, IL on 09/27/2009


Pros:

Records Off Antenna, Durable, Easy To Set Up, Easy To Use, High Quality Picture

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Home, Bedroom

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Because of the built-in digital tuner I can use this to record network shows from antenna and a digital television to either the DVD or VHS. I cannot do that with my other recorders because altho they have tuners, they aren't digital. It is easy to figure out the set-up (if you are at all electronically inclined) and the directions are throrough if you're not. Dubs vhs to dvd just fine. I don't use it for editing to cannot comment to that funtion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolute lifesaver

By Quick fix from Berkeley, CA on 09/15/2009


Pros:

Easy To Use, Easy To Set Up, High Quality Picture

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this unit so my mother who does not speak or read English could watch and tape soap operas. It was easy to setup. The only flaw is the size of type on the remote for her. I am considering purchasing a second one for myself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very positive experience so far

By RobK Verified Purchaser from Chicago suburbs, IL on 08/06/2009


Pros:

Consistent Performance, Easy To Set Up, High Quality Picture, Easy To Use

Describe Yourself:

Enthusiast

Best Uses:

Bedroom, Home

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Very solid SD TV picture, better than TV's own tuner. Pleasant and high quality SD DVD and VCR playback experiences. Have not tried with HDTV, nor written media yet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not for non "geeks" use.

By Bigfingers Verified Purchaser from Folsom, Louisiana on 07/28/2009


Pros:

Attractive Design, High Quality Picture

Cons:

Difficult To Use, Difficult To Set Up, Inconsistent, Slow To Load

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Best Uses:

Bedroom

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Used for everyday DTV recording of wifes' favorite soap operas. I do not consider myself a dummy, however, the myriad steps needed to accomplish what should be simple are more than aggravating to this user. A computer "geek" I am not. This unit requires more than my pc knowlwdge has acquired. Yes, I am a casual user of our home computer which is much easier to operate than this "670". It also did not help that our NEW Sony Bravia DTV did not recognise this unit on initial setup. I have given up attempting to use the DVD for "soap" copying. The VHS is just slightly less difficult to use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved