Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » E05A050CAU3XW » 26 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio 3.0 Plus 500gb Portable Hard Drive In Black With White Accents (e05a050cau3xw) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 26 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Worst HD ever

By Sucker from Undisclosed on 07/18/2012

Bought two each failed about one week apart. Computer could not recognize them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cable connection is terrible

By Annoyed from Florida on 06/19/2012

The proprietary connection is loose and constantly disconnects. This makes for a fun time correcting the problems from not ejecting properly. Drive itself is fine, but the cable problem makes it unusable, so a complete waste of money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have owned Toshiba ...

By Gazza from Melbourne, VC on 06/04/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have owned Toshiba laptops and other gear but I would not consider buying a backup like the Cavino or any other Toshiba unit. At this point I expect easy and clear back up! My T unit stops at 98% and then hangs up! Would you want such an backup unit? It should be simple "plug-play" but not in my experience! I run a resort and will be suggesting to other resort owners that the consider another product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

trash

By wsihlelr from United States on 03/24/2012

This is the biggest piece of trash. I does not work at all. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY, no matter how good you may think the price is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cable is trouble

By Steve from Houston, Texas on 03/02/2012

Hard drive works great - have to play with the cable every time i use it talked to 5 people who also have one 3 said they had cable troubles also.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Canvio 500 GB

By Barney from Undisclosed on 03/01/2012

Problematic. Worked OK at first but then developed problems. Not user friendly for access to documentation and fixes. Too much wizardry and not enough ability to customize. Don't recommend purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cable is GARBAGE

By Eightupman from Undisclosed on 02/10/2012

I bought two of these to back up files and I thought I lost one in the first month. So I pulled the cable out from the second drive and the first one worked fine. Its not the drive that is garbage.. its the CABLE... now for the search for some spares... but from what I'm reading.. good luck to me..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

buy only if you do not find other HW

By kokoz from Turin, Italy on 02/08/2012

I was seeking for a USB Memory Pen and this hardware was better for cost/size. After opening box I found a very short cable so the drive plugged in USB was docked on the floor. I decided to buy a cable extension but the PC do not recognize the unit. The cable is more thick than photo in Image Gallery but moving it the connection is lose until new plugin.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not recommend this product

By drewapps from Undisclosed on 02/06/2012

I have only had this external hard drive for six months. I use it to backups about every other week. Now it is not recognized by my PC. I searched the internet for driver or firmware support - nothing. I would not recommend this hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Cable

By Southshorex from Duval Florida on 01/24/2012

Unit is OK...but the special cable is too short.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked fine for a couple ...

By Al from New York, NY on 01/21/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked fine for a couple of weeks and now is not recognized by my laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Connection. Fail.

By mahler from Manila on 01/13/2012

Bad PROPRIETARY USB connector design paired with a very stiff cable, albeit the drive itself is good but how will it work & benefit from buying this if the connection fails? After market support is bad as well. Do Not Buy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working after 4 months

By DonKo from Colorado on 12/27/2011

This drive worked great for the first 4 months then it stopped working I opened it up and connected it to my computer via a sata cable and a molex power adapter and the drive still worked fine so just the connecter piece went out so if you buy a new case for it it should still work just very cheap and inconvenient.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do Not Buy

By Kevin from Chicago, IL on 12/25/2011

Worked great for the first few months (2.0 version). After it reached about 5-6 months (not even heavy usage) it is not seen by any pc I connect it to. Very frustrated. Total Data Loss. Although it does make a semi decent paperweight now. Avoid if possible.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Drive failed after 4 months

By Business User from Littleton, CO on 12/14/2011

Worked great until it refused to be recognized. Lost all my back up data. Was using it for a back up system and now all my backups are gone. I would rethink buying Toshiba again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice for the price...

By Paps87 from San Luis, AZ on 12/13/2011

Very nice piece of hardware for the price, the only but I have is that get only 464GB not 500GB... can transfer files pretty quickly with USB 3.0


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad connection

By rec from Brenham, TX on 12/12/2011

After using 2 months the cable or drive connection has gone bad - no receipt!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

REGRET!!!!!!!!

By Lexander from Malaysia on 10/31/2011

I bought it 4 months ago, but now I think it just died. At first it was okay, but now it isn't working anymore, cant access at all. All my files including books, movies, songs, photos, about 120gb of data all gone. I don't know what should I do, because those photos are very valuable to me, I don't want to lose them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY without extensive research.

By J from Burnsville, MN on 10/14/2011

I don't precisely know what the problem is, but this hard drive drops connection. I can initiate Time Machine in Mac OSX, but after about 8 GBs of data is transferred, an error message appears, saying that the hard drive was ejected. I would not buy this for use on the Mac, and am unable to get a refund for this, because of the store's policy. It was an unwise buy and I will have to be extremely careful with Toshiba products in the future.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IT DOES WORKS... GREAT!

By Bear from Nevada on 08/27/2011

Unlike the earlier, complaining reviewers I had no trouble reading this on my computer because I am operating it in a COMPATIBLE OS (Win7, 64 bit) with a CURRENTdriver installed (see manufacturer website to download current driver if you need one). Earlier reviewer complaints reveal use of this product with an incompatible OS or lack of proper driver. READ THE PRODUCT SPEC's- the right tool for the right job means Your OS must be compatible with the product specs of the external drive for it to operate!.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy, or not....

By PhotoPro from St Louis, MO on 07/28/2011

Initially the drive worked exceptionally well. After about 5 months of running 24/7, the drive started disconnecting and reconnecting. I used it on a USB 2.0 - not on 3.0. I bought it direct from Toshiba, returned it and had a credit from them for 175% what the current retail is.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If only. . .

By shouldased from Waco TX on 07/14/2011

IF - I had reviewed this the first month, it would've had 5 stars, or 4 at worst. I loved the drive, hated the cheezy little cable. It falls out easily. But I bought two more drives just like it. Now, less than 4 months of use only one is still working. They did what others have said, Not recognized. or it just vanishes and computer can't find it. As a life-long electronics troubleshooter, all I can say is it seems to be an overheat issue. - Inside the case it lasts less than 15 min. before it 'vanishes'. If I remove the case and keep it cool, it will run for hours. Don't know if it is the drive motor or the tiny USB I/O card. - Could be one of the rubber shock absorbers is squashing/pinching something while inside the case. - Oh! BTW- the one that still works, has to have that cheezy cable taped in place, slightly cocked to one side, or it doesn't work either. -- Sorry Toshiba, I usually like your stuff.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

failed in less than 48h

By wpgesser from Undisclosed on 07/03/2011

I brought the 1Tb model on july 1st and after installing the backup software and starting initial backup and transfering a few movies to clear space in my notebook... it failed... window does not recognize the drive... and worse yet, I had allready wiped the files from the notebook... Total loss!!!! I use a lenove X100e with win7pro and have 4 other external HD (all WD) and have been using them with no problems


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GARBAGE - Didn't work at all.

By reviewer111 from US on 06/21/2011

Like many of the reviews here, Windows didn't recognize this hard drive at all on multiple computers. Stay away! Could not return device either....Toshiba you really did not do well impressing me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

stupid usb

By Lexander from Malaysia on 06/19/2011

i plugged it into the usb port, but it didnt appear in my computer... i tried for more than an hour in disappointment, i pulled out the usb... at this time, the light was finally on... since then, every time i plug in the usb, i have to pull it out a little bit before i can use it...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dead on Arrival

By Bud from Laguna Niguel, CA on 03/21/2011

The Toshiba 500 GB Canvio USB 3.0 Hard Drive will not connect to any computer. Both Windows 7 and Windows XP report USB device not recognized. I also own the 1TB version of this drive, and it works fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved