Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » E05A100PBU3XW » 16 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio E05a100pbu3xw 1 Tb External Hard Drive 5400 Rpm - Usb - Black, White Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 16 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Bad USB Connection

By pevans from New Orleans on 03/11/2012

Just like the others. The USB port is broken after a few months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad USB

By Disappointed from Undisclosed on 03/09/2012

I bought the device 4 months ago and the USB is faulted and I can't replace it because I have no receipt


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Connection, DO NOT PURCHASE

By Megan from Indiana on 03/07/2012

I purchased this product in October and the connection has never been great. The cord is wrapped up so tightly to fit in the box when packaged, and it maintains the bent shape. The cord has be be straightened before and during each use, and you lose connection very often. I find myself having to continuously bend the cord to keep a connection. Look for a better product elsewhere, this one is awful!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor in durability, very very poor

By SomePpl3 from id on 02/14/2012

Most like the other costumer, my pc is no longer able to detect this hd because the connector within the hd is failing/broke less than 6 month of usage. I strongly recommend DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

cable connection

By visitorintown from northern IL on 02/06/2012

Like most of the reviews on this external hard drive, I also had issues with the cable connection. I tried a new cable and still was not able to get my computer to recognize the drive. I pried the case apart and realized the problem must be the circuit board that connects the cable to the hard drive. I ordered a Thermaltake dual hard drive docking station and when it arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find out that nothing on my portable hard drive had been lost, I now have a 1TB backup that is no longer portable. I am surprised that Toshiba is not making customers aware of the problem. I really liked this portable external hard drive until I had this problem. I will be replacing it with a different brand.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Device not recognized

By yobaby_1972 from Undisclosed on 01/31/2012

I purchased the Toshiba 1TB to store movies, family pictures and videos to store and view quickly. The product worked fine for about a month when the USB chord had to be wiggled in order for my laptop to recognize the device. Two weeks later, the chord didn't work at all. Since Toshiba products are usually great, I went online to order and purchase another chord, which was not an easy task. The replacement chord worked about two weeks. Thus, all of the data that I stored on the hard drive was lost. I do not recommend purchasing this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst connector ever!!

By stuck with toshiba... from Richmond, VA on 01/14/2012

USB 3.0 connector broke in the drive after less than 3 weeks of babying considering the data I had on it WAS very important to me. Do not use these drive for important data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB 3.0 Cable is Garbage

By Zack from Honolulu, HI on 01/10/2012

Within a couple weeks I noticed that my laptop was having trouble maintaining a connection to the hard drive if I even lightly bumped the wire. Another couple weeks later the hard drive just stopped working. I see other reviews blaming a poorly designed cable. I am hoping the external drive is still serviceable with a non-Toshiba USB 3.0 cable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Faulty USB port

By Crazibryan from Undisclosed on 01/09/2012

Literally had the portable hard drive for three weeks and USB port does not work anymore - purchased in the US and travelled back to South Africa - not sure what support is available?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Design Flaw in USB case connector. DO NOT BUY!

By Navy Dave from Undisclosed on 12/26/2011

Unit worked well for about 2 weeks then when I plugged in the usb to the case one day I heard a snap and the unit failed. The unit will work if the case usb connector is pressed in and held at a specific angle but otherwise is DOA. Very poor design. Strongest recommendations to DO NOT BUY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB Connector Design Flaw

By User from Santa Barbara, CA on 12/08/2011

Good drive. Bad USB connector on drive. Will fail.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not last

By Support Guru from Undisclosed on 12/07/2011

The portability and ease of use initially made me think this was a great item. However, the USB cord and connections suddenly failed on me and the unit will not be recognized by my computer. After a lot of wiggling and rebooting I was able to bring the drive up for a short period and then it failed again. Very disappointed in this poor design! Do not recommend this product if you want durability (btw, I treat my hardware exceptionally well and take the trouble to ensure it is protected, so this problem is NOT due to mishandling). I really like Toshiba products but this one does not match up to the quality I expect from Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible USB connection

By ForeverAlone from Seattle, WA on 08/30/2011

Within a few weeks of normal use, plugging in, and unplugging HD from my laptop, I discovered that the drive no longer could be recognized by any computer. The USB connection/cord had failed after a few weeks of use. I had babied this one since my 1TB contained EVERYTHING of mine, and is no longer. My old Western Digital drive I have had for years, and I've abused, dropped, and nearly punted across the room before, and it still performs like a champ. Don't buy this. The solder connections are worthless, and WILL fail on you, taking all your precious data along with it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great product, look no more

By Lijerm from Managua, Nicaragua on 06/15/2011

This is it, a great buy. Very satisfied with the product, fast transfer speed, great (free) back up software. Sweet design!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have something else to say

By Al from New York on 03/06/2011

The ease of on how to use is fair


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Have something else to say

By Al from New York on 03/06/2011

The ease of on how to use is fair The wire it comes with is way to short.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved