Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTB105XK3AA » 24 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio Basics HDTB105XK3AA 500 GB External Hard Drive - Black - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 24 reviews)

60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

never had

By Bob souther ca. from Oceanside,Ca.92054 on 11/07/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have a Mac OS and have had several updates. I have always used My Toshiba as a back up drive and have stored /used it as a statrt up drive and back up dayly stuff.Never had problems. I always used aprogram to clean it /optimize it etc. and NEVEr had problems. Looking to get another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good external hdd.

By jlx78520 from Bedford, UK on 11/23/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

It is simple and fast USB v2 writing speed about 30mb/s and USB v3 about 80mb/s, simple to connect using simple phone micro USB cable for usb v2. Works well with linux(android, ubuntu) and windows(xp, 7, 8) haven't tested with mac or other OS. For android device you Need additional power supply. I have never lost data with it. Now I use it to strore all types of data, instaled ubuntu in it and I can't complain, speed is perfect. Recommend for all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works Great!

By J from Undisclosed on 10/18/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have no idea why there are so many horrible reviews about this product, and people complaining about having no manual or anything. I got a physical manual, and a copy of the manual on the hard drive itself. Not that it really matters, though; I have never had a problem with the drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WORST HDD EVER

By MSAAD from SAUDI ARABIA on 09/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I used it for 2 months. i am always worried to use it because of the usb cable. it is very sensitive. Toshiba not providing spare cable. i hate how toshiba used a special usb cable for the HDD NOW MY HDD IS NOT WORKING! Tired of searching for another cable that MAY let my HDD work!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Intermitent Cable

By Disappointed from Michigan on 05/17/2013

The main issue I have withthe product is the connector on the HD is intermitent. I would like to see Toshiba send out a replacement cable to their customers that fixes the problem.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not bad

By Ric from Toronto on 04/08/2013

I have 2 of those. No problem after using for 2 or 3 years.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Portable Drive!

By G-man from Dayton, OH on 03/21/2013

Worked perfect straight out of the box! No software pre-installed to hog up space - very nice!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little drive

By webspider from Iowa on 03/19/2013

Read reviews, do not understand the poor reviews.I own 2 of these. One for system backup on win 7, the other for files on both 2.0 and 3.0 systems. I have win7 pro 64, Quad Xeon system and XP system. Plugged it in, works. I do not install the software on the drive. See no need for it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Canvio 3.0

By Nan from San Jose Ca on 03/01/2013

Bought it, plugged it in. Nothing. No directions. Looked at the web site. Horrible reviews and same complaint. Put it back in the box and will return. Waste of time and gas. Who ever heard of a product with no information on it in the package? Strange...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hate it

By samar from Bradenton, FL on 02/18/2013

Just bought it 2 hours ago and already hate it. others i have purchased were easy as one two three, plug and play and all i wanted was to use as storage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working

By gldn51 from Mill Valley,ca on 01/30/2013

Stopped workin after a couple months, plug it in it spins then turns itself off. Not recognized, Put less than 100g on it and won't work. Very dissapointed in Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Failed - same as others have

By Tech from Okalhoma on 01/21/2013

after using to backup a large quantity of data, it was not recognized by any operating systems that I tried, and would not recover. Lasted three months, just long enough to cause me serious problems....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Is The Best

By I from New Jersey on 12/08/2012

Very Nice External HD & I Love it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great little drive, seamless with OSX

By Oz from Wellington, New Zealand on 11/23/2012

Great drive, I love the fact it's got a shock sensor and ramp loading technology. Many other big players such as WD and Seagate don't offer this on their budget drives. I love the simplicity and small size of the Canvio. It works seamlessly with OSX Snow Leopard formatted for HFS+. Many people are blaming Windows for not detecting it, I say if you buy a cheap computer with a rubbish OS don't blame the HDD, blame the operating system for not including drivers and support for a basic HDD. With the shock sensor, ramp loading system and 3 year warranty I think it's a pretty safe buy if you're concerned about reliability. As with any hard disk drive you've gotta be careful and not move it while in use otherwise it'll be toast! But so far so good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Connector intermittent

By jschneid from Illinois on 09/04/2012

I've had this device for about a year. The drive worked as advertised, but the USB connector on the drive case is now intermittent. I will now find out if their warranty service is any good.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No User Guide available

By justaguy from Fort Collins, CO on 08/30/2012

I have spent hours, it seems, trying to find a user guide on the useless Toshiba support website for their Canvio 3.0 portable hard drive. If a guide exists, Toshiba is determined that I won't find it!! There are, however, warnings about harm to my computers if I try to use this to move large photo files and music files from one computer to another.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

toshiba canvio 3 / 2usb

By wishingstars from warren mi on 08/10/2012

This is NOT mac-compatible! The packaging, etc says it is, but nope, not even having initially reformated the drive to os extended journalled. Mis use, or willy-nilly, it changes the format to DOS / Windows, and absolutely corrupts each and every document, dmg, etc. Think twice - don't buy the drive: pen & paper are much more reliable! Don't let the ads nor the price lure you iin please


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

I have bought a Canvio ...

By marec from Lima Peru on 07/26/2012


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have bought a Canvio 3.o. It don't have a guide of installer or how it's drive . I can't to use and the call center in Mexico , don't have solution for it . What I can about it?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Canvio 500 GB

By piperbarney from Myanmar on 07/13/2012

I bought the drive before coming here to Myanmar (Burma) because of my previous experience with Toshiba electronic proudcts. It has worked fine - even the auto backup which I like. But - now I want to delete some backups and can't find documentation anywhere. If you know of some - please let me know where to find it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst HD ever

By Disar from Denver, CO on 05/19/2012

I bought this HD to transfer all of my files of my previous HD. These storage HD drives are used very infrequently. Like maybe one every 3 months. I bought this HD in Dec 2012 and today (May19, 2012). It failed after the THIRD time using it. This product is garbage. I will never buy toshiba again.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Average hard drive

By Tiger from kanpur on 03/25/2012

I bought this hard drive for my official use. It is very expensive but performance is good but not enough with it's price. USB 3.0 is good


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Save your money

By changes from So Cal on 03/12/2012

Two bought. Two failed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hardware Good / Software Bad

By Kemahsabe from Houston, TX on 03/02/2012

Great little drive. Very portable. Blazing fast on USB 3.0. The included backup software is a different story. It not only didn't work, it caused problems. So I uninstalled it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Non-existent documentation

By Larry from Stockbridge, GA on 02/22/2012

We bought this backup drive because of the Toshiba name and our experience with their other electronics which come fully documented with well written instructions. All they provided was a small booklet devoted to explaining their limited warranty. We are still trying to figure out how to extract our files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved