Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTB110XK3BA » 46 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio Basics HDTB110XK3BA 1 TB External Hard Drive - 1 Pack - Black - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 46 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Junk

By StoneMountain from Undisclosed on 09/28/2013

Lost LOTS of data


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A True Lemon

By BigTex84 from Patrick AFB, FL on 08/08/2013

When i bought my hard drive i was very impressed with the transfer speed except when watching movies, There was always a delay with the video. Then two months after buying the hard drive it crashed. And It couldn't have come at a worse time, because I was deployed in the middle east and was left with out all my videos and family pictures


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Experience

By Dejected from VA on 07/19/2013

After less than 48 hours home, and less than 2 hours connected, the drive randomly disconnects and will make a consistent click and wheeze sound every 1-2 seconds when operating. I fear using this for anything other than quick transfers between machines. Long term storage and regular backups are not it in its future. Based on this experience and other reviews, I made a mistake in purchasing this HDD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Non existent support

By Fred Teifeld from Chicago, IL on 06/17/2013

Low marks and refusal to recommend this product to anybody due to the lack of any convenient way to find instructions on the website. Thank you for nothing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

piece of junk

By jasdf from Undisclosed on 04/21/2013

won't recognize windows 7. so stupid this hard drive


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fast but Delicate

By Awesome from Nebraska on 04/20/2013

I have now owned two of these and have had to return both within about two to three months of ownership a piece because with out dropping them they have started to make strange noises, have a hard time connecting to my computer, and corrupting data. I cannot recommend this HD when there are better out there


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Back up not available suddenly today

By deniscu from Sandy, UT on 04/04/2013

Have been using the USB 2.0 function on my Acer laptop to run back on Norton Security Suite up to today and now that drive is not available for backup. What happen. I have done everything I know to get windows 7 64 bit to recognize the drive to no avail. lap doesn't have usb 3.0 port.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst product

By sumant2000 from india on 03/23/2013

after few months. it gets disconnected automatically. i have to keep it in particular standing position then only it gets detected. if minor shake is the reason for getting away from that particular standing position then drive gets disconnected. I have another external hard drive from Transcend, and it rocks. 5 years no problem to transcend hdd


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad tb port on device

By big a from providence ri on 03/13/2013

ive had my 1tb hard drive ,for 3 month.the port on it is very weak . the plugs on the inside broke off or bent. i use it twice a month for dj gigs an this is a problem. half the time i cant even get to my music.im forced to download music to my laptop an it slows my labtop down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Definitely worth having...

By Savir from Mississauga, ON, Canada on 02/25/2013

I use this as a dedicated HD for DVR. It was very easy to connect and format. Excellent product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB Iis the problem

By Syphon from Lithonia, GA on 02/15/2013

Okay so far this external driver work extremely well however, that USB is the problem. Switch to a micro-usb and it works with no problem. NEXT TIME TOSHIBA maybe use two ports as separate ports it'll fix the confusion.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Drives

By clyde45 from akron, ohio on 02/13/2013

I have many portable drives, including 2 of this model (Canvio Basics 1TB usb3). Also own 2 Canvio 1TB usb3, 1 Canvio 500GB usb2 & 1 Canvio 500GB usb3. This drive has performed perfectly, as have all the Toshiba drives I own. I don't understand the poor ratings. I've never had any of the problems listed in other reviews. I also have portable drives from Seagate (2), WD (1), Samsung (1) & Buffalo (1). Had the Samsung longest & it's probably my best, followed by the Toshibas. The WD & Seagates are next & about equal. The Buffalo is worst. It's really way too heavy & will never spin down after it's ejected. The Buffalo I own gets high reviews. Go figure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simple and value for money

By Akula from Malaysia on 02/04/2013

I drop it but can be used, shock sensors works :D


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ify

By GRut5656 from Mich on 01/28/2013

Not sure what's up this is my 1st hard drive. It seems to backup my daily files. I didn't pay for the cloud so can't say if that works. BUT....so far I have been unable to get the darn thing to do a complete backup. Can't find what to do. NO QUICK STARTUP DIRECTIONS & NO MANUAL Can't seem to find it on the internet either


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannot use between two operating systems!

By Big Jim from Johns Creek, GA on 01/18/2013

Well, I brought this drive to move files from my Mac Book Air to my HP workstation. I can see the drive on my Mac, but when I pull it into the HP, I see NOTHING!. I can see the drive under Drivers and Devices, but I cannot access the contents of the drive OR put anything on it from my Windows 7 box. What Gives!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mobile HDD that you should not move !

By osmeest from Undisclosed on 12/10/2012

I've bought this HDD to use it as TimeMachine backup drive for my MacBook Pro. It appears that the connection on the HDD itself is too weak to sustain even a small and careful move. Any move is sanctionned by a HDD disconnection. My worst buy !


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Mac users beware!

By New Mac user from Denver, CO on 12/05/2012

This drive worked fine on my PC but I am now switching to a MacBook Pro. It would not recognize the drive. After may attempts and searching the web I found the work around - a USB 2.0 micro-usb cable. This drive will not work as a USB 3.0 on MBP! Buy a WD or other dirve instead if you want to use it on a Mac.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Optimal

By xstofyr from Seattle, WA on 11/23/2012

I use the Toshiba drive primarily as a backup and to conduct mass changes in my directory system. On 2 occasions during the restore process the Toshiba drive scrambled the tree written back to my system. I have spent hours looking for missing folders and files. Hardware: the connection fitting to the drive itself is shoddy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Going on one year, very satisfied!

By Jaklyman from Laurel, MD on 11/13/2012

I received this as a gift last year for Christmas. Since then I have had data backed up on it and used it continuously (maybe several times a month). I do not leave it plugged in, nor do I move it much. I dropped it once but it has never skipped a beat, and has easily connected to many different computers. Entirely satisfied with it and hope for many more years of use with it!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Bad Experience!

By Eden from Chandigarh, India on 11/09/2012

I have bought Toshiba 1TB Canvio USB 3.0 PHD on 8th Nov. 2012. I'm also facing the same Window detection problem. I think there is some problem with hardware or data wire of Hard Disk. No doubt Toshiba is leading brand in the world but this kind of issue leaving bad impact among the Toshiba Fans. Thanks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst purshase ever

By Querido from Wilmington, DE on 11/08/2012

I brought this product and wasted my money, since its not getting detected on any machine, I spoke to Toshiba now they said, they can't retrieve my data and can replace HD. I lost 6months of pictures and very important material.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great HD

By Scouse Mouse from New Zealand on 11/04/2012

I was rather dismayed about the negative comments about this HD. I have the 1.0TB Canvio Basics 3.0 and using it on my 2.0 Laptop. It worked first time - seen by my computer and away it goes - all 931Gb of it. I suppose time will tell - I think a lot of problems with HD's are their lack of ruggedness - if you care about something enough you will treat it with care. This HD promises Internal Shock Sensors and RAMP technology. I don't plan on dropping it on the floor to test it - just treat it according to the importance of the files which are placed upon it. I already have a Toshiba 750Gb HD bought about a year ago - USB 2.0 compatible - also works fine - no problems at all. I love Toshiba!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY these

By sprattoo from Maine on 10/13/2012

I purchased 2 of these, one for video projects and one for photos. One of the drives started not showing up sometimes. Now it is completely not seen, tested on 4 different machines, and it has months of photos backed up on it. All usual channels followed, I was a A+ PC tech for a long time, so yes basics covered. Not a reliable product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Missing Security Encryption

By Don Keyhote from Chantilly, VA on 09/18/2012

The box stated: Secures your backup with a password (Data Encryption up to 256 bit). Issues: 1) There was no hardware security included. 2) There was no software security included. 3) Turning ON the BitLocker causes a significant delay; over 14 hours. After everything is said and done, I am unable to use it for work due to policies that require hardware encryption; not software. If it is software encrypted, BitLocker is not permitted. Details about the product on the box and on the website must be clear about the encryption methods. If I could return it, I would.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HD NEW

By Herberth from Brazil on 09/14/2012

HDTB110XK3BA Hello I bought a hd it's not recognised for my computer. for recognise I followed right clic on computer select manage --> storage--> Disk Managment, I not see the volume. I tested it on 4 computers and nothing. What should be the problem this hd its defective from the factory?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Hard Drive

By Chas from Louisville, KY on 09/14/2012

This is my second hard drive by Toshiba. The first one I bought 2 months ago and it has proven to be a great hard drive. I especially like the ramp loading technology because it reduces the chance of head and platter damage. In my opinion, Toshiba hard drives soars above the rest -- great job Toshiba!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Drive Ever

By NeverBuyToshibaAgainGuy from Denver, CO on 08/19/2012

So, I bought this drive today. Plug it into my USB 3.0 slot and, windows pops up a message telling me it's installing the driver, then immediately pops up another message saying it could not recognize the device. I re-installed USB 3.0 drivers, made sure my BIOS was at the latest version. Still nothing. I have read through the forums and googled the problem. More shocking than the fact that this drive doesn't work was the TOTAL lack of a response from Toshiba to the NUMEROUS complaints about the problem with the drive being detected. In the many years I have been working with computers, this is the only portable drive I ever bought that didn't work right out of the box. I will be returning it for a Western Digital or Samsung promptly. I will also never buy another Toshiba product period. Not because this one didn't work. I mean, that kind of thing does happen occasionaly. I won't be buying another Toshiba product because there was simply never a response to any of the afore mentioned complaints. Further investigation of the support site shows that they almost never respond.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Install on Windows 7

By Luke7366 from Brussels, Belgium on 08/01/2012

For those who have recognition problems, right clic on computer select manage --> storage--> Disk Managment, you will see the volume without letter, you'll recognize by its capacity... you have by right clic on the disk area to set the partition Active right clic again and change drive letter and paths.., give a letter. That's it, your new drive will appear in your computer window. That's what I did having the same problem...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

toshiba rocks

By gputvain from fl on 07/09/2012

I just when out and bought a TOSHIBA laptop and then last week I bought a H D And i thinks TIOSHIBA is a good company and I tell everyone a bout my new laptop that batterie is better than I had seen in Any laptop I have had a lot of different Brands this is the first new laptop I have ever owed But I love it and will never go with a another company


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Good product. Will highly recommend.

By realOne from Australia on 06/25/2012

Have been using for over a year with 4 laptops - HP, Lenovo, Dell, ASUS - works fine with all. All have Windows 7 (32-bit / 64-bit). Mac Users -The drive is formatted by Toshiba as NTFS. To use with a Mac, you will need to reformat as FAT32. It will then be usable with Mac as well as Windows. Use the utilities software provided with the device to reformat.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Junk

By mem from NJ on 06/20/2012

Can't get my laptop (Dell less than 6 months old, 7.0) to recognize the hard drive. It powers on, and I can feel it running, but my laptop just doesn't 'see' it. Shouldn't be this difficult with all new equipment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Hard Drive Died

By cartog. from Undisclosed on 06/06/2012

Had this drive less than 2 months and it died. Now have to wait 3 months for a replacment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T BUY FOR MAC

By sleek from Wa on 05/02/2012

Says reformatting required for mac. I formatted the drive correctly, but experienced a variety of problems including the drive not being recognized, then not being able to write to the drive, then not being able to read from the drive and finally not being able to eject it. Exchanged it for a second one and had the same problems. Exchanged it for a Western Digital drive, problem solved.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Need more capacity

By needBiggerHarddrive from Boston, Ma on 04/15/2012

I have a 1TB Canvio Basics. Now I really need bigger capacity hard drives from Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Disappointment Changed

By SgtMajG from Undisclosed on 04/01/2012

Bought 1 TB drive during black friday, used it once to copy all my files from my Laptop (HP) went back in a month later to see if I had a certain file.... kept getting drive not recognized error. Finally got my desktop to open it after repeated errors. Checked out the Q&A here and saw others had the same problem with it. So based on what I read... I connected a mini usb cable to the connection point (the cable has 2 ends built into one) by not using the second point, the drive worked flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Amazing Portable Hardrive!!

By Toshiba Fan from Undisclosed on 03/23/2012

I have been using this portable hard drive for about 3 months now and it has been great!! I am a little overprotective so I keep it in the internal foam case it came with when I take it to my college. I also have a Toshiba laptop and this works great with it. All Toshiba products I have used have always worked great for me. I am not sure about the other reviews but I can tell you this: my laptop is somewhat old (OS is Vista) so still has the 2.0 usb. This 3.0 usb hard drive is compatible for my 2.0 laptop as well as all other 2.0 computers I use on my campus. Its 1TB so it will be hard for me to run out of space (and I have lots of projects, music, and other things - I was running out of space on my laptop!!!). Only problem is that sometimes it doesn't eject safely so I have to pull the usb out w/o safely removing it but so far I haven't lost any saved data on there. I recommend it, I found a good deal so it was much cheaper for me.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked fine with Windows 7 & XP !!!

By pgarg from Sterling heights, MI on 02/24/2012

Loved the drive and the design very sturdy I actually purchased two!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works great

By Hank from Queensbury, NY on 02/20/2012

Works fine out of the box. Nice to see NTFS comes standard instead of the older FAT-32. Mac users need to eject hardware safely when using any external drive, including this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great value

By Steve from Undisclosed on 01/07/2012

Small footprint, large storage and works fine on 3 P.C.s between 1 to 4 years old and my media router.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Big NO if your using a MAC!!!!

By Dude from Undisclosed on 12/30/2011

just bought it this afternoon.. will return it tomorrow...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy if you are on a mac

By ComputerGUy from Undisclosed on 12/21/2011

FYI my 2011 MBP doesn't even recognize it. Nothing. Will be returning it and buying a western digital


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

1TB EHD

By Redenk from Ca. on 12/16/2011

Works great right out of the box. Plugged into my windows7 64bit computer and showed up perfectly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Won't work with Mac OS X LION!!!

By Mac from Sterling, AK on 12/10/2011

This drive is not recognized by my MacBook Pro running LION


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY - WASTE OF MONEY

By max_lee69 from northville, mi on 12/08/2011

It says 2.0 compatible but was not recognized by my computer, said device cannot work.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked for less than a day

By ssanand from WA on 12/07/2011

Now the computer cannot recognize the device. Tried it connecting to different machines but no luck.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This model has a design flaw

By sysadmin from Clarksville IN on 12/06/2011

This is my second Toshiba USB3.0 drive to experience a cable failure. The problem is a very sturdy thick cable and a very fragile connection on the drive. All is well unless the drive is moved and you get a disconnect. Drives work okay but don't bump them while in operation or you might lose the connection. I shouldn't have bought the second one, thought the first was a fluke since I've always had good luck with Toshiba. I'd stay away until they redesign.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dont buy this portable hard drive

By JP from malibu, CA on 11/30/2011

cannot recognize my hard drive neither in MAC nor Windows 7 (dual boot Macbook pro 2011).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved