Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTC605XK3A1 » 29 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio HDTC605XK3A1 500 GB External Hard Drive - Black - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 29 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

No Support, Low life

By NoGood from whitesboro, tx on 08/19/2013

I bought three of these so I could do a rotating backup. The bundled software doesnt work right, although does ok with windows backup. Hate that pay for something doesnt work. Space available changes and gives lousy advice on space used.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stay away

By Maddog from San Diego , CA on 08/05/2013

Purchased 8/5/2013, Windows 7 didn't know it was there, on a Toshiba laptop the p875-S201, disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

usb hdd

By wurb from butte, mt on 06/20/2013

small out of the box fun. fits desk or pocket out of sight and mind. just right for single projects.like a little post-it when you update and test a lot. an n adition worth using. ...wurb.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works until it doesnt

By domino from minnesota on 06/19/2013

Had it for almost 2 years with no problems until one day the dreaded clicking started and that was all she wrote. Lost about 50 blue ray movies and about 100gb of music but nothing TOO important. Would have been really upset if it was vital information. The three year warranty is awesome though, customer service was great and now I have $120 in credit for this site and don't really want to buy another canvio...but I might have to


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lost Storage Space

By Swan from Colorado on 04/02/2013

Working fine for 3 months then was doing a system back up on my laptop when I got a data storage error indicating not enough space? Similar to another post on here ?THE ENTIRE 500 GB WAS REDUCED TO? 500 MG. ?WHAT HAPPENED TO THE REMAINING? 499.5 GB??? Not a reliable product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba !.0 TB drive

By JP from South Carolina on 03/20/2013

Excellent device, but you don't want to let it slip off your couch onto floor. 14 destruction. The cord held tight in the USB port, however the drive easily unplugged at the end of the cord, hit the floor and never ever worked again. If you buy one , buy a roll of duct tape and tape it to your laptop..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

works well

By o2plus from Belmont, CA on 03/06/2013

Worked right out of the box on Windows 7 pro 64 bit, USB 2 without needing to use the Toshiba software. Set up 3 partitions: NTFS, NTFS, exFAT using the Computer Management panel. Typical transfer rates: 10 MBs with USB 2. No problem creating System Image or backups on the NTFS and the exFAT works well with OS X.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

external drive

By yjeni from iowa on 02/18/2013

this was supposed to be able to work with windows 7 and it crashed one computer, allowed me to make a back up for my other computer that was not accessable, and now can't register so I can use it for the notebook that is the only thing that it works with. it has nice help for the notebook but won't be accessable since i can't register it now. with no reason as to why I can't so this is not what I would suggest as anywhere helpful or easy to use for window 7 or in general.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba needs to fix hard drive adapter

By toshibaproductUser from Undisclosed on 02/17/2013

I have been using many Toshiba portable hard drives. The adapters of these portable hard drives die very fast. I open the drive and test with Seagate or Western Digital adapters and the drives still work. This shows that Toshiba needs to fix hard drive adapter before other users switch to other products. The drives are very durable but the adapters are bad which drive some of my friends to buy drives from other vendors


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Long Lasting

By Flash413 from Undisclosed on 01/12/2013

lasted me almost 2 years, i knew it was going to die but i didnt it would last that long. Bought it back on June of 2011, Planning to buy 2 more


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

What it works with.

By rangerdave1991 from Rockford, IL on 12/26/2012

I plugged it into my Custom PC, and all it did was click. Kept clicking over and over. My PC could not find the right drivers for it. My mom has a Toshiba laptop, so I plugged it in to her's, and it found the drivers right away, and it works. I guess you can only use it with Toshiba computers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

non-working device

By Kwekkie from Singapore on 12/11/2012

This device seems to randomly sometimes work. This goes for both Windows 7 and Max OS X. The only option seems to be: once you get it to work, do not switch off your computer or send it to sleep/hibernate. The drivers for Mac that are included do not solve this problem and - appallingly - the website does not list any drivers.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

i would not recommend this to buy

By lennymac from Brownsville, TX on 11/22/2012

I used it for about 3 months on my HP Computer XP system with no problem but then plugged it into my HP Computer with Windows 7 and now it is not even recognized by any of my computers even though the led light comes on indicating it is getting power. I used it as a backup on my XP but now I have no idea what information is even on it and I have to pay shipping to get a replacement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A Simple Solution

By Munk from Los Angeles, CA on 11/17/2012

This device is legit. I immediately plugged it into my PC and did a quick Format to exFAT so that I can use it on Mac and/or PC. It looks very stylish, it's a reasonable size, and I like that it only uses a single usb wire. Also, the price was very agreeable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst

By cxzczxc from Undisclosed on 10/28/2012

Doesnt even recognise on windows 7 usb 3.0


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Trust This BU Drive

By Wailen from CO on 09/29/2012

On first use it took 5 tries before it finally stated my backups were complete and I was protected. After my Toshiba Satellite crashed due to it being in sleep mode when my battery ran down (Never let a Toshiba laptop go to sleep or put it in sleep mode) ; I had to use it to back up my system when all other attempts to boot up failed. When it finally restored my C drive it created different partitions( Causing me to lose a lot pf disk space) and uninstalled my antivirus programs and deleted all of my Toshiba (of all things) application shortcuts from my Start menu programs list. It also deleted some other items. I am not sure if I've found them all yet. The next time my computer crashed I couldn't get the BU drive to boot up my computer at all. So after I fixed my computer by other means I checked out the BU drive and found a bunch of missing files and folders that it had shown earlier were backed up. Due to NO HELP that dI could find ANYWHERE, I deleted all of the back up images and files and re-installed the software for the BU drive. Then with absolutely no data at all on the BU Drive, it showed that all my data was backed up and my computer was fully protected when there was nothing on it! Therefore; do not trust what the Back up program says! In 40 years of working on computers; Toshiba products have proven to be the most unreliable and worst I have ever encountered!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent

By xtremek2 from Miami on 09/05/2012

It comes in a compact design, lightweight. It's very efficient and fast. No need for driver!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

product no good

By roundman47 from Daytona , Fl on 08/16/2012

i have had a lot of trouble with this and doing the job


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Will not Work

By bwall from Auburn, AL on 07/10/2012

I have had this hard drive for 3 months and have encountered problem after problem. I have tried several different configurations for this hard drive on my mac and both my windows 7 and vista computers. Several different errors occur when attempting to copy files to and from the hard drive. I will defiantly look else where for my next hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works for me

By FoxE from Undisclosed on 06/28/2012

Simple XP plug-in, works every time. I have it for back-up my laptop and 80,000 music and karaoke files. small enough for portability and available at a decent price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good HDD, bad software

By Mike from NY,NY on 06/06/2012

The HDD i have works well, the software it uses holds it back. The drive works fine just manually put your back-ups on the drive don't use the software and you will be fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Damaged File Error-No support to fix

By RXone from Pennsylvania on 06/06/2012

I have been receiving a backup file damaged error and there is no support on how to fix this. If I knew what files to delete, I could clear the drive and create a new back-up. The NTI software has little if any features. I would steer clear of this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the Support?

By ownerOfUseless500GB from Austin, TX on 05/11/2012

I want to use this external drive as a typical external drive. I got slammed with some NTI middle-ware that made it completely useless to me, and now my computer won't recognize the device at all. I've searched Toshiba's website for a driver, but this product doesn't seem to exist in the support department.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

HORRIBLE 500GB EXT HARD DRIVE

By linguist from newport ri on 04/11/2012

USING THIS EHD TO BACK UP DATA PRIOR TO DOING A SYSTEM REFORMAT ON LAPTOP. WHEN I READ THE RESULT OF THE DATA STORAGE, THE ENTIRE 500 GB WAS REDUCED TO 2 GB. WHAT HAPPENED TO THE REMAINING 498 GB??? NOW I CANNOT READ EHD AT ALL BUT THE POWER LIGHT BLINKS. ABSOLUTELY NO, NO AVAIL TOSHIBA EHD SUPPORT AVAIL ON LINE OR WEB SITE OR ANYWHERE. BAD BAD BAD PRODUCT. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER TOSHIBA PRODUCT AGAIN. PERIOD.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not so good.

By Jude from Sarasota fl on 03/31/2012

Yikes, have had this less that 3 months and it died. Using it to store 15,000 photos now can't figure out how to get replacement from Toshiba


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Buy something else

By Paul from Southern California on 03/12/2012

I've had two. The first failed after 6-8 weeks, the second wouldn't back up my important files. Buy something that works.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

My experience

By mouse from Owendale, Mi on 01/30/2012

This is a very easy unit to set up and run. I'm using Windows 7 and it set up o.k. Nice and compact so it doesn't hog up a lot of desktop space. I bought two of them. One I store my files on and the other one backs up the first one. When I did my first back up it took a total of 9 and 1/2 hours to back up 135 GB's of data. So.....that was all day! Grrr! I won't be buying another one. Maybe a 2.0 USB port is not as fast as a 3.0? I'm not sure, but it was veryyyy slow at doing a backup:(


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Windows 7 compatable

By dcarter0001 from Texas on 01/10/2012

No Toshiba product support. NTI software is not compatable with Windows 7.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Bang for Buck

By JT from Chicago,IL on 12/10/2011

This little jem is easy to set up just plug and play no problems what so ever right out of the box I liked it so much I have bought 3 more for X-mas gifts for Family and friends with over 1000 cd,s loaded for there pleasure All 4 work GREAT so get them while they last !!!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved