Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTC610XK3B1 » 27 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio HDTC610XK3B1 1 TB External Hard Drive - Black - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 27 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Toshiba 1TB Portable Hard Drive

By Ja Wohl from Undisclosed on 11/01/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worst usb external drive I've ever had. Even when working, transfers are horribly slow and after copying some files, external drive becomes detached and copying fails. Should rate 0 stars.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

By wasserhund from Big Spring, TX on 09/28/2013

Fast reliable and easy to use, great for storing videos pictures music and just about anything you can imagine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crashed after less than 24 hours

By Gordo from San Francisco CA on 08/05/2013

Review for HDTC610XK3B1 - I've tried several times to copy files from my hard drive to this device over the last 24 hours. The operation consistently crashes Windows 7 Explorer before it can transfer 10 gig. Apologists will blame the user's operating software, but Windows does not single out 1 particular hardware device to hassle on a regular basis. This unit is the common denominator.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

GARBAGE!

By pussycat from napanee on canada on 07/31/2013

If I could give lower than a one all around I would! In fact I would give less than 0 if possible!! GARBAGE!! ABSOLUTE GARBAGE! It was working fine until I plugged it in the 3rd time in 6 days then it started to rattle, came up that all my files could not be saved and the files I did have were deleted! disconnected then plugged in and it just laid there I could not even reformat the darn thing cause my comp no longer recognized it!(BRAND NEW COMPUTER TOO!) light blinked continually one second my files are there then they disappear! brought it to my sisters computer thinking it was an issue with mine but same deal! NEVER EVER AGAIN WILL I PURCHASE A TOSHIBA PRODUCT! EVER!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy

By Danny from NJ on 06/01/2013

Plugged the product in, it said the software was installed its but setup doesn't work Bad instructions. Manual is not good. The device DOESN'T WORK! I don't have the time to waste on trying to troubleshoot this product. It won't be a Toshiba product. Very unhappy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unreliable

By Otherguy4444 from BVTN, OR on 05/12/2013

Had this bad boy for a little over year. It was used very sparingly as its primary purposed was for occasional data storage. Clicking death, and with it all my data, even though I was very careful while handling it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ok

By JBE from Santa Barbara on 05/10/2013

I liked Toshiba, until my experiences with the Passport external HD, and various 'facets' of customer 'support' that may, or may not be available. They need to remember that thousands of people bought models previous to canvio, and win 8 in the last six, to eighteen months.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's perfect until it brakes

By Mage from Ms on 05/01/2013

I had already 2 different Canvio models. They are perfect until they brake. None of them lasted even a year. I hope Toshiba will improve them because they are VERY HANDY.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

If you do not have 3.0, do not waste your money.

By Denfroby from NJ on 01/23/2013

This drive does not stay connected unless you have a 3.0 USB connection. The device packaging claims it is capable of USB 2.0 use but it is not. It disconnects at random moments ranging from 10 seconds to 20 minutes.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk?Lost Data, Dead Drive

By KilgoreTech from Kilgore, TX on 01/14/2013

I placed a fair number of files on this drive from a desktop PC running Win XP SP3. Moved them to a new (Sept 2012) Macbook Pro. Installed the provided software to make the disk R/W from the Mac. Tried writing to the drive and it failed. Now the drive isn't even recognized by ANY Windows or Mac machine. And yes?it's *supposed* to work with a Mac. Thank heavens I back up my work using other hardware, too?but this has trashed the files and lost a bit of work on a legal case. Very expensive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not a good buy

By armaine from las vegas on 10/13/2012

worked for 3 weeks then died .. computer will not reconize it and i have all my data on it.. any suggestion on how to get my data off?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent Drive

By GoFigure from Terre Haute, IN on 09/24/2012

I have used many other Toshiba external drives but read the reviews before I purchased this one. I could disregard all the one star reviews as the problems the users were describing were typical computer software and driver problems, not problems caused by this drive. I have tested this drive on five desktops and four laptops and it works flawlessly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just to reiterate

By Mal from Rome Italy on 08/15/2012

Do not purchase,read all the above poor ratings and take your pick!!!Although the drive letter is visable on all 7 of various devices, Mac & PC the archived information is only accessable on ONE of them and then only using USB 2. I'll just repeat ....do not purchase. Ps three of the 7 devices mentioned above are.......Toshiba...go figure!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Awful!!!!

By Unsatisfied Customer from Florida on 08/08/2012

Plugged the product in, it said the software was installed but then I wasn't able to access the drive. Tried to uninstall and reinstall with no luck. There is absolutely no support available for this product online and the manual is completely useless. Oh, the manual does tell you if you have problems after installation to just hit the help button on the device...too bad I can't even get to that point because the device DOESN'T WORK! I don't have the time to waste on trying to troubleshoot this product and now I have to waste more time returning it and purchasing a new drive. It won't be a Toshiba product. Very unhappy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fantastic little hard drive

By alien255 from Undisclosed on 07/04/2012

this was quick and easy to use. Using on a desktop windows 7 pc. used the software that came with the hardrive and it backed up everything really fast.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy

By unhappy from Undisclosed on 06/06/2012

Plugged into computer and it immediately downloaded a Trojan that wiped out my computer....do not buy this portable harddrive....out of a computer and out the harddrive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor Harddrive

By GamerGuy from Texarkana, TX on 05/29/2012

Won't work in USB 3 mode on Win 7 Ultimate, only in USB 2. EVGA X58 motherboard. Crashes my Alienware M17R3 Laptop when connected to a USB 3 port. Get BSOD. First time the M17R3 ever crashed. It does however work on both in USB 2 mode, but thats not what I bought it for. Seriously disappointed. Probably be my last Toshiba purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Died after two weeks

By Jeff from San Diego, CA on 04/25/2012

This was a great drive until it died in the middle of a file transfer... never came back to life. Lasted only two weeks. Had to send it back to Toshiba. Great experience with their support, but would NOT recommend these drives.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Product-Error Check Your Hard Drive First!

By Alaskasourdough281 from Roseville California on 04/11/2012

After I bought this drive I quickly installed it and then began a backup using third-party software that I've used successfully with other external drives. I had read reviews in other venues that blasted this Toshiba drive for suddenly disappearing or having severe problems. I began backup of my major hard drive and 57% of the way through the drive went clunk. Windows Vista (64-bit) told me that the drive had been dropped and could not be found. I had thought about this before buying the drive and so rebooted and immediately ran error-checking on the hard drive (in Vista, My Computer, highlight the drive, click properties, click tools, select error checking). Five file fragments were found and were converted to files. I reran the backup and it went flawlessly. Next I error checked my two other hard drives and then backed them up equally successfully. I have had absolutely no problems with the drive after error-checking and it is fast and efficient once I got rid of the problems on my computer. After that the Toshiba did the rest beautifully.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

MARIA FLORIDA

By MARY from FLORIDA on 03/31/2012

MY TOSHIBA CANVIO DO NOT ON WINDOWS 7 AFTER I INTALL MY FILES FROM MY ALL COMPUTER RUNNING VISTA NOW I CAN OPEN THE PORTABLE HARD DRIVE WITH MY NEW COMPUTER RUNNING WINDOW 7. ANY SOLUTIONS??


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Works well but needs a lot of power

By starexplorer31 from Undisclosed on 03/17/2012

It works well but needs a lot of power, I have to use a hub because I dont have a usb y-splitter, the cable that it comes with should have a built in y-spitter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Where's the support???

By eAbyss from Bremerton, WA on 02/15/2012

Nice speedy little drive. No under voltage problems when used with my laptop like my other drive. I do find it hard to safely remove but that is more likely a Windows problem. My only real complaint is that I can't find a support page of any kind. For that it gets 3 stars. Otherwise a 4-5 star product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Software not compatable with Windows 7

By dcarter0001 from Texas on 01/10/2012

The NTI software supplied with this hard drive is not compatable with Windows 7. NTI told me I should set my compatable mode to Windows XP. This means this software was written before Vista or Windows 7. Changing the compatable did not work. Toshiba product support does not list this hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped working after 3 days

By XB from Netherlands on 12/09/2011

Bought this product with Best Buy Boston. Backed up my laptop but suddenly stopped working. Returned to Toshiba, did not receive a replacement but a coupon...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Needs more power

By 4T7 from glouco, NJ on 12/07/2011

I found that the hard drive wouldn't work on my Mac unless it is connected to two USB ports (via a splitter) or a powered USB hub. I bet a lot of the problems users are having with this are a result of it being underpowered. Otherwise it works fine. Hopefully this helps some of you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor installation on Windows 7

By VHemerly from Undisclosed on 11/30/2011

I bought this and the software won't install. There's no support page or software updates. No driver found. Very very unsatisfied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

STOPPED AFTER TWO DAYS

By BEST TECH from Portsmouth, Va on 11/29/2011

Bought this unit a local store3 days ago. My son loaded about 8GB music files, etc it worked fine for 2 days then out of the blue it just stopped working can not access and is not recognized by any of the 7 computers I have.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved