Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTC610XL3B1 » 18 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio HDTC610XL3B1 1 TB External Hard Drive - Blue - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 18 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

All of a sudden not working properly

By Sam from Undisclosed on 09/24/2013

I connect it to my Windows 7, 64bit laptop and it recognizes the portable drive and then it doesn't. It had better be recognized on my other laptop so that I can retrieve my files before I buy another backup drive. What JUNK!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waste of money

By kali556 from venice florida on 09/09/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i bought this machine and it dose not work ittells me i need to install microsoft framework i already have this installed but the programe will not recognize it so i can't even use the setup


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DON'T BUY IT

By CECILIA from Undisclosed on 08/31/2013

The connector needs to be held in place to work properly...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lasted 8 months before failing.

By Fenton from Swansea, MA on 08/29/2013

Worked fine Since January 2013 and crashed 8/26/13 with all my music and business files. Not a good record to say the least. Glad it wasn't the only external disk I have and that I chose another one as my computer's HD back up.The device is no longer recognizable on my Mac Pro so I can't even mount it to repair it.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good little HDD

By Hot Blonde Chick from Henderson, KY on 05/04/2013

I purchased this 1TB portable disk drive to back up my laptop after learning the hard way the dangers of not backing up my files. It worked right from the start, not exactly the fastest backup, but hardly slow either, backed up faster than my friend's computer running same OS (Windows 7 64-bit) and I have USB 2.0 on my laptop. Our computer hard drives are both 250GB as well. I went for a bit of overkill on my portable drive in case I every replace my computer and that has a larger hard drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Does not work on all LTs

By Doc K from Bath, PA. on 03/22/2013

I bought this because the Name and Price and warranty. I am contacting Toshiba to let them know my dissatisfaction. Works on my HP 3.0 USB LT Wont work on my HP 2.0 USB LT. I cannot confirm on other USB 2.0 but it seems I need a special cable to use it.ETITHER PUT IT IN THE BOX OR LABLE IT AS SUCH If all you are gonna use it for is USB 3 you will love this unit. Priced right with 3 yr warranty beats the compitition hands down. If you ever think you may take it to a friend be warned. IF he has an old pc/lt you may not be able to share data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked like a charm

By rogstax from Texas on 02/19/2013

I bought it to back up my imac. My mac knew the drive had to be reformatted, then asked if I wanted to use it as a time machine and presto! I was done with TB of back up. Also, there is no need to plug it in for electricity, it runs off your USB.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't even start

By tim from Undisclosed on 02/08/2013

Driver wouldn't install after plugging into the third computer, it installed then it shut itself off. Doesn't show up as a drive. I have to return to the store since it never even manifested itself.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Experience! So far so good.

By Manster from Hartford, CT on 02/02/2013

Just bought it for my iMac and did the first backup using Time Machine (TM)... It was so easy. TM identified it and asked if I wanted to use it as a backup device, I said yes. It asked if I really wanted to erase and reformat the disk. This is the only reason I don,t give it 5 stars, it erased all the software that came with the HD. However, if using TM, you don,t need the preinstalled software. I then scheduled my backup, and presto, within less than an hour it was done. Easy to use and great value.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DONT BUY!

By Dan from McAllen, TX on 01/21/2013

What a piece of junk! Plugged it into a TOSHIBA laptop and created a couple of backup directories. Second file transferred caused an over-current shutdown and now the drive cannot be copied to. Run, as if your life depended on it, away from this piece of junk. I read the junky cable reviews and plugged it into a seldom used USB port, so I KNOW the port connector is good. I don't think that that is the problem. I don't think I'll ever buy another Toshiba product after they released this piece of junk!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work wwith my I Mac

By mpjredsox from Bremerton Wa on 12/01/2012

Bought this to back up my I Mac before upgrading my system, Plug it in couldn't get it do anything, has no instructions on how to back up, so if your no computer savy your screwed, will be brining this back . Don't waste your money if you have a Mac.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Returning to store

By toulman from Newport News, VA on 07/07/2012

This drive was bought to backup my MacBook Pro. It worked with an earlier version of the pro but the newer versions will hang for a few seconds and the drive never shows up. I tried different variations on getting it to be properly seen by the laptop but had no luck. I will be returning this drive to the store today. Just be careful and read reviews before purchasing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Connector not working properly

By bill from ny on 06/22/2012

Returning to store. Connector needs to be held in place to work properly. Wish I had read other reviews before buying this.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Device Hangs

By Disappointed from Columbus, Ohio on 04/26/2012

It's nice to have 1T of disk space for backing up my home server but this device seems to have a problem. When copying many files it simply hangs. As if it has gone asleep but with no error messages, the copy process just stops (typically using xcopy in scripts under windows 7 and windows server 2003). When I open a window and click on the device it starts back up. A web search shows that others have had the same problem without any resolution. Normally, I think of Toshiba as a top notch vendor of electronics. This 1T Canvio USB 3 external hard drive is not up to par.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't work with my new MacBook Pro

By a from Undisclosed on 03/29/2012

I understand that this disk needs to be reformatted in order to work with a Mac. However the Disk Utility on my new 15 MacBook Pro doesn't even see this disk. The computer hangs for many seconds when I connect the disk. There seems to be some fundamental incompatibility. The disk works just find on my Lenovo laptop running Windows XP. I wish I knew what the problem was with my Mac.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Do not buy

By Mike from Costa Mesa, CA on 03/10/2012

Worst backup program I have ever used in over 30 years. The program is so bad no other programs can be used and one can not select to not duplicate existing files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't waste your mony

By Mike from Costa Mesa, CA on 03/10/2012

Worst external hard drive I have owned in 30 years. Backup program stinks. It will not work with other backup programs. The program is so bad you can not back up another external hard drive. This is worthless!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

great storage unit!!!

By Ralf from Orlando, FL on 11/19/2011

installation was a breeze, very user friendly, plug and play was without hitch, light weight, and really easy to carry


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved