Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDTC615XK3B1 » 13 Reviews

Toshiba Canvio 1.50 TB External Hard Drive - 1 Pack - Black - USB 3.0 - 5400 rpm - 8 MB Buffer Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 13 reviews)

50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

DOESN'T WORK RELIABLY

By tomas from AZ on 10/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

DO NOT buy this drive if you plan on using it on a Mac with Time Machine. You will get error, after error.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Solid Product

By Tron from Batemans Bay, NSW, Australia on 10/20/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have used this product for around a year now on numerous computers including laptops both using Win 7 & 8 and have not had an issue with it. It does what it is designed to do without fuss or problems. Well done Toshiba.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DO NOT BUY THIS PORTABLE HARD DRIVE

By Steve from Undisclosed on 10/18/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My lasted about 3 weeks. I moved critical data to this hard drive, about 250 gig of data. Three weeks go by and I was going to store more data and the hard drive completely failed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Outstanding Product!

By cruceskeith from Mesa, AZ. on 09/14/2013


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

One of the best, most dependable plug-n-play external storage devices I've ever owned. Already have 2, just bought a 3rd. An absolutely must have product. I use on for an external systems backup, one for movies & TV shows, and the new one will be used for all around general purposes. Works just like a flash drive, plug it into a USB port, then drag-n-drop your documents, movies or whatever into it. It's that simple! Those complaining it doesn't work, either don't understand the premise of an external hard drive or have low power output in their computers USB ports. USB ports generate a small amount of electrical current to power the external devices. Check your computers USB power output before trashing this outstanding product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It works great until 1.2TB

By Shoon from Indianapolis, IN on 08/13/2013

It has been working great with Linux and Windows 7. It has been working great but it started to fail from around 1.2TB. But Toshiba is replacing it. If the cable connector was L shaped instead of straigh, it would be perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Windows 8

By Bill from Minneapolis. MN on 07/25/2013

Will not work with Windows 8, not recognized by the PC. No Windows 8 drivers found on the internet. No documentation is included with the device. Nice paper weight though...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just about useless

By Travelin' Man from Indianapolis, IN on 06/13/2013

One of those rare external hard drives that seems to have been built to prevent you from doing most things an external hard drive is meant to do. Can not hook it up to anything besides a computer because you need to install a driver. INSTALL A DRIVER for an EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE. Complete and utter waste of my money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Leave Home Without It

By TANKSALOT from Palm Bay, FL on 06/12/2013

I just purchased this portable HD because my processor fried and I realized how important it is to do a backup. I used my new computer (Toshiba Satellite) and connected the old HD with a SATA to USB cable and the portable HD. I have all of my files on the portable HD and the new laptop now. I will never leave home without it. My files are my life!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

ZERO Documentation!

By tedp from Sacramento CA on 05/20/2013

It's hard to rate using the star system above, since there's absolutely NOTHING included with this drive that tells me ANYTHING, other than one page in the user guide (out of 34, the rest are for different languages) that basically just spells out what's included and the warranty. Give us some insight - this is ridiculous.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Connection

By gles from TX on 04/21/2013

using windows 8 I connected to the usb and nothing happens, I tried a lot of times and finally... something needs to be fixed.. :-S


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ok Back Up Drive

By Fez from Missouri on 02/16/2013

If you use the pass code feature - you can not unlock the drive and just see what files are on the drive - it only gives you the option to back up you files or restore your files - this drive does not allow you just to look at whats on the drive if you use a pass code feature - other then that it does what it is made to do and that is back up your files or restore your files - it does not come with a users guide that tells you how to use the drive - and if you want to back up your files and see whats on the drive you have to do it without using a pass code feature and that is not secure - this device needs a little more thinking put into the design coming from a company that has leading innovation in its company name - bought this back up drive on 02162013


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Just what you need

By sgkmp from Porto Alegre on 02/16/2013

I really enjoy my Canvio hard drive. It fits in my pocket and I still haven't found a computer or device that doesn't recognize it immediately. Moving media between my notebook and my PS3 was never easier. Be careful with one thing: they are so small and light I usually forget they are attached to my notebook. Well, luckily they are so light the USB cable holdes them and they don't fall off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Really?

By carlitok from Military, Italy on 01/19/2013

Not able to link up to my PC. Have to try, try and try again, restarting, shutting down, etc to get it to catch. Not sure what the problem is. Once it links up to my computer, it's solid, but the time it takes to get there is not so impressive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved