Home » Computers » Storage Components » Hard Drives » HDWC130XK3J1 » Reviews

Toshiba HDWC130XK3J1 3tb Canvio Desk Desktop Usb 2.0ext 5700 Rpm 32mb Ext Hd Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 1 review)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

poor choice

By Steve from Houston, TX on 11/08/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

no even one month of use, this external is flagging as failing!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nervous in Florida

By mac from Hollywood, FL on 11/01/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had to install a new driver for my USB3 external board. The old driver would go to sleep and I would have to unplug the drive and plug it in again to be recognized. New USB 3 driver solved that problem. I use Acronis for my backups not the software that came with the drive.Toshiba does not support this drive, DWC130. I plugged in the model number and Toshiba says this drive is not supported.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Drive failing

By PJ from Sterling, VA on 10/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Purchased this drive to put movies, and pictures. Put all the stuff and consolidated pictures. Worked fine for a week, then table of contents got corrupted. Have tried fdisk to fix it, but no luck, looks like I lost most of the movies I had on it. Looking to salvage whatever I can and take it back to the store for return.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

oshiba 3TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive

By Teacher from Undisclosed on 09/27/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This product disconnects constantly. It will not stay plugged in and have in tried using glue dots on the very edge to try to make it stay put. Very disappointed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Bad

By Ymer from Holland on 08/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Why its always disconnecteddddddddddddddd..?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stopped Working

By Richthof from Santiago, Chile. on 07/31/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After around one and a half year of very little use, the hard drive stopped working. Now I am trying to know what happend. I hope it can be fixed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

never buy again Toshiba product

By kurvatis from Undisclosed on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise, clicking noise... dead


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

do not buy or use- even if free

By jimmy from Undisclosed on 07/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bought this, loaded it up. Stopped working and was told I would have to pay to get info off and then they would send me another. So many people have this problem with this. Biggest waste ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

short life spam

By dzon from spring tx on 07/05/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

minds stop working after 6 months, photo mp3 ,mp4, avi , files only 2.20tb use, them clicking noise, all data lost. disk are good,pc board damage. maybe find a cheep one just to save data files.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba 3TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive

By srk from Orlando, FL on 06/29/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The drive has been operating flawlessly for almost one year. Performs as expected with no troubles what-so-ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

waste of money!!!

By shaneo180 from colorado springs co on 06/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Bad drive word for one week then started beeping. Buy something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NEVER AGAIN!!!

By Rod from Baton Rouge, LA on 06/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I purchased a Toshiba 3TB Canvio Desktop External Hard Drive Part Number: HDWC130XK3J for less than a month and I transferred ALL of my music and movies to it. NOW IT QUIT WORKING.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Stay Away From This Product!

By TreeGuy from Peterborough On on 06/12/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Constantly disconnects, no support or help available. Best used as a doorstop but please do not use for valuable files. A 100% garbage product and the last Toshiba product I will ever buy


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

More connection problems under Windows 8.1

By Cowboy from Thailand on 05/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This drive worked reliably with a powered USB 3.0 hub under Windows7 with SP 1. Under Windows 8.1 it either doesn't appear at all when connected, or has to be disconnected and reconnected and will *sometimes* be recognized correctly by the O/S.. It's likely this drive is in need of a more compatible USB 3.0 driver, or a firmware update. Until this connectivity problem is resolved, I would not recommend this drive for reliable backup under Windows 8 or 8.1 Other external and internal Toshiba drives I've used in the past have been much more reliable than this particular drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A possible solution would be ditching the enclosur

By Jeff Lebowski from Lisbon, Portugal on 05/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

A possible solution would be ditching the enclosure and using it as a standard internal drive. Maybe that way it won't suddenly make your partitions disappear... I'm almost definitely going to try that because it's the 3rd time now that a partition disappears and the disk goes offline the only option available being creating a new volume and partition.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keeps freezing/going offline

By RC from Undisclosed on 05/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I keep having to unplug the power then replug it to get it to read in Windows. I see there's several other reviewers here complaining about the same problem. But the real issue, to me, is the fact that when you try to go to Toshiba Support's webpage and enter the model number, it claims there is no such model. I have seen that complaint on various forums around the web also, so I'm not typing it in wrong. Toshiba simply doesn't support this drive!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst drive i own...

By m from NY on 04/28/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

i use on 2 different computers... windows XP and windows 7 - both with USB3 connection USB keep losing connection... takes a long time to initially read data on 'my computer' (like it's asleep) on PC power reboot, drive does not work until you unplug it and plug it back in (power cable or USB 3 cable) NO OTHER DRIVES I OWN does this...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It has never performed ...

By fred from Abu Dhabi on 04/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It has never performed against its specification: - cable poor connection - mass transfers regulalrly break -transfer rates little better than USB 2 - mass failure after 12 months is really unacceptable against modern standards


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

It's so unreliable I can only use it for backups

By Jeff Lebowski from Lisbon, Portugal on 04/23/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I have lost all the data on this 3 TB drive 2 times already. I thought the first time had been a freak error or something but now it happened again. The partition just disappeared, same as the 1st time. I'm left with unallocated space and a Windows-disabled disk. Partition recovery was unsuccessful since I had my data encrypted. All that's left to do is reinitialize the drive again, format and use it for backups only. I will never trust it again with data that's not also elsewhere.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Failed after less than 2 months

By Phil C from San Marcos, CA on 04/17/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Less than 2 months old and now when I plug it in the computer it says "disk is not readable". Completely reformatted the drive, it worked for like 30 minutes but now I still get that error.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complete failure

By Lexington from lexington, ky on 04/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Drive failed, clicking noise, complete loss of data. Terrible Product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

need info before getting it, bad stuff

By Axuzz Kunas from Long Beach, CA on 04/11/2014


Computer Platform:

Pc

Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Primary use:

Personal

Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

this product gives you an amazing shock when youre way too happy for buying it. i ignored all the reviews hoping itll work just fine. im not a pro pc user but i know a few stuff using computers and never in my life that i felt so bad when losing all those data i saved. I used it twice for one week and it pops saying i need to format the disk? incredible and now it needs to format the disk simply saying hey i need to delete all of your files. Dont waste your time with this. Its not worth it


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

WHY DID I BUY THIS BRICK

By WILDMAN OF WEST TENNESSEE from JACKSON TENNESSEE on 04/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I ADMIT IT I BOUGHT THIS THINKING IT WAS GOING TO BE A GOOD INVESTMENT, NOTHING COULD BE FURTHER FROM THE TRUTH, NOT HAVING IT FOR LESS THAN A MONTH AND HAVING USED IT FOR MAYBE 5 DAYS OUT OF THE TIME IVE HAD THE "BRICK" IM SORELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS PRODUCT,LINE,. AND COMPANY, WILL I EVER BUY ANOTHER ONE NOT JUST NO BUT ABSOLUTELY NO


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Easy Install

By HomeBusiness from Fort Worth, TX on 03/25/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Running this for Time Machine on a Mac. Reformatted it per instructions and the install was easy. Fast and quiet.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worked for 1 month

By MRL357 from McLean, VA on 03/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Excited when I got this as it would allow me to reduce all my scattered files to one location. Worked great on laptop with Win 8.1, did great on desktop with Win 7. About 1 month later when I tried to retrieve files, nothing works....has been stored properly so have no clue why this problem


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By Ger from cleveland ohio on 03/18/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this due to the size of the hard drive. Never had a Toshiba product before. Plugged it in a presto worked perfect. Loaded up over 200 movies into the drive then took it home and plugged it in and nothing. Dead drive with all my movies gone and a week and a half of work wasted. Angry is an understatement.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Keeps losing partition

By mhphotos from Birmingham, AL on 03/16/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am rebuilding my new HD for the 4th or 5th time now. I have had the HD now for about 3 weeks. The first day, I got it, I plugged it in and there were no diagnostic files on the HD as the packaging stated. So I proceeded to format the drive as I have many drives before. I got everything set, but when I rebooted my computer, I found the drive was gone. So I re-started and reformatted the drive. This time, after rebooting, the drive remained. I loaded all my files, and thought I was completed. Over the night, the computer automatically updated and rebooted. Again the drive was gone. I tried many things to recover but could not find a viable solution. I reformatted and rebuilt all the files again. It ran for a couple of days and when I rebooted, it lost the partition again. Getting frustrated, I rebuilt it again, and this time, it has been running OK for a couple of weeks. But when I came in this afternoon, the computer was locked and I rebooted. And now, my partition on the HD is gone again. I am a photographer and using this file as storage for my production workflow. I have a backup of the important files and do not want to nor have the time to rebuild this HD ever couple of weeks. I also have worked in computers for many years and expected more from Toshiba product quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not worth it. Wont buy a toshiba again

By Squak from portlad, or on 03/15/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought this hard drive about a year and a half ago. Ever since buying it, it has been a very hit or miss had drive. I actually returned the first one because it didn't work, got it replaced with the same model. This one works, buy half the time I need to unplug the hard drive and restart it. I have finally decided that I am backing up all of my photos on this hard drive and its going into the closet. (dont worry my photos are also backed up on 3 other hard drives) Ive also been having this weird problem with my computer going to sleep.... sometimes it wont wake back up. push the button all I want and nothing happens. Have to turn off the power strip and reboot the computer completely. So it turns out, now that I'm not using this hard drive, the problem has gone away completely. Go figure. How can a company like toshiba release a product like this. I know that I am going to buy hards drives from an actual hard drive manufacturer from now on. Also, to top it all off. when I try and go to the toshiba website for support. It seams to think my model doesnt exist when I put in the part # or serial #. I had to have google find this page for me


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy it

By TweetyRF from Caminha, Portugal on 03/10/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I am using this HDD for less then 3 months and today it is dead. I plug the hard drive and it shows no leds, nothing. I'm trying to figure out a way to recover my lost files. I bought this to replace my old HDD, which never failed in more than 2 years of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst External drive Ever!

By Onabru from Riachos, Portugal on 03/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I buy this Toshiba 3TB Canvio, and after a month, I lost all my data on it. 1,5 TB backup of all my works, as gone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst storage product, don't buy

By Weezy from Lapeer, Michigan on 02/25/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Plugged it in and was fine for just under 3 months. Then was not able to access the info. Lost a lot of info.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

drive failed 3 months old

By murkle from Undisclosed on 02/21/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

worked great for about 90 days. died


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good drive with the right hardware

By WKT Comm Tech from Ottawa, Kansas 66067 on 02/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have enjoyed this drive as I use it to store mp4 files and play them back with no issues fast..... responsive... quiet.... I think that most of these issues are due to not having the right hardware in place to use this product...... the USB 3.0 card in my dell PC has a power port on it and that is plugged into the power supply of the PC and the Hard drive also has a power adapter.... I am looking forward to buying more of these drives as I like the speed and they are very space freindly


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Didn't last a month

By Calrod from Dallas, Tx on 02/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Easy setup, able to switch between machines easy. I purchased this product so that I could store my families picture on it and share between members. My girl friends father had a stokes a few months back and over the years a amassed a collection of 35mm slides dating back to his years in the Military in the 50's. Along with pictures of their childhoods and travels. Two weeks straight I did nothing but convert slides into digital pictures and then today I hear a clicking sound. I knew that sound and was hoping it was one of the older external drives I had connected to the computer. No such luck my new less that a month old Toshiba 3TB had crashed with all my work gone! Not happy! Contacted technical support and I was advised to replace the drive, just that simple! Really?? just replace the drive, what a simple solution! is there another brand you would recommend that I could feel confident with?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

garbage can is better storage

By kprimm from allen park, mi on 02/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had this drive for 2 months and now won't recognize drive. Will not buy another Toshiba product. Total garbage drive.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

sorry !!!

By hiram bustamante from el paso tx. on 02/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

sorry to have invested in this product , lost all files on it after just a month in use ,ive use the portable toshiba hard drive and its excelent so was expecting same quality for this 3tb ,now after reading reviews found out im not the only one not liking this product , even the 2tb has better reviews than this one ,dissponted in this product.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Device

By cap60552 from Somonauk, IL on 02/13/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I had the drive for 5 days, and it has already failed. I had copied all of my photos, video, and music to it. DO NOT BUY THIS DRIVE


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second TB hard drive to fail in short time

By Snow Bird from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 02/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I intended to transfer all valued photos to this hard drive, but it failed. What is interesting is that I have several external drives.. several YEARS old and under 500 GB. I've purchased two 3 TB hard drives now and both failed. The warranty is for the machine but not for the information lost. Do not put anything of value on this drive unless you have it backed up at least once on something else.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Drive failed within a month

By Not happy with Toshiba Canvio 3 TB from Frisco, TX on 02/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Really really bad piece of equipment. The P/N for this drive (HDWC130XK3J1) is apparently not even listed in Toshiba's database of part numbers because when I search for this part number I receive a generic "this part does not exist" error. I did notice that this drive happens to be made in China, not sure if that is significant or not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Problem with 3TB Canvio

By MaoDi from UAE on 02/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

after a year, it does not turn on, took out the main and used another adapter and connected via USB, but no recovery SW can restore 3TB. I'm shocked, Help Before this disaster I had been satisfied from TOSHIBA


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

No

By Kflem from Undisclosed on 01/26/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I got it for Christmas, and after I had transferred my data from my other externals and tried watching media from it it continuously disconnects and reconnects interrupting the media. It WORKS yes, but how is a brand new hard drive constantly disconnecting from my laptop? There are no issues like this with my other drives. It's incredibly annoying having my media interrupted every 5 minutes and having my media player skip and freeze before going to the next item in the playlist, so I have to restart and fast forward each episode or movie to get to where I left off.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This is a terrible product

By Rickamortis from Undisclosed on 01/19/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received a toshiba Canvio Desk for Christmas. It was working fine; however, today it stopped working right. It shows up that a device is hooked up, but it won't say toshiba. I click on it and windows explorer has to restart. It starts making my entire computer go haywire. My firefox wont load, my norton anti-virus stops working right. It's like it came with a virus or something. I'm extremely upset because I lost quite a bit of things. This device is a danger to my computer.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bought 2, 1 dead after 2 weeks

By karioth from Japan on 01/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I bought 2 and 1 died after 2 weeks. I'm not sure if it's clicking or not, but I tried a known working USB cable from another drive and no-joy. It shows up in Windows 8.1 Disk Manager but the drive cannot be accessed. Looking at other reviews on here, seems this is a wide-spread issue. I'll be returning both drives, first experience with a Toshiba product and I'm not impressed. In fact, I'm in the process of copying my data off the still good drive before that dies too.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

NOT compatible with Windows 7

By andrabr from Foster City, CA on 01/02/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This is a drive with native 4096 byte sectors. According to Microsoft (and counter to the Toshiba box) it is NOT supported by Windows 7. Specifically, it is not supported by Windows native system backup. The model number DWC130 is not recognised by Toshiba support site either, so be ready to spend time on the phone for any little thing.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Clicks, Beeps and Unrecognized

By Dez from New York, NY on 12/30/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After about a month of usage it crashed and all my data was wiped. I reformatted the drive and it worked poorly for a few days. Then the drive started making a clicking noise, occasionally a beeping noise and then my PC would not recognize the drive. It shows up under device manager as USB Mass Storage Device but with an error. I tried every conceivable fix but nothing worked. It's a useless paper weight.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Poor

By edb250 from Chula Vista, CA on 12/25/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Just bought this not even a full day took it straight out the box and when I plugged the USB cable to my laptop nothing happened I didn't get the usual pop up for another file explorer window whenever I plug in an external hard drive, couldn't hear the hardrive spin and no blinking led light from the drive. Finally I tried a different usb cable from another external hardrive from another company and I have a galaxy note 3 with a usb 3.0 cable also, and both of those cables, when plugged to the drive, actually got the hardrive working. Long story short, out of the box, defective usb cable, may have to return this because I am not confident it will last the 3 year warranty. Laptop is an ASUS ROG G75 VW, running Windows 8.1 with all the latest drivers, ALL usb ports are 3.0.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Should listen to reviews terrible, broke quickly

By NolanCorey from Buffalo, NY on 12/24/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I received the drive hoping the reviews were off or the user is, but no this device before dust could settle on it breaks internally leaving me trying to figure a way to get data back...... for the love of God pls. let them do right by me either put data on the drives I am going to replace this sub-par with. Shipping is all on me even when I ordered it first time no driver, paid to have it sent back.. recvd new one seemed fine till today now its dead with my data trapped.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very Expensive Data Recovery...

By Conversion Geek from Undisclosed on 12/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This hard drive died after a few months which left us up a creek (we're a video production firm). Now we're looking at spending another $500 to $2k on emergency data recovery. Bottom-line I would NOT recommend


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst ever

By citizen from Australia on 12/11/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

1st time I moved it, it died, hours down the drain and loss of movies and photo's.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Lousy hard drive, dies within months

By dataman from dataland on 12/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Lasted a handful of months before completely dying. Unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't keep any thing important on it!

By RickB from Paso Robles, CA on 11/29/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Large and fast but unreliable. Failure within 90 days of installation due to temperature issues or bad electronics.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Ever!

By CHECKYESORNO from CASTLE ROCK, CO on 11/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Spent hours saving old photos now cannot retrieve.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Often Not Recognized by Computer

By js from Tennessee on 11/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This could be a good product, except for the problem of it not being recognized after I shutdown and restart my computer. The computer seems to think the drive is not formatted at this point. After ejecting the drive, disconnecting the USB cable, and reconnecting it, the drive is properly seen and the files stored on it are available. This is not acceptable for a drive intended for automatic update use. (New Lenovo Desktop Ideacentre with i5 processor and running Windows 8.1)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible drive

By Plane Dr from TX on 11/12/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Had this 9 months and it cratered. Luckily I recovered my data but that cost me as much as the drive. I have 4-5 year old seagates that run all the time. Very disappointed, I guess that explains the good deal...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't Waste Your Money!

By GRGary from Grand Rapids, MI on 11/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked great for 2 months then no longer mountable in windows. Lost all my data!!!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cannot find support information

By upset from Undisclosed on 11/10/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

your support database needs to be updated for this product. when entering the part number (HDWC130XK3J1) listed when you search for this product a message tells you to enter a valid part number. I can go to several websites and order a drive with this part number, why is it not in your support data base. Is it bad product that you don't want to support?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Absolutely THE WORST hard drive I've EVER used

By donholm2 from Robinson, IL on 11/06/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

The hard drive I purchased is absolutely incapable of storing anything for any amount of time. If power is lost the drive WILL blank itself out and have to be reformatted. I've lost 500+ gig of data on three separate occasions due to this issue. The only reason this drive got one star is the system would not allow me to give it zero.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

fail

By hager from sweden on 11/05/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

never got it to work at all, got in unformated with no drivers or anything installed / not working. no manual along with the Product. sorry for poor English.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Reliability = 0

By Bobby from Pittsburgh, PA on 11/03/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

As expected, never buy on impulse and always search reviews on external USB HD's. This one had a rap sheet of failures (I gave it the benefit of the doubt), but bad blocks and clicking appeared after barely 2 months of usage. I am better of with a NAS.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An OK Drive

By Kas from Tampa, FL on 10/23/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Worked great for a long while, though I could trust it. I was wrong I ended up losing tons of data that cannot be recovered. Family Photos, Backups, Work data ALL GONE. Not worth the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

worst product ever. I've ...

By panama from pensacola fl on 10/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

worst product ever. I've owned for less then three months and it died.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3TB External Hard Drive

By Sven from Tampa, Florida on 10/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Not especially thrilled with this product. Product broke and stopped working about a month after purchase.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Canvio External Hard Drive, Desktop 3 TB

By TexasBluebonnet from Marble Falls, TX on 10/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

I plugged in the Toshiba Desktop External Hard Drive Canvio Desk 3 TB, & the application loaded after it was plugged into the USB port. I transferred numerous files, programs, photos, etc. onto the external hard drive and left it plugged in so further files could be transferred. Now, I cannot use the External Hard Drive as my computer can no longer find it. Toshiba site does not even have the 3 TB hard drive listed, so no drivers can be downloaded!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

portable hard drive

By lete from UT on 10/04/2013

OMG I just bought this 3Tb external hard drive...it was just die...I only used it for 3 month....its have a click sound...and my computer does not recognize it pls help ...I lost everything now.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

defective harddrive

By billybob from wright, wy on 10/02/2013

I should of read the reviews after 6 months the drive started making a clicking noise and would not communicate with my laptop it sounds like a design defect


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

DISASTER

By June from Eagle Point, Or on 09/16/2013


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

After an unexpected computer shutdown, this toshiba drive suddenly said I had to reformat. It took about 6 1/2 days to reformat it! When I got the message that the format was complete, and checked that it showed up in windows explorer, I unplugged it, rebooted the computer out of safe mode and into regular mode. I replugged the Toshiba drive and now it's telling me it has to be formatted! AARGH. This is a disaster. PS: It won't format using quick format in my Windows 7 professional. This is a totally useless unit.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By Momtotwoprincesses from New York on 09/03/2013

I got this external hard-drive 60 days ago, as I needed more storage for my pictures. Well today it started clicking and my computer does not recognize the hard-drive. I have Carbinite as a back-up source, and now I only have 30 days to get this piece of junk fixed or my files will be gone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Affordable fast storage

By editor in the Rockies from Keystone, CO. on 08/27/2013

I edit a lot - and by that I mean almost every day, and I decided to try out USB3 with my MBP Retina laptop since it also has USB3. I purchased the 3TB Toshiba drive and put it through a very serious project; 3 day long-format records with two XDCAM cameras plus slides - some of the media was recorded to AJA KiPro in ProRes 422 and all of the media went to this drive as FCP Events and all the FCP Project Files as well - this drive has not failed. The editing went on (and on) for over three weeks and everything has been fine.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Piece of Guess What . . .

By DesignCentral from Atlanta, GA on 08/27/2013

Drive died while backing up the first folder to it for storage and never worked again. After reading the other reviews I'm glad it did die before I lost several years worth of information. I had to give one star to have the review posted but it should be -10.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3 TB Canvio External Hard Drive

By Biffer from Spartanburg, SC 29302 on 08/17/2013

Three weeks and bang -- lost all my data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

9 months, 1T gone

By ruffy01 from Auburn, Me on 08/05/2013

lasted 9 months, stopped being accesible with 1T of my data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Complete Failure, Do not purchase

By Tom from Ventura Ca. on 07/31/2013

After 3 months of very buggy operation, cable was bad just touching it would fail instantly. I Bought a new cable and unit is now failing every few seconds. Reset all power dozens of times. No Joy here ! I have the same complaint as everyone else, total failure to be recognized in the middle of backups and copying files. With all of these common complaints, why have these not been recalled ?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Didn't even work right out of the box

By Rus from Denver, CO on 07/28/2013

Purchased at microcenter and the sales person said it was one of the best drives. Got it home and plugged it in and nothing worked at all. How do you let such a horrible product slip past R&D and quality control?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Too good to be true

By DDRsi from Undisclosed on 07/20/2013

Bought 3TB drive in Jan 2013, unit worked well for 5 months, now unit is not recognized any more. Lost about 1TB of data.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

USB keep losing connection and died in 6 months

By Robert from San Francisco, CA on 07/06/2013

USB keep losing connection and died in 6 months. I found out Toshiba used cheap USB cable. HD started clickling in 6 months. 3 TB data gone.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Crashed and Burned after a few months

By Robmet from VA on 06/28/2013

The 3TB external hard drive stopped working a few months after purchase; so much for a safe backup alternative


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor quality

By Jen from NJ - USA, Paris - France on 06/24/2013

Purchased the unit in Feb 2013, in June the unit started clicking sounds, then the PC could no longer recognise the USB drive. Lost tons of data, ~500gigs of data, mostly music and video. Tried Toshiba online, typed in the serial number, part number, whatever the numbers that I could find on the unit, none of them can be recognised the Toshiba online. Very disappointing. Purchased the unit in US while I was there, and now I moved to France, so now I need to ship the item all the way back to the US in order to get a replacement, or a coupon. No service locally in France. Unbelivable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

horrible!

By angry from Cassville, mo on 06/05/2013

Was to be used as business use to back up Quickbooks files and now cannot retrieve files. Do not recommend this product. Had hard drive for less then 2 weeks.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Never Again

By Cape Cod Geek from Cape Cod, MA on 06/03/2013

Purchased in Feb, got the click of death in May


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Died a little after a power outage...

By Traid from PEI, CA on 05/17/2013

I loved my 3TB Hard Drive, and it was working 100% fine. Though, I had a power outage, and my computer restarted. The drive was working fine for a day after the power outage, but then it just stopped working. I don't know whether the outage had anything to do with it, but now it is not a recognizable USB device.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad technology, no ready to market

By Morato from Tampa, Florida on 05/15/2013

I use Toshiba Products for years and is the first time I have a nightmare, no recomended, no work right, I lose hrs hrs trying to fix it. urprised that the company relese this product to sale. returned and buy diferent. conclusion: DO NOT WORK RIGHT, amateur product, Sorry, bad name for a great company.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Another clicking failure

By Brad56 from Undisclosed on 05/09/2013

Used the drive with no major issues for a few months at home. Then one day while reading content drive started clicking and is no longer accessible. Checked reviews and found that this is a very common failure.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simply a Piece of Junk

By Chris in Fort Worth from Fort Worth, TX on 05/09/2013

I just bought this piece-of-junk external hard drive, which worked fine for a week or two. It only failed once I'd accomplished moving all 15 years of family pictorial history to it and only after deleted those backup files from the server on which they were stored. If I don't get adequate support, I'll raise serious cane.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Simplicity seeking online assistance from Toshiba

By Simple from Undisclosed on 05/08/2013

Finding HD assistance on the Toshiba home page should be simple, direct and easly understood.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Jumk

By guru from Earth on 04/18/2013

Died after 90 days. Junk.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Fails to copy Large Files

By Lowcarb from Lagrangeville, NY on 04/15/2013

I bought this drive to make copies of my hard drive image files. This are large files. This drive fails when trying to write large files every time. Same issues as reported by Disappointed in Raleigh, NC so this must be a design defect in these.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Died in 5 minutes

By Thumper315 from Central, NY on 03/19/2013

Plugged in unit, PC recognized and I tried a quick copy to test speed. Drive started clicking after about 50MB copied.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba HDWC130XK3J1

By jas0108 from Houston, tx on 03/16/2013

Used for a month and now computer does not recognize Drive. All other drives I plug in are recognized but this. there is little if any support for it. I tried to register and serial number not recognized. When I tried to check for drivers it does not even show this drive


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

hard drive

By dommale3435 from Charleston sc on 03/03/2013

bought hard drive on a sat and started transfer Movies to it and getting a clicking noise in it after 300 gigs have been loaded on it. going to take it back to best buy and get a seagate which I never have had a problem with. this 3 tb hd is a piece of junk


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not Happy

By action21 from KY on 02/12/2013

loaded 899K of music. When I went to use it drive has clicking sound only. Did not even get 24 hours of use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst HD Ever, 2 TB Lost.

By Venger from NC on 02/09/2013

This was a much wanted & anticipated Christmas present from the Family. When put into service the unit seemed to power up and down often, we assumed this a energy save feature. The unit has been stationary on my desk in use with my laptop pc. Yesterday it just goes crazy, making loud head search clicks and then beeping. I tried everything to get this unit back up so I could pull my pictures, video, etc off of it! Years of data gone! I would reccomend everyone stay away from this unit! Thank you.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

3TB Hard Drive failed

By Jeff from Minnesota on 02/04/2013

After two weeks of use the drive failed. Makes only a clicking sound now. Lost a bunch of video files that can't be replaced. Not happy.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

serioius problems with this drive

By Disappointed from Raleigh NC on 01/31/2013

It frequently fails copying big files, especially over USB 3. It is faster (that's right, faster than USB 3) and more reliable over USB 2 but still fails. Windows disk utilities can't deal with the drive - they hang up. It's quickest just to force a shutdown, unplug the drive, and hope for the best when you reboot. Where are the utilities? Where are the driver updates? This is my first bad experience with Toshiba and I've used lots of their products. I'm really surprised.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Slow - I am not impressed

By RT from Columbus, OH on 01/25/2013

Purchased to replaced my Acomadata 1TB Esata drive. This Toshiba drive is slow - not much different than a USB 2.0. I am considering returning it and getting another Acomdata, if they still sell them


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Runs great

By jp from Calif on 01/16/2013

Plugged it in started up computer. No problems (plug-n-play sure works better than 20 + years ago). Runs fast on my PC using the USB 3.0. I bought it to store photo's and seems fast to me. I have not done any back-up with it yet but will soon and I'll get back and update this review


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

False Size

By Sunnendei from Grand Island, Nebraska on 01/04/2013

I bought this under the impression that it was a 3 Tb HDD. Most External Hard Drives are usually a little shorter than what they are posted as, but this drive is only 2.72 Tb. It should be advertised as 2.75 TB not 3Tb. Extremely fast transfer rate and reliable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

not so fast

By jd from NY on 01/01/2013

I just bought this drive and every time I use it for backing up my files the drive keep on disconnect and reconnect periodically and resulting in backup software error.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved