Home » MES60VK » 6 Reviews

Toshiba Mes60vk 60gb Gigabeat Audio/video Player Black (toshiba Mes60vk) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 6 reviews)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:

Lots Of Storage (3), Simple Controls (3), Great Sound (3)

Best Uses:

At Work (3), At Home (3), Commuting (3), Travel (3)

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Very Happy ... Perfect for Music Lovers

By JohnisaFan from Raleigh, NC on 04/09/2007


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I did my research. I wanted a MP3 device which would handle a subscription service, not require me to convert all my MP3 or WMA files with a large hard drive. It was down to the Gigabeat and the Creative M. The think that pushed it in the Gigabeat's favor was the buttons and software. The system is very easy to use with no "Gotcha's." The touch and feel is solid and very fast. Combine with with a 60GB hard drive and you room for your entire collection. I am a music guy so I have not tried out downloading movies but the screen looks great on the Demos. One issue, I have a 4gb Sansa and I really never need to charge it. With the Gigabeat, if I don't charge it every night it seems to die and the worse times. No big deal, but just a heads up. Since I started charging it every night I am always ready to go. Again very happy ....


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Gigabeat Rocks

By Donnie from Frankfort, Ky on 04/05/2007


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I have previously owned a number of differnt MP3 players from various companies. I have no problem saying that Toshiba's Gigabeat is a great alternative to the IPOD. PROS: Ease of use ranks pretty high on my scale. I have nothing against the thumb slide scroll on some units but the bar tool suits me fine. I also love the ability to move from Genre to Playlist using the horizonal bar. I also love the ability to play videos and use of the slideshow when in image display mode. CONS: Now the biggest ngative I have found on the unit has to do with the battery life. THis is a big dissapointment. I have seen this comment mentioned by numerous owners of this unti from various forums and I completely agree. I have not been able to obtain more than 5 or 6 hours total use before recharging. I believe the minimum life should be 12 hours. This needs some work. The only other issue I have is in the area of accessories. I had to buy a third party case for the unit becasue I am not a sillicone fan. The equalizer is another area of dissapointment. It appears be useless and a total waste of space and that includes the harmonics feature. I als ohave a preference for leather and i would rather go to Toshiba for my headsets, speakers and power supplies. Overall I love the unit. It truly rocks. Now if they can just address those areas I mentioned I believe that IPOD would watching its back.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

A few quirks but overall great

By pk509 Verified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 03/10/2007


Cons:

So-so Battery Life

Pros:

Simple Controls, Great Sound, Easy To Set Up, Lots Of Storage

Best Uses:

At Home, Travel, At Work, Commuting

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Overall, I've had a good experience with my 60GB Gigabeat (note that I only use this product for music). It has great sound quality, easily browsed menus, and was very, very easy to setup with Windows Media Player. The quirks I've had are as follows: *Although the unit will charge via USB, it doesn't charge when you're transferring files so make sure you charge it afterwards if you've done a lot of work - it uses battery life at a faster rate when the processor is working. *In the same vein, browsing music menus while listening to music makes the processor work which uses battery life faster than I would think it would. *If you turn the battery off (via a tiny switch on the bottom) and you don't have fully (or almost fully) charged battery, it will not turn back on. Some reviews I read previous to buying indicated that their battery would die and reset the unit cauing all the music files and such to be erased. I have not experienced this problem, but some others have. It does not seem to be common, but as with everything "buyer beware". The instructions say that the battery will continue to discharge even when the unit is powered off, albeit at a very slow rate. So, if you don't plan to use it for a day or so, charge it up fully and turn off the battery. To reiterate, I've had a generally good experience with this machine. I'd buy it again and recommend it to others. I've not used it for videos, TV, or FM radio yet, nor have I tried to transfer music files off the Gigabeat to another computer. I bought it specifically to store my CD collection so I can take all my music with me when I travel. It performs this function superbly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

better than an ipod!

By Mike Verified Purchaser from Fairfax, VA on 03/01/2007


Cons:

Battery

Pros:

Lots Of Storage, Reliable Performance, Easy To Set Up, Great Sound, Simple Controls

Best Uses:

At Home, Travel, At Work, Commuting, Sports

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I love it, it has 60 gb's and is very portable, the only thing is the battery life is not perfect.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great sound and device interface

By Adam Verified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 02/28/2007


Cons:

Sync Interface

Pros:

Reliable Performance, Lots Of Storage, Simple Controls, Great Sound

Best Uses:

At Work, At Home, Commuting, Travel

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I just got this device to help pass the time during some lengthy flights I will soon be taking. The device itself is great - the Windows Mobile interface is unique among other PMP devices I've seen and used, and perhaps not surprisingly, it is intuitive and extremely functional as an OS. There is a ton of storage capacity on this particular model, so you can effectively store a bunch of movies in addition to most of your music collection. It has a hard power off switch, that allows you to store the device for a period of time without the battery slowly losing its juice. My only gripe is regarding the primary interface that is used to transfer songs to the device. It could just be me, but Windows Media Player is just not an intuitive application, especially when you introduce the concept of synchronizing songs to a device. It works (mostly), but it is extraordinarily confusing. I haven't figured out how to effectively sync a list in WMP with my device, and as a result, end up copying over files manually via Windows Explorer. Frankly, I would prefer to only use Windows Explorer to copy files to the device. The obvious drawback is that you cannot transcode video automatically. However, I would much prefer a separate application to do my transcoding than to have Windows Media Player auto-magically do it for me. I assume that I'm in the minority here though, and as such, I think the transfer mechanism will be fine for most people.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"I have be happy with my ...

By Craig M Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 09/07/2006

I have be happy with my gigiabeat except that some audio book that I have downloaded have not gone in order. I need to find out what the problem is. Overall I am glad I chose this over the ipod. It look better, feels better, and does not scratch like the ipod. Also the option to connect to Tv and run it is great.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"Explain to me what kind ...

By Tom H Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 08/30/2006

Explain to me what kind of moron would design a thing like this that can, without warning, delete every file. You may have your full 60 gig filled up, then you plug it in and suddenly it decides to restart by wiping out the entire thing! Yes, there is a choice in Media Player for auto sync or manual sync. And even if you are careful to have it on manual, that doesn't mean it can't switch back, with the same kind of resorting-to-default errors that you've seen in other crappy software. It happened to me like the third day. And my wife has a 30 gig model and the same thing happened about 20 minutes ago. I just wanted to put a couple albums from Napster on it, simple enough, but wait...we're going to delete everything instead! You would think that it would ask you "Are you sure you want to proceed with this operation?" or something, but no. You know, if you have a document in a word processor and you change a period to a comma it asks you if you want to save it. But 30-60 gig down the drain in a few miserable seconds...that's no problem for this device! When it works, it works. When it doesn't it's a disaster. The battery? Extremely wimpy. It loses power faster than a rubberband airplane. You may have half the power left, but then upload a few albums, and it suddenly says there's no power, that it's shutting down. I'm getting pretty good use out of mine, when it works halfway well. About half the time. Just make sure you've said enough Hail Marys before you plug it into your computer!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

"The new Gigabeat can ...

By Nikhil B Verified Reviewer from Undisclosed on 07/11/2006

The new Gigabeat can pose a strong challenge to its competitors. It's functionality is simple to use, it has all the features that one would expect; and it looks good. It's best additional feature is probably the AV out which can show video onto a TV. The sound quality is good, it comes with all the wires, it works with Media Player 10. Another advantage of using the Gigabeat is that its software and music, video formats are not proprietary which means they can be used from any computer with the industry standard music formats. It's a great player, one to keep for a while.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved