Home » Accessories » Port Replicators » PA3778U1PRP » 11 Reviews

Toshiba Dynadock Pa3778u-1prp Port Replicator 5 X Usb, 1 X Headphone, 1 X Microphone, 1 X Line In, 1 X Line Out, 1 X Network, 1 X Video, 1 X Dc In (pa3778u1prp) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 11 reviews)
Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

Been great for 2 years

By Bill from South Pasadena, CA on 11/13/2012

I've been using my dynadock for several years now and i love how it stream lines my desktop. I velcoed it under my desk so the only thing that pops out is the USB. Both me an my wife have the soft ware loaded so we can change computers on the desk easily. At first I noticed the video being a little slow which I've now gotten used to. It's amazing how much can travel down USB with so little performance loss. since I've had so few problems I'm likely going to load the soft ware on my work computer which would be wonderful.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

An exercise in frustration

By CB from Iowa on 10/23/2012

The first unit, purchased in August, had to be returned in late September because it failed to power the laptop via the USB AND then failed to run the auxiliary monitor. The replacement from Toshiba does not power the laptop and it occasionally loses the mouse. Net result? I have to use a power brick AND plug in the docking station. It is better than plugging in all the other devices as well, but just barely better. I regret having spent the money.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Toshiba Dynadock 3.0

By pete from Hershey, PA on 10/13/2012

This would be a great product if it didn't crash my computer all the time. After a period of inactivity, dynadock crashes windows 7.0 with the blue screen of death. I thought i had fixed the issue by modfying my power management settings such that the hard drive was not alowed to go into sleep mode and also buying a new logitech key board/mouse combo that worked off the usb port on the laptop. These two revisions seem to reduced the crashes but they still happen periodically. So now I only use the dynadock when I really need to have a second monitor. Otherwise I dont plug the dyndock into my toshiba laptop.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible

By Docked from Undisclosed on 08/21/2012

Terrible. We bought several of these for a rollout and they all have soft issues, but in only a couple of months, 20% of them already had a hard failure. Mostly the software update(S) seem to be resolving the soft issues (slowly and painfully), but I'm not confident in these things at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible Docking Station

By XPSuser from Lakeville, MN on 05/03/2012

This review applies to both the dynadock V and the dynadock U3.0. Despite downloading the recommended updated video drivers for the dynadock V, both the V and the U3.0 have been causing my computer countless issues. I am using a brand new L702X Dell XPS Laptop. If the dock is plugged into my laptop before startup, it keeps my laptop from booting or causes it to freeze during windows loading almost every time. When my dock is plugged in, it causes my computer to lockup upon shut down about a quarter of the time. Other issues include my cursor freezing or stuttering sporadically when the dock is plugged in, and the lag my extra monitor experience (I've recently been informed this lag is normal.) Would not recommend this product to anyone. Toshiba Dynadock is garbage.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good product

By Madmeyer from Seattle, WA on 03/03/2012

This is a good product. I downloaded the driver hooked everything up ( 2ea LG full HD 1080p monitors, Sony speaker system Sony Viao with Windows 7, works perfectly with no issues so far. Music and videos are great full HD 1080 output. very happy. One thing I wished it would do is power everything up with a central power button. I have to open my laptop every time to power things up.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Freezes a few times a day

By Coaster from Canada on 02/06/2012

I bought two of these. Everything I need to have plugged in can be plugged in. A few times a day, I'll be working away and the screen will freeze forcing me to unplug it to reboot the docking station. Frustrating because I lose my network connection each time and it takes away from my work. It would be nice if Toshiba would come up with a fix for this as I notice several similar comments.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

get something else...

By butterchip from Oakland, CA on 01/23/2012

Purchased this to add an additional moniter to my laptop, purchased both new from toshibadirect.com. Both worked find for about a year....the screen did freeze and I needed to unplug the dynodock about once per day...other than that it was fine. Now, when I plug the dynadock in it turns off the main screen on my laptop and will no longer link my second screen. Tried to update window and the dynodock software..did not help...guess i'll have to spend more money for another one...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst Docking Unit I have used

By Ragman70 from Billings, MT on 01/11/2012

My Toshiba satellite computer works great but the Dynadock V USB docking station I bought to replace my Dell Computer w/docking station is a piece of junk. The secondary monitor is forever freezing up. I really get tired of unplugging it several times a day to reboot it. It is an inconvenience that one shouldn't have to put up with. My Dell never did this at all. Needless to say it could affect my further dealings with Toshiba and using Toshiba branded equipment, especially when the docking station is proprietary to the compurter.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Still Freezing

By Midgen21 from Seattle, WA on 11/13/2011

As far as I know this dock is the only way to connect two external displays to my R835. Unfortunately, at least once a day, my external display locks up. Since so many others have complained about this, I assumed Toshiba would fix the issue, but it's been over a year, and even with the latest software, it still locks up the external display. This is unacceptable in a business environment (or any environment for that matter). On several occasions I have been using my laptop for webex or screen share presentations and it has locked up on me, causing an interruption to my presentation. It is so bad that I have to disconnect the dock from the computer entirely before I start my presentations, to avoid the embarassment.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Work in Progress

By DocBones from Newcastle Australia on 10/27/2011

When/if it works, no problems. A great concept. Be prepared to get really frustrated with the setup process. The driver downloads are really large, and all have a habit of saying cannot find installation file Funny, so did the installation CD. You then have to work it out from there!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Not a Happy Camper

By Yellowknife, NT from Yellowknife, NT on 03/26/2011

At first glance the sleek looking unit had us intrigued and a little excited. Loaded DynaDock V the software onto the recently acquired Qosmio X500 c/w Windows7 Home Premium (was to have been Windows7 Pro), system reboot. To the DynaDock V was plugged in the Acer X243W external monitor digital connector, followed by the mouse, keyboard, LAN and speaker cables then the DynaDock V to the Q-X500 USB port. Here comes Problem 1: poor output resolution on the external monitor, can?t be adjust above 1680x1050, so much for the advertised 1920x1080. What`s up with that? Finally disconnected monitor from DynaDock V and connected direct to HDMI port on Q-X500, 1920x1200 resolution restored. Then there was Problem 2: office LAN is running at 1.0 gbps, Q-X500 reports connection at 100 mbps. What`s up with that? So, disconnected LAN from the DynaDock V and plugged directly into Q-X500, 1.0 gbps restored. Toshiba you put out the hype but did not deliver with the DynaDock V. If you have a software or firmware fix for the problems, please do let us know about it. We paid for single cord connectivity and we ended up with keyboard, mouse and speakers to the DynaDock V with video, LAN and DynaDock V USB to the Q-X500. Based on the limited use of the DynaDock V, the five DynaDock V we purchased are not worth what we paid for them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IT Departments - Do Not Buy

By The IT Guy from Undisclosed on 02/15/2011

These docks look great and when they decide to work correctly they are a nice unit. However these docks are not truly Windows 7 compatible. The DisplayLink software that is utilized is unstable to say the least. The external monitor will freeze after only a few hours of use and the only way to resolve the issue is to unplug the AC power from the unit. In a business environment this is very unacceptable. Just for tech notes: -Tried using the most current displaylink software even the beta driver with no success. -Tried using two different make/models of laptop to verify not a hardware compatibility issue. -We order six originally that all had the issue -Requested 6 replacement units to ensure they weren't a bad batch. The new units still had the issue. Overall, nice concept but Toshiba and DisplayLink need to work out the bugs before they continue to advertise these units as Windows 7 compatible. Review is by an IT Systems Administrator


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

IT Departments - Do Not Buy

By The IT Guy from Undisclosed on 02/15/2011

These docks look great and when they decide to work correctly they are a nice unit. However these docks are not truly Windows 7 compatible. The DisplayLink software that is utilized is unstable to say the least. The external monitor will freeze after only a few hours of use and the only way to resolve the issue is to unplug the AC power from the unit. In a business environment this is very unacceptable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Blue screens to follow

By stever from Folsom, CA on 02/03/2011

This device sets up very easily but is a hassle to use. It freezes 4-5 times a work day requiring the dock to be powered down. Once or twice a day, a blue screen follows the freeze. I am running the latest drivers. Windows 7 Pro 64 bit


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ants?

By Matt from Undisclosed on 01/25/2011

So the product seems to work just great for me. There is the occasional screen freeze as described in other reviews, which is easily remedied with a power-cycle (unplug and plug back in). I don't take this to be such a big deal because it happens maybe once a month (on a work computer that is fired up at least 40 hrs a week), plus in the age of technology if you aren't power-cycling everything you own at least once a month (week?) then you aren't getting the best performance from your products.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Ants?

By Matt from Undisclosed on 01/25/2011

So the product seems to work just great for me. There is the occasional screen freeze as described in other reviews, which is easily remedied with a power-cycle (unplug and plug back in). I don't take this to be such a big deal because it happens maybe once a month (on a work computer that is fired up at least 40 hrs a week), plus in the age of technology if you aren't power-cycling everything you own at least once a month (week?) then you aren't getting the best performance from your products. So here is my gripe: I came back from a long weekend (MLK day) plugged in the laptop and nothing fired up. After troubleshooting I pulled the AC adapter out from under the desk and noticed IT WAS COVERED IN ANTS. It is plugged into a surge protector and this AC adapter was the only one being attacked by the little guys. Everyone in the office asked me if i had spilled food INTO the AC adapter. I figured that this was impossible but just shut my mouth and took my lumps. Luckily the office had another dynadock that was not in use, so the IT guy switched out AC adapters while he looked into the warranty. Flash forward to the following Monday, I come in, sit down, plug in the laptop, dynadock doesn't fire up. I immediately look at the AC adapter and IT'S COVERED WITH ANTS AGAIN! Well, after having a brief 'chat' with the maintenance guys who said that they had sprayed right after the prior incident, I eagerly pointed out the the rest of the office that I 'must have spilled food inside the sealed AC adapter AGAIN.' I've tried researching the issue a little and have come up with nothing, but just wanted to put this info out there, and I certainly hope that this is covered under warranty as the parts are only 4-5 months old. The product is fine, but this is where the customer service gets put to the test.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't bother!!

By Clem from Milan, OH on 01/20/2011

Only the USB ports work. No network connection. Much cheaper usb hubs available. Don't waste your money! I have always purchased Toshiba products and been very happy with them. Very disappointed in this one.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best of its Breed

By firewallbill from Houston, TX on 06/21/2010

Almost perfect - I'm using this with an HP 311 Netbook - the competing USB docking product from HP never could host a Dell widescreen. The Dynadock V is very capable for a widescreen (1920x1080). My setup includes external HD, external DVD, and sound - music is great, HD and DVD burn is without a hitch, and anything less than full screen DVD playback is very enjoyable. I plug the ethernet directly into the Netbook - no reason not to. While the Dynadock V has ethernet out, I get a little better performance from the direct connection. My primary interest was in getting more USB plugs and not having to plug the monitor in and out all the time - all those fragile pins. The Dynadock V would get 5 stars except for lacking a power switch and the annoying habit of freezing the screen display 1 or 2 times a day. Toshiba desperately needs a firmware fix (or whatever is required) as it's annoying to have to pull the power plug daily. Otherwise its a great product and the best of its breed. Recommended.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved