Home » Photography » Camcorders » PA3790U1CAM » Reviews

Toshiba Camileo X100 Digital Camcorder Flash Memory, Memory Card - 3" Color Lcd - 10x Optical/10x Digital - 4 Gb Flash Memory (pa3790u1cam) (pa3790u-1cam) Reviews
Sorry, this product is no longer available from our store. Please, find our product reviews below and/or try our product search if you are interested in a similar product.

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 1 review)

100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

great for the price

By teddy from atlanta on 04/17/2012

very go video picture and people are always surprised at the quality


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

For an indie film

By turbowebguy from Los Angeles, CA on 04/08/2012

Bought this camera when it first came out (two of them) for shooting an indie film, PLUS, 60 FPS is nice, high res stills, they are a little bit noisy but still pretty good for price, also, 60FPS recording, very nice, hard to tell it's interlaced at 60FPS, it auto detects and compensates for florescent lighting which is a huge plus (or can be manually set) considering I am doing a lot of composite work, the end result is pretty good. Downside, auto-focus, sometimes doesn't know what to focus on where there is a lot of movement, but still, excellent footage and resolution for the price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Overexposed

By Coconut from Miami on 01/31/2012

I notice there are lots of complaints about the overexposure/whitwash effects with still pictures and no way to correct this. Is there a filter that can be adapted to the camera that might help


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible autofocus.

By Natnie from Wollongong, Australia on 11/27/2011

This camera makes quite good quality video with the right lighting, BUT the autofocus is the dealbreaker. If Toshiba could release some firmware that fixes it, I will be MUCH happier with this camera. But as it is, it's nearly unusable when even slightly zoomed in, because it just keeps trying to focus on different things constantly. One other problem is the fact that the microphone on the camera is on the flip-out panel. Which means, if you turn it the other way to film yourself, the audio quality suffers immensely.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Terrible autofocus.

By Natnie from Wollongong, Australia on 11/26/2011

This camera makes quite good quality video with the right lighting, BUT the autofocus is the dealbreaker. If Toshiba could release some firmware that fixes it, I will be MUCH happier with this camera. But as it is, it's nearly unusable when even slightly zoomed in, because it just keeps trying to focus on different things constantly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Prombelms!

By JDOG from Undisclosed on 10/29/2011

I'm not sure if I got a faulty camcorder or what but I have been expirencing a lot of problems. For one thing, the white balance is terribly off, even with adjusting the settings. Everything is overexposed and white-washed. Another problem is with the 1080p at 60fps feature. IT DOESN'T WORK. It makes 2 videos instead of one. One video is at 240p at 60fps and the other one is 720p at 30fps. What's the point of that? I would recomend the Camileo H30 because it is cheaper but with much higher video quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over exposed video images

By Tomorrowsphere from Boston, MA on 07/22/2011

I wanted to like the X100, it looks nice, but looks are deceiving. I bought this from a nations chain online. I returned it within a day. Pros: Looks great, nice design. Bundled with remote, HDMI cords, USB cord..etc. Nice weight and easy to hold. Cons: Over exposed video no matter what setting (outdoors sunlight) Not mac compatible, but I worked around it. Bundled software (windows only) is filled of trial software offers and no instructions and is useless I have never bought a Toshiba product before, after some debating on buying, I dove in. First day I had it I shot some 720p video outside in bright sunlight. You would think that it would be ideal, but when I uploaded the video, I was shocked. Over exposed areas of sunlight on grass areas, white washed pavement. I went through every setting and the same thing. I even pointed the camcorder to bright areas and allowed the aperture to adjust, but it seemed to do little once I moved. As for battery life, I did not have it long enough to see. I have a 7 year old hybrid camera that can deal with high contrast areas better than the x100. Maybe I got a faulty camcorder, but I am seeing more reviews that express that the video images are over exposed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Over exposed video images

By Tomorrowsphere from Boston, MA on 07/22/2011

I wanted to like the X100, it looks nice, but looks are deceiving. I bought this from a nations chain online. I returned it within a day.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst battery ever

By hazard from Durango, CO on 01/16/2011

The good: After a couple outings using the cam, I have to say it works pretty well for the price. Image quality is good in video mode - not sure I'd say its excellent. Stills captured at 10mpx are decent, but not what a dedicated still camera would produce. It is easy to operate, menus are pretty simple to navigate. The optical zoom is nice, but next cam will have at least double the optical zoom (my first actual camcorder, I do have gopro that I use for pov work).


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst battery ever

By hazard from Durango, CO on 01/16/2011

The good: After a couple outings using the cam, I have to say it works pretty well for the price. Image quality is good in video mode - not sure I'd say its excellent. Stills captured at 10mpx are decent, but not what a dedicated still camera would produce. It is easy to operate, menus are pretty simple to navigate. The optical zoom is nice, but next cam will have at least double the optical zoom (my first actual camcorder, I do have gopro that I use for pov work). The Bad: Can't turn sound off. Can't turn screen off. Camera has special function that will take a still image while filming video, but the still image is the same resolution as the video. What's the point? I can extract individual frames once its on the computer. Autofocus will not turn off. The Ugly: Hands down, the battery is abysmal, horrid, absolutely a let down. Took this out to get some clips of mountain biking, batter was fully charged. Here is the timing of clips we shot (in seconds): Clip 1 6 Clip 1 14 Clip 1 18 Clip 1 16 Clip 1 24 Clip 1 45 Clip 1 9 Clip 1 13 Clip 1 20 Clip 1 26 Clip 1 13 Clip 1 4 Clip 1 20 So, that's close to 250 seconds of video on a single charge of batter - it went dead trying to add one more clip. Add in some time for focusing and composing, and minimal reviewing. When we weren't filming, the camera was OFF. Camera was in 720p mode, image stabilization was off. FOUR MINUTES of footage on a single battery charge. This is my first camcorder, but somehow I expected a bit more out of the battery. I do admit, it was cold out, 36 degree Fahrenheit, but battery performance should still have been better. I am happy with the camera's operation, happy with the video it produces. But I am very close to returning it over the battery performance. I will runs some tests indoors, and will amend this review should I have a different experience. Also have ordered an aftermarket battery, as maybe the one that came with the camera is defective. If you buy this camera, do yourself a favor and get an extra battery or two, plus a charger. You WILL need them.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Nice Little Camcorder

By john from St. Paul, MN on 12/31/2010


Describe Yourself:

Casual User

Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Small, lightweight, works well (video/audio quality). Great value at a good price.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Junk

By tim from Undisclosed on 08/26/2010

This thing is a pice of junk!!! Only used it twice and now the buttons dont work and it wont record. It only has 10 minutes of use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor battery life for video recording!

By Bosse from Sweden on 08/12/2010

you must set the settings each time you open the camera that draws battery time. Poor software supplied with the camera, there is much that was not needed and that you have to pay extra for it if you want something that fits and that can be used


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like a professional

By FMP1.net - Misi from Hungary on 06/25/2010

This lens performance like a lens of Canon 5d mark II. As well as that has very cool futures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Like a professional

By FMP1.net - Misi from Hungary on 06/25/2010

This lens performance like a lens of Canon 5d mark II. As well as that has very cool futures.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best Camera Ever

By Greathasan from Luxor, egypt on 05/08/2010

Very nice Camera and easy to sue and lots of options really it's the best camera ever


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved