Home » Accessories » Power Equipment » Batteries » PA3817U1BRS » 40 Reviews

Toshiba Pa3817u-1brs Notebook Battery - 4400 Mah - Lithium Ion [li-ion] - 10.8 V Dc (pa3817u-1brs) Reviews
Toshiba Pa3817u-1brs Notebook Battery - 4400 Mah - Lithium Ion [li-ion] - 10.8 V Dc (pa3817u-1brs)

Toshiba Pa3817u-1brs Notebook Battery - 4400 Mah - Lithium Ion [li-ion] - 10.8 V Dc (pa3817u-1brs)Added to our catalog within last 30 days

Keep Working with Mobility with a Toshiba Battery

Toshiba Model: PA3817U1BRS

$140.96

41 in stock
This product qualifies for FREE Ground Shipping!

Product Reviews


Average Customer Rating:
View Product Reviews
(based on 40 reviews)

33% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Already own it?  Write a Review
View Product Reviews

not a good battery

By ASH from CN on 09/07/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

it is very good once it is new and then quickly will lose the quality and after one year guarantee finished. and in a couple of weeks after one year it is useless and you should keep laptop always on cord till you renew the batter


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

battery

By din from england on 09/06/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

same with me- Battery was bad since I bought laptop


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Sat on shelf for 2 years no charge

By Sociallite from Tacoma, WA on 05/24/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Bought computer and sat the box on the shelf for 2 years and now a full time student. And now that I need it the battery is no good? So not sure how long a battery is suppose to last when not in use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

baaaad

By a from new bampshire on 01/31/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

My first Toshiba just up n died so I went out and bought this one because my stepson just bought one his battery is still going like new mine is dead and now laptop is being temperamental about starting up and Toshiba wants over $100 for a battery????? Ummmm NO !!!! All I can say is by by Toshiba I'll never buy any of your products again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

This battery is great for a 6-cell...

By Shoal Creek from Utah on 01/20/2014


Bottom Line:

Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I don't know what others are doing to their laptop batteries, but I've had mine for 3 years now. In that time, I've replaced the bottom cabinet (hinge screw holes broke up) and the hard drive (died just after warranty expired), yet the battery is still charging to about 66% of its brand-new capacity. When it was new, I could get 4 1/2 - 5 hours out of a charge with the screen on bright. After 1 year, I could still get around 4 - 4 1/2 hours. After 2 years, I could still get 3 1/2 - 4 hours on a charge. Now, after 3 years, I still get 3 - 3 1/2 hours per charge, unless I'm playing a graphics intensive game. Also, being a computer sort of guy, I know how to keep Windows clean and running smooth. By keeping CPU processes to a minimum, the CPU uses less power and doesn't drain your battery so quickly, even if you run the screen on bright and watch movies. (This means turning off all those auto-updater programs. My anti-virus software warns me about out-of-date programs anyway, so I don't need other processes running to do the same thing.) Also, when I do run Windows, I leave the Toshiba Value Added Package intact as it contains programs that always run to actively manage voltage and power states. Compared to my wife's budget-brand laptop, this Toshiba's battery is awesome! My wife was lucky to get 2 hours from her battery when it was brand new. After 3 years, her laptop battery lasts about 30-45 minutes with light use.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Li-iNot?

By charsher1 from Wainwright, AB on 01/03/2014


Bottom Line:

No, I would not recommend this to a friend

This battery failed after 2 years which, in Li-ion terms, is a very early demise. I avoided anything Ni-cad based to be sure my new laptop would still be still running until I was ready to upgrade. I am not ready to upgrade just yet, but the new battery cost is making me look at adding a few more hundred dollars and buying a new laptop. Note - NOT Toshiba. Good laptop, poor battery. Or is it a good battery, good laptop, poor charging system. Dunno, but I'm not going to waste more bucks trying to find out where Toshiba failed in it's original design.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

VERY POOR LIFE

By Doc from Fort Myers, FL on 05/17/2013

After less than one year of limited use the battery has failed.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Second battery in two years

By Disappointed user from Chicago, IL on 04/15/2013

Disappointing laptop purchase. Buying 2nd bat in 2 yrs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Doesn't last long!

By tomcat123 from Undisclosed on 03/02/2013

I bought a laptop a little over a year ago that used this battery. At fist it wouldn;t even hold a charge while sitting with the comp off for a few days. I would charge it fully, turn it on a few days later and the battery would be around 80%. I hardly used the battery...I would use it mostly plugged in around the house now after 13 months of ocassional use, it tells me to replace the battery. Not good at all.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Unrelaible

By Dr, N Gang from Trinidad on 02/02/2013

3 yrs 1mt always plugged in 1:30 min any sort of use


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad Cells

By TR8674 from Champaign IL on 01/27/2013

My Girlfriend Bought Me The Toshiba C655D S3000 And This Terrible Battery Died After 5 Charges, I'm Now On Number Two And It Will Not Hold A Full Charge, Computer Says Maximum Charge 3251mAh(35wh) Designed Capacity 4400mAh(48wh) Retain Capacity 74% It Said 78% Yesterday WTH Panasonic? Looking Towards An Aftermarket Alternative.. Checking Duracell Now..


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Poor performance

By Of from Undisclosed on 01/18/2013

Poor value Won't buy toshiba again


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

poor quality

By Ron from Pensacola, FL on 01/03/2013

This battery does not hold a charge very long. You might get a year out of it but for the price, I think it should last a lot longer than that. Why are these batteries so expensive? They should sell for about half of what they want for a new one. Way over priced...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great

By Niki from Conroe, Tx on 12/21/2012

Nine years old with no hardware issues and the original battery is just now going out.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Lasts 50 min. after 2 years

By Matt from WI on 12/11/2012

My battery dies after 1 hour and only using Word and Itunes. The battery life was only 3 hours brand new. Buy the bigger one


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Be Realistic

By Max from Ohio on 12/07/2012

The battery lasted more than 2 years and still holds a charge. Its down to 45 minutes or so now so its time to replace it. When new it lasted between 3 and 4 hours depending on what i was doing. For a budget laptop i cant complain. Most lithium ion laptop batteries will die within 2-3 years. Any less than that i would be disappointed. Any more than that i would be elated.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Excellent laptop - very poor battery

By Mathlab mother from Savannag, GA on 11/29/2012

I purchased the Toshiba Laptop for my husband back in 2006, and he instantly fell in love with it. One year later the battery would only hold a charge for about forty-five minutes to an hour at the most; therefore, my husband started using the laptop while plugged in to a receptacle. A few months later, the computer would not stay on at all unless it was plugged in and you could not move the cord. If you touched the cord the power would go out and you had to hold the cord in place to get it to come on. In spite of all this battery trouble my husband refuses to dump this laptop. I am now in search of a battery for this laptop; yet, until I purchase another battery, the DRAMA continues. (The company needs to give us a computer as a compliment for all of the DRAMA we?ve had to experience.)


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad battery

By J'S from MD on 11/18/2012

Brand new laptop, battery won't last an hour. Very disappointed!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

bad battery

By cici from illinios on 11/16/2012

the laptop is a good product but the battery didn't last me 8months and i only had the laptop for 8 months. it started out wouldn't hold a charge, then stated that battery needed to be replace then the laptop started shuting down.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery cannot hold charge after 2 years

By Minderella from Mesa AZ on 11/09/2012

I am online looking to replace the battery after 2 years it will no longer hold a charge. Beyond that, it's been a great laptop for the price. But, the replacement battery is not cheap. Speakers aren't very good either, you will want to use external ones. Overall I have been happy with the product, but I am a reasonable person and understand that you do get what you pay for. The performance has been great for the price, but the extras are lacking.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laptop amazing, Battery ehhhh

By The Expert from Marietta, GA on 09/29/2012

I got this laptop +2 years ago and about 3 month ago, I noticed there was a decline in battery life. Now my computer is saying that I need a new battery. And I don't want to buy another battery just like this one. This problem happened with my mother's Hp laptop but sooner. Is it that my battery is just too old or what?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Long long lasting batery

By Crimech from Miami, Fl on 08/13/2012

I bought my laptop in the mids of 2006 and the battery died like a month ago.Today is august 13 212. The computer still can handle today's heavy web surfing and some programs.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Bad battery, not such a good laptop

By Ion from Virginia Beach, Va on 05/25/2012

I'm quite unsatisfied with this battery. After one year, it's dead already and I need to buy another one. Thanks Toshiba for this unpleasant experience...


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Worst battery

By Mort81 from Corona, CA on 05/19/2012

Battery was bad since I bought laptop and then one day it just stopped charging, laptop is almost new. Worst battery ever.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Dissatisfied

By HeatherM from Mooringsport, La on 05/09/2012

I purchased my laptop in Nov. of 2011. I have had it about six months, and although I don't use it every day. Actually only a couple of times a week the battery already needs to be replaced. Is it just me or shouldn't it last longer than that?


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Great Battery!

By Dave from Morganton, North Carolina on 04/30/2012

I've had this battery for a year, it's the same one that my Toshiba Satellite C655-S5082 came with, and it has kept its charge for the last year just fine! I've never ever ran out of battery life while using this battery, I don't care what anybody else says, this is a very good battery!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

same thing

By colvin from carmel, ny on 04/11/2012

battery last a year at most and their not a cheap item to buy can i see myself buying a new battery every year i thnk not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Don't buy another one

By akbillj from AK on 04/04/2012

Same battery came with my computer was broken after 3 months of prescribed use. I am happy with my Toshiba computer, just not happy with this part particularly.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Horrible

By gabbi from atlanta on 02/22/2012

Bought laptop in late 2006. Great battery life at the beginning; however, after just one year (warranty had expired) battery charge would not last more than 20 minutes. My husband took it apart and replaced the Sony cells with Tenergy ones that far outlasted the original ones (3 1/2 years) and battery life was even better than with the original cells.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Cursed

By Vento from Undisclosed on 01/25/2012

The new battery will charge well at first and promises 3+ hours of service. However, within a week, it actually gives around two hours of service. That is if you can get it to charge. If the laptop is plugged in while on battery power, the battery will not charge and will power down. That is the only time the battery will take a charge. Also, when the battery was put on the shelf at 100% charge and plugged into the computer 4 days later, it read 6%. This is the second battery I have had this problem with.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Laptop good, Battery Not

By momoftwinadoes from COlumbus, OH on 01/03/2012

Employing methods to prolong my battery life and taking care of my laptop, this battery still did not last more than a year. It first would last 3 plus hours, then a few months later only 1 hour, now it needs replaced. Good laptop, Bad battery!


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied User

By Eddie B from New Jersey on 11/19/2011

Laptop Satellite A105-S4011 was purchased spring 2006...Would use laptop on battery power until "low power" pop up box appeared...Would revert to power cord, and then after using laptop on AC to recharge battery, I would go back to battery use....Now its Nov. 2011 and battery holds no charge at all...I think that's a GREAT track record...Not sure what computing habits causes a wide range of opinions on this battery, but my experience has been more than favorable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Satisfied User

By Eddie B from New Jersey on 11/19/2011

Laptop Satellite A105-S4011 was purchased spring 2006...Would use laptop on battery power until low power pop up box appeared...Would revert to power cord, and then after using laptop on AC to recharge battery, I would go back to battery use....Now its Nov. 2011 and battery holds no charge at all...I think that's a GREAT track record...Not sure what computing habits causes a wide range of opinions on this battery, but my experience has been more than favorable.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

The laptop OK, The battery NOT

By sivirina from Seattle, WA on 10/29/2011

I have been using my laptop over a year, now I have to consider replacing it's battery. After a year of use it gave up.. For a week it noticed me to consider replacing a battery cause you have a problem, after a week it said it's not charging at all, always having only 5%, no matter plugged in or not. So the laptop is OK, but the battery is not.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good battery!

By Peter from Undisclosed on 07/13/2011

I have purchased my Satellite in 2006 and now the battery stopped working. 5 years is a really good result.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Very good battery

By Peter from Katowice, Poland on 05/05/2011

Hi, I have been using this battery for 5 years now and today it stopped working. I think a battery that works that long should have 5 stars. I am going to buy a new one in couple days and I am pretty sure, that it will last as long as the old one. Regards Peter


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Good Product

By erre from Derby, CT on 12/26/2010

I bought my Satellite (A105-S4324) on January 07. The battery (PA3399U-2BRS) worked fine for the first two years, even though I was never aware of how to properly take care of and recharge the battery. I now know not to keep the laptop plugged to the wall while not in use, which overcharges the battery; and to let the battery run out frequently before recharging. I first noticed that the battery was losing length of use about a year ago (two years after purchase): little by little it would last less and less time. I need to replace it now, and I would buy this product again. I am also considering the other option available for this laptop (PA3478U-1BRS) because it as a 9 cell battery.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Best for Family Use

By KJ from Dublin, Ireland on 01/08/2010

I have my laptop 4 years and I have recently experienced the battery is not holding its charge. No supplier in Ireland for replacement battery Toshiba perhaps this information should be advised when purchasing Toshiba Equipment


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Battery Does Its Job

By JKK3 from Undisclosed on 03/05/2008

I'm finishing my second year with this battery. I'm beginning to notice diminished capacity, less time before it needs a charge. For the first year, it held up very well, and has been serviceable this second year. It does its job. When I got my laptop, I noticed that the users guide said to totally discharge and recharge the battery once a month, to prevent it getting a memory. It also said to not overcharge the battery by leaving the laptop plugged into AC continuously. I've followed these guidelines and done OK.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

View Product Reviews

Original 6 cell Toshiba laptop battery

By KevinO from Virginia Beach, VA on 02/25/2008

This battery is standard issue with new laptops. It loses it's capabilities rapidly during the first 6-8 months of use. By one year, you're lucky to get 10 minutes of use, which is highly disappointing. Unfortunately, we now have to purchase a replacement 12 cell to be able to get 4-5 hours battery life.. My Dell laptop for work seems to have a much better battery quality.


Was this review helpful to you? Yes/No - You may also flag this review.

NetSuite ecommerce design

© 2014 Beach Audio, Inc. All Rights Reserved